Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Duckjob wrote: »
    If a family renting one of his properties stopped paying their rent (lets say, for 2 yrs ) should he be denied his legal right to evict them ? That's their family home, right ? Surely, the state needs to step in and protect the sanctity of their family home at all costs ?
    No, not at all. Renters count for nothing in our society. Even if they have the ability to buy at market rates and pay a mortgage, they must be kept in their rental slums and those people who gambled to borrow as much as they could during the property bubble should be kept in ownership AT ALL COSTS (to the taxpayer) even if they are not paying.

I know it's not fair and doesn't make sense, but that is the attitude of our government and our society. Get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Gintonious wrote: »
    Going on the Late Late will be the nails in the coffin, the bloke is fúckin' delusional if he thinks it will help his cause. He can piss and moan about how he was removed from his former home all he wants, but they were well within their rights to do that as he was technically trespassing, he was asked, and chose to ignore it.

And if he tries to deny he would do it to his tenants, is broke, or compares it to the Brits doing it in the 1800's then the people who defend him need to take a serious look in the mirror.

I genuinely think he would come off fine if he went on the LAte Late show.

Tubridy is about as good at grilling people as our canteen toaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

mathie wrote: »
    leggo wrote: »
    The one difference: these people committed the crime of once being wealthy. So when that goes to the ****ter, kick them while their down.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you class A begrudgery in action. How very ****ing Irish of us...

No their 'crime' is not once being weatlhy.
    Their 'crime' is trying to hold on to a house that they do not own.

And yet the post I quoted for the reply you have quoted said that if they were a more modest family, they'd have sympathy. Would they not be living in a house they didn't own then? Yep, exact same circumstances. Except the Kelly's were once wealthy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

If someone were to say "I'd feel sorry for them in the exact same circumstances if they weren't black," then I'd be right.

Case in point...

The one difference: these people committed the crime of once being wealthy. So when that goes to the ****ter, kick them while their down.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you class A begrudgery in action. How very ****ing Irish of us...
    You can kep claiming begrudgery all you like if it makes you happy and satisfies what ever personal axe you wish to grind.
    This is really very very simple. If you cannot afford something but willingly get into it regardless you suffer the consequences. If you are in a profession which should make you more informed than the average Joe (Land lord, Accountant) then you are a twit. If you then court the media and make comparisons of yourself to Ghandi at a time when people are in financial difficulty whilst owning modest family homes which they could afford when they purchased them then you cannot expect sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If someone were to say "I'd feel sorry for them in the exact same circumstances if they weren't black," then I'd be right.

Case in point...

Actual person you called a begrudger said this:
    Millicent wrote: »
    You don't qualify as homeless if you have eighteen more homes.
    Nice try at changing it though!

As for kicking them while their down, seems to me that the vast majority of people just want the law applied to the Kellys. Same way people are against people in council houses scamming benefits, this guy shouldn't get a free €2.2m house rent free that he can't pay for. Nothing do do with begrudgery. It's up to the state to sell it and get some of our tax money back. Find another 70 people like him and it's covered the property tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Their 'wealth' was based on borrowings and other people's money. Anyone can appear wealthy when you are remortgaging 15 properties in the space of a year or so. Borrowed money =/= wealth, especially when you borrow it specifically to gamble with. That confusion is exactly what caused the property boom and bust to begin with. People confusing wealth with debt.

And yet the post I quoted for the reply you have quoted said that if they were a more modest family, they'd have sympathy. Would they not be living in a house they didn't own then? Yep, exact same circumstances. Except the Kelly's were once wealthy.
    Nope. You refered to my post which refered to a family who could once afford their modest home but can no longer afford it due to changed circumstances.
    Trolling, grinding axes AND misrepresenting post. Tut tut...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Listen. Once you live in South Dublin the country owes YOU a living and a SUV with a 10+ plate.

How DARE these riff raff enter a GATED estate with their vans and policemen in uniform and disturb the leafy equilibrium to which all of us aspire.

Evictions are for POOR people in Athlone and Tallaght and Clonmel and places like that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

No not exact same circumstances.

If a more modest family was kicked out of their home they'd have nowhere to go. They'd be out on the streets.

The Kellys have 18 other properties to go to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

I wonder are the tenants of the Kelly's 18 properties considering not paying the rent anymore. Mr Kelly would hardly evict them?

I didn't single Milicent out, in a general context I'm saying this entire campaign if feulled by begrudgery.

The quoting system is quite simple: if you quote a reply of mine, and I've also quoted someone before giving that reply, I'm directly addressing that point. Not one made 10 pages ago.

