Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-fc/liverpool-fc-news/2012/04/18/liverpool-fc-seal-deal-for-crewe-alexandra-starlet-dan-smith-100252-30786126/

LIVERPOOL have snapped up highly-rated midfield talent Dan Smith from Crewe Alexandra for a six-figure sum, according to reports.

The 16-year-old England youth international has checked in at Anfield for a fee said to be around £300,000 with extra for appearances.

Man City are believed to have moved for the youngster last month but the proposed switch broke down.

Crewe Alexandra spokesman Rob Wilson told the Crewe Chronicle: “We are naturally disappointed that Dan has decided to sign for Liverpool.

“The club has received an undisclosed fee and future add-ons but we would have much preferred to have seen him play for our first team.”

Smith posted a picture with Kenny Dalglish, above, on his Twitter page last week.

Read More http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-fc/liverpool-fc-news/2012/04/18/liverpool-fc-seal-deal-for-crewe-alexandra-starlet-dan-smith-100252-30786126/#ixzz1sO4pqVBV

Pic in the link but turn down your speakers if you are in work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Serious lack of sami hyypia in the cb options:mad:

there are a few omissions alright...

im disgusted at myself that i have so many mufc players in my team...but they are certain players i just respected and had to include....

Schmeichel is a god to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Smith signed a couple of weeks back. Tweeted a picture of himself and the King when signing.

https://twitter.com/#!/TrickettSmith

image.jpg

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

eldwaro wrote: »
    there are a few omissions alright...

im disgusted at myself that i have so many mufc players in my team...but they are certain players i just respected and had to include....

Schmeichel is a god to me.

Felt the same (except Schmeichel)
    There is an argument for an all United team there.
    That's horrible. :(

RICCARDO MONTOLIVO has signed for Milan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

I know its a bit old but what do you make of the points G.K. made here?

http://gkfootball.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/liverpools-next-steps-this-season.html

ignoring the how team should set up from now on the arguements about players effectiveness are pretty well laid out. Always thought adam was a **** purchase for ye.

Kingdom wrote: »

could very easily pick an all united team and possibly a united bench! its sick alright...

team.png

i feel dirty for picking neville...but here is mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Kingdom wrote: »

as dominant as their team should be in that team of the last 20 years, there is no argument for an all-United team.

any team without Henry is null and void.
    Kess73 wrote: »
    To me it suggests that we simply are not competing for those players or similar types and are just looking closer to home for the majority of signings which end up costing many many times the amount of the foreign counterparts.

To put our spending into context. Sow, Raimi, Cabaye, and Bastos combined cost €44m or roughly £36m. Andy Carroll on his own cost only £1m less at £35m.

yup, and i have no doubt FSG have seen this, hence the dismissal of Comolli.

it should be an exciting transfer window. i'd be surprised if you don't see us after some "unknown" talent on the continent, hopefully taking the Newcastle transfer model of the last year or so, or something like that.

fúck, i just said i want us to copy Newcastle. who thought i'd be saying that 2 years ago :p

fair fúcks to them.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ignoring the how team should set up from now on the arguements about players effectiveness are pretty well laid out. Always thought adam was a **** purchase for ye.

Pretty much exactly what everyone here has been saying for a good while now, so no arguments from me.

Babel talking about comolli on his twitter timeline now

SlickRic wrote: »
    as dominant as their team should be in that team of the last 20 years, there is no argument for an all-United team.

any team without Henry is null and void.

well to be fair, you actually could argue an all united team...

personally, i couldnt put anyone ahead of henry...but van nistlerooy was bloody as finishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

amiable wrote: »
    Babel talking about comolli on his twitter timeline now

Good to see he is up to date as always.:pac:

Just seen Buxton had a go at Babel over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Aren't Macca and Digger on that list, as well as Fowler?

Arguably contenders for any team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Aren't Macca and Digger on that list, as well as Fowler?

Arguably contenders for any team.

Digger was badly hampered by injuries by the time the Premiership started, and as such the EPL years never got to see the rampaging winger version of Barnes. The Barnes that played in the old Fist division set up would have been a shoe in imho.

