Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

The population is about 5 million. So 2 million free houses should do, and at €2 million each would only cost €4,000 billion. This will get the construction industry back on its feet, and things will get boomier. We can send the bill to the IMF. Sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,158 ✭✭✭relax carry on

johnbouy wrote: »
    We occupiers occupied the sheriff's office in response to hundreds of evictions, not one. Also, the Dublin city sheriff is the central sheriff's office of the county and all evictions are primarily actioned from this office, and directed to their more local offices. Regarding the Kelly family, we were very moved to see their plight, the violence used against pensioners by mercenaries of this state. On a final note, although it is easy to criticize our actions, be minded at all times that we are caring and empathetic folk who are following in the footsteps of our forefathers and the lessons from our history, to resist attacks on our community. Solidarity brothers and sisters.

Just curious as to what your alternatives are? Do we all stop paying our debts now? Can I pay my bills with magic beans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Have read this thread and listened to the couple on the Pat Kenny show, got the podcast today

It is disgusting and an insult to hear this couple compare this to the evictions back during the famine :mad:
    Irish people starved, suffered through fever and died in ditches back then

This is a two million euro mansion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Have read this thread and listened to the couple on the Pat Kenny show, got the podcast today

It is disgusting and an insult to hear this couple compare this to the evictions back during the famine :mad:
    Irish people starved, suffered through fever and died in ditches back then

This is a two million euro mansion

He also compared himself to Ghandi :D

(seriously!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

Paparazzo wrote: »
    He also compared himself to Ghandi :D

Seems to me like they are masters of manipulation. No wonder they are rich, they have talent to trick people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

these people disgust me they had 2 years to cut their losses sell up and move into more modest accomadation.This was a status symbol. its the likes of them that has this country in the mess its in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I think it is time people are actually taught wilderness skills and learn how to survive in the wild. This is only going to happen more and more in the coming years. Now is the time for people to try and learn how not to live in modern houses and learn how to survive in the wild with nature.

That would be my advice to this old couple is to try and learn how to get over this and wait out the storm in the countryside with nature and learn to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

We need to know the full extent of this situation before we can pass judgements.
    Yes we do need to know and What ever the circumstances of the Court order. I was not appauld that a person is evicted from their home since they have still rent houses under their name, While they cannot evict any current tenant for their own occupy, I cannot understand why they never offered these properties in compensation for their debts, But I do not the issue I have.

It is the actions of the Baliffs and Gardaí as shown in the video in this evictions I do have a problem with.
    The baliffs are operating under Sheriffs Law not common Law & Irish Constitution as the Gardaí sworn an oath to uphold. The Rule of Law is Common Law.
    Garda Síochána means "Guard of the Peace of Ireland"
    The Gardaí Job is not to enforce Sheriffs Law but to keep the peace under common Law. Sheriffs Law do not hold a special place as Common Law do under the Irish constitution.

Many Court Orders that are issued by the Sheriffs are signed by themselves not by a common Law Judge. It is legal under Sheriffs law. It is a common misconception by many people. Yes some are under high Court order. It is still not the Gardaí job to enforce or obstruct those who the Court order is against in the evictions as it is a civil matter not criminal. The gardai need to actively demonstrate that they are impartial and not take one side or the other of the argument. Unfortunately the woman Gardai appears to intervene on the side of the Baliffs. As No Crime as been committed by the Home owner through a failure to pay any debts.

It is the Gardaí job is to uphold the Irish Constitution and Rule of Law. I see blatant abuse by members of the Guards deliberately obstructing and allowing continued harassment and abuse by the Baliff of the two individuals. I hope some one call the Garda Ombudsmen and identify that member of the Gardaí those who obstructed that man and to report them for failing to uphold their Oath as Peace officers.

For Gardaí to act as private bailiffs for these banks, I find it very repulsive. They are supposed to keep and uphold their Oath defend the peace and common Law at all times. They are not paid to be Sheriffs under Sheriffs Law. They are not paid nor sworn an oath to uphold court orders signed by sheriff under Sheriff Law. Sheriffs are not Judges under Common Law.

Baliffs & Sheriffs are bound by common Law are not allow to commit criminal damage and trespass which breach Rule of Law to other people homes, unfortunately they do breach Rule of Law. For the Gardaí to do nothing and uphold Sheriff law while temporary abandoning their oath to Common Law is sickening, especially common Law is superior to Sheriff law.
    http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/declarationvalues.pdf
    An Garda Síochána is committed to upholding and promoting the
    rule of law which is the basis for all genuine democracies.
    Complying with the rule of law means that everyone is equal before
    the law and the law applies equally to everyone, regardless of their
    station, position or power. It is an imperative of public policing that
    Gardaí must always comply with the rule of law and be guided by
    its provisions in their professional practice.

