"Terry Wogan's Ireland"??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Seasan wrote: »
    I didn't realise this was out on DVD-I only saw it today.Even the name makes me laugh.

I mean,why would any TRUE Irish person want to buy this-and line the pockets of an ex-pat already rolling in British Sterling,who admittedly "anglicised" himself,who distances himself from his roots while in Britain and who laughs at us,or "the Irish" as he calls us,every chance he gets when on British television? I for one am infuriated by this.In my opinion,Terry "the Brit" Wogan is not an Irishman,and England can keep him.

The program actually mentions quite a few Irish grievances with English rule, and Terry himself seemed rather annoyed by some.
    Just to clarify,here are a few quotes from Wogan from a programme he was presenting on one of the BBC channels,about 50 years of the Eurovision,earlier this year.These quotes aren't exactly word for word,but youll get the idea:

"While most European countries build lavish and glamorous arenas for the occasion,of course the Irish choose Millstreet-a showjumping arena for horses"(everybody laughs)

"The 90's were full of the joys of Eurovision success.But only if you were Irish."(said in a grim gloomy voice with a miserable mug)

"???? was the year when WE finally broke the Irish dominance in Dublin"("WE" referring to the UK entry from Katrina and the Waves)

I'm pretty sure this wasn't the first time,and it certainly won't be the last.Enjoy singin "god save the queen",Wogan.

He is working for the BBC. Tracey Piggott says "we" when on Rte, for Ireland.
    Terry Wogan is a legend. Fair balls to him for having a successful career.

Yes, he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Hes a fcukin scab

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2005/may/23/broadcasting.bbc2

In fact Wogans nothing but a Blankety Blank.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

Hes a fcukin scab

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2005/may/23/broadcasting.bbc2

In fact Wogans nothing but a Blankety Blank.

He has cool hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

He has cool hair.
    Yes,I heard he keeps it in the fridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I imagined Seasan typing that with his left hand and saluting the Irish flag with his right.

I think you're wrong about his right hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

Terry Wogan is a legend. Fair balls to him for having a successful career.
    You can have a successful career without changing your nationality and your allegiances.Why was he given the freedom of the city of Limerick?What has he ever done for Limerick,or Ireland?He is known for being a TV and radio presenter-nothing else.Tis understandable why Geldof,another "Sir",was given the freedom of Dublin(although he still cribbed and whinged about it) for his efforts for Africa.Note how Bono refused the "Sir" title,the reason he gave was because he is Irish.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

What has he ever done for Limerick,or Ireland?

What have you ever done for Ireland? Voting Sinn Féin doesn't count.

You can have a successful career without changing your nationality and your allegiances.Why was he given the freedom of the city of Limerick?What has he ever done for Limerick,or Ireland?He is known for being a TV and radio presenter-nothing else.Tis understandable why Geldof,another "Sir",was given the freedom of Dublin(although he still cribbed and whinged about it) for his efforts for Africa.Note how Bono refused the "Sir" title,the reason he gave was because he is Irish.

A great man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The begrudgery is strong in you.

He's probably sang a few rebel songs in the bars of Nenagh, for Ireland.

So you can't be proud to be Irish without being a Sinn Féin supporter?

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

So you can't be proud to be Irish without being a Sinn Féin supporter?

It's definitely a common trait among those who feign a love for Ireland. So anyway, what have you ever done for Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭afrodub

I didn't realise this was out on DVD-I only saw it today.Even the name makes me laugh.

I mean,why would any TRUE Irish person want to buy this-and line the pockets of an ex-pat already rolling in British Sterling,who admittedly "anglicised" himself,who distances himself from his roots while in Britain and who laughs at us,or "the Irish" as he calls us,every chance he gets when on British television? I for one am infuriated by this.In my opinion,Terry "the Brit" Wogan is not an Irishman,and England can keep him.

Translation : Envy

He's probably sang a few rebel songs in the bars of Nenagh, for Ireland.

