Drink-Driver endangering others is beaten to death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mr. Donohoe initially told Gardaí ‘I hope he dies, he got what he deserves’ but later apologised accepting it blew up out of nothing, he reacted and lost the head.

http://www.newstalk.ie/2012/news/man-involved-in-fatal-road-rage-incident-i-hope-he-dies-gardai-told/

Primal instinct my hole, yer man sounds like a typical hot headed fool. I hope that it's determined whether or not the guy ever actually played Hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Pretty crazy case.

Don't **** with another persons child tbh.
    Pretty much boils down to this. Deserve? No, of course not. But endanger the life of another man's child and you're playing with fire. Even the most level headed man could completely lose it in the same scenario.

As much as I hate victim blaming, it's a pretty good moral as to why you shouldn't act like a tosser.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

jluv wrote: »
    You obviously know the person who died. That is how it comes across to me.My sympathys if you do.
    But for me it always goes back to who's actions made the situation happen?Every action has a reaction.And if the reaction was OTT you still have some culpability if you are the one to start the chain of reaction..

Of course the victim is not without blame or culpability. Unfortunately he will not be able to answer the charges against him as he was brutally killed, and in my opinion unnecessarily killed, by Donohoe. Remeber the fatal blow to the temple was delivered while the victim lay defenceless on the ground.

Also given all the nonsense thought in IBT training to get a learner permit now, there should be a module on dealing with red mist when it comes down on a driver, to learn to objectively recognise the symptoms they are experiencing and what is happening to them, before they become emotionally involved in the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Kevwoody wrote: »
    ^^^^^
    What kind of ****e is this??
    Some people would make a joke about anything, have some ****ing respect
    I find that jeep drivers are most aggressive. I also have the opinion that GAA players are aggressive. In my opinion these are indicators of aggressive personalities.
    What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

jblack wrote: »
    "hurley stick" - f***ing Independent is a toilet rag. Hurley stick; have they farmed their journalism out to a call centre in Mumbai?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

kincsem wrote: »
    ^^^^^
    What kind of ****e is this??
    Some people would make a joke about anything, have some ****ing respect
    I find that jeep drivers are most aggressive. I also have the opinion that GAA players are aggressive. In my opinion these are indicators of aggressive personalities.
    What do you think?

I think your a gob****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I think your a gob****e

Steady on old chap, no need for a copy cat killing.

kincsem wrote: »
    What do you think?

That's kind of funny and interesting. I'm not sure if it could really be backed up though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I think your a gob****e

I think youre Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

RichieC wrote: »
    jblack wrote: »
    "hurley stick" - f***ing Independent is a toilet rag. Hurley stick; have they farmed their journalism out to a call centre in Mumbai?

As far as I know, Independent Newspapers has outsourced some of its production to France - or did at one point anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭jluv

Motorist wrote: »
    Of course the victim is not without blame or culpability. Unfortunately he will not be able to answer the charges against him as he was brutally killed, and in my opinion unnecessarily killed, by Donohoe. Remeber the fatal blow to the temple was delivered while the victim lay defenceless on the ground.

Also given all the nonsense thought in IBT training to get a learner permit now, there should be a module on dealing with red mist when it comes down on a driver, to learn to objectively recognise the symptoms they are experiencing and what is happening to them, before they become emotionally involved in the situation.
    While I am sympathetic,you can't be serious.Red Mist..!!Drunk driving.Aggressive driving.Threating driving..And an OTT reaction..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

All things considered, about 4-5 years is a fair sentence for this.

While I am sympathetic,you can't be serious.Red Mist..!!Drunk driving.Aggressive driving.Threating driving..And an OTT reaction..

Red mist - A feeling of extreme competitiveness or anger that temporarily clouds one's judgment. Its just different terminology used to describe road rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

RichieC wrote: »

I see from your location that you're in Dublin.

I'm gonna guess you are from Dublin originally?

A lot of people in Dublin refer to a hurl/hurling stick, as a hurley/hurley stick.

Super-Rush wrote: »
    A lot of people in Dublin refer to a hurl/hurling stick, as a hurley/hurley stick.

Sheesh, the correct term is Hurley-Bat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

I'd go further and suggest there should be drivers ed as standard in second level schools from the age of 15,not just in how to drive a car but the consequences of bad judgement,like drinking and driving for example! Teach people how to drive but also how to approach their driving responsibly,show them the effects of irresponsible driving,shock the sense of good driving practice into them and maybe then we'll see a reduction in drink related deaths on our roads!

