Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

The famine is over lads. The Brits are gone. Being a landlord doesn't make you evil anymore.

That attitude is soooo 1847.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

leggo wrote: »
    Not at all, I just think that the outrage is misplaced and entirely begrudging. For example, people put on a facade of simply being interested in 'seeing justice in action', however I'd love if someone were to collect a percentage of posts here that made in reference to their wealth.

So clearly the problem is not with the actual law-breaking, for which they have been punished, the problem with them is for being wealthy at one stage and seeking sympathy. And, as we all know, nobody with any kind of wealth should ever, ever receive any sympathy! They should be witch-hunted online for ever having the cheek to have been successful at one stage (even if already punished).

I think you misunderstand why some people are pissed off at the O'Kellys. They are presenting themselves as confused frail pensioners who have been beaten out of their house (completely by surprise) by thugs. They further claim that they are homeless and are forced to live in a tent. This is lies. And the reason for the lies? So they can take money from me.

This is the like some guy calling to my door begging for money to feed his kids and having his 2012 BMW parked outside. It's the rich trying to get richer by taking money from me and I'm fairly pissed off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 579 ✭✭✭panama

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/pensioners-bought-at-least-18-homes-on-property-splurge-3087120.html

"The bank are not doing anything illegal, what I am objecting to is 19th century eviction tactics.."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

geeky wrote: »

*Landlords have a legal right to take over a property if they or a family member need to live in it.

Where is this nonsense coming from? Only in some cases such as a part 4 tenancy or if it is provided by the lease can a landlord legally terminate a tenancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,545 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

If I was lobbying for debt forgiveness I'd be raging with the antics of these two.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

snubbleste wrote: »
    They're on Radio1 now, trying to garner every last ounce of sympathy.
    "Im a professional landlord. I house people."
    :mad: :mad:

i wonder how pat kenny will spin it..with his dalkey pad fiasco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

The real evidence, beyond your best guess, suggests they're broke. A bit attention-seekIng too, admittedly, but that's not a crime.
    The evidence does not suggest that!! All it suggests is that they stopped making repayments on a €2m mortgage about 4 years ago and made no effort to settle their debts in that period, leaving the bank and courts with no option to evict them.

For example, since you talk about evidence, do you believe the report in the IT today detailing the various properties they own in some of the most exclusive areas of Dublin?

The only reason this is even being discussed is because this accountant/ property speculator contacted every media outlet in the country, hoping he could play the old codger card, and garner enough public sympathy to allow him to move back into the house (and what, live their rent free??). If he genuinely wanted to sort his mess out, he would have done so at any stage over the previous 3-4 years, using any part (or all if necessary) of his extensive property portfolio!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

panama wrote: »

for those that cant follow the URL

THE pensioner and his wife forcibly evicted from their palatial home are major landlords -- with a nationwide portfolio of apartments.
    Brendan (71) and Asta Kelly (63) had their home in one of Dublin's most exclusive neighbourhoods repossessed on Wednesday after failing to pay off a €2m mortgage from Anglo Irish Bank.
    Bailiffs dragged the couple from the lavish detached five-bedroom house in St Matthias Wood, Killiney, Co Dublin. They have since been camped outside the property in protest.
    The Irish Independent has learned their former home is just one of at least 18 different properties they bought around the country in an acquisitions binge since the early 1990s.
    Mr Kelly, an ex-accountant, last night denied the couple had been the authors of their own misfortune, saying everybody in the country pushed themselves too far financially during the boom years.
    "Everybody in Ireland overstretched, we didn't buy all of our properties during the boom.
    "A lot of them were bought before the boom," Mr Kelly said
    The couple insisted they were unable to move into one of their other properties as these were all currently leased out.
    "Those properties are let and people have leases and cannot be disturbed. I am a landlord by profession and those properties are let," Mr Kelly said.
    And the couple claimed it had been impossible to sell off any of their apartments to help pay the Anglo debt because of the depressed property market.
    Mrs Kelly said the couple had put their Killiney home on the market two years ago but were unable to sell it.
    Records indicate the couple borrowed heavily just before the financial collapse.
    Five of their apartments -- three in Dublin, one in Carlow and another in Limerick -- were remortgaged in March 2008. A sixth apartment, in Dublin, was remortgaged that September.
    All of the borrowings were with Irish Life & Permanent.
    The couple also took a mortgage out against nine other apartments, all in Dublin, with IL&P in June 2007.
    Some of the properties are in Dublin's leafy neighbourhoods -- Donnybrook, Ballsbridge, Stillorgan and Rathmines.
    A two-bedroom apartment in those suburbs is estimated to have been worth between €400,000 and €700,000 in 2008, but are now valued between €200,000 and €300,000.
    Rental income from such properties is currently between €1,300 and €1,500 a month.
    Sligo-born Mr Kelly and his German-born wife, a former teacher, spoke to the Irish Independent from a tent they have put up outside their former home.
    Mr Kelly said the properties were meant to be the couple's retirement nest egg, and blamed bailiffs for adopting 19th century tactics.
    "The bank are not doing anything illegal, what I am objecting to is 19th century eviction tactics. We were dragged out of our home -- it could have been 1860," he said.
    The couple, who have been married for 40 years and don't have any children, lived in Germany for 23 years where they ran a successful business in the tourist resort of Sylt, selling Irish textiles to holidaymakers.
    Support
    Mr Kelly said all his properties have dropped in value and he questioned how the couple could repay their debts.
    "Property didn't just go down it crashed. You can't sell them at even a third of the price. So what are we to do, how are we supposed to pay off loans?
    "We want to get back into our own house. My office is there. I have no livelihood until I get back into my home. We have to get back in and we are standing our ground."
    Mr Kelly claimed he had received 44 text messages of support, and insisted they will find a way to make money again.
    "Life has changed for us obviously as we are living on the street," Mr Kelly said.
    - Colm Kelpie and Edel O'Connell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Where is this nonsense coming from? Only in some cases such as a part 4 tenancy or if it is provided by the lease can a landlord legally terminate a tenancy.