There can be no deviation from this principle and no justification ever
    for acting illegally. Gardaí who attempt to achieve policing
    objectives by breaking the law or violating human rights, act
    illegally and unprofessionally and add to criminality in society. Such
    behaviour undermines the very purpose of public policing and
    diminishes the legitimacy of An Garda Síochána in society.

An Garda Síochána has a core role in the administration of
    criminal justice in Ireland. In that context, a central function of police work is the investigation of incidents and events where the law may have been breached or the rights of members of the community may have been infringed.

The office of Garda confers significant power and authority to limit
    the freedoms and infringe the rights of members of the community in
    certain circumstances. Such power and authority are entrusted to
    Gardaí by the Oireachtas on behalf of the community for the public good.

Our public service mandate dictates that probity and
    integrity must be the hallmarks of our behaviours. Therefore, it is an abuse of our public role or position to engage in behaviour, whether internally or externally, which is motivated by personal gain or the gain of others. The abuse of our office or role and its associated powers and authority for vindictive reasons or unlawful purposes seriously damages the legitimacy of public policing and represents a grave abuse of public trust.

Go to 18:14 The Female Peace Officer refuse to answer for identification and false arrest under false breach of the Peace and evicted by the Gardaí at the the gain of others. She breach her Oath and Rule of Law.
    Breach of the Peace is defined here:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/public_order_offenses_in_ireland.html

I could not see any breach of the peace in the Video, however I did see the officer enter the property followed the camera woman, no matter how unpleasant or nuts she (camera Woman) is, yet I see the Female officer falsely arresting under pretense of Breach of the Peace in her home , the Female Gardaí aided by other officers who breach their duty to uphold Rule of Law and breach of their Oath. These Gardaí have undermined the Garda Síochána as define by their own guidelines and by rule of Law. They aided in the eviction at the gain of others, carrying out the work of the Baliffs & Sheriffs
    Section 16(1) of the Garda Síochána Act 2005 requires each member of the Garda Síochána to make the following Solemn declaration when they are appointed
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2005/en/act/pub/0020/print.html#sec16

16.— (1) On being appointed, each member of the Garda Síochána shall make before a Peace Commissioner a declaration in the following form:

“I hereby solemnly and sincerely declare before God that—

• I will faithfully discharge the duties of a member of the Garda Síochána with fairness, integrity, regard for human rights, diligence and impartiality, upholding the Constitution and the laws and according equal respect to all people,

• while I continue to be a member, I will to the best of my skill and knowledge discharge all my duties according to law, and

• I do not belong to, and will not while I remain a member form, belong to or subscribe to, any political party or secret society whatsoever.”.

(2) The words “before God” may be omitted from the declaration at the request of the declarant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I think it is time people are actually taught wilderness skills and learn how to survive in the wild. This is only going to happen more and more in the coming years. Now is the time for people to try and learn how not to live in modern houses and learn how to survive in the wild with nature.

That would be my advice to this old couple is to try and learn how to get over this and wait out the storm in the countryside with nature and learn to survive.

Indeed, they could familiarise themselves with conditions first by camping in one of the gardens of the properties they own.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

limklad wrote: »
    Yes we do need to know but unfortunately i have no understanding of the legal system and so i can't help you.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

i hope is cold in the tent tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

K-9 wrote: »
    Indeed, they could familiarise themselves with conditions first by camping in one of the gardens of the properties they own.
    Even better for them. Get used to it and learn how to live in a different way. There is plenty of countryside. I think more people should be preparing to go and use it.

It is the actions of the Baliffs and Gardaí as shown in the video in this evictions I do have a problem with.

I agree,the Gardai are understaffed my arse,they are just misused.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Even better for them. Get used to it and learn how to live in a different way. There is plenty of countryside. I think more people should be preparing to go and use it.
    Do Quails eggs and caviar count as bush tucker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Yes we do need to know and What ever the circumstances of the Court order. I was not appauld that a person is evicted from their home since they have still rent houses under their name, While they cannot evict any current tenant for their own occupy, I cannot understand why they never offered these properties in compensation for their debts, But I do not the issue I have.

The baliffs are operating under Sheriffs Law not common Law & Irish Constitution as the Gardaí sworn an oath to uphold. The Rule of Law is Common Law.
    The Gardaí Job is not to enforce Sheriffs Law but to keep the peace under common Law. Sheriffs Law do not hold a special place as Common Law do under the Irish constitution.

Many Court Orders that are issued by the Sheriffs are signed by themselves not by a common Law Judge. It is legal under Sheriffs law. It is a common misconception by many people. Yes some are under high Court order. It is still not the Gardaí job to enforce or obstruct those who the Court order is against in the evictions as it is a civil matter not criminal. The gardai need to actively demonstrate that they are impartial and not take one side or the other of the argument. Unfortunately the woman Gardai appears to intervene on the side of the Baliffs. As No Crime as been committed by the Home owner through a failure to pay any debts.

