Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Whatever about the couple and their financial affairs this in my mind was assault. Assault that the guards who were there to keep the peace, allowed to happen.

Anyone physically manhandles me against my will is assaulting me.

Why did the guards stand idly be and allow that to happen?

Will IBRC pay the state for the cost of deploying 6 guards to that house?

Oh wait, IBRC are the state.

Of course non payment of mortgage shoul result in eviction, but why then was there support for the other guy down the country a month or so ago who was being evicted?

Are we as a nation saying that anyone with money is scum and deserve anything they get?

The real enemy here is Anglo, who gave out these loans in the first place and screwed up our country

the issue there was that the judge and the sherrif were the same people, and also that situation had not been heard thoroughly at the courts. It was still open. Until it went back to court and it was all done and dusted they could not come in to that property. It was an open case. That coupled with the fact that the sherrif/judge/deputy sheriff were three of two people, or all the same person etc. was not entirely correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Of course non payment of mortgage shoul result in eviction, but why then was there support for the other guy down the country a month or so ago who was being evicted?
    There wasn't really. He called in a rent-a-mob crowd initially to intimidate the bailiff into leaving and the interest was because it appeared like he had "won" and managed to keep his house.

When the bailiff arrived a few weeks later and threw him out, very few people blinked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

This isn't just a fine house to us, a roof over our heads, it's our home. It's where I have spent most of my life, where my brother and his wife had their first child, where my parents plan to retire and enjoy the surroundings that they have spent so much time and money to have. Every corner has a story. We have spent a large portion of our life making it ours, nobody else's. The news that we might be losing it has been absolutely heartbreaking. My dad has never done anything immoral unlike many people in the country. He played the property game, successfully and unfortunately it fell apart recently like most people
    Now I in no way condone that they should keep their house because they're 'pensioners' (awful tabloid phrasing), if they owe money, they owe money and no doubt this eviction didn't come as a surprise but for heavens sake, a couple have been eveicted from their home!!! Show some god damn respect.

They bought it in 2004 and the repossession order was given in 2010. This was never their family home and they do not seem to have ever made the proper repayments on it. It may have been their home for a few years, but it was never, ever, ever their house as they did not pay for it. They were little more than squatters and thieves. They get the respect due to them.

As for your dad, I'm glad he seems to be on top of things now but he gambled with his home and nearly lost. Those are the breaks when you gamble with your home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

they were served eviction notices 2 years ago - live in a palatial home, and own other properties - if it was there only home , and they were trying to sell it i would sympathise , just strikes me of greed , where they dont want to sell and move into something more practical - the monies owed are to us now, the state , and we are forced to endure continuous austerity , enforced on people in a lot more poverty - Greed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

This isn't just a fine house to us, a roof over our heads, it's our home. It's where I have spent most of my life, where my brother and his wife had their first child, where my parents plan to retire and enjoy the surroundings that they have spent so much time and money to have.
    That's great, but if you can't afford it, you can't have it. That's how the world works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

This is what bothers me too. In situations like this, the Gardai are supposed to be totally impartial and only step in when things get physical. You can be sure that they wouldn't have stood by and watched if the evictee had the upper hand, or was more physical than the Bailiffs.

The bailiff's can use reasonable force, how were they supposed to remove them?
    There is only one person to blame here and that's the couple themselves. You can dress it up how ever you like and blame everyone else but it's their own doing.

seamus wrote: »
    There wasn't really. He called in a rent-a-mob crowd initially to intimidate the bailiff into leaving and the interest was because it appeared like he had "won" and managed to keep his house.

When the bailiff arrived a few weeks later and threw him out, very few people blinked.

if you listen to that youtube clip you will realise that they were in to take the property BEFORE it was done and dusted at court - they were not saying that they could not have the house - they were saying that they had to wait until the court was done with. Look at it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Sorry I'd just like to address this. People seem to be under the impression that just because their house is extravagant or if they have other properties that sympathy should be withheld? I live with my parents in a house in a southside suburb. Admittedly it's quite a fine house, we spent years restoring it to what it is now and is one of the largest in the area. My parents have other properties around the place and they have been forced to sell close to all of them in the last few years. Recently this was felt would not be enough and banks were looking at our house...correction, our home!

This isn't just a fine house to us, a roof over our heads, it's our home. It's where I have spent most of my life, where my brother and his wife had their first child, where my parents plan to retire and enjoy the surroundings that they have spent so much time and money to have. Every corner has a story. We have spent a large portion of our life making it ours, nobody else's. The news that we might be losing it has been absolutely heartbreaking. My dad has never done anything immoral unlike many people in the country. He played the property game, successfully and unfortunately it fell apart recently like most people.

