"Women don't want to talk to drunks"Fact or fiction?

13»

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

The ONLY person who'll happily talk to a drunk ....is himself .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

I always have to laugh when you see some advert for Smirnoff or what not getting censured by the powers that be on the grounds that the ad cannot associate drinking with an increased chance of getting your hole on the grounds that there is apparently no correlation between drunkeness and scoring :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I always have to laugh when you see some advert for Smirnoff or what not getting censured by the powers that be on the grounds that the ad cannot associate drinking with an increased chance of getting your hole on the grounds that there is apparently no correlation between drunkeness and scoring :pac:

A slightly tipsy man can be extremely funny and probably needs the dutch courage. It allows him to be slightly cheeky in a flirty way as opposed to sober and obviously nervous. Annoying drunk, slurring etc are unattractive in both sexes - damn those flashbacks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

My theory regarding the corellation between being tipsy and drunk came to the fore again last weekend. We had just won our first championship match of the year and went out for "a few pints" afterwards. While I was in clearly happy form that we had won, I wasn't overly fussed about getting as drunk as the rest of the lads as I had work the next day.

Anyway I did the usual, had a couple of pints and plucked up the courage to get talking to a few women. Getting a long grand with one of them when one of the lads, my eldest cousin, in his "drunken charm" interupted our conversation and saind to her (she was a few years older than me in his defence) "all ye ould wans want is to ride younger lads. Go easy on my cousin". She was mortified and actually went home after her next drink.

Now I'm not saying I would have pulled her and that he broke my balls or whatever, but I will say I've finally discovered the threshold between being tipsy and being drunk and the effect it has on meeting women. And I've also realised why of all my drinking buddies I've been,let's say....the most successful, in recent weeks. Not making a show of myself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭Fiona

Annoying drunk, slurring etc are unattractive in both sexes

If I drunk person male (or female! :D) attempted to chat me up while I was sober I would not be interested.

Now if I was tipsy myself then it would not be so bad :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I LOVE drunk people :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 jackdock88

drunk people are great once you are drunk but when sober there is no more annoying thing!