It is the Gardaí job is to uphold the Irish Constitution and Rule of Law. I see blatant abuse by members of the Guards deliberately obstructing and allowing continued harassment and abuse by the Baliff of the two individuals. I hope some one call the Garda Ombudsmen and identify that member of the Gardaí those who obstructed that man and to report them for failing to uphold their Oath as Peace officers.

For Gardaí to act as private bailiffs for these banks, I find it very repulsive. They are supposed to keep and uphold their Oath defend the peace and common Law at all times. They are not paid to be Sheriffs under Sheriffs Law. They are not paid nor sworn an oath to uphold court orders signed by sheriff under Sheriff Law. Sheriffs are not Judges under Common Law.

Baliffs & Sheriffs are bound by common Law are not allow to commit criminal damage and trespass which breach Rule of Law to other people homes, unfortunately they do breach Rule of Law. For the Gardaí to do nothing and uphold Sheriff law while temporary abandoning their oath to Common Law is sickening, especially common Law is superior to Sheriff law.
    BullshLt!
    The sherrif and his/her officers are officers of the court, under The Court Officers Act 1945 as ameded 2002.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Wonder how the Residents feel about having a traveller encampment beside them, surely the local authority could fix them up with a berth in the nearest halting site.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

I agree,the Gardai are understaffed my arse,they are just misused.
    In this case the Gardai were called by the Kelly's and not the bailiff's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

johnbouy wrote: »
    We occupiers occupied the sheriff's office in response to hundreds of evictions, not one. Also, the Dublin city sheriff is the central sheriff's office of the county and all evictions are primarily actioned from this office, and directed to their more local offices. Regarding the Kelly family, we were very moved to see their plight, the violence used against pensioners by mercenaries of this state. On a final note, although it is easy to criticize our actions, be minded at all times that we are caring and empathetic folk who are following in the footsteps of our forefathers and the lessons from our history, to resist attacks on our community. Solidarity brothers and sisters.

Occupy Dame Street has now lost all credibility now, not that it had much to begin with.

Should we all be entitled to live in €2m homes without paying for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 grantiemcfc

I would like to know who called the press photographers seems very set up to me. people keep saying they did not pay for the house for two years the court papers where issued 2 years ago so i would guess they stopped paying there mortgage 4 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Where is Richard Boyd Barrett? its just that he is always down at the COCO office in Dun L when a Aocal Authority tenant gets evicted for not paying their rent (all €26.00) a week......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I cant wait til Im old then i can live in a mansion for free and 'Occupy Dame St' will protect me... yeah...that will be nice....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

i wonder if their john rocha tent leaks?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Where are they staying tonight?
    Has SkyNews arrived yet with its satellite dish van?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Occupy Dame Street has now lost all credibility now, not that it had much to begin with.

Should we all be entitled to live in €2m homes without paying for them?

Nice one pal ...your right on the money.

Putting it somewhat brutally these people are really just bullies with a distorted sense of entitlement.

Playing the old pensioner card...didn't work this time.

Look pal you must have bals like an elephant to take on so much loans...and to tough it out to this stage.

But...you have lost...the taxpayer will not fund your lifestyle...suck it up and move on !

M'kay ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Chinasea wrote: »
    Where is Richard Boyd Barrett? its just that he is always down at the COCO office in Dun L when a Aocal Authority tenant gets evicted for not paying their rent (all €26.00) a week......

Funny that because i know several people who live in local authority housing and their rent is in and around 100 euro a week. Maybe the ones with no work have to pay 26 euro a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

Do they get a refund of the household charge? Oh no, I'll bet they forgot to pay that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Dubit10 wrote: »
    Funny that because i know several people who live in local authority housing and their rent is in and around 100 euro a week. Maybe the ones with no work have to pay 26 euro a week.

They must be high earners then. Differential rent is what would account for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

When I looked at the youtube clip last night it had 301 views. Just looked now 110,000+ and rising.

Now if they got 1€ off everybody for looking at their video they could buy the house back by the weekend after next !!!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

"GORDS! GORDS!!! PROTECT THEM GORDS!"

God almighty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

For the people who were wondering earlier what 'Freeman Bullsh!t' is, this is it:

Go to 18:14 The Female Peace Officer refuse to answer for identification and false arrest under false breach of the Peace and evicted by the Gardaí at the the gain of others. She breach her Oath and Rule of Law.
    Breach of the Peace is defined here:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/public_order_offenses_in_ireland.html

I could not see any breach of the peace in the Video, however I did see the officer enter the property followed the camera woman, no matter how unpleasant or nuts she (camera Woman) is, yet I see the Female officer falsely arresting under pretense of Breach of the Peace in her home , the Female Gardaí aided by other officers who breach their duty to uphold Rule of Law and breach of their Oath. These Gardaí have undermined the Garda Síochána as define by their own guidelines and by rule of Law. They aided in the eviction at the gain of others, carrying out the work of the Baliffs & Sheriffs