Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I'm detecting a note of sarcasm in ones post.

Well at least I hope I am.

That's what I thought but the thanking of a more sympathetic post kind of got me wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Millicent wrote: »
    It's not schadenfreude. It's a couple with a portfolio of eighteen properties who have not paid their mortgage and have been illegally squatting in a €3.5 million home in Killiney for two years. That means that it has been more than two years since they paid their mortgage. Also, comparing themselves to people who were evicted in the Famine is quite rightly sticking in a lot of people's craws.

I'm not defending the non-payment. I honestly haven't a clue why they stayed in a home they couldn't afford for so long without working something out with the bank. Like I said, those questions haven't really been answered by either side.

You're right about the famine eviction analogy - it's a silly comparison. However, I think he was talking about the manner in which it was conducted, not so much comparing himself to a starving peasant!

Sh!t happens to people, rich and poor. There is most definitely a strong whiff of schadenfreude off this thread, though. Just my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭goodie2shoes

I can't tell if you're serious or not. If you are, why would anyone have sympathy for someone who is trying to paint himself as a victim despite being the composer of his own downfall?

i have little sympathy for them.
    they're not homeless. let them move into one of their 18 other properties ffs!

"tell me see dear, shall we reside in Sth. County Dublin, or Clontarf perhaps? How would D6 appeal to you dearest?":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

It has to be said though lads...

Only in Ireland could we find a way to begrudge the homeless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

leggo wrote: »

They have 17 other properties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

but i question the fact the bank can get 6 - 7 garda out there for that, and i cant get the garda to my house after a robbery.

Maybe you should arrange the robbery a few days in advance and coordinate with the Gardai.

I'm not defending the non-payment. I honestly haven't a clue why they stayed in a home they couldn't afford for so long without working something out with the bank. Like I said, those questions haven't really been answered by either side.

You're right about the famine eviction analogy - it's a silly comparison. However, I think he was talking about the manner in which it was conducted, not so much comparing himself to a starving peasant!

Sh!t happens to people, rich and poor. There is most definitely a strong whiff of schadenfreude off this thread, though. Just my opinion.

I watched that whole video and while it's not a nice situation, nobody seemed to treat them in any way harshly or less than professionally. They could have avoided the whole confrontation if not for their stubbornness or overblown sense of entitlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

I don't give a fcuk what the details behind it are. Kicking OAPs out of their home is wrong regardless of any semantics.

f##k you the man should burnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

true wrote: »
    I'm sur the elderly couple are sorry they ever sold their business in Germany and came back to - and investyed in - this little **** of a country which the banks, government and regulator screwed up.
    You forgot the builders, developers and people who bought overpriced houses and apartments to in their rush to become mini-property moguls. They were also major contributors the screwing up the country. Oh, wait, don't this couple fit into one of those categories? Maybe they contributed to the sorry state the country is in as well as being victims of it?

You don't qualify as homeless if you have eighteen more homes.

I think the couple are at fault in this, but i question the fact the bank can get 6 - 7 garda out there for that, and i cant get the garda to my house after a robbery.

1) It wasn't the bank who was there to carry out the eviction. It was bailiffs from the Sheriff's office. They are officers of the court.
    2) The Kellys where the ones who called the Gardai.

K-9 wrote: »
    Enough bull.

Say Anglo was let go, what do you think would have happened this guy?
    If Anglo was let go the receiver would have sold on the loans to some vulture fund who wouldn't have hung around for 4 years. They would have been out on their arses long ago.

They bought a nice home to live in - no crime in that. If the banks came to the conclusion they were able to afford that mortgage, they must shoulder some of the blame there.
    The banks (or in this case the taxpayer) are shouldering a whole lot of the blame. They have let these people live here rent free for on or about four years (worth €400-€500k?). The house will sell for probably about half of the outstanding loan amount and the bank will struggle recoup the difference from the couple so that's another €1m hit. How much more sharing do you want?

flynnlives wrote: »

via http://www.broadsheet.ie/2012/04/18/the-eviction-in-killiney-new-video/

quite distressing video towards the end.

Not sure of the details.

There is something rotten in the state of Ireland!!

OP, your first initial wouldn't be P as in Padraig, would it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Just saw that and also that they plan to stay in the tent till they are allowed to move back into the house.

The support is not on their side. Wonder how long they will stick it in the tent?

Probably till someone buys the house and threatens to run them over with the moving van. :)

Dont you have to not have a home to be homeless?
    Although it's comeign down to the wire now, only 18 more evictions and these poor people could have no houses left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

They own 28 properties according to one report this morning. My guess is they were playing brinkmanship with the bank looking for a write down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

true wrote: »
    its time the bankers, the government, and the regulator took a bit of pain. They are the ones who made the mess. Only in banana republics are such people paid more than their equivalents in first world countries. The bankers, the government, and the regulator are the reason the market is down 70% and the economy totally f****d.
    The great thing about the internet is how even those people who don't have a clue about anything and don't seem to have been watching the news for the last 5 years have a way to get their views across just like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,613 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I am absolutely delighted this happened, Those who think they're untouchable finally getting a bit of real life

Not pay their mortgage for 2 years and expect nothing to happen becasue their old? Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

What this episode shows, more than anything, is how ill-informed our breaking news journalists are.

Anyone who knows anything about personal finance could tell you that the 'we're homeless now' line just wasn't true*, but the first reports swallowed the line whole. It took Colm Keena - who's usually better occupied parsing the truth of tribunal testimony and investigating major moguls - to actually uncover how much property this pair are sitting on.