It is correct.
    Maybe you should have checked before you posted.
    Landlords can terminate a tenancy that has lasted between six months and four years (a Part 4 tenancy) only in the following circumstances:
    •After 3 and ½ years
    •If the tenant does not comply with the obligations of the tenancy
    •If the property is no longer suited to the tenants’ needs (e.g. overcrowded)
    If the landlord needs the property for him/herself or for an immediate family member
    •If the landlord intends to sell the property
    •If the landlord intends to refurbish the property
    •If the landlord plans to change the business use of the property (e.g. turn it into offices).
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/housing/renting_a_home/if_your_landlord_wants_you_to_leave.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

i heard him on the radio giving out that his office, his papers etc. are in the house and he cannot now access them.
    he's trying to give the impression that this happened over night.
    it did not.
    they would have received countless correspondence from their bank's arrears/legal dept.

On Newstalk yesterday morning he was asked if the bailiffs had given notice and he said they had.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

The famine is over lads. The Brits are gone. Being a landlord doesn't make you evil anymore.

That attitude is soooo 1847.
    But they were replaced by The Trolls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Thoie wrote: »
    I have a lot more sympathy for your couple - they know what needs to be done, and are willing to do it before they end up on the street. I'm puzzled about "coming after their house" though. Did they put their home up as collateral against the other properties?

Well they have all loans with the same lender, so if they fell into difficulty, that is the best option the bank has to recover a large portion of the overall debt. That house is probably worth 6/7 other houses. Don't know if it's officially down as collateral...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

thats wrong. a landlord can give notice to tenants if they need the house for themself or a family member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭Mousewar

philstar wrote: »
    i wonder how pat kenny will spin it..with his dalkey pad fiasco

I'd say he's already holed up inside claiming squatter's rights. He'd do anything for a free gaff, him.

omahaid wrote: »
    I think you misunderstand why some people are pissed off at the O'Kellys. They are presenting themselves as confused frail pensioners who have been beaten out of their house (completely by surprise) by thugs. They further claim that they are homeless and are forced to live in a tent. This is lies. And the reason for the lies? So they can take money from me.

This is the like some guy calling to my door begging for money to feed his kids and having his 2012 BMW parked outside. It's the rich trying to get richer by taking money from me and I'm fairly pissed off.

They're not going to take money from you, though. Clearly. If anything, if successful this will push the issue of debt forgiveness back on the table. No judge in their country is going to set a precedent with the "Ah god, but they're so old" ruling that allows them to live in their home, free of payment, at the taxpayer's expense. So your fears aren't founded in reality.

It won't be successful, their standing as formerly wealthy landlords will likely hamper their case and they'll likely shuffle off, slightly red-faced, having had their tantrum for the country to witness.

Meanwhile, I think I got the point in one, as your post questioning me missing the point was entirely based around you trying to validate a witch-hunt on the rich.

And no, this is not trolling. Just because I'm disagreeing with the witch hunt doesn't make me an automatic troll. I know you're all pre-conditioned to begrudge the rich and hate landlords, it's in our blood sure, but that doesn't mean it's the right thing to do. It's actually laughable when you look at it. And it's arse backwards attitudes (that were so widely held they became nigh-on unanimous) like the mob's in this case that made the Irish so mocked as ignorant 'Paddys' around the world for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,239 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Does anyone know if they had been paying anything back to the bank at all over the last 2 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

ignorant 'Paddys'...

