Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Maggiesims wrote: »
    Is there any neighbourly love in this estate in Killiney???. If one of my neighbours were evicted and had no place to slept that night only outside their evicted house I would offer them a room in my house.
    That would ruin their publicity whoring. And perhaps their neighbours are annoyed that while they have been paying out hundreds of grand over the last four years to live there, these chancers have not paid a cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

They've had two years to plan for this ;) What's the bet he has been practising his 'man handling' dance in front of the mirror for weeks.

As for the original footage with the sniffling... who was that? His daughter? ;)

What ever sympathy people had for them yesterday they will have less today. This is a publicity stunt, they sold their business in Germany and bought property here.
    They are not objecting to owing the money just the way they were manhandled at the eviction. Did no one tell them evictions are never nice, it's not a kiss and hug situation with the bailiffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Grow up. What happened to Anglo is worse than eviction - it is dead. It's owners lost their entire investment. The only people really bailed out in the Anglo context were the bondholders (because the ECB are paying our public service wages because we can't afford to do so ourselves and that was one of their conditions for continuing to finance us) and people who had deposits with Anglo (who would otherwise have lost their savings).

Anglo is dead?

Anglo is never dead while we are paying for it.

The ECB are paying our PS wages, because all our money is being used to pay the bondholders.

And if it's owners lost their entire investment, how come most of them are living in fancy houses with rich lifestyles overseas?

I'd say your attitude will grow up fairly quickly if you lose your job and your home.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Are their other properties residential properties? If so then they are by no means 'homeless'.

With 35 days notice they could have moved into one of their other properties.
    Regardless of any lease that might be in place a landlord can take a property back if they need it for their own use.

That would not make them look very good now would it. Imagine the public outcry if they asked a tenant to move leaving the tenant homeless.
    They want to keep the ''family'' home because it's valuable. The other properties are most likely worth nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

I believe that the top 10% of earners pay 44% of Irish taxes (although I'd have to find a source for that before I swear to it). It sounds to me like the people at the bottom are getting an easy ride, and it's the people in the middle who carry the can for everyone.

maybe check that out so.

but in the meantime try and refrain using the word socialism in the wrong context - they "poor them" posts here are as far removed from "socialism" as you can get - more likely fat cat cronies on millionaires row i.e. Fianna failers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

So they bought the McMansion in 2004 and within 6 years a repossession order was in place? Something that happens slowly in this country. Were they ever up to date on their repayments?

It sounds like they were living on the rising equity which stopped rising in 2006 and then they could no longer pay their bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ballinteerguy

Has the house now been sold?

seems to be removed from the Myhome link now...

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/kilbarron-st-matthias-wood-church-road-killiney/1247060

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm loving the photo on breakingnews.ie and "We had to sleep on the street".

I'm going to hazard a guess that they have significant contacts in the media/PR business who are instructing them on playing the poor card.

hondasam wrote: »
    They have set up camp outside the house, how sad and pathetic these two really are. They should get no publicity for this.

can he not sit in his car.......or would the photographers be at a disadvantage in trying to capture his "poorness". :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

What ever sympathy people had for them yesterday they will have less today. This is a publicity stunt, they sold their business in Germany and bought property here.
    They are not objecting to owing the money just the way they were manhandled at the eviction. Did no one tell them evictions are never nice, it's not a kiss and hug situation with the bailiffs.

Exactly. They knew they were going to be evicted so why stand around harping and carrying on. It was all done for show.

The paid nothing in two years! Christ, if I did that I would hardly expect to be let off. I had to go to my bank, go interest-only. Most people at least make some attempt to work with the banks.

These guys did nothing. And now we are all meant to pity them. No way.... the sleeping outside is just ridiculous.

Does anyone who know who the woman was that filmed it? Was she just passing by and saw a commotion and then got upset?

Tazz T wrote: »
    And if it's owners lost their entire investment, how come most of them are living in fancy houses with rich lifestyles overseas?
    I think you are confusing ownership and management. Anglo and the other banks were owned by shareholders: their money is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭fionny

This whole "outcry" has me outraged... a teenager can be homeless for years with no outcry but a formerlly super rich couple gets evicted from a house TWO FULL YEARS after the repossession order was put in place gets sympathy. I want to throw up.

I wrote the following to Matt Cooper, hope it gets picked up.

Hi Matt,

I have been irritated by this "outcry" over the elderly couple being evicted from their multi-million euro home TWO FULL YEARS after the repossession order was put in place. This is a couple who have admitted they have multiple properties yet they could not bring the house payments up to speed.

In 2 years there are a number of things this RICH couple could have done:

1. Sell one or two of their OTHER properties to bring things up to speed... even if they had to make a massive loss that would have prevented this... they had TWO YEARS to so.
    2. Sell their super expensive house and move into something more modest to bring down their outgoings.

