Sinead O Connor to leave music world. Tour aborted in Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Her latest stuff is great and she's very strong to deal with things given her condition. It really is ignorance on the part of people who would say nasty stuff about her. She seems a lovely person with a condition i'm not unfamiliar with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭seanmacc

ripping up the pope showed amazing foresight, did it not?

I think the Irish Nation owes her an apology for how she was treated in the aftermath of that. She was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Jonniealan

This has become very emotive. attention seeking celebrities annoy me as much as anyone else. But she is obviuosly very unwell and i genuinely hope she gets better. Also I hope she leave the social media and dessperate attempts at publicity alone too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

Don't particularly like the woman but bipolar is a terrible affliction and I hope she feels better soon.
    ripping up the pope showed amazing foresight, did it not?

Aww but people liked that Pope. He was a nice Pope 'cause he came here and told us he loved us or something.
    Now if she had ripped up a picture of the current bollocks that's there, I can't imagine there'd be anywhere near as much backlash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

FearDark wrote: »
    Attention seeking whore. Don't care. Fúck off Sinead.

Whilst there is no doubt in my mind that she has at times courted controversy in order to gain attention the simple truth is that you are doing the same with this post.

Her stage is bigger, so I guess you lose this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Symbolic cannibalism, if you wish.:D

Only its not symbolic, it's magical cannibalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Hopefully the media will leave her alone to recover in peace. She is obviously a very talented women and comes across genuine if a bit manic:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

Plazaman wrote: »
    Aw shít, she'll be back on Twitter now.

So you didn't read the article linked in the OP then.
    Sinead O’Connor: Bipolar disorder forces star to cancel tour and leave music business

PLANS for a career comeback by singer Sinead O'Connor have been dashed after she cancelled her entire 2012 tour and claimed to be leaving the music business.

The 45-year-old had been enjoying critical acclaim for her latest album 'How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?' but plans to promote the record worldwide, including a 12-date North American tour, have been shelved on the advice of doctors.

"With enormous regret I must announce that I have to cancel all touring for the year as I am very unwell due to bipolar disorder. As you all know I had a very serious breakdown between December and March and I had been advised by my doctor not to go on tour but didn't want to 'fail' or let anyone down as the tour was already booked to coincide with album release.

"So very stupidly I ignored his advice to my great detriment, attempting to be stronger than I actually am. I apologise sincerely for any difficulties this may cause," Ms O'Connor wrote on her website.

The mother of four made the announcement while on tour in Germany, and claimed to be seeking a job outside the music business.

"Asking about jobs as music biz is very bad for Sinead. Any one have a job for a very clever woman with massive heart and courage, who adores people and has to escape music business as is very bad for her? Too much and too many long times away from home. All bad triggers for a woman with a mental illness. Can anyone come and take me home from Munich?," Ms O'Connor tweeted before cancelling a date in the German city on Saturday night.

Last night she remained adamant about leaving the music business, announcing that she was closing her Twitter account.

"This account will close tonight for reasons of wishing to be out of limelight and showbiz. Shall reappear anonymously. Midnight is close down. Goodnight, thank u, u been a wonderful audience. X" she tweeted. Her website sineadoconnor.com was also offline.

The singer was unavailable for comment when contacted last night.

Hailed by fans and critics alike, her new album 'How About I Be Me (And You Be You)?' peaked at 33 in the UK charts.

Last month the singer revealed her marriage to drugs counsellor Barry Herridge, who she wed in Las Vegas in December, was over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Did I read some where a few weeks ago that she had been misdiagnosed and she doesn't actually have bi polar at all? I'm open to correction on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

She sings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Literally 10s of fans will be dissapointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

As someone with bi-polar i can completely understand, I can hardly leave the house most weeks I couldn't imagine having to face hundreds of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

She was never the same after she starred in Aliens 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