People argue that this has nothing to do with wealth and everything to do with people living in repossessed property. I'll expect similar outpouring of loathing the next time a modest family with 4 young kids get evicted from a Ballyfermot house then.

In this quest for the truth behind the story we're told, nobody has made any effort to find info about whether the other properties they own are occupied and they make a good income from them, despite the fact that doing so would probably have stopped this situation from happening. Nope, in that case, finding the facts would hinder a good opportunity to kick a wealthy person while they're down.

This can all be summed up with by saying "Hey, he had this! I've never had that! Now he doesn't have it anymore, let's laugh."

But yeah, blah blah taxpayers, scammers, greedy etc. Sure... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

In this quest for the truth behind the story we're told, nobody has made any effort to find info about whether the other properties they own are occupied and they make a good income from them, despite the fact that doing so would probably have stopped this situation from happening. Nope, in that case, finding the facts would hinder a good opportunity to kick a wealthy person while they're down.
    More ignorant bullsh!t. The guy himself has said they couldn't move into one of their other 20-odd properties because they are all rented out.

Do you know anything about this story at all? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭fionny

More ignorant bullsh!t. The guy himself has said they couldn't move into one of their other 20-odd properties because they are all rented out.

QFT! Looks like Leggo is the one who didnt bother to get the facts.

I did miss that, but there is a difference between 'not knowing anything' and 'not knowing everything'. All I'd read was that he was refusing to discuss financial details, so by all means if you have a link to back that assertion up, please provide it. The last official figure I heard on it too was 18 properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

In this quest for the truth behind the story we're told, nobody has made any effort to find info about whether the other properties they own are occupied and they make a good income from them, despite the fact that doing so would probably have stopped this situation from happening. :rolleyes:

They are occupied according to Kelly himself. Even if his rental income had dropped it doesn't mean he can take a unilateral break from paying his own mortgage and stick his head in the sand for a couple of years.
    The couple insisted they were unable to move into one of their other properties as these were all currently leased out.
    "Those properties are let and people have leases and cannot be disturbed. I am a landlord by profession and those properties are let," Mr Kelly said.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/pensioners-bought-at-least-18-homes-on-property-splurge-3087120.html

Nobody has made the effort, huh?

I did miss that, but there is a difference between 'not knowing anything' and 'not knowing everything'. All I'd read was that he was refusing to discuss financial details, so by all means if you have a link to back that assertion up, please provide it. The last official figure I heard on it too was 18 properties.

Its mentioned in just about every single article thats been done:

http://www.thejournal.ie/video-couple-evicted-from-killiney-home-after-anglo-repossession-order-422154-Apr2012/

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elderly-couple-evicted-from-home-on-millionaires-row-3085588.html

etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

I didn't single Milicent out, in a general context I'm saying this entire campaign if feulled by begrudgery.

The quoting system is quite simple: if you quote a reply of mine, and I've also quoted someone before giving that reply, I'm directly addressing that point. Not one made 10 pages ago.

People argue that this has nothing to do with wealth and everything to do with people living in repossessed property. I'll expect similar outpouring of loathing the next time a modest family with 4 young kids get evicted from a Ballyfermot house then.

This can all be summed up with by saying "Hey, he had this! I've never had that! Now he doesn't have it anymore, let's laugh."

But yeah, blah blah taxpayers, scammers, greedy etc. Sure... :rolleyes:

this word "begrudgery" gets bandied about so much on these boards. once somebody disagrees with something they are called "begrudgers". Its so predictive. Nearly as bad as the word "bully" - the most overused word in the dictionary.

a much better word to use would be "karma" - now there's a word.

Imagine these two running around "buying" up all these exclusive apartments in fancy address so they could charge exhorbitant amounts of rent while living in a mansion in a gated community to keep the riff raff out while they live in luxury - only to find themselves thrown out on the street just like the poor people they are trying to alienate themselves from.

now THAT'S karma :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Oh right. It's grand to begrudge them then. In fact, let's burn one of their homes down!

Do you actually know what begrudgery means? Cos I don't think it means what you think it means...

I'm saying this entire campaign if feulled by begrudgery.

Yes you keep saying this ad nauseum. Its not true but , hey, dont let that stop you.
    No one has said 'Hey, he had this! Ive never had that' for the simple reason being that he never had it.(The house)
    On the other hand I have my house. It has 3 bed rooms, one jax. I furnished it over 10 years and decorated it myself. This is the only way i could afford it. the bank wanted to throw money at me. I could have built a 4 bedroom house with ensuites, landscaped garden and furnished prior to moving in and i would now be screwed.
    But Im not an idiot with delusions of entitlement.