It is outrageous that this couple are getting any sympathy... what about those of us that can scarcely pay our rent let along have multiple houses, it makes me sick, sick to the bone.

This couple had more than enough to do something about this but from news reports only moved on doing something in the last few days what did they do for the other 600 odd days? Their "homeless" ploy is also pathetic, I’m sure any of those "concerned" neighbours would have put them up but instead they look for a show of sympathy by camping on the street.

As for Eamon Gilmore contacting them this is even more pathetic it is not his problem this couple sewed their own issues let them reap the reward for ignoring the issue.

I hope you raise this side of the argument on your show today.

Kind Regards,

Is it too late to get this property listed in the Allsop auction on the 3rd of May?

The paid nothing in two years! Christ, if I did that I would hardly expect to be let off. I had to go to my bank, go interest-only. Most people at least make some attempt to work with the banks.
    It wasn't two years: the repossession order was granted 2 years ago. It takes a couple of years of non-payment and legal stuff to get the repossession order, so it was probably more like 4 years of free luxury living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

While they may have no friends or family willing to put them up for the night, no money to get a hostel, B&B or hotel and no access to any of their clothes or anything else stored in their house they had fortunately prepared for such a situation and craftily recovered the tent and sleeping bag they had hidden away in preparation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Justin1982

The banks dont particularly want to be kicking anyone out of their homes except as a last resort, big a bunch of **** and all that they are.

If you go into arrears on your mortgage its probably a minimum of two years before you'd get kicked out for non payment and only if the bank sees that there is no chance of you paying back the loan at all. And if you live in some dump of a house then they probably wont force you out in any circumstance as it probably wouldnt be worth it.

And if you play ball with the bank then they'll be fair with you. Mr. Kelly admitted in interview that he didnt negotiate with the bank at all for a number of years. Only when he was issued with eviction notice, he admitted that he left it til the last day before eviction to offer to negotiate with the bank. Bank obviously refused cos he was just wasting their time.

Sad to see an old couple kicked out of their house which they obviously love and the man has probably worked hard all his life. You generally dont become as rich as he was without a lot of hardwork over a long period. But he was obviously taking the piss when he refused to negotiate with the bank.

People in this country, a bit like Father Dougle, need to learn the difference between "small" cows and cows that are "far away". If you take out a mortgage then you risk loosing that same house if you cant pay for it. Its very simple.

I bought a house at end of 2009 and I know that if I loose my job and cant make repayments then I have a couple of years more than likely to negotiate with the bank and get a replacement job. And if at the end of it I cant get something sorted then the bank will kick me out of my house. And that will be my tough luck! Of course I did take the time before buying to actually consider what would happen if I did loose my job. I cant understand how someone could be moronic enough to not think about plan B?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

can he not sit in his car.......or would the photographers be at a disadvantage in trying to capture his "poorness". :p
    Although if the bailiff came back to take possession of the car...

Exactly. They knew they were going to be evicted so why stand around harping and carrying on. It was all done for show.

These guys did nothing. And now we are all meant to pity them. No way.... the sleeping outside is just ridiculous.

Does anyone who know who the woman was that filmed it? Was she just passing by and saw a commotion and then got upset?

she seems to be hiding under a tree. Also one of the "poor couple's" supporters seems to go over to her at some stage to tell her to yes, record it.

Were there purposefully trying to drum up sympathy for these two ould wans by recording them being "taken" out of the house. Was this a desperate last straw attempt. I notice the camera did not pick up much of the conversation, i.e. the sheriff/cops telling the oul wans that if they did not walk out they would be taken out maybe??.....that would put the "manhandling" more into context and the "sympathy" wouldn't have been flying so much.

I think all in all, it was an ill thought out snip. There is no sympathy at all for them - in fact, they come across as idiots, also the woman scurrying round them with the boots on - plain silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭actuallylike

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/kilbarron-st-matthias-wood-church-road-killiney/1247060

Apparently this is the miserable hovel they were evicted from. Brings a tear to the eye.

Perhaps they could have sold it for whatever they could have got and perhaps lived in one of their many other leased out properties?

Just a suggestion.

Sorry I'd just like to address this. People seem to be under the impression that just because their house is extravagant or if they have other properties that sympathy should be withheld? I live with my parents in a house in a southside suburb. Admittedly it's quite a fine house, we spent years restoring it to what it is now and is one of the largest in the area. My parents have other properties around the place and they have been forced to sell close to all of them in the last few years. Recently this was felt would not be enough and banks were looking at our house...correction, our home!

This isn't just a fine house to us, a roof over our heads, it's our home. It's where I have spent most of my life, where my brother and his wife had their first child, where my parents plan to retire and enjoy the surroundings that they have spent so much time and money to have. Every corner has a story. We have spent a large portion of our life making it ours, nobody else's. The news that we might be losing it has been absolutely heartbreaking. My dad has never done anything immoral unlike many people in the country. He played the property game, successfully and unfortunately it fell apart recently like most people.

