Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

ALL of the description should be used in the OP's topic, as in

couple evicted from their house on MILLIONAIRES ROW.

I have zero sympathy for this couple - they have many properties "leased" out. Why should they not have to pay for their large house (for two people).

What are they doing with all the money from their other properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Unrealistic

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It seems that it was Fingleton's casino that initially lent them the money.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0419/breaking20.html
    Then he's even more cynical than I thought. Shouting out loud about Anglo Irish Bank in that You Tube video because it is a real bogeyman in the public eye and INBS just doesn't have the same ring to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/kilbarron-st-matthias-wood-church-road-killiney/1247060

Apparently this is the miserable hovel they were evicted from. Brings a tear to the eye.

Perhaps they could have sold it for whatever they could have got and perhaps lived in one of their many other leased out properties?

Just a suggestion.

That link doesn't work anymore. It did yesterday. I checked Google cache and got the image I've attached here. I can't get one in a large size but you can see the house well enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

smash wrote: »
    Why was he shouting about Anglo in the video then?
    Then he's even more cynical than I thought. Shouting out loud about Anglo Irish Bank in that You Tube video because it is a real bogeyman in the public eye and INBS just doesn't have the same ring to it.

All of the Nationwide sh1t got transferred to Anglo to make the "bad bank" badder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Apt name for the radio station.
    She said they had tried to negotiate with the bank to prevent the eviction. “The evictions that happened 160 years ago in Ireland are happening again,” she told radio station Spin 1038.

All of the Nationwide sh1t got transferred to Anglo to make the "bad bank" badder.
    Yes but it wasn't really Anglo at that stage. It was already well into the process of being would down and it was only a short while before it became IBRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

philstar wrote: »
    got no sympthaty for these D4 heads, condsending middle-class types had a few as landlords in my time...and believe me they wouldn't think twice about chucking you out if it felt fit

That has got nothing t do with it. Decent and indecent people from all backgrounds, these just happen to be ones who dont fancy paying their mortgage. They should have been kicked out but dont tar a whole group of people with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

Why do posters assume that because they have multiple properties they have plenty of options?

A real world example of someone I know who owns multiple properties is that on paper the properties are worth €1m yet their outstanding debt is around €1.7m. Income on the rental of the properties doesn't cover the individual mortgages.

There's not much option here other than bankruptcy or debt write offs. Maybe the same applies in this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

He and his wife were treated fairly. They had 2 years to sort something out but did nothing. They have numerous other properties which they did not need to buy. I hope that Seanie and co are the next to be done for the debts they owe but I wont hold my breath.

An elderly couple were evicted yesterday from their home in Killiney, Co Dublin, after falling behind on mortgage payments to the institution previously known as the Irish Nationwide Building Society

The IT has just edited the story and now refers to "the institution previously known as the Anglo Irish Bank."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

JazzyJ wrote: »
    Why do posters assume that because they have multiple properties they have plenty of options?

A real world example of someone I know who owns multiple properties is that on paper the properties are worth €1m yet their outstanding debt is around €1.7m. Income on the rental of the properties doesn't cover the individual mortgages.

There's not much option here other than bankruptcy or debt write offs. Maybe the same applies in this case?
    That's what the bankruptcy reform is for. They lose all of their assets and all of their debts and can start again. Meanwhile, people who missed out during the bubble because they were outbid by others get a chance at home ownership.

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    We have a special kind of self loathing in this country. People who do well in business are all bastards who must have screwed someone it seems. These people aren't criminals. Assuming they have empty houses lined up ready for them to occupy is wrong. The banks could have the whole lot in their sights and they are occupied. You cant just kick people out. Takes time and money which I doubt they have.

Its harder to have sympathy for people who had money, who are falling on hard times I know. I say remember this poem. Who'll speak for you if you're next? And you aren't/weren't rich. In normal times you can chalk these things up to mistakes by the individual. These aren't normal times. A massive private debt burden has been laid on the Irish people with no chance of restructuring. They want ALL their money back.

They start with these people because sympathy is low. Next it will be the middle class and people will say "well they got above themselves" with their "portfolio". Who did they think they were? And on it will go. They wont starve of course. The absolute worse case scenario is the social housing list, which is good enough for thousands and good enough for me when I was brought up. We need to be careful though. Why are we ashamed of wealth and success? Its like we will it away as some scam we pulled that we never really expected to last. **** that.

The massive debt built up in the ENTIRE European banking system is being thrown around like a hot potatoes. We're gladly holding our own and a few others tightly because we think there might be some reward there. There ain't.

PS. What a beautiful house (or home).

paddy the plastererer!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yes but it wasn't really Anglo at that stage. It was already well into the process of being would down and it was only a short while before it became IBRC.

I think that in a lot of people's minds, the name "Anglo" will stick for ever, no matter what new official name is given to the organisation. Like you said about INBS, IBRC hasn't got much of a ring to it either.

