Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

leggo wrote: »
    Oh right. It's grand to begrudge them then. In fact, let's burn one of their homes down!

Where's the aggro coming from? There are genuine homeless people in Ireland, they should be helped. Not people chancing their arm with 18 properties. I don't understand your sympathy for what are, in my mind anyway, scammers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

bullvine wrote: »
    Do they really have 9 properties as well as that house? can that be confirmed, I know the estate, its 2 mins from my house, its more ballybrack than Killiney as its on the ballybrack side of the road.

I don't think its been confirmed but the more they refuse to disclose how many properties they own, the more properties people will assume they have...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Sheriff should have evicted them in winter so they can't pull the tent stunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

They're insisting that they'll stay in the tent indefinitely- surely there's some law against camping on public property, no? Or will one of their neighbours let them camp in their garden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭jeni

do they let their tennants stay in one of their many proprties stay for free, i think not,

and then he lies bare faced when asked have you anywere else to stay, he thinks for a second n then says no,

no sympathy what so ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

surely there's some law against camping on public property, no? Or will one of their neighbours let them camp in their garden?

I hope no because I am going to camp my tent on the streets of Killiney for this weekend. I don't know yet where I will camp - some nice street close to the sea, with nice houses and some pub probably?

And I just heard in the radio (Newstalk 106) some lady defending this two millionaires - she argued that 40% of people has now problem to pay their mortgage so LEGISLATION should protect them from being thrown on the streets while can't pay.

* * * * * MAY I ASK THE SAME LEGISLATION FOR PEOPLE ON THE RENT ??? * * * * *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Oh right. It's grand to begrudge them then. In fact, let's burn one of their homes down!

No point. The insurance company will just pay to rebuild it.

Lets burn his tent instead :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

So you think that people find their play-acting and histrionics disgusting because we ENVY them? And not because they are trying to steal millions of euros from the Irish state? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Can't the Corpo throw them out of the tent or at least get it clamped? Zero sympathy for these brass necked chancers.

jeni wrote: »
    do they let their tennants stay in one of their many proprties stay for free, i think not
    If I lived in one of these chancers' properties, I'd immediately stop paying my rent. What are they going to do about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Anyone know who the estate agent for the house is? We should all arrange viewings. I know I can't afford the house (not without "overstretching"), but that doesn't seem to matter, does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭pjmn

Pair of crooks, but the media are worse pandering to them...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

Joe10000 wrote: »
    They own 28 properties according to one report this morning. My guess is they were playing brinkmanship with the bank looking for a write down.

i heard him on the radio giving out that his office, his papers etc. are in the house and he cannot now access them.
    he's trying to give the impression that this happened over night.
    it did not.
    they would have received countless correspondence from their bank's arrears/legal dept.

these things take years.

my guess is they are now in the process of evicting some of their tenants, and i can guarantee you it will not take them 2 years to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

omahaid wrote: »
    Where's the aggro coming from? There are genuine homeless people in Ireland, they should be helped. Not people chancing their arm with 18 properties.

Sympathy?! I'm simply saying it's amusing the amount of begrudgery and assumptions that people are making, the mob mentality that has emerged, since this case came out. I don't think they're deserved of sympathy...but god, you'd swear that 'asking for sympathy when you don't deserve it' was as serious a crime as the massacre in Norway given the visceral reaction here. For example:
    Vicxas wrote: »
    I am absolutely delighted this happened
    most posters rightly see these old farts as greedy grasping people

...and one from yourself:
    omahaid wrote: »
    I don't understand your sympathy for what are, in my mind anyway, scammers.

...and so on.

Bit of cop on, yeah lads? They've been kicked out of the home they were living in. Presumably they're struggling as landlords given that property is a terrible sector to be involved in these days (else, I suggest, they would've paid their mortgage to begin with).

They're currently being punished. The fact that you know they exist is a result of them being punished. Can we leave out the petty, immature remarks that are being said because they committed the crime of simply 'being wealthy at one stage'? You're not doing yourselves any favours.

zom wrote: »
    * * * * * MAY I ASK THE SAME LEGISLATION FOR PEOPLE ON THE RENT ??? * * * * *
    No, you may not. Renters are scum, and will not be allowed to dodge their rent OR to acquire property from people who are not paying their mortgages.

Get used to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

pjmn wrote: »
    but the media are worse pandering to them...

yep, did you hear the niall boylan show on 4fm last night, completely one-sided ..can't believe how niave some people are being hoodwinked by this old guy

and all this talk of assault:rolleyes:...give me a break, they escorted him of the property simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

I know a couple in a similar situation. They live in a valuable house, and he has a small number of other properties. The mortgages he has on those properties is now close to equal the rent he is collecting, since rents have reduced in the last few years. He'd like to sell up and call it a day, but he'd never sell for a high enough value to repay the mortgages. The bank have threatened to come after his house if he fails to keep up payments on any of the properties (they can obviously see what may be coming). He has all mortgages with the same bank (unlike in this case), which simplifies their situation.

He knows this is their own doing, they have cut every corner to keep going, but it's a vicious cycle. But if push came to shove, they would absolutely sell up, take a loss on their home, and live somewhere else. In this eviction case, they clearly were not willing to compromise and thought they were untouchable. The scenario is similar, it comes down to how the individual conducts themselves...

