Unpopular Opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,596 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I wish travellers didn't exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

My unpopular opinion: I believe people who eat meat and fish are selfish, horrible pricks.

It's easily possible these days to live a healthy life without consuming animals and putting them through the pain and suffering involved in modern intensive farming.

Like when bugs are killed by pesticides so that your crops can be grown without interference. And when mice and rats and rabbits are killed by machines collecting that same crop for harvesting. Or do you think it's only wrong to kill animals if they're eaten afterwards?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    karaokeman wrote: »
    I hate the whole "all music today is s*** and everything was great back in the day" argument.

If someone would just look at a list of all the #1's from the 80s they would see my point.

Also I don't hate things, just because they are mainstream. I happen to love Green Day's American Idiot album, I just can't stand all the manufactured autotune crap like The Wanted, Ke$ha, Nikki Manaj etc etc. Thats not being cool, thats appreciating music thats modern but genuinely made.

EDIT : For the comment about no songs today becoming a classic in the future I could have mentioned Wonderwall but that one song is almost as overrated as the Beatles entire back catalogue
    Have you listened to the radio recently. Music today is so ****in bad.

Have you listened to the radio on may 10th 1987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

MaxSteele wrote: »
    Really ??:eek:

**** argument. I have mates(girls) who've slept around and not one of them has a kid. Wear a johnny or make sure you have enough money instead of being a a lazy, unemployed baby factory.

So the women who are left holding the baby (literally) are condemned by you as sluts, but not a word about the irresponsible walking bags of sperm who bring children into the world but have no interest in fathering them?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Really ??:eek:

**** argument. I have mates(girls) who've slept around and not one of them has a kid. Wear a johnny or make sure you have enough money instead of being a a lazy, unemployed baby factory.

Eh, you know the man wears the condom, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

IrishAm wrote: »
    Allowing accession state citizens free access to our labour market in 2004 was a massive, massive mistake.
    " It is a deliberate misrepresentation to suggest that tens of thousands
    will suddenly descend en masse on Ireland." [Proinsias De Rossa, I.T.
    Letters, 20/8/2002 ]

" I estimate that fewer than 2,000 will choose our distant shores each
    year." [P.De Rossa, I.T. Letters, 20/8/2002 ]

The Labour party MEP is supposed to be their European expert but was so wrong he is either a lier or incompetent

I should stop trusting leaders, they don't know any more then the rest of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭p

That liberalising our opening times, giving more alcohol licences to any establishment and allowing people to drink in public will actually reduce our alcohol consumption

... and as a result, encourage a more sober society, and ultimately better democracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

ninja900 wrote: »
    So the women who are left holding the baby (literally) are condemned by you as sluts, but not a word about the irresponsible walking bags of sperm who bring children into the world but have no interest in fathering them?

I'm not for a second condoning walk away fathers(they're just as bad), but any woman who has three or more kids with a different father, is an irresponsible, sponging parasite in my eyes. Couldn't care less how harsh it sounds, how come other women can do it regularly without getting pregnant ??

Eh, you know the man wears the condom, right?

I do indeed, think I should re-read before I post. :o The woman should make sure to have contraception.

I'm not for a second condoning walk away fathers(they're just as bad), but any woman who has three or more kids with a different father, is an irresponsible, sponging parasite in my eyes. Couldn't care less how harsh it sounds, how come other women can do it regularly without getting pregnant ??

I do indeed, think I should re-read before I post. :o The woman should make sure the MAN has a johnny.

Should the responsibility rest entirely on her shoulders?

If so, it seems a bit unfair: it's up to her to make sure the man wears a condom, then she has to look after the kids and take the blame for being a parasite!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Should the responsibility rest entirely on her shoulders?

If so, it seems a bit unfair: it's up to her to make sure the man wears a condom, then she has to look after the kids and take the blame for being a parasite!

No I'm not saying that, but if both agree to sex without contraception, well then I say let them reap the consequences. Why should me or you have to foot their bill ?? Majority of single parents pay their own way and might make the mistake once and learn from it. I'm talking about these career mothers who have kids left, right and center and think they can make a decent living from it.

This is unpopular opinions remember, so don't take this to heart.;)

No I'm not saying that, but if both agree to sex without contraception, well then I say let them reap the consequences. Why should me or you have to foot their bill ?? Majority of single parents pay their own way and might make the mistake once and learn from it. I'm talking about these career mothers who have kids left, right and center and think they can make a decent living from it.

This is unpopular opinions remember, so don't take this to heart.;)

I agree that such an attitude is terrible, but I don't think there are that many women who hold it. Certainly not enough to put any serious dent in public finances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

I agree that such an attitude is terrible, but I don't think there are that many women who hold it. Certainly not enough to put any serious dent in public finances.