McManaman would fall behind a number of wingers imho in terms of quality during the EPL years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Gerty

This is the Clip of Smith i seen a while back when we were first linked to him.
    He is the floppy haired no.12 comes into at 2:30 and gets a goal later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

http://www1.skysports.com/20seasons

and this is something ye all might like to play with.

Ah! YES! Just what i've been looking for.

Now to determine the best team ever.

(since, after all, sky did invent football)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,245 ✭✭✭Sappy404

amiable wrote: »
    So who is on people's wishlist for this summer in the transfer market for Liverpool?
    Try keep it as real as possible :)

RM to replace Kuyt: Eriksen. Not entirely on the likely side of realistic, but he's gettable so long as everyone else has their eye on the likes of Hazard, Muniain, etc. He's made decisions in the past to put development and game-time ahead of money, so if we sold Kuyt (or included him as part of the deal) we'd be in a position to promise him plenty of first-team football. It's More likely we'll sign Moses or Hoilett though, but I'd like a loan for Adam Johnson or Christian Tello to be considered, if permanent moves aren't possible.

CM: We're apparently interested in Hernanes at Lazio (http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/media-watch/daily-mail-reds-linked-with-lazio-star) who sounds like he'd fit the bill - a versatile playmaker type capable of deputising in a deeper role for Lucas or playing along side/ahead of him. Frankly, if he can beat a player or two under pressure in his own half and pass it more than twenty yards he'd be an improvement on Adam and Spearing and would likely allow Gerrard play to his strengths further up the pitch.

We should be looking to Sterling and Robinson to join the first-team squad regularly as well. If not then a deputy LB to replace Aurelio and a forward should be bought too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭ASOT

Lads i have this up on adverts but im sure it would interest you lot more.

Im shifting this because im going away for the summer and need to raise some cash.

819be836.jpg?t=1334750034

More pictures here - http://s562.photobucket.com/albums/ss63/AnDy-GFX-/Liverpool%20Jersey/ (password=liverpool)

If anyones interested give me a bell, It has a COA & was professionally framed after i got the jersey.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Right on the money that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

we need a top class winger, centre mid and striker.

realistic signing would be Hoilet

unrealistic signing would be martinez and tello

no chance of signing but would be beyond wildest dreams would be hazard and tevez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I went with this for me team.

James
    Jones Carragher McGrath Riise
    McManaman Gerrard Le Tissier Barnes
    Fowler Bergkamp

Honestly, I think my bias might have affected the selection in one or two positions.

redzerdrog wrote: »
    we need a top class winger, centre mid and striker.

realistic signing would be Hoilet

dream signing would be martinez

no chance of signing but would be beyond wildest dreams would be hazard and tevez

M'Vila would be my choice.

Banega will be leaving Valencia this summer IMO

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Sappy404 wrote: »
    RM to replace Kuyt: Eriksen. Not entirely on the likely side of realistic, but he's gettable so long as everyone else has their eye on the likes of Hazard, Muniain, etc. He's made decisions in the past to put development and game-time ahead of money, so if we sold Kuyt (or included him as part of the deal) we'd be in a position to promise him plenty of first-team football. It's More likely we'll sign Moses or Hoilett though, but I'd like a loan for Adam Johnson or Christian Tello to be considered, if permanent moves aren't possible.

CM: We're apparently interested in Hernanes at Lazio (http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/media-watch/daily-mail-reds-linked-with-lazio-star) who sounds like he'd fit the bill - a versatile playmaker type capable of deputising in a deeper role for Lucas or playing along side/ahead of him. Frankly, if he can beat a player or two under pressure in his own half and pass it more than twenty yards he'd be an improvement on Adam and Spearing and would likely allow Gerrard play to his strengths further up the pitch.

We should be looking to Sterling and Robinson to join the first-team squad regularly as well. If not then a deputy LB to replace Aurelio and a forward should be bought too.

Never knew we were linked with Hernanes. Monster of a player who is by far is the stand out player at Lazio, I'll be tad surprised if a CL club doesn't go in for him sooner rather later. Shame it's the Daily Fail who has linked him with us.