But I suppose as moral thinking,respectable law abiding citizens we're expected to act as such and as intelligent adults make the right choices where driving under the influence of alcohol is a possibility.

as for .... "learn to objectively recognise the symptoms they are experiencing and what is happening to them, before they become emotionally involved in the situation" .... is that from the Zen Buddist School of Motoring? I'd have thought having a drunk driver up your arse flashing lights and preforming aggressive manouvores and acting with aggression towards you in your vehicle would be enough to get you "emotionally involved"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

So you pick up the phone and ring the gaurds not get out and beat them to death with a hurl.

You seem to think I agreed with what Donohoe did. I never said that I did.

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Sheesh, the correct term is Hurley-Bat

Is dat not wha d'players gofor when der sint off? :D

Red mist - A feeling of extreme competitiveness or anger that temporarily clouds one's judgment. Its just different terminology used to describe road rage.
    A feeling of extreme anger that temporarily clouds ones judgement.
    My child in my car while both of us are being threatened by a obnoxious drunk driver. Would cloud my judgement.
    Also I feel the post leads people to believe that the "victim" died on the road side. No it's one of those cases where the impact caused death a few days later. Might not make any difference to you but to me it does.

EarlERizer wrote: »

as for .... "learn to objectively recognise the symptoms they are experiencing and what is happening to them, before they become emotionally involved in the situation" .... is that from the Zen Buddist School of Motoring? I'd have thought having a drunk driver up your arse flashing lights and preforming aggressive manouvores and acting with aggression towards you in your vehicle would be enough to get you "emotionally involved"

Nah, it's just the sensible thing to do and emotionally involved is just a description of completely losing all rational thought in a violent rage.

Donohoe had violent disposition though - if this hadn't happened, I'm sure he could have easily been in another similar type incident. Personally, I've come across far worse on the road (and more dangerous) than someone flashing lights and tail gating - bashing someones head in or assault was never one of the responses I remotely considered.

Nah, it's just the sensible thing to do and emotionally involved is just a description of completely losing all rational thought in a violent rage.

Donohoe had violent disposition though - if this hadn't happened, I'm sure he could have easily been in another similar type incident. Personally, I've come across far worse on the road than someone flashing lights and performing aggressive manouvers - bashing someones head in or assault was never one of the responses I remotely considered.
    You're definatly close to this.Your not objective.You mention people like you know them.Puts the rest of us at a disadvantage...

A feeling of extreme anger that temporarily clouds ones judgement.
    My child in my car while both of us are being threatened by a obnoxious drunk driver. Would cloud my judgement.
    Also I feel the post leads people to believe that the "victim" died on the road side. No it's one of those cases where the impact caused death a few days later. Might not make any difference to you but to me it does.

That's a ridiculous point. The victim died as a result of being bashed on the ground several times while he was defenceless including a fatal blow to his temple.

Why does it matter when he died? If he died in the ambulance on the way to the hospital, would that have registered on how serious you consider what happened?

How about the lad who from Carrick on Shannon who was killed in Mullingar in December. He was in a coma for several days and then died from his head injuries. Would it have mattered more if he died instantly?

Mr Bates was a 49 year old man. If he was stupid enough to drink drive, I very much doubt it was the first time he did it. Drink drivers ARE an accident waiting to happen. Unfortunately they don't always just wrap themselves around a tree without messing up other peoples lives. This was an old man making terrible decisions. He was aggressive, stupid and ultimately he HAS ruined Mr Donohoe and his families lives by forcing him to protect his family.

Bates used his car as a weapon and anyone who says they wouldn't be petrified by his actions, especially with their child in the car, is a complete liar. Donohoe hit the car with the hurley first to unblock his path and scare Bates off. If you did that and Bates decides to still get out of the car and come towards you with a bat in your hand, you would definitely fear for your life.

Now, Donohoe hits Bates while he was on the ground. Is it justified? Well, Donohoe has to get back in his car, start the engine? drive around the scene or reverse away so he needs time. Who are we to say that there was a point where he was no longer protecting himself. Hard to judge. lets not forget that Bates did not go to hospital the next day, or police, and presumably got up to drive himself home.

I hope Donohoe gets to walk out of court a free man. I think we may hear more about the criminal record of the deceased once the case is closed. Judging by the quotes in the papers, I just wish it had have happened 30 years ago before he had the chance to spawn and bring more like him into the world.