Now, recently we have gotten word that we may be out of the woods, meaning we might be able to keep it and to say that has been a relief is an understatement. We're not out of the woods yet but there is a light. But when I see comments like above, belittling people because of the house they are in or the properties they had makes me sick to my stomach. It reeks of this Irish attitude in recent months that no sympathy should be assigned to people of wealth. It's people like Sean Fitz who caused this misery. we were guilty of a form of tulipmania and it's unfortunate but understandable in human condition. Responses like above though are inexcusable and dare I say it broach on some sociopathic attitudes.

Now I in no way condone that they should keep their house because they're 'pensioners' (awful tabloid phrasing), if they owe money, they owe money and no doubt this eviction didn't come as a surprise but for heavens sake, a couple have been eveicted from their home!!! Show some god damn respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Whatever about the couple and their financial affairs this in my mind was assault. Assault that the guards who were there to keep the peace, allowed to happen.

Anyone physically manhandles me against my will is assaulting me.

Why did the guards stand idly be and allow that to happen?

Will IBRC pay the state for the cost of deploying 6 guards to that house?

Oh wait, IBRC are the state.

Of course non payment of mortgage shoul result in eviction, but why then was there support for the other guy down the country a month or so ago who was being evicted?

Are we as a nation saying that anyone with money is scum and deserve anything they get?

The real enemy here is Anglo, who gave out these loans in the first place and screwed up our country

Just watching it again on TV3 and it's obvious it was well rehearsed, could he be any more dramatic, he might get a walk on part in fair city with that acting.
    Who ever is whinging in the back round deserves an Oscar.

Although if the bailiff came back to take possession of the car...

sure he could have made another video then about being kicked out of his car. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

My god that is quite possibly the roundest man I have ever seen :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Seachmall wrote: »
    While they may have no friends or family willing to put them up for the night, no money to get a hostel, B&B or hotel and no access to any of their clothes or anything else stored in their house they had fortunately prepared for such a situation and craftily recovered the tent and sleeping bag they had hidden away in preparation.

But they're "elderly" and "pensioners" God love them.
    Won't somebody think of the pensioners?! :rolleyes:

"Elderly couple evicted from Killiney home"

Why is it relevant to RTE that they're elderly?

Of course non payment of mortgage shoul result in eviction, but why then was there support for the other guy down the country a month or so ago who was being evicted?

Publicity and he was evicted a few weeks later, it's was just delaying the end result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

mathie wrote: »
    But they're "elderly" and "pensioners" God love them.
    Won't somebody think of the pensioners?! :rolleyes:

"Elderly couple evicted from Killiney home"

Why is it relevant to RTE that they're elderly?

RTE the ageist bastards, what about equality and all that

Sorry I'd just like to address this. People seem to be under the impression that just because their house is extravagant or if they have other properties that sympathy should be withheld? I live with my parents in a house in a southside suburb. Admittedly it's quite a fine house, we spent years restoring it to what it is now and is one of the largest in the area. My parents have other properties around the place and they have been forced to sell close to all of them in the last few years. Recently this was felt would not be enough and banks were looking at our house...correction, our home!

This isn't just a fine house to us, a roof over our heads, it's our home. It's where I have spent most of my life, where my brother and his wife had their first child, where my parents plan to retire and enjoy the surroundings that they have spent so much time and money to have. Every corner has a story. We have spent a large portion of our life making it ours, nobody else's. The news that we might be losing it has been absolutely heartbreaking. My dad has never done anything immoral unlike many people in the country. He played the property game, successfully and unfortunately it fell apart recently like most people.

Now, recently we have gotten word that we may be out of the woods, meaning we might be able to keep it and to say that has been a relief is an understatement. We're not out of the woods yet but there is a light. But when I see comments like above, belittling people because of the house they are in or the properties they had makes me sick to my stomach. It reeks of this Irish attitude in recent months that no sympathy should be assigned to people of wealth. It's people like Sean Fitz who caused this misery. we were guilty of a form of tulipmania and it's unfortunate but understandable in human condition. Responses like above though are inexcusable and dare I say it broach on some sociopathic attitudes.

Now I in no way condone that they should keep their house because they're 'pensioners' (awful tabloid phrasing), if they owe money, they owe money and no doubt this eviction didn't come as a surprise but for heavens sake, a couple have been eveicted from their home!!! Show some god damn respect.

theyv only been in it 8 years. hardly a "lifetime home".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,239 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Whatever about the couple and their financial affairs this in my mind was assault. Assault that the guards who were there to keep the peace, allowed to happen

This is what bothers me too. In situations like this, the Gardai are supposed to be totally impartial and only step in when things get physical. You can be sure that they wouldn't have stood by and watched if the evictee had the upper hand, or was more physical than the Bailiffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

QFT