Zzzzzzzzzzzz and in two weeks time we'll have the headline 'Sinead O'Connor announces comeback tour' :rolleyes:. Let's hope she sticks to her word! I believe Tesco are hiring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Although I can't say I'm a fan I really hope she gets well soon.
    Amazing how people with metal health problems are ridiculed by the press and used as entertainment.
    I'm old enough to remember Adam Ant and watched a documentary on him a couple of years ago. The manic stages brought the creativity, the depression brought the public ridicule. I used to think that celebrity attracted people with these problems but it is now obvious that they are just more common than previously believed. If we were more open as a society more people might feel able to seek help or confide in loved ones.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I used to think that celebrity attracted people with these problems but it is now obvious that they are just more common than previously believed.
    Personally I would suspect the arts more likely to concentrate certain mental conditions. Particularly the performance arts. It takes a rare enough ability to stand in front of an audience and let rip. The act of creativity itself could add to the stresses on the mind(hypersensitivity to emotions and reality are great for he process, but may open a person up a little too much if they personalise it). Then add in the false external "love" of strangers and the stresses of keeping up that level and I'd not be surprised that such people might be more prone. I remember an interview with George Michael who reckoned similar and further reckoned he'd met very few "norma" performers in his time(inc himself). That there was something missing or extra or "broken" in the creative performers.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Wibbs wrote: »
    I met her years ago. Seemed very pleasant and a little mad(in the better sense) and genuine with it.

Did you have a child together?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Is she looking for another husband? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭8mv

I hope she gives herself time to get her head right. I was hoping for big things for Sinead this year cause her new album is a cracker, an album she could have (and maybe should have) recorded twenty years ago. It's full of upbeat lyrics and positive messages. I won't mind if we see her again soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Personally I think that being a fruitcake and being an artist are often one and the same thing. Most of them can feed their emotions into their work. With Sinead there is the added idiocyncracy of needing to extrapolate her irrational foibles on a now jaded public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

Spread wrote: »
    Personally I think that being a fruitcake and being an artist are often one and the same thing. Most of them can feed their emotions into their work. With Sinead there is the added idiocyncracy of needing to extrapolate her irrational foibles on a now jaded public.

spread calling her an artist is stretching it a bit in fairness. she spent the last 20 years on drugs and naturally this has had an effect on her already fragile mental state, as in she was always an attention seeker and for a long time you'd swear she was gay byrne's love child the amount of times he had her on the show and entertained her idiotic behaviour like a father would try to rein in his rebellious daughter. it was the validation and attention she craved all in one.

then she disappeared for a while and lately by some way of reinventing herself after her stint as a lesbian priest, she decided to announce on the internet and in the media that she was looking for a man (i even remember the cringeworthy interview she did with ryan turbidy), before then getting married to her drug counsellor (you'd have to wonder about his professional code of ethics!), and that didnt work so she split up and fecked off on tour, then decided feck this and jacked in the towel, more attention seeking 'poor me' childish behaviour.

now some might observe her history of behaviour as a diagnostic example of bi-polar disorder. my own opinion which i still stand by is simply that she is just a talentless attention seeker with an angry victim persecution complex, couple this with copious amounts of illicit substances, et voila- another 'bi-polar' celebrity that 'wants everybody to leave her alone', until the next time she wants attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

xsiborg wrote: »
    now some might observe her history of behaviour as a diagnostic example of bi-polar disorder. my own opinion which i still stand by is simply that she is just a talentless attention seeker with an angry victim persecution complex, couple this with copious amounts of illicit substances, et voila- another 'bi-polar' celebrity that 'wants everybody to leave her alone', until the next time she wants attention.

She had oodles of talent, once. Apart from that I agree completely. She has lurched from one disaster to another, all of it played out in the full glare of the media very deliberately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

spread calling her an artist is stretching it a bit in fairness. she spent the last 20 years on drugs and naturally this has had an effect on her already fragile mental state, as in she was always an attention seeker and for a long time you'd swear she was gay byrne's love child the amount of times he had her on the show and entertained her idiotic behaviour like a father would try to rein in his rebellious daughter. it was the validation and attention she craved all in one.

then she disappeared for a while and lately by some way of reinventing herself after her stint as a lesbian priest, she decided to announce on the internet and in the media that she was looking for a man (i even remember the cringeworthy interview she did with ryan turbidy), before then getting married to her drug counsellor (you'd have to wonder about his professional code of ethics!), and that didnt work so she split up and fecked off on tour, then decided feck this and jacked in the towel, more attention seeking 'poor me' childish behaviour.