Mr Bates was a 49 year old man. If he was stupid enough to drink drive, I very much doubt it was the first time he did it. Drink drivers ARE an accident waiting to happen. Unfortunately they don't always just wrap themselves around a tree without messing up other peoples lives. This was an old man making terrible decisions. He was aggressive, stupid and ultimately he HAS ruined Mr Donohoe and his families lives by forcing him to protect his family.

I hope Donohoe gets to walk out of court a free man. I think we may hear more about the criminal record of the deceased once the case is closed. Judging by the quotes in the papers, I just wish it had have happened 30 years ago before he had the chance to spawn and bring more like him into the world.

Donohoe pleaded guilty to the offence of manslaughter, he will be sentenced next week. Your comments about the victim are untrue and beneath contempt.

Donohue has admitted his guilt so there is no case, sentencing will be next week. The criminal record of the victim (should such a record exist) would not be relevant. If the guilty party (Donohue) has previous form this will come out at sentencing.

Your logic seems to be that drink drivers are 'bad' because they could potentially kill someone. Yet actullay beating someone to death with a weapon is 'good'. This is utterly loopy.

Passing comment on the victims children is not called for. You know absolutley nothing about them.

Donohoe had violent disposition though - if this hadn't happened, I'm sure he could have easily been in another similar type incident. Personally, I've come across far worse on the road (and more dangerous) than someone flashing lights and tail gating - bashing someones head in or assault was never one of the responses I remotely considered.

And the sensible thing for Mr Bates to have done would have been not to have taken the car home! the sensible thing for his wife to have done would to have insisted he not drive home in his drunken state! but,as with anger,rage,rational thought,when downing 10 pints of stout sensible thinking is sacrificed!

i'm not denying the man may have had voilent tendancies and may have had previous altercations with others because of them but that's not what he's on trial for here so he can't be convicted on grounds of previous actions and they shouldn't have any place in this case if indeed there are any such incidents!

I'm sure if this hadnt happened he'd have done just what he was intending to do on the night which was drive home with his child! and maybe Mr Bates & his wife would've made it home in one peice and slept off their nights consumption safe in the knowledge that "we made it home,no one died" and probably went on to have several other nights out and drunken drives home.....until maybe one unfortunate night were he has a severe bout of rage whilst pi$$ed at the wheel,veers across the central reserve and ploughs head on into a family travelling the other way!

Personally i've come across worse on the road (and more dangerous) than someone flashing their lights and tailgating me,I (and them) have lived to tell the tale, personally I've never had my kids in the car and encountered an aggressive drunk driver flashing lights,riding my bumper,throwing abuse,continuing their aggressive manner towards me and continuing to drive aggressively causing me to feel threatened for the safety of my kids and myself! until such a time I can't say what kind of response I'd have!

and personally I think Donohoe is guilty of aggrievated assualt resulting in death,by way of provocation.

Like I said earlier,this particular case is a catalogue of tragedy for all involved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

The fact that he was drunk changes nothing, I hope the guy who did it rots in prison but he'll probably be out in 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭i8mancs

I hope Donohoe gets to walk out of court a free man. I think we may hear more about the criminal record of the deceased once the case is closed. Judging by the quotes in the papers, I just wish it had have happened 30 years ago before he had the chance to spawn and bring more like him into the world.[/QUOTE]

I would like to personally thank Mr Donohoe and i think he should be given the freedom of the city for what he did. The drunk bastard got what he deserved, had he tried that stunt on me with my kids in the car he would have been finished off on the spot.

EarlERizer wrote: »
    and personally I think Donohoe is guilty of aggrievated assualt resulting in death,by way of provocation.

If you cause a death by commiting an aggravated assault it's manslaughter. Thats what Donohue pleaded guilty to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,055 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

I cant believe the logic here. Because he had a child in the car this was ok? the child was threatened? Sounds like complete scum to me, both of them. A real man would walk away for the safety of his child not put them in more danger.
    If I read it correctly, the 'victims' driving was so bad - and so aggressive - that it looked like a deliberate attempt to start something with the eventual perpetrator. I don't agree with murder, but if I had a small child and were carrying them in a car and driving with manners, and some putz started driving on my bumper, swerving like a fruitcake and (seemingly) trying to ram my car.

You can be dam sure I'd beat the crap out of the idiot for threatening my child.

Murder was too far though.

People who drive slow when they're drunk are bad enough - people like the victim are a different breed altogether, they deserve to get the **** kicked out of them and to lose their license forever.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.