BattleCorp wrote: » My own personal view was that it was a private conversation between colleagues and in fairness, the comment can clearly be seen to be a joke, and not a threat to the woman in question, so no, I don't think disciplinary action should be taken.
eviltwin wrote: » An odd thing to joke about....
prinz wrote: » However before people get the wrong idea, the joke about 'rape' IIRC was because one of the women involved had made accusations against gardaí prior to that incidence...it wasn't a case that they just picked rape out of the blue to joke about.
BattleCorp wrote: » It might be an odd thing to joke about but hey, bad taste isn't a crime as far as I know.
MrStuffins wrote: » Any details on this? I mean, if the rape allegation had been upheld, then that makes it even worse taste! If she'd been spoofing and it was a false allegation, then f*ck her!
prinz wrote: » IIRC there was a video of the time the gardaí involved had cut this woman off a tractor I think it was and as they were removing her she was screaming and moaning about being assaulted, abused, police brutality etc. Then when some of the gardaí got back in their car they were joking about her dramatics and hyperbole. One said something like 'give me your name and address or I'll deport you' as a pisstake of what she had been saying, the next garda said IIRC like 'no, no give me your name or I'll rape ya!'.. just one upmanship on the joke and mocked the way the woman herself had over-reacted. Ah here it is..http://www.thejournal.ie/gardai-claim-corrib-protesters-discussed-rape-prior-to-taped-remarks-188744-Jul2011/
MrStuffins wrote: » prinz wrote: » However before people get the wrong idea, the joke about 'rape' IIRC was because one of the women involved had made accusations against gardaí prior to that incidence...it wasn't a case that they just picked rape out of the blue to joke about. Any details on this? I mean, if the rape allegation had been upheld, then that makes it even worse taste! If she'd been spoofing and it was a false allegation, then f*ck her!
Doc Ruby wrote: » So eh why start a thread on it?
Difference Engine wrote: » IIRC a couple of protesters were on top of a truck or tractor to stop it moving. They refused to come down and the gardai removed them by force. As one was being taken down she started calling out "rape". I am open to correction on the details though. It was more a case of a silly throwaway comment rather than a serious allegation against anyone.
Paco Rodriguez wrote: » The Guardai got Maynooth students to delete some content of the camera before handing it back to the girl. .
According to the report, there was a difficulty in taking possession of the device in the days following the alleged conversation. First, it was held by a solicitor for Ms A and then it was taken back by Maynooth University, which owns the recorder. Forensic attempts were successful in retrieving deleted files from the device when it was eventually obtained by the GSOC on 14 April. However, some overwritten files could not be saved in a viewable format. On accessing the camera, the Ombudsman discovered that the files were deleted by academic staff at NUI Maynooth. One member of staff was interviewed as a result but it yielded “no information of significant evidential value”.
MrStuffins wrote: » If this was the case, then the "joke" in question here in fact isn't in bad taste at all. It's a direct reference to an ridiculous over reaction by some silly bint.
Paco Rodriguez wrote: » The Guardai got Maynooth students to delete some content of the camera before handing it back to the girl. That guard should have his pension seriously reduced but thats not going to happen. They are as crooked as the politicians.
humanji wrote: » It wasn't the Gardai who got the footage deleted. It was the protestors who wanted to hide evidence, then published an edited version of the video on Indymedia. When the matter was brought to the publics attention, the gardai and the ombudsmand asked for the original tape, only to find huge sections of it missing.