Now, recently we have gotten word that we may be out of the woods, meaning we might be able to keep it and to say that has been a relief is an understatement. We're not out of the woods yet but there is a light. But when I see comments like above, belittling people because of the house they are in or the properties they had makes me sick to my stomach. It reeks of this Irish attitude in recent months that no sympathy should be assigned to people of wealth. It's people like Sean Fitz who caused this misery. we were guilty of a form of tulipmania and it's unfortunate but understandable in human condition. Responses like above though are inexcusable and dare I say it broach on some sociopathic attitudes.

Now I in no way condone that they should keep their house because they're 'pensioners' (awful tabloid phrasing), if they owe money, they owe money and no doubt this eviction didn't come as a surprise but for heavens sake, a couple have been eveicted from their home!!! Show some god damn respect.

I have a mortgage with two years left to go. I knew, when I undertook that mortgage, that there were risks. As has everyone who took one out down through the years. These were the rules.

What everyone is pointing out now is that if the rules can be changed for the banks then why can't they be changed for the mortgage holders? Simply because 'banks are too big to be allowed to fail' or some BS like that.

But homeowners - specifically mortgage holders - are still bound by the same rules. I know that if I lose my job tomorrow I will have no choice but to sell my home and move to a smaller place that I will be able to buy for cash with the proceeds of the equity.

I never bought 'interest only investment properties' because I saw the 1980s and what can happen to people.

I never had the several continental holidays a year because we try to live within our means.

I never bought a new car every year or two because we try to live within our means.

That is the way it is. Have you ever stopped to think that people who invested in multiple properties would be borrowing for even more if things had kept going as they were. Did they even know when to stop?

Where does it leave the rest of us who are paying our mortgages?

I have the greatest of sympathy for young families who were caught in the trap, only for one to lose their job. There but for the grace of God go I. But those who wanted to become property magnates? None at all. They knew the risk - and still took it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 mike1983

As sad as it is to see anyone removed from there home I have little to no sympathy for this couple I heard him speaking on News talk this morning and he said he was standing up for the ordinary person...? Does the ordinary person own a 2million euro home with several other "investment homes" NO.

But what boils my blood is will RTE and the national radio stations cover evictions of people in working class areas will they go to the door of a family in Clondalkin/Blanchardstown/Finglas who when these people are evicted really have no where to go NOT A HOPE and these upper class people want to live the high life but don’t want to pay there debits when it goes wrong,,, but i am sure they feel safe in there tent with 6 YES 6 police men/women standing guard, Glad to see are police force hard at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Some people on this thread would be ideal candidates for a bailiff job.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I don't particularly enjoy that they were evicted from their home- my anger is coming from the fact that they genuinely weren't working with the banks to resolve it-ie, they knew this was coming for the last 2 years and now they're making all these dramatics. Had they been realistic about their situation they would not have been "man handled" out. This camping outside thing is like something out of a Ross O'Carroll Kelly book.

This is what bothers me too. In situations like this, the Gardai are supposed to be totally impartial and only step in when things get physical. You can be sure that they wouldn't have stood by and watched if the evictee had the upper hand, or was more physical than the Bailiffs.
    Perhaps because one lot were trespassers and the others were not? And I'm sure you are entitled to use reasonable force. Bouncers in nightclubs do not stand there all night asking you politely to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

In his haste to be seen as the first politician on 'our' side, he didn't read the facts of the story. In fairness, he looks about 17.

:D:D

Cringe for him!

Looks like someone photoshopped the confirmation medal off his suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,932 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Firefox11 wrote: »
    Some people on this thread would be ideal candidates for a bailiff job.:pac:

If the money is good I'd have no problem doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Whatever about the couple and their financial affairs this in my mind was assault. Assault that the guards who were there to keep the peace, allowed to happen.

they were not assaulted. the house had been reposessed, so they were trespassing.
    they were given the chance to leave peacefully, but refused, so there was no other option.
    would you have preferred if the Gardai had removed them? they would have been twice as heavy-handed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

hondasam wrote: »

Publicity and he was evicted a few weeks later, it's was just delaying the end result.

Of course he was evicted but the public support for him was overwhelming. He was no different to the elderly couple evicted yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭fionny

Sorry I'd just like to address this. People seem to be under the impression that just because their house is extravagant or if they have other properties that sympathy should be withheld? I live with my parents in a house in a southside suburb. Admittedly it's quite a fine house, we spent years restoring it to what it is now and is one of the largest in the area. My parents have other properties around the place and they have been forced to sell close to all of them in the last few years. Recently this was felt would not be enough and banks were looking at our house...correction, our home!

