How much has luck got to do with how your life turns turns out. l

• 20-04-2012 03:48PM

At the moment I am reading Steve Jobs' Biography and it struck me how luck played a huge part in his life, for example being brought up in the area of California where he lived as a child, the kind of adoptive parents he had, the friends he had, the school he went to basically the kind of culture he was formed in led him to become what he was. IMO Luck is the biggest influence on how your life turns out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

You're lucky to be alive. If you consider the chain of events that created the world, then life, then civilisation, then how history panned out for you to be where you are now. What job you end up in is probably the least lucky thing to happen to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

mariaalice wrote: »
    At the moment I am reading Steve Jobs' Biography and it struck me how luck played a huge part in his life, for example being brought up in the area of California where he lived as a child, the kind of adoptive parents he had, the friends he had, the school he went to basically the kind of culture he was formed in led him to become what he was. IMO Luck is the biggest influence on how your life turns out.

Circumstance creates an opportunity, it's up to you to grab it and milk it for all it's worth !

Attitude and determination is as at least as important if not more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

IMO Luck is the biggest influence on how your life turns out.

My parents split up when I was 13 and squabbled over the family home for years which meant ad hoc renting with my siblings and I got less than 300 points in my leaving cert due to the fact that I had to miss 2/3rds of 6th year.

Now I'm a Network Engineer earning higher than average wage. Learning a new language and doing an additional degree to add to my qualifications..

Luck my hole..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

Its not luck,its chance,coincidence,oppourtunity and the decisions made as each has arisen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Sykk wrote: »
    doing an additional degree

NEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I firmly believe that at least to some extent you do create your own luck.

As in, who's more likely to get lucky and be successful,
    • Person A, who sits at home playing games all day.
    Or
    • Person B, who goes mixers to meet like-minded business people.

If Person B meets someone who invests in his business you could say it was lucky that he had that chance encounter, and it was, but he made himself available to get lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

"The Harder I Work, the Luckier I Get"

Samuel Goldwyn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

luck does play a part. if you have bad luck as in losing your job or home , then of course if will influence you. its how you bounce back from that and try something or some other path that will work out for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

There is no such thing as luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

You make your own luck.

Funny how every pessimist I know thinks they're unlucky and the optimists think they're lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

"At the moment I am reading Steve Jobs' Biography and it struck me"

That was unlucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I make my own luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

is it weird that there is a pic of steve jobs at the bottom of my page?
    or is it luck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Luck? Pffftt! If it was raining tits, I'd be hit by a cock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

If you ever feel you're not a lucky person, just read the intro of Bill Bryson's "A Short History of Nearly Everything" ...

Consider the fact that for 3.8 billion years, a period of time older than the Earth's mountains and rivers and oceans, every one of your forebears on both sides has been attractive enough to find a mate, healthy enough to reproduce, and sufficiently blessed by fate and circumstances to live long enough to do so.

Not one of your pertinent ancestors was squashed, devoured, drowned, starved, stranded, stuck fast, untimely wounded, or otherwise deflected from its life's quest of delivering a tiny charge of genetic material to the right partner at the right moment in order to perpetuate the only possible sequence of hereditary combinations that could result-eventually, astoundingly, and all too briefly in ... you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

^meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I make my own luck.

And when the luck doesnt pan out, you just refuse to pay your debts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Fuhrer wrote: »
    And when the luck doesnt pan out, you just refuse to pay your debts.
    I don't have any debts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Died at 56? Not lucky after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I make my own luck.

You seem to have a lot of it. Is that for your own personal use or do you intend to supply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭franbe

some say there is no such thing as free will, not dumb crack pots either, ...which means its all pre determined. :eek:

I think you maybe have to read the biography to understand where I am coming from, for example he grew up a slightly tough working class area which made him the type that wasn't knocked back when things went wrong, he had a job from the age of 14 which made him appreciate money but not over value having money he has geeky/teck friends, ( Steve Wozniak among others ) he grew up in the center of the new emerging computer industry etc etc. Now you could say having anyone ONE of the above happened by chance but in IMO to have all those circumstance in his life made him lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭SomeGuyCalledMi

I would say hard work and perseverance are the most important traits required. And you must take chances. You miss 100% of the shots you don't take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

interesting how close it is to fúck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Irishwolff

I think living in LA is lucky enough with the hot weather & good beaches.
    Maybe if he was born in a third world country he would be unlucky and not come the success he was.
    I think a mixture of luck and hard work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I think you maybe have to read the biography to understand where I am coming from, for example he grew up a slightly tough working class area which made him the type that wasn't knocked back when things went wrong, he had a job from the age of 14 which made him appreciate money but not over value having money he has geeky/teck friends, ( Steve Wozniak among others ) he grew up in the center of the new emerging computer industry etc etc. Now you could say having anyone ONE of the above happened by chance but in IMO to have all those circumstance in his life made him lucky.

Along with how many hundred thousand or even millions of others?

Luck plays it's small part but i think it was drive and genius that got him where it did.
    I mean if it was just luck, who's luckier now you or steve jobs? If i had to switch places with one of you, i know which one it would be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

My parents split up when I was 13 and squabbled over the family home for years which meant ad hoc renting with my siblings and I got less than 300 points in my leaving cert due to the fact that I had to miss 2/3rds of 6th year.

Now I'm a Network Engineer earning higher than average wage. Learning a new language and doing an additional degree to add to my qualifications..

Luck my hole..

You simply don't realise how lucky you are. Thousands like you end up differently. Thousands more were unlucky enough to be born in warn zones, or starvation zones, or malaria zones etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Luck my hole..

I beg to differ...

It was lucky that your parents split up when they did, not nice at all of course and I wouldn't wish that on anyone, but it forced you to grow up and mature a hell of a lot earlier in life thus giving you a distinct advantage over many of your peers who were still one finger up their nose and sitting on their hole in their twenties with no clear direction. It gave you a work ethic, an appreciation of money and an awareness very early on that life isn't fair and that if you want something you're gonna have to work for it. I wish I'd even had a fraction of that kind of cop on when I was a teenager, but I didn't because I had it relatively easy and thus wasted my teens and early twenties doing sweet FA because I didn't know any better.

Nobodys disputing that you worked hard and fair play for achieving what you did. But if you think luck had nothing to do with it then think again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Plazaman wrote: »
    Luck? Pffftt! If it was raining tits, I'd be hit by a cock.

Luck isn't always good. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I think it's a combination of luck, meeting the right people who influence/help you and lots of hard work.