Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fergal Lynch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭themandan6611

had you the horse backed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I dont understand how if I backed him has anything to do with an opinion
    on the ride.

The old pocket talk arguement always comes into it in these cases.

Did you watch the replay whats your opinion on the ride.

The thing I cant understand is he was backed in from 7/1 to 7/2 on course so who was backing it if there is something dodgy about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 KillUreMan

had you the horse backed ?

That is irrelevant in this case seeing as Lynch has previous in England. There was a huge gamble and I stayed away from the horse due to the fact that <snip> Lynch was in the saddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Genuinely think this was just a case of a poor ride, horse didn't really break well and I think he might have thought he needed to go the shortest way around to make up for the slow start.
    I find so many horses in dundalk are often caught for a run, especially over the shorter trips with bigger fields.

I can't imagine he'd be thick enough to get involved with that ****e again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

That horse missed the break on his previous start
    I backed lynch a lot at dundalk over the winter
    He often tends to go up the rail and has had no run a few times as well as winning a couple
    He prob thinks his best chance of winning is to stay up the inside and hope for a gap
    He prob wins more races with this strategy but it is frustrating when you back a horse and there's no gap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Notice to all posters: please remember to be careful what you're posting... Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭JimDeChamp

Couldn't meet a nicer fella than fergal...! Likes to go the brave mans route and take the paint off the rail... Only one problem with that race in question, the horse wasn't fast enough...!

Another thing, this whole thing of dwelling on the past, get over it... He was never convicted or disqualified...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

JimDeChamp wrote: »
    Another thing, this whole thing of dwelling on the past, get over it... He was never convicted or disqualified...

Yes he was. He isn't allowed ride in the UK

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/mar/09/fergal-lynch-refused-jockeys-licence

Did you read that actually read that urban...? Wasn't convicted or disqualified by the bha, not been approved for a licence isn't a big deal, the bha don't really realise the hole they have dug for themselves by not giving him a licence... To be honest it's petty really what their doing... But as I said wasn't convicted or disqualified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Did you read that actually read that urban...? Wasn't convicted or disqualified by the bha, not been approved for a licence isn't a big deal, the bha don't really realise the hole they have dug for themselves by not giving him a licence... To be honest it's petty really what their doing... But as I said wasn't convicted or disqualified

Not sure you read it Jim, the very first line says:

"Fergal Lynch, who has admitted stopping a horse from winning a race"

He is deemed "not a suitable person to hold a licence", that is fairly damming in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Only one problem with that race in question, the horse wasn't fast enough...!

How do you know that when the horse never came off the bridle.?

Admitted yes thats what it says, but you show me where it says he was convicted or disqualified. He admitted to it and he payed the fine they gave him for it, but he has never been convicted or disqualified by the bha or any other horse racing authority... The horse was too slow that's why he didn't win, I would imagine that the stewards at the track would of had a problem with the ride if their was actually a problem with it... But some of ye seem to be stewarding races from the couch and acting as judge and jury

Admitted yes thats what it says, but you show me where it says he was convicted or disqualified. He admitted to it and he payed the fine they gave him for it, but he has never been convicted or disqualified by the bha or any other horse racing authority.

So if someone admits murder for which there is evidence and the police make a balls of some of the evidence and he gets off on a technicality, this means he is not guilty?

I'm not trained in law or anything but I would imagine it means yes that person has got away with murder

You missed my point, he admitted it so he is still guilty of stopping a horse. An admission of guilt is sounder than a conviction imo as we know the BHA didnt torture him into admitting it!

How do we know the bha didn't torture him...? Take any race meeting anywhere in the world, their is gonna be owners, trainers and jockeys stopping horses from obtaining the best possible placing, this is going on everywhere everyday. He was unlucky, but he still has a clean conviction sheet, you can admit to a crime but if they don't have the evidence your gonna get away with it. The bha got caught out in the old baily by their own evidence and by their own prosecution... He admitted to it got a fine and paid it, I don't see the big deal, if you use green diesel in your car get caught pay the fine are people gonna look at you differently and talk about it for the rest of your life...? I don't see why people have to keep picking on mr. lynch...! If any one here was half the horseman he is or even knew half as much about race riding ye would be doing well... I suppose if ye met him tomorrow ye wouldn't have a bad word to say to him either

People are ''picking on him'' because he admitted to cheating.

I also hate that argument. He is a jockey, we are not. His ability is not in question, his integrity is.

The guy admitted he is a <snip>, it cant be any clearer.

Still trying to decide if you need English lessons or know the guy personally/ are him.

If I met him I would call him a <snip>just because you may be two faced doesnt mean everyone is.

Who is anybody here to question his or anybodys integrity...?

He is a professional sportsman. Taking part in a sport with a large public interest means that he puts himself in such a position to have his integrity questioned.

No need to be so defensive Jim, I think he comes across well and I think he's a very good jockey, but he has tainted his career, and nobody can deny that.

What he done affects nobody but himself, I'll be the first say it their all very lucky men and women involved...! But I don't see why the first conclusion people come to when he gets bet on a horse is that he wasnt ridin to get the best possible placing... Why do people have to dwel over the past

In fairness Jim, what he did affects the owner of the horse, the trainer and all the punters who backed it.

It was a way to make money for them. Anyone who backs horses knows the risk their taking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Calling him a cheat is stupid.

He did cheat but I am sure he didnt decide to do it on his own. He was given orders and he obeyed them. If every jockey declined to ride for connections with orders like this from time to time there would be no jockies left.

better off staying away from the low grade stuff and avoid this malpractice.

dave3004 wrote: »

He did cheat but I am sure he didnt decide to do it on his own. He was given orders and he obeyed them. If every jockey declined to ride for connections with orders like this from time to time there would be no jockies left.

better off staying away from the low grade stuff and avoid this malpractice.

Yeah you are right it is totally acceptable:rolleyes:

I think we should all back the highest priced horse in every race and then order all the other jockeys to stop their horses, we will be millionaires in no time but then there would be no bookies
    dave3004 wrote: »
    Calling him a cheat is stupid.

You know what is beyond stupid? Being the second person to jump into a thread BEFORE reading what people are talking about and posting uninformed comments.

It must be a great world you and Jim live in where you just talk away about topics you know nothing about.

So now your insulting me saying I don't know what I'm talking about...? Honestly do you have some sort of a grudge with fergal because their seems to be very little about anyone else involved...!

Jaysus lad if you took that as an insult then you should get off the internet and wrap yourself up in cotton wool.

Its not hard to read the article and see where he admitted it and he did it for a punter he knew, its frustrating going over old ground because two people are commenting on something they could not be bothered reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Ok, this thread is going around in circles, so I'm going to lock it.

/Thread closed.