For the record,I don't go to pubs.What the hell is wrong with speaking up for ones own nationality?And by the way-I dont mean by taking up arms,as your buddy on here is suggesting.I buy as much Irish produce as possible,I am trying to promote the Irish language at home,at work,and anywhere I go.Might seem like feck all to ye but at least tis somethin.Laugh all ye want

It's definitely a common trait among those who feign a love for Ireland. So anyway, what have you ever done for Ireland?

Obviously your opinions are narrow minded and misguided.

Question right back at you-what have you done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Joko

LOL

Pot meet kettle

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Very insightful. Very ironic.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Joko wrote: »
    LOL

Pot meet kettle
    Common with your Patriots/Gaelgoiri Nouveau. While loudly espousing a worthy cause, they have a concomitant problem; an inability to look in mirrors that vampires might identify with.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Question right back at you-what have you done?

Fuck all. Speaking Irish doesn't count either.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Very insightful. Very ironic.

And why,might I ask?

This person has implied that people who are not afraid to speak out loud about their pride of being Irish are all supporters of one particular politcal group with a history of violence.This person's suggestion is NOT,AND I REPEAT NOT,CORRECT.

And why,might I ask?

This person has implied that people who are not afraid to speak out loud about their pride of being Irish are all supporters of one particular politcal group with a history of violence.This suggestion is NOT,AND I REPEAT NOT,CORRECT.

fair enough, now stop begrudging the Irish who have made a few bob in the mainland

Fuck all. Speaking Irish doesn't count either.
    Who exactly are you to talk,or to judge,then?

fair enough, now stop begrudging the Irish who have made a few bob in the mainland

You think this is all about him gettin rich??
    NO,it is not.My point,from the very beginning,is why did he have to relinquish his Irishness and while he is there-act like he's anything but??As I have already said-one can make millions abroad without changing one's national identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,423 ✭✭✭cml387

If we are speaking of traitors to the Cause Of Ireland, I can think of quite a few who walk amongst us today who have done incalculably more harm than poor old Terry.One Seanie Fitzpatrick par example?

Maybe you might aim your tirade against them,OP.

You think this is all about him gettin rich??
    NO,it is not.My point,from the very beginning,is why did he have to relinquish his Irishness and while he is there-act like he's anything but??As I have already said-one can make millions abroad without changing one's national identity.

When did he change his identity. Via wiki : Sir Michael Terence Wogan, KBE, DL (born 3 August 1938), or also known as Terry Wogan, is a veteran Irish radio and television broadcaster who holds dual Irish and British citizenship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,423 ✭✭✭cml387

When did he change his identity. Via wiki : Sir Michael Terence Wogan, KBE, DL (born 3 August 1938), or also known as Terry Wogan, is a veteran Irish radio and television broadcaster who holds dual Irish and British citizenship.

Point of order. Are you the guy who wanted to kill Duggy?

cml387 wrote: »
    Point of order. Are you the guy who wanted to kill Duggy?

Duggy is no saint.

EDIT:

No this made up persona became real after I started posting full time. I logged on for the first time to make that HERE's JOHHNY joke in that thread where duggy was in fear of his life.

( you had to be there).

cml387 wrote: »
    If we are speaking of traitors to the Cause Of Ireland, I can think of quite a few who walk amongst us today who have done incalculably more harm than poor old Terry.One Seanie Fitzpatrick par example?

Maybe you might aim your tirade against them,OP.

Granted.
    We have more than our fair share of the feckers over here and he's just one of em.Don't get me started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 brabo

Quite enjoyed it actually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Granted.
    We have more than our fair share of the feckers over here and he's just one of em.Don't get me started

If you're so proud of being Irish, then why do you hate Terry Wogan?

Of all the people to rag on, why pick him? He's a lovely man, with a wicked sense of humour & has done nothing but good for the image of the Irish across the pond for generations.

The guy's a national treasure. Leave him alone!