Yes you keep saying this ad nauseum. Its not true but , hey, dont let that stop you.
    No one has said 'Hey, he had this! Ive never had that' for the simple reason being that he never had it.
    On the other hand I have my house. It has 3 bed rooms, one jax. I furnished it over 10 years and decorated it myself. This is the only way i could afford it. the bank wanted to throw money at me. I could have built a 4 bedroom house with ensuites, landscaped garden and furnished prior to moving in and i would now be screwed.
    But Im not an idiot with delusions of entitlement.

But think you couldve had all that and not paid a penny back and people will feel sorry for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

No, not at all. Renters count for nothing in our society. Even if they have the ability to buy at market rates and pay a mortgage, they must be kept in their rental slums and those people who gambled to borrow as much as they could during the property bubble should be kept in ownership AT ALL COSTS (to the taxpayer) even if they are not paying.

I know it's not fair and doesn't make sense, but that is the attitude of our government and our society. Get used to it.

Oh, believe me as a renter of many years I'm well used to having no voice and having to listen to a diet of skewed media reporting that is run by property owners/investors,
    Great news !! Property prices went up another 1,000,000% last month...

and then from 2007 on:
    More bad news today as property dropped a further 3%...

Utter feckin horse-****.

fionny wrote: »
    But think you couldve had all that and not paid a penny back and people will feel sorry for you!
    Well. Leggo would but not you shower of begrudgers;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,936 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Watched the original videos that turned up on Broadsheet the other day, the neighbors are hilarious in it "These mafia people, you would never meet anymore nicer, contributing..."

The "contributing" bit is gas.

a much better word to use would be "karma" - now there's a word.

Imagine these two running around "buying" up all these exclusive apartments in fancy address so they could charge exhorbitant amounts of rent while living in a mansion in a gated community to keep the riff raff out while they live in luxury - only to find themselves thrown out on the street just like the poor people they are trying to alienate themselves from.

now THAT'S karma :cool:

Huh? Now I could be missing something here (wouldn't be the first time) but how do you know they charge high rents? Obviously it wasn't enough if they couldn't pay the mortgage with a full occupancy?

Such ****e talk, all for the sake of kicking people when they're down. What a horrible, negative little country we are...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

this word "begrudgery" gets bandied about so much on these boards. once somebody disagrees with something they are called "begrudgers". Its so predictive. Nearly as bad as the word "bully" - the most overused word in the dictionary.

Don't forget 'first world problem' which is the popular phrase at the moment to throw about on here if anyone complains about something

Remember, unless you're a starving, aids inflicted orphan from Uganda, you have no right to complain about anything, ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Huh? Now I could be missing something here (wouldn't be the first time) but how do you know they charge high rents? Obviously it wasn't enough if they couldn't pay the mortgage with a full occupancy?

Such ****e talk, all for the sake of kicking people when they're down. What a horrible, negative little country we are...

The areas they own property have average rents of 1500 per month. Have you looked into this at all?

Would you get off your high trolling horse.

This couple are MILKING the irish people for their money and their sympathy. They simply got what they deserved.

If you dont pay anything for 730days you do not deserve to remain in a property as it has been said time and time again on here if one of his tennants didnt pay rent for even a month ill bet he'd have them turfed out in whatever fashion was neccessary.

Let alone they can use the tenancy laws to free up one of their other EIGHTEEN properties to live in...

This couple are gougers and are the kind of people who brought about the economic ****en mess we all have to live with these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

pjmn wrote: »
    Pair of crooks, but the media are worse pandering to them...

To paraphrase a quote from the film The Paper which sums up "the media" for me:

Editor: We make them look good today, we taint them on Saturday. Everybody's happy.

Indeed. A poster made a silly unsubstantiated claim thus confirming every little thing you have posted thus far.
    We can all stop now. You have us sussed.VICTORY FOR LEGGO!!!!
    Edit:

News just in:
    Fishys claims werent unsubstantiated. Leggo is still trolling. game back on....

MagicSean wrote: »

The areas they own property have average rents of 1500 per month. Have you looked into this at all?

Of course I have, but I'm facing the collective research of a positive hate campaign here determined to destroy the reputation of an elderly couple because they've thrown a bit of a tantrum about being made homeless. I'm one man posting from work, I can't know everything.

So that makes them bastards then yeah?