She wouldn't play my sort of music however she is most definitely an artist and an extremely talented one at that (Far superior to the reality star 'musicians' that exist now). I'm personally of the belief that much of her behaviour has merely been a manifestation of bipolar and i'm extremely sympathetic towards her. Irrational behaviour is common amongst people with bipolar. People may view it as acting out in the media limelight but it doesn't seem that way to me and its a perception that has been created by the media as a result of their treatment of her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭surime

I know this is not important.. her voice is still great, but how she managed to change soooo much, from very beautiful women to.... not that very beautiful.. :confused:
    It is not age, because some women even when over 50 are still pretty..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

now some might observe her history of behaviour as a diagnostic example of bi-polar disorder. my own opinion which i still stand by is simply that she is just a talentless attention seeker with an angry victim persecution complex,

A talentless attention seeker?
    That's some straight up shite talk right there.

mikom wrote: »

now some might observe her history of behaviour as a diagnostic example of bi-polar disorder. my own opinion which i still stand by is simply that she is just a talentless attention seeker with an angry victim persecution complex,

ok then, let me re-phrase that-

a girl who had an amazing talent and the world at her feet when she released the single 'nothing compares 2u', but who threw it away when she became more widely known for her ridiculous stunts than her talent.

she went on american television, knew her audience, and ripped up a picture of the pope. now we can say what we like about wasnt she right in hindsight and whatever, but at the time, she knew what she was doing, and from then on she was fair game for the media, and she courted said media and played up for them at every turn.

you'd have thought her years in the business would have taught her something, but so great was her craving for attention for being a 'wild child' that she let that over-ride common sense.

we've heard the same 'tortured genius' mantra trotted out about pete doherty, but he too is an idiot who has let his drug fuelled ego get the better of him.

hell even look at the likes of kerry katona, lyndsay lohan, charlie sheen, they've all claimed to be bi-polar, are they all creative tortured geniuses too? or just drug fuelled ego-maniacs who bought into their own hype?

without the media they would be nothing, and now they want the media to 'leave them alone'? if you call the tune, you hardly have the right to complain when time comes to pay to pay the piper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭blueyedson

How do you know that?

Great Irish trait of slating the shiite out of anyone with a glimmer of sucess comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

Watching the 2 videos posted I now remember what all the fuss is about - Her really really really good voice.

He moved through the fair kinda gave me shivers. Her video with Graham norton posted earlier shows she still has that voice, and even tho she has done a few loopy pr stunts - she still has great talent.

Before this thread I couldnt have really given a sh1t about her -now I do hope she gets better and brings us more of what she does best.

blueyedson wrote: »

How do you know that?

Great Irish trait of slating the shiite out of anyone with a glimmer of sucess comes to mind.

not at all, the fact that im so cynical of ridiculous excuses for behaviour that i'd sooner attribute to drugs than the new celebrity mental disorder has nothing to do with the fact that im irish.

as to how do i know she spent the last 20 years on drugs? well i too have seen her interviews and read her interview articles in which she talks about having used drugs and so on, and then recently she married her drug counsellor and tried to get high on their honeymoon.

now you're hardly going to tell me she was seeing a drug counsellor for taking skittles are you?

no begrudgery here, in fact im quite proud of many of our irish success stories, like enya, or mary coughlan, who for many years has spoken about suffering from depression and alcoholism and her battle to overcome it, and she never sought the limelight like sinead o connor did.

the honest truth here is that the only people i feel sorry for here are her children, who have to put up with her nonsense!

EDIT: actually no, i also feel sorry for people who actually are clinically diagnosed as suffering from bi-polar disorder, because some celebrities have chosen to make it the 'disorder du jour', and now for anyone actually genuinely suffering from bi-polar disorder, its going to be that much harder for them to be taken seriously because people will associate them with drug fuelled attention seeking ego-maniacs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

mikom wrote: »

ok then, let me re-phrase that-

a girl who had an amazing talent

Would you believe it..... we've discovered your talent for back-tracking

without the media they would be nothing,

Talent will always be noticed, media or no media.
    Maybe not as far and wide, but the bush telegraph only goes so far.