Erikesen plays LW btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Christian Eriksen? He is not a RM and I would wager that he might require a Hazard sized transfer bid to even get a sniff at him. He has been attracting the attention of most of the big clubs for the last two years.He is an AM and looks like he will be something special in that role. Would be pointless to even try for a player like him and them try to use him as a standard RM style player. He does play in the LW/LAM role as well, but it is in the central role that he looks amazing at times.

Would not like to see how Hernanes would do in a deep defensive role in the EPL tbh. He is indeed a nice tidy playmaker,hell he is a monster playmaker and AM/CM, but since he moved to Lazio he has made his name as an AM, specifically a CAM. As a player he would be a massive upgrade on the likes of Adam, but then again Adam was used this season (after Lucas was injured) in a deeper role that was not his game either.

Hernanes is the type of player, along with Eriksen, who would be best in the AM/CAM role, a position that we already have Gerrard, Shelvey, and Henderson for. Granted I think that Hernanes and Eriksen would be an upgrade on any of those three (On Gerrard simply because Gerrard is now injury prone and not the top class AM he once was, and on the other two simply because they are far far behind the 20 yo Eriksen and the 25yo Hernanes in every department.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

-Ade- wrote: »

Never knew we were linked with Hernanes. Monster of a player who is by far is the stand out player at Lazio, I'll be tad surprised if a CL club doesn't go in for him sooner rather later. Shame it's the Daily Fail who has linked him with us.

Erikesen plays LW btw.

He hasn't been as effective this season as last imo but I'm still a massive fan. Has such a effortless style similar to Kaka obv not quite as good. La liga would be a better league for a player of his style than the prem is.

ASOT wrote: »
    Lads i have this up on adverts but im sure it would interest you lot more.

Im shifting this because im going away for the summer and need to raise some cash.

819be836.jpg?t=1334750034

More pictures here - http://s562.photobucket.com/albums/ss63/AnDy-GFX-/Liverpool%20Jersey/ (password=liverpool)

If anyones interested give me a bell, It has a COA & was professionally framed after i got the jersey.

Micheal Owen
    Stephen Gerrard
    Sami Hyypia
    Jersey Dudek

Bruno Cheyrou
    Florent Sinama Pongolle
    Salif Diao
    Stephane Henchoz
    Harry Kewell
    Milan Baros

Carl Medjani
    John Arne Riise
    Jamie Carragher

Mark Gonzalez
    Igor Biscan
    Didi Hamann
    Emile Heskey

Richie Partridge
    Phil Thompson
    Anthony LeTallec
    Steve Finnan
    Djimi Traore

Steven Warnock
    El Haldi Diouf
    Patrice Luzi
    Vladimir Smicer
    Sammy Lee

to be fair thats a really nice piece...

i bolded who i would consider to be the most important sigs...but overall really nice man....hope you get full whack for it.

Micheal Owen
    Stephen Gerrard
    Sami Hyypia
    Jersey Dudek

Bruno Cheyrou
    Florent Sinama Pongolle
    Salif Diao
    Stephane Henchoz
    Harry Kewell
    Milan Baros

Carl Medjani
    John Arne Riise
    Jamie Carragher

Mark Gonzalez
    Igor Biscan
    Didi Hamann
    Emile Heskey

Richie Partridge
    Phil Thompson
    Anthony LeTallec
    Steve Finnan
    Djimi Traore

Steven Warnock
    El Haldi Diouf
    Patrice Luzi
    Vladimir Smicer
    Sammy Lee

to be fair thats a really nice piece...

i bolded who i would consider to be the most important sigs...but overall really nice man....hope you get full whack for it.

Yeah i completely forgot to add the list of signatures, It actually took me a few games to get them all on it! Id love to keep it but i have to make some sacrifices!

im selling a load of gear on adverts too...anyone in here interested in djing hit me up :D

Pm me your adverts profile, as it happens i work for a promotions company il say it to our djs.

well what are the chances! ill pm you now sure.

ill say it to a few lads i know about the shirt too...

never does any harm!