Evidently, you didnt grow up in an urban working class area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I think the whole social welfare system of this country is one of the reasons its ****ed, it's created a perfect situation for leeches.

dunno how unpopular or not the opinion is but i think if you're on the dole long term (we're talking over 2-3 years) or if they establish that no real attempt is being made to find work,that you should get it in vouchers/stamps so it can't be wasted down the bookies/pub/on drugs.

Nothing on this earth has pissed me off like reading some gob****e on fb boasting about the great time he's having on the money our government can barely afford to dish out, i mean, christ, there's even another thread currently on the front page of AH with some lad asking for tips on how to enjoy the pills he bought on his dole. And this isn't a dig at people down on their luck because of the genuinely hard times, i'm talking the lads who post facebook statuses like "ah i hate having to get up for work in the morning, lol jk im on the dole and im getting locked tonight haha"

Those people are trolling^

You have to prove you are looking for dole if you are on it for any extended period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

You have to prove you are looking for dole if you are on it for any extended period of time.

well yeah i know but i'd wager they're not looking into that very well from what i've seen around my local town...like i said - long term or not bothering to look should just mean stamps and that's it.

also, sadly, i know many of the likes aren't. nation of chancers and all that, sure look who we had running the place for years....

Name: Macker.

Address: Me mas and the mots at the weekend.

Education: Left the scool after the junior.

Previous jobs: None.

Hobbies: Playing ball and drinkin wit de boys.

Whack out a few cvs like that. If Solas set up an interview for you, go in looking scruffy and unkempt. Job done.

Evidently, you didnt grow up in an urban working class area.

Evidently, you're making some big assumptions.
    I did, and didn't know any single mothers when I was young.
    And if you think it's confined to working class areas then that proves my point: there isn't much of a working class left these days so there can't be too many working-class single mothers claiming lots of benefits, and the facts and figures which are always brought out when the issue is raised prove that.

I did, and didn't know any single mothers when I was young.

Bollix. Stop lying. :pac

I'm sorry if reality doesn't reflect your opinions. :)

It is not my opinion, it is the reality that I experience on a daily basis. I personally know, am acquainted with or am friends with at least ten single mothers in the 18-25 age group.

Personally, not one fook could I give if the government gives them a wee two/three bedroom house or a single parent stipend on their wages or a welfare payment each week. Not one foook. Good luck to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

MetalDog wrote: »
    "The Catcher in the Rye" is an overrated pile of sh1t.

Only reason it has lasted is that Mark Chapman was apparently reading it when he missed Yoko Ono shot John Lennon.

+1 What a pile of crap. Completely over-rated.

Agreed... Scrotey McBoogerballs is miles better.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

All my opinions are unpopular and it makes me a wunnnnerful person .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,302 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Something posted by a Facebook "friend" is not a credible source on anything!
    This should be a popular opinion but apparently not!

I f*cking despair of humanity and basic common sense. It's a fecking site with "like" this and "poke" this, not a creditable source on political and economic issues. Why that difference has to be explained?

Purple, Monkey Dishwasher.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Nurses, they are supposed to do a hard job and they are always regarded as angles as if they answered a call. But unfortunately I have had experiences of a lot of time in hospitals, mainly visiting were I got to see these angles in action. I was not impressed, their aids are creased but the nurses are typical public servants, they do a little bit more then f/a and the only thing they seem good at is spreading MRSA and off course PR with their speed dials to joe Duffy.

They are also probably the highest paid nurses in the western world and have a very militant union.

PS I am not expecting many Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

44leto wrote: »
    Nurses, they are supposed to do a hard job and they are always regarded as angles as if they answered a call. But unfortunately I have had experiences of a lot of time in hospitals, mainly visiting were I got to see these angles in action. I was not impressed, their aids are creased but the nurses are typical public servants, they do a little bit more then f/a and the only thing they seem good at is spreading MRSA and off course PR with their speed dials to joe Duffy.

They are also probably the highest paid nurses in the western world and have a very militant union.

PS I am not expecting many Thanks.

People generally don't thank mountains of lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Username99

I'm very weary of Jack Daws, dont trust the fuk4r5, devious so they are...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Username99 wrote: »

What are the scores George Dawes

Nurses, they are supposed to do a hard job and they are always regarded as angles as if they answered a call.

Nah, they are highly regarded as they treat children, the sick and the elderly so well considering the pressure they are under.

If it is so easy and well paid, why dont you apply for a position yourself?
    But unfortunately I have had experiences of a lot of time in hospitals, mainly visiting were I got to see these angles in action.

So, you go into a hospital to visit a sick friend or relative and spent your time watching the nurses go about their duties? :confused:
    I was not impressed, their aids are creased but the nurses are typical public servants, they do a little bit more then f/a and the only thing they seem good at is spreading MRSA and off course PR with their speed dials to joe Duffy.

Sweet suffering Christ. :pac:

Username99 wrote: »

"I grow weary of this jackdaw. Fetch me a rook!"