*Landlords have a legal right to take over a property if they or a family member need to live in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

geeky wrote: »
    What this episode shows, more than anything, is how ill-informed our breaking news journalists are.

Anyone who knows anything about personal finance could tell you that the 'we're homeless now' line just wasn't true*, but the first reports swallowed the line whole. It took Colm Keena - who's usually better occupied parsing the truth of tribunal testimony and investigating major moguls - to actually uncover how much property this pair are sitting on.

*Landlords have a legal right to take over a property if they or a family member need to live in it.

Have you got a link for how many properties this pair have?

I'm just stunned by the level of support these leeches enjoy. Personally, I think the only fair solution is for everybody who is not paying their mortgage to lose ownership - or at least majority ownership - of the property they live in. Otherwise we will have a two-tier social welfare system where the some people rent council houses from the state and will never own them, while others will pay a fraction of the market rent towards their mortgages and continue to own them, stopping those in council houses and renters from ever getting a chance to own at a reasonable price.

Anyway, that's for another thread. But the reaction of the general public to this particular repossession makes me think the country is even more f*cked than I feared. If you didn't buy a property before 2007, it looks like you are screwed. Sorry guys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Some amount of schadenfreude going on in this thread!

As far as I can see, this couple invested in property - something many people did and still do all over the world. I presume they've paid their fair share of tax along the way too.

They bought a nice home to live in - no crime in that. If the banks came to the conclusion they were able to afford that mortgage, they must shoulder some of the blame there. Hindsight is 50 50....if people knew a recession was going to hit, I'm sure many of these mortgages wouldn't have been taken out.

Yes, I agree not paying their mortgage for over two years is asking for trouble and I can't see why they couldn't work something out with the bank, or sell some of their other properties (I don't think there's been a clear answer to that question yet), but what I find kinda distasteful is the 'Fukc the rich basterds, I'm delighted to see them sleeping in a tent on the street' mentality.

We're all great economists after the fact, but I wouldn't take too much pleasure on seeing anyone evicted from their homes.

Glad you agree that not paying the mortgage for two years is "asking for trouble".

Well observed Sherlock !

I think the point you are missing is that most posters rightly see these old farts as greedy grasping people who wanted to hang on to their luxury home at taxpayers expense.

I cannot believe that some solution could not have been found if the couple were willing to adjust their lifestyles.

My read is that our bank got completely p1ssed off with them and concluded that eviction was the only language they would understand.

The capacity for brass neck never ceases to amaze me ...remember the woman in Tallaght who was looking for Social Welfare to pay the 10,000 euro funeral for her father.

Jeeze !

I wish people would learn the facts before contributing. It's not that they haven't paid their mortgage for 2 years: a repossession order was granted 2 years ago, so it wasn't even theirs to pay a mortgage on. And the repossession order that was granted 2 years ago was granted presumably because they hadn't paid their mortgage for the PREVIOUS couple of years.

So they probably haven't paid a cent of rent or mortgage to live for about 4 years in a 5 bedroom mansion in a gated community in Killiney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

So they probably haven't paid a cent of rent or mortgage to live for about 4 years in a 5 bedroom mansion in a gated community in Killiney.

Correct Monty. I too am amazed at the amount of public sympathy for these people. An eviction happens after every other possible avenue to accommodate repayment has been explored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

My sympathy is waning slightly

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0420/1224314969008.html

Some quotes from that article

"The files, in which the couple’s surname is registered as both Kelly and O’Kelly, indicate that they bought 21 properties during the 1990s and the last decade, and remortgaged many of them with Permanent TSB in 2007 and 2008."

"There are only three instances on the registry files of Dublin apartments being sold by the couple. "

So they are far from homeless what with having all the homes and all.

And from http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0420/1224314969030.html

We have "The couple last made a mortgage payment on the house in 2009."

Surely it makes sense for them to live within their means. Why live in a house you can't pay for when you own so many others...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

omahaid wrote: »
    My sympathy is waning slightly

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0420/1224314969008.html

Some quotes from that article

"The files, in which the couple’s surname is registered as both Kelly and O’Kelly, indicate that they bought 21 properties during the 1990s and the last decade, and remortgaged many of them with Permanent TSB in 2007 and 2008."

"There are only three instances on the registry files of Dublin apartments being sold by the couple. "

So they are far from homeless what with having all the homes and all.

And from http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0420/1224314969030.html

We have "The couple last made a mortgage payment on the house in 2009."

Surely it makes sense for them to live within their means. Why live in a house you can't pay for when you own so many others...?

Exactly, the ****ers own more houses than i ever will, and theyre looking for sympathy because they happened to get kicked out of the biggest, fanciest one? Oh man, my heart bleeds for them. If i had any extra space in my little 1 bed apartment i somehow manage to pay rent for every month without fail, id let them stay.

edit

Also, if hes a landlord, leasing at least 18 properties (according to the independent), surely you can afford your own bloody rent?! This guy is a ****ing chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

gatecrash wrote: »
    Have you got a link for how many properties this pair have?
    Here ya go... http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0420/1224314969008.html

Or as above. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

You don't qualify as homeless if you have eighteen more homes.

Oh right. It's grand to begrudge them then. In fact, let's burn one of their homes down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

this thing has really taken off:D...its reminicent of saipan roy keane & mick mccarthy...its dividing the country straight down the middle

personally speaking - i've got no sympathy, its a publicity stunt by that ol'fella did you hear him on the video..."are you filming this" its obvious he's milking it for all its worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Oh right. It's grand to begrudge them then. In fact, let's burn one of their homes down!
    Yes, because applauding justice is "begrudgerey". :rolleyes: