Dog halts thief and now faces death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Kids are pretty stupid and do daft things, (I know I was one), so paying little heed to a parent's warning means they are fair game for a mauling?

If that had been the case, I'd be pretty disfigured by now. Fact is most kids learn by 1 part accident, 1 part parental guidance.

The dog was under control in a private garden, no law against that
    If a parent is stupid enough to let their kids in that garden then the parents obviously dont have the cop on to have kids in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    That is one fugly dog. But no seriously this is what dogs were meant to do, protect the tribe, the poor little creature was only acting according to its training and breeding. It should get a nice run on the beach and a good steak dinner.

Its not the actual hero dog, its just an image of a pitbull that the hedild pulled off the interweb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

That dog is awesome. I'm currently fighting with my OH about this - she is of the "what if it was a child" brigade, but my reply is that in this instance, the dog successfully defended its owner and territory from a dangerous thief, and it's commendable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Naomi00 wrote: »
    I thought pitbulls were illegal in Ireland?

They aren't illegal but they are a listed dog which have special documentation and have to be muzzled in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

bluewolf wrote: »
    Yes that would be fine and I'd tell my family not to go in there

What if it got out and came into your garden ? Or god forbid your kids didnt listen and climbed a fence (been known to happen).

I've seen what vicious dogs can do when they escape, seen one tear Jack Russell to pieces literally. Seen the results of two dogs attacking a kid who ran through a neighbours garden, left him with some pretty horrific injuries. And these weren't Pitbulls which are bred to do damage either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I want that dogs puppies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

It says nowhere in the article that the dog will be destroyed.

I doubt it will be either.

Unless some no good dogooder starts whinging about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭firefly08

I'm quite happy about the thief getting attacked. But i am a little uneasy about having dogs in society capable of ripping a mans hand off. I see no purpose for those dogs.

Well the dog wasn't in society. He was in someone's home.

The dog should be allowed to keep the hand as a reward. Finders keepers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

The scumbag thief should be put down by a qualified vet and the execution broadcast on Dog TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

woodoo wrote: »
    I'm quite happy about the thief getting attacked. But i am a little uneasy about having dogs in society capable of ripping a mans hand off. I see no purpose for those dogs.
    All dogs have the capability to rip a man's hand off, just like all humans have the capability of causing serious injury/death to others. It becomes a problem when owners can't control that agression, or when the breed is bred for that purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭2qk4u

woodoo wrote: »
    I have a miniature poodle and a staffordshire bull terrier, guess which one wants to attack everything that moves, the tiny poodle, I know she is not as big or as strong but she would bite you in an instant. Is there a place for tiny dogs in society ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

I thought pitbulls were illegal in Ireland?

Just on the restricted list i think. Muzzle at all times in public, not kept in presence of u16s etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

2qk4u wrote: »
    I have a miniature poodle and a staffordshire bull terrier, guess which one wants to attack everything that moves, the tiny poodle, I know she is not as big or as strong but she would bite you in an instant. Is there a place for tiny dogs in society ?

Which would do more damage if it snapped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

calfmuscle wrote: »
    Although most of us are happy the dog managed to stop a thief, the reality is that a person jumped a fence and was attacked by an animal. It could easily have been a child or an innocent neighbor retrieving a ball. Would you want that dog living next door to your family?

I'd imagine, knowing the breed that the dog would have given plenty of warning. Barks, growls, snarls, show of teeth, jumping up and down, 360's etc... Enough to put off any sane ball retriever. Obviously the thief looked at the Gardai on his tail, looked at the dog and took a badly calculated risk. I had a car thief land in my back garden years ago where I used to live and my loyal sheepdog made mince meat of his foot before the Gardai dragged him away.

Another point. A lot of dogs will actually react differently to who barges in to their property. My present dog will happily let kids and postmen stroll through the front garden, but will get very shirty with suspicious looking people. He won't attack immediately, but he will make it very clear that the person should leave, and he will give them room to leave.

(I doubt the photo of that dog is the dog involved, clipped ears, and spiked choke chain)

Dogs aren't retarded. I've seen some friendly with kids even when they pull their tails but who'll go mental when someone who shouldn't be walking down an entry (out of sight) is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Blay wrote: »
    Which would do more damage if it snapped?
    Sometimes I think the little ankle biter would...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

sup_dude wrote: »
    All dogs are capable of ripping off a mans hand :confused: Probably a guard dog doing as it was trained to do

Not really, while most dogs can bite and probably attack people, pitbulls were bred as a war dog and are especially aggressive. They've attacked and killed kids in the past so it's not all about what they're trained to do, they have often turned on their owners moreso than other breeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Not really, while most dogs can bite and probably attack people, pitbulls were bred as a war dog and are especially aggressive. They've attacked and killed kids in the past so it's not all about what they're trained to do, they have often turned on their owners moreso than other breeds.

Wrong, That's like saying all Irish people are alcoholics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I know, pitbulls are bred to be nasty but all dogs can take off a persons' hand if they really wanted to, or at least do serious damage.

EDIT: I mean there's ones that are bred to fight (which is wrong on every level)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

What are you talking about? Pittys are renowned for NOT attacking their owners, that's why they're are used as fighting dogs, they're dog aggressive, not human aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

sup_dude wrote: »
    I know, pitbulls are bred to be nasty but all dogs can take off a persons' hand if they really wanted to, or at least do serious damage.

EDIT: I mean there's ones that are bred to fight (which is wrong on every level)

Fact is Pitbulls have the same bit force as Labrador's, also anyone who knows dog's know that Pitbulls are great people dog's and where bred to not be aggressive to humans, but like any dog they will protect their homes and rightly so.

Also i would bet almost anything it was not even a pitbull, Pitbulls are very rare and any dog that bites and is not an obvious lab, poodle or whatever is called a pitbull, sell's papers.

Labrador bites person does not have the same ring to it.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

KKkitty wrote: »
    A new law should be brought out stating that if you knowingly trespass and are attacked by a family pet on your head or in this case hand be it. A dog sees anyone strange coming into its owners property what is it going to do but attack to protect its home.

won't somebody please think of the children postmen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I honestly don't think that the breed has much bearing here, any dog be it a Jack Russell, a Pitbull or a Lab is usually protective of their territory and their families, maybe not to this extent but when faced with such a situation who knows how any dog would react.

My own dog is a big happy eejit pretty much all the time, but if its late at night and he hears something that he knows isn't right he changes quick as flash, barking, growling and wanting to scout out the area. I don't encourage this, I haven't trained him to do this but he does it instinctively. I highly doubt he would bat an eyelid if someone hopped over my back wall, but the minute he comes inside to go to sleep at night it's like he goes straight into protection mode.

I honestly don't believe that a dog should be put to sleep if it is defending the property of it's owner, I count it as reasonable force to be honest the very same as me giving someone a clatter over the head with something. But for this reason if faced with an intruder my dog certainly wouldn't be facing down a thief who broke into my property because I will not have him PTS for doing what dogs instinctively do which is protect their property and their pack.

I honestly don't have an ounce of sympathy for this man, he stole, to what lengths would he have gone to to get what he wanted from the security man, possibly to the same extent of the dog, possibly not who knows. But he shouldn't have been stealing and he got what he had coming as far as I am concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

What are you talking about? Pittys are renowned for NOT attacking their owners, that's why they're are used as fighting dogs, they're dog aggressive, not human aggressive.
    I have one, he uses a lump of concrete as a chew toy, nothing else stands up to his jaws but he is gentle as a lamb with my children and the most loyal animal I have ever known. He's kipping on the couch 10 feet away as I type, head on my sons lap. He would probably also rip off an intruders hand, but that's ok, that's why he's there. Pity the dog in the OP didn't rip off the thiefs head - buy that dog a steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

pitbulls were bred as a war dog

They were bred as a pit dog, to be pitted with bulls or other dogs. They are actually good with human interaction. That's how they got their name, like the German Shepard got the name Germany (from where they were from) and Shepard (what they did) Who told you they were bred as war dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

cowzerp wrote: »
    Fact is Pitbulls have the same bit force as Labrador's, also anyone who knows dog's know that Pitbulls are great people dog's and where bred to not be aggressive to humans, but like any dog they will protect their homes and rightly so.

Also i would bet almost anything it was not even a pitbull, Pitbulls are very rare and any dog that bites and is not an obvious lab, poodle or whatever is called a pitbull, sell's papers.

Labrador bites person does not have the same ring to it.

That's what I'm saying, except I'm tired so simplified it down :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

KKkitty wrote: »
    A new law should be brought out stating that if you knowingly trespass and are attacked by a family pet on your head or in this case hand be it. A dog sees anyone strange coming into its owners property what is it going to do but attack to protect its home.

won't somebody please think of the children postmen!!!
    How many actual postmen get attacked by dogs each year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭kenmc

Didn't they change the law recently to allow reasonable force to defend your property? Surely that'll cover the dog for this, no? Seems reasonable to me.
    Just hope the dog hasn't picked up a smack habit as a result of this :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    All dogs have the capability to rip a man's hand off, just like all humans have the capability of causing serious injury/death to others. It becomes a problem when owners can't control that agression, or when the breed is bred for that purpose.

I disagree. Not all dogs could rip a mans hand off. It takes some serious jaw strength to leave a mans hand dangling. All dogs could lacerate a hand yes but not rip a hand off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

2qk4u wrote: »

To be honest if i came into your house and was attacked i would fancy my chances against the poodle but not against the bull terrier and that is the essential difference.