This isn't just a fine house to us, a roof over our heads, it's our home. It's where I have spent most of my life, where my brother and his wife had their first child, where my parents plan to retire and enjoy the surroundings that they have spent so much time and money to have. Every corner has a story. We have spent a large portion of our life making it ours, nobody else's. The news that we might be losing it has been absolutely heartbreaking. My dad has never done anything immoral unlike many people in the country. He played the property game, successfully and unfortunately it fell apart recently like most people.

Now, recently we have gotten word that we may be out of the woods, meaning we might be able to keep it and to say that has been a relief is an understatement. We're not out of the woods yet but there is a light. But when I see comments like above, belittling people because of the house they are in or the properties they had makes me sick to my stomach. It reeks of this Irish attitude in recent months that no sympathy should be assigned to people of wealth. It's people like Sean Fitz who caused this misery. we were guilty of a form of tulipmania and it's unfortunate but understandable in human condition. Responses like above though are inexcusable and dare I say it broach on some sociopathic attitudes.

Your family made an effort, this guy actually said he didnt do anything about it for 2 YEARS... got what he deserved...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Justin1982

Are we as a nation saying that anyone with money is scum and deserve anything they get?

The real enemy here is Anglo, who gave out these loans in the first place and screwed up our country

Horse**** with a pickled waffle salad and oh for the love of jasus dressing!

Someone should have given him a kick in the balls for the way he carried on. And he seemed to be doing most of the assaulting in the video as far as I can see. Actually someone should have given him a kick in the balls 4 years ago when he refused to negotiate with the banks.

And anyone who considers leveraging themselves financially to the gills should be given a kick in the balls before they sign on the dotted line just to wake them up to the financial reality that they are about to embark on. I think it would save a lot of heartache in the long run.

if you listen to that youtube clip you will realise that they were in to take the property BEFORE it was done and dusted at court - they were not saying that they could not have the house - they were saying that they had to wait until the court was done with. Look at it again.
    Not the case. They were referring to a Freeman bullsh!t challenge in the high court on another matter. The repossession case was well settled - that's how they had the court order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Fnckin hell, just watched that video now, the dramatics! Who were the crying idiots on the video? You'd swear they were being hauled off to Auschwitz the way she was going on.

Also LOL at Kelly talking about Ghandi. Talk about losing perspective on the situation.

I saw nothing excessive about the force used to remove this man from the bank's property. The bailiff is entitled to use reasonable force (as is any property owner) to remove someone from their property who refuses to leave.

Mr Kelly was well capable of making it more difficult for them, it's not like he's a frail old man given a few slaps and thrown onto the ground.

The Gardai are there to keep the peace, they would seem to have done what was needed to ensure that the law was complied with.

Of course he was evicted but the public support for him was overwhelming. He was no different to the elderly couple evicted yesterday

What public support? A few people who had nothing better to do than stand around blocking someone access to a house.

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=man%20evicted%20%20baliffs%20boards.ie%20man%20stops%20sheriff%20laoise&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CCEQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thejournal.ie%2Flaois-homeowner-who-stopped-the-sheriff-left-demoralised-after-eviction-385195-Mar2012%2F&ei=7fyPT--IA8bIhAfl0b2MBA&usg=AFQjCNFcnaICa6Ma0G8OFkySwUIZWiLHfg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,223 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Have you a link to the details on this previous eviction, I don't recall it.

Not the case. They were referring to a Freeman bullsh!t challenge in the high court on another matter. The repossession case was well settled - that's how they had the court order.

look at it again and listen carefully to what is being said.
    also can you explain this "freeman bull****" - never heard of that before - is it something you made up, because the video was a bit complicated for a lot of people to understand - there was an "explanation" video after the clip, for those who couldn't keep up.

look at it again.
    I don't need to. I saw it. I recall. I suggest you have a look. Their constitutional challenge failed, by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

While you may think you are entitled to live in your home because our taxes subsidise your families poor decision making I think the majority of people would disagree. Many of us have had to leave our homes for employment, finances or other reasons.

If you want to talk about respect then how about you respect those of us you and your family are living off and move to somewhere you can afford.

No, anyone living in luxury that the rest of us pay for is scum. I think he should have been dragged out the gate much earlier. From the sounds of it though he still wants to play the victim and is completely void of any sense of personal responsability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/evicted-couple-claim-bank-refused-to-talk-to-them-548136.html

And now it's the first article on the examiner website...with a a photo of the two of them in the tent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭doncarlos

I can't believe he compares himself to Gandhi

"Gandhi did not leave" :rolleyes:

look at it again and listen carefully to what is being said.
    also can you explain this "freeman bull****" - never heard of that before - is it something you made up, because the video was a bit complicated for a lot of people to understand - there was an "explanation" video after the clip, for those who couldn't keep up.
    Perhaps you should look it up - this link may help.

Incidentally, patronising people as you seem to be trying to do here is a dangerous game, as well as making yourself look like a d!ck.