I'm homeless.......... with at least 18 other properties around the country. Where's the world's smallest fiddle when you need it. There's nothing ignorant whatsoever in placing the blame for his position on him and his mrs. It's not a witch-hunt either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

No sympathy for them. They had two years in which to secure one of their other properties to live in!

I wish all the other people that were evicted had the same option!

This couple were one of many who have caused the problem we face today! Couple with no children and 19-20 houses including the €2m worth home, even after all the downfall in the market.

What were they thinking of borrowing so much in their 60's?? Pure greed!

Why don't we see this kind of media attention on an ordinary punter who only scraped enough to buy a family home?

Why don't we see this kind of attention from politicians about Priory Hall residents who are facing bankruptcy as a result of the greed of the developer and lack of action and enforcement by the county council?

The question was never asked if they even showed up in court when the order was signed and stay put on it or was it done in default? I am sure no judge would sign the order if they tried to work with the bank in a reasonable manner. Owing over €2m at 71 years of age does beg a question of the term of the mortgage and so on....

Let's face it, it is highly unlikely the couple will be able to pay it back over the next 30 years!

Furthermore, they stated this was to be their retirement nest. Did they not have enough from the sale of their business in Germany that they than decided to so heavily invest and mortgage themselves way above their means and realistic expectations.

I bet anything this was a very smart business man who though they can play old pensioner card and get away scot free.

Also the level of anger about the way the bailiff's handled the situation is shocking. They were well with in their rights and also the man did not hep the case. For someone so fragile and old, as they would like to be perceived, he acted very stupidly. He could have done the same protest by peacefully walking out but than he would not have gotten this reaction and he knows it!

prinz wrote: »
    ignorant 'Paddys'...

I'm homeless.......... with at least 18 other properties around the country. Where's the world's smallest fiddle when you need it. There's nothing ignorant whatsoever in placing the blame for his position on him and his mrs. It's not a witch-hunt either.

The fact you missed the tongue-in-cheek tone of that post doesn't help your attempt to not sound ignorant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

omahaid wrote: »

he just said on radio he is mounting this protest to protect all other people in arrears/negative equity.

could this guy be Ireland's Mahatma Ghandi or Che Guevara, fighting for oppressed people throughout the land ??????:)

The fact you missed the tongue-in-cheek tone of that post doesn't help your attempt to not sound ignorant.

Tongue in cheek, head in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

could this guy be Ireland's Mahatma Ghandi or Che Guevara, fighting for oppressed people throughout the land ??????:)
    I did actually laugh to myself when he compared himself to Ghandi in the "Shocking" :rolleyes: footage youtube clip!!

Does anyone know his media schedule for today, I seem to keep missing him whenever he goes on the radio??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Just because I'm disagreeing with the witch hunt doesn't make me an automatic troll. I know you're all pre-conditioned to begrudge the rich and hate landlords, it's in our blood sure, but that doesn't mean it's the right thing to do. It's actually laughable when you look at it. And it's arse backwards attitudes (that were so widely held they became nigh-on unanimous) like the mob's in this case that made the Irish so mocked as ignorant 'Paddys' around the world for decades.

I don't begrudge the rich although I've met some b**stard landlords in my time. I do begrudge people who claim to be victims of the evil bank and the evil sheriff of Dublin, when it clearly is the opposite. I have NO sympathy whatsoever for these chancers. Good job media and guards happened to be passing just at the moment of eviction though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

I reckon he might be on the late late tonight, get the popcorn out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

bullvine wrote: »

The late late isn't the same since Gaybo left it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Some of his properties were bought in the 90's whereby their value would still generate a profit if sold today. This scammer is trying to hold onto a posh lifestyle whereby the taxpayer funds it.

gatecrash wrote: »
    The late late isn't the same since Gaybo left it.

It isn't the same since they started trawling the week's tabloids to find F-Z list guests. Even Pat Kenny managed to keep some sort of a hold on the dignity of the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

They're not going to take money from you, though.

If this couple doesn't pay their mortgage then who does?
    The taxpayers.

Clearly. If anything, if successful this will push the issue of debt forgiveness back on the table. No judge in their country is going to set a precedent with the "Ah god, but they're so old" ruling that allows them to live in their home, free of payment, at the taxpayer's expense. So your fears aren't founded in reality.

Debt forgiveness.
    FFS.
    Debt doesn't get forgiven.
    It gets passed around.

And guess who is carrying the can when the music stops?
    That's right ... The taxpayers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Oh right. It's grand to begrudge them then. In fact, let's burn one of their homes down!

Ah yes, it's only "begrudgery". The reason the property bubble existed is because of clowns like Mr Kelly buying 18 properties. Now he wants to live in a house he doesn't even own for free, and because we don't agree, we're begrudgers. :rolleyes:
    If Mr. Kelly was black you'd be calling us racist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

bullvine wrote: »

they'd be shooting themselves in the foot if they do...carcrash TV