I hope that Seanie and co are the next to be done for the debts they owe but I wont hold my breath.
    Fitzpatrick went bankrupt in 2010.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

JazzyJ wrote: »

They knew the house was going to be repossessed so why all the drama, why not just give back the keys and walk away. I'm not really interested in how much money they have,it's the idea that the public would actually care about them that gets me.

Fitzpatrick went bankrupt in 2010.
    If that's the case why isn't all his property repossessed.

Putting aside all the comments about how wealthy these home owners where and frankly i couldn't care less if they where oil barons.But personally I have a huge problem with the fact that these men who where not Garda, where able to removed these people from a property with impunity. I feel personally like it was an assault and this aspect of the case makes me feel sick. If anyone else wants to misquote me and think I'm supporting the couple can read my posts again and you will see I'm not. I'm just angry and worried that these so called "bailiffs" can come along and drag someone off their property. That is my thoughts on this matter and im not gonna say much more.

they are not dragging them off their property - they are dragging them off property that they were living in for free, illegally. there is a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

hondasam wrote: »
    They knew the house was going to be repossessed so why all the drama, why not just give back the keys and walk away. I'm not really interested in how much money they have,it's the idea that the public would actually care about them that gets me.
    Exactly. Why not empty the house and just leave to save the embarrassment?

You think people should be allowed to stay in free mansions for their whole lives? Are you a socialist, by any chance? :rolleyes:

Repossession was granted two years ago. It takes years to get a repossession order: these people probably haven't paid a dime towards their mansion for 4 years. That's probably worth about €200k in rent for a place like that.

These gamblers and those defending their right to live in luxury at our expense can bugger right off.

monty....read up on what a socialist is. I think you might be getting confused by using it in this context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

they are not dragging them off their property - they are dragging them off property that they were living in for free, illegally. there is a difference.
    Exactly.

Until you make the final payment to the bank, the bank will hold the property deeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Why was he shouting about Anglo in the video then?
    Dramatic effect.

He had to blame someone:rolleyes:. It was his fault, the bank never put a gun to his head and forced him to take out a loan.

If that's the case why isn't all his property repossessed.
    It was. Of course, his wife's property was not. :rolleyes:

monty....read up on what a socialist is. I think you might be getting confused by using it in this context.
    Irish socialists are opposed to property taxes! I'm not sure whether I am confused, or they are...

Exactly. Why not empty the house and just leave to save the embarrassment?

They both thought it would be stopped at the last moment probably. Both stubborn and under an illusion that they are way to important for this to happen to them.
    They both strike me as people who think they are above everyone else, friends in high places were no good to them yesterday. They will not disclose how much they owe which is pathetic at this stage.
    If it were me I would give in gracefully and walk away with some dignity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Maybe I m being simplistic, but IF he had of said ok Mr Bankman. Ill give you back ALL my rental / investment properties, will ya leave me be in my principal private residence (Ie: my mansion)? Would that have kept him out of trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Greyjoy

Patser wrote: »
    Oh man! Did you hear him on Newstalk. Didn't want to really talk about what he owed. Instead just wanted to say he was 'brutally' removed from his family home. How many times did he say brutality. But I nearly gagged when he said common people (maybe normal people) like him wouldn't put up with much more. Like a 19th century eviction it was.

Sorry it was a 2 million loan he refused to pay. And when pushed on this 'sure we all over extended ourselves'.

I heard the same interview and burst out laughing when he compared himself to a 19th C. tenant getting evicted. The interviewer kept trying to press him on where he would go now and 'did they have anywhere else to stay' etc. They had nowhere else according to Kelly,this was the family home etc etc. You would have sworn that they would have to live homeless in the street from now on. Absolutely no mention of any other properties they could have moved into. :rolleyes:

Maybe I m being simplistic, but IF he had of said ok Mr Bankman. Ill give you back ALL my rental / investment properties, will ya leave me be in my principal private residence (Ie: my mansion)?

The rentals would not cover the loan he has on the mansion. His rentals are probably worth feck all at the moment. They will most likely be repossessed as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The whole thing sems too orchestrated. Did they get PR lessons in what to do in an eviction scenario in the past two years?
    The mainstream media are treating the whole thing with kid gloves instead of getting to the truth of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

Greyjoy wrote: »
    I heard the same interview and burst out laughing when he compared himself to a 19th C. tenant getting evicted. The interviewer kept trying to press him on where he would go now and 'did they have anywhere else to stay' etc. They had nowhere else according to Kelly,this was the family home etc etc. You would have sworn that they would have to live homeless in the street from now on. Absolutely no mention of any other properties they could have moved into. :rolleyes:

Don't most people use the term 'family home' as the place they raised their children? They have only been their 8 years, surely this is their retirement home.