Hiberno English

• 21-04-2012 12:52AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Doing a bit of ESL teaching at the moment and I have to constantly check how I speak, here are some of the things I catch myself saying:

"Yer man", "Yer one" - the first is obviously male, but how is "one" female?
    "Amn't I only after showing yiz!" what the hell tense is this?!
    "Amn't" - a contraction that only we Irish use apparently
    "Yous" (as in more than one 'you')
    "I does be watching the tv..." ok I don't use this one but I've heard people saying it, it's present continous I'm guessing...

So AH post up your favourite examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Spore wrote: »
    "I does be watching the tv..." ok I don't use this one but I've heard people saying it, it's present continous I'm guessing...
    "I do be watching...", surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

B1tches be crazy:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,707 ✭✭✭batistuta9

i don't what this is called or if there's even a name for it but most people would say for example "I am freezing" but some dubs say "Freezing I am".
    another "I am hungry" vs "Hungry I am"

what's that about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,423 ✭✭✭cml387

Doing a bit of ESL teaching at the moment and I have to constantly check how I speak, here are some of the things I catch myself saying:

Maybe you aint cut out for that line of work.
    Teaching Dubs to speak culchie...maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

batistuta9 wrote: »
    i don't what this is called or if there's even a name for it but most people would say for example "I am freezing" but some dubs say "Freezing I am".
    another "I am hungry" vs "Hungry I am"

what's that about

Jedi-Irish descendants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

The lack of yes/no answers - and rather responding to the question with the verb used.

Did you? I did / I didn't

Are you? I am / I'm not

That comes from Irish which has no words for yes or no, and uses the same way to respond to questions with the verb that was used in the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

yisser dog shyted in me garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

batistuta9 wrote: »
    Its called talking like a pirate and Irish people do it by sheer instinct, once again reinforcing the brilliance that is Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Know Noel,no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

ye wouldnt pass me smokes = would you pass me my smokes

never really got that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

"Lookit!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Let's not forget the slang for teenaged girls. That even made it as far as Hollywood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭bennyineire

"I'm only after gone to the shop and now you want me to go again"
    also when I was in the states the people over there could'nt get over me saying "it's half ten" when saying its 10.30, not sure if thats an Irish thing, maybe the brits say it to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

yer oul wans a geebag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

"I'm only after gone to the shop and now you want me to go again"

Táim díreach tar éis blah a dhéanamh (I'm just after doing blah).. I'd say that's from Irish too.

micropig wrote: »
    B1tches be crazy:pac:

for real yo

dlofnep wrote: »
    Táim díreach tar éis blah a dhéanamh (I'm just after doing blah).. I'd say that's from Irish too.

At least the blah bit is clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It drives me off the head, instead if it drives me off my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Gewan ya mad cúnt ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

dlofnep wrote: »

A good old Waterford Blaa. . .
    Nach ea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

I'm only here for the crack. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

To be "after" doing something derives directly from Irish. For example, "tá mé tar éis an dinnéir" meaning "I am after the dinner", or in plain Queens English, "I have just had my dinner".

I love the way Irish has influenced how we approach and speak English. It's unique. Hiberno-English should be cherished and be allowed to flourish, not corrected!!

The Scots and Welsh have borrowings from their own languages too which they use when speaking English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

"I used to go / do / whatever ..."

Directly lifted from the gnathchaite (habitual past tense) in Irish, and still often to be heard in the normal vocabulary of people whose great-great-grandparents were the last of the family to speak Irish as a first language.

Such a useful tense too; English is the poorer for its lack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭youreadthis

"I used to go / do / whatever ..."

Directly lifted from the gnathchaite (habitual past tense) in Irish, and still often to be heard in the normal vocabulary of people whose great-great-grandparents were the last of the family to speak Irish as a first language.

Such a useful tense too; English is the poorer for its lack.

Apparently a few people outside Ireland also use this unique tense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

That's not Hiberno English, that's shit English. Don't 'teach' shit English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

All these little phrases and bits lifted from Irish get us a lot of attention abroad. The accent is part of it, but it's also the way we say things.
    Too many people moan about or neglect the English language, too few realise how much we've made it our own.

The English may have invented the language, but we gave it grace. (forgotten who said that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Apparently a few people outside Ireland also use this unique tense.
    I never said the habitual past tense was unique to Irish; most linguists seem to agree that it came to be used in Hiberno-English from the Irish (unsurprisingly enough).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

humbert wrote: »
    That's not Hiberno English, that's shit English. Don't 'teach' shit English.

Did I say anything about teaching this "shit" English? I said in my original post that I catch myself saying these things, meaning I don't actually say them. Maybe you're just a "shit" reader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Stall it/Ehh'!

I do be calling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

'Yoke' meaning thing.