Bit of cop on, yeah lads? They've been kicked out of the home they were living in. Presumably they're struggling as landlords given that property is a terrible sector to be involved in these days (else, I suggest, they would've paid their mortgage to begin with).

They're currently being punished. The fact that you know they exist is a result of them being punished. Can we leave out the petty, immature remarks that are being said because they committed the crime of simply 'being wealthy at one stage'? You're not doing yourselves any favours.

the rental market (which they are in) is NOT struggling. it is in a very healthy state as a lot of potential buyers cannot/will not purchase, and are renting instead. my guess is their rental income has increased not dropped over the last few years.

he said himself on the radio thats he's making a profit as a landlord...but not enough to cover the mortgage on his kiliney mansion

>well then sell one of your propertys then:cool:

They're currently being punished. The fact that you know they exist is a result of them being punished.

We know they exist because they've gone out of their way to make a holy show of themselves in the national media. If they had expended half as much effort in sorting out their affairs two years ago as they're now spending on whoring themselves on every two-bit radio station, I might have more sympathy for them.

Dickerty wrote: »
    I know a couple in a similar situation. They live in a valuable house, and he has a small number of other properties. The mortgages he has on those properties is now close to equal the rent he is collecting, since rents have reduced in the last few years. He'd like to sell up and call it a day, but he'd never sell for a high enough value to repay the mortgages. The bank have threatened to come after his house if he fails to keep up payments on any of the properties (they can obviously see what may be coming). He has all mortgages with the same bank (unlike in this case), which simplifies their situation.

He knows this is their own doing, they have cut every corner to keep going, but it's a vicious cycle. But if push came to shove, they would absolutely sell up, take a loss on their home, and live somewhere else. In this eviction case, they clearly were not willing to compromise and thought they were untouchable. The scenario is similar, it comes down to how the individual conducts themselves...

I have a lot more sympathy for your couple - they know what needs to be done, and are willing to do it before they end up on the street. I'm puzzled about "coming after their house" though. Did they put their home up as collateral against the other properties?

The key word in that post being 'guess' so, ultimately, you don't know the facts yet see fit to comment on the matter anyway. Again, if their income had been increased, do you think they'd be kicked out of their home for non-payment of the mortgage? I mean there's being stingy and there's a 71 and 63 year old living in a tent minus their dignity.

The real evidence, beyond your best guess, suggests they're broke. A bit attention-seekIng too, admittedly, but that's not a crime.

philstar wrote: »
    he said himself on the radio thats he's making a profit as a landlord...but not enough to cover the mortgage on his kiliney mansion

>well then sell one of your propertys then:cool:

i drive a very nice German car, but if push came to shove and i could not afford it, i would sell it and drive a mondeo.

if things got really bad i would consider a toyota, or a moped.

you have to cut your cloth......... blah! blah! blah!

Thoie wrote: »
    We know they exist because they've gone out of their way to make a holy show of themselves in the national media. If they had expended half as much effort in sorting out their affairs two years ago as they're now spending on whoring themselves on every two-bit radio station, I might have more sympathy for them.

Can you accurately detail the effort they put into sorting out their affairs please, quoting financial transactions and so on? You seem to know a lot about this case, to comment on it so assuredly in public, this is an exciting breakthrough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

The key word in that post being 'guess' so, ultimately, you don't know the facts yet see fit to comment on the matter anyway. Again, if their income had been increased, do you think they'd be kicked out of their home for non-payment of the mortgage? I mean there's being stingy and there's a 71 and 63 year old living in a tent minus their dignity.

The real evidence, beyond your best guess, suggests they're broke. A bit attention-seekIng too, admittedly, but that's not a crime.

Age doesn't come into it, its low using it to drum up support for a scam artist. Amazing how you stick up for a 18 property landlord who claims to be homeless, this has to be a windup on your part.

on a side note: why was that woman running around the street outside saying to keep away from her car , it was private property or something - there was nobody near her car, and the person she was screaming at was on the public road. .

exactly...condescending cow..typical south dublin sniffy attitude

Also the one behind the camera - was she needing to sneeze during the recording - there was very funny noises come from her.

sounded like she was having an orgasm ;)

gurramok wrote: »
    Age doesn't come into it, its low using it to drum up support for a scam artist. Amazing how you stick up for a 18 property landlord who claims to be homeless, this has to be a windup on your part.

Not at all, I just think that the outrage is misplaced and entirely begrudging. For example, people put on a facade of simply being interested in 'seeing justice in action', however I'd love if someone were to collect a percentage of posts here that made in reference to their wealth.

So clearly the problem is not with the actual law-breaking, for which they have been punished, the problem with them is for being wealthy at one stage and seeking sympathy. And, as we all know, nobody with any kind of wealth should ever, ever receive any sympathy! They should be witch-hunted online for ever having the cheek to have been successful at one stage (even if already punished).

by his own admission he's making a profit. he does not wish to discuss his finances only his eviction. the tent is a publicity seeking stunt and NOT their home and i suggest will not be while they get around to evicting tenants from 1 of their several other properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,930 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

This bloke must have been a poxy accountant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

They're on Radio1 now, trying to garner every last ounce of sympathy.
    "Im a professional landlord. I house people."
    :mad: :mad: