Should horse racing be banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Evie90

Discodog wrote: »
    It may be the last point but it is the most pertinent. No one is going to ban the National it makes too much money in tax. I have been to a lot of horse shows & I have never seen a horse die as a result of show jumping. Cross country is different & so is point to point.

But it is another concern when one race regularly results in so many deaths. There has to come a point where you are subjecting the animals to reckless endangerment.

Your right show-jumping is a bad example but nonetheless horses do get injured in it, it would have been a better example of the point that if a horse didn't want to do do something you couldn't make it.

If your interested in horses you'll probably know about Badminton Horse Trials, it's the biggest eventing competitions in the world, the cross-country course is notoriously dangerous and difficult with substantial jumps where horses regularly fall and some unfortunately die during it, if I remember correctly 6 horses fell at the same fence in 2010 ( one I remember was a rotational fall where the horse could have easily be killed)and a horse died at a different fence the same year but there's never as much uproar after Badminton as there is after the national. I suppose what I'm trying to say as that if all these people who are so gun-ho that the national should be banned actually had an interest in horses at all they would see that horses die in all aspects of the sport not just in racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FueledByAisling

kincsem wrote: »
    If there is no horseracing they will be no thoroughbred horses. They are not a wild breed. Thoroughbreds are the result of about 300 years of selective breeding, a bit like pedigree dogs.

These horses are bred to race. No races, no horses. Do you want to kill 200,000+ broodmares worldwide, and also the stallions, and horses in training (racing), totalling millions of horses?

Bleeding-heart poorly informed animal-rights "supporters". :rolleyes:

Ehh thoroughbreds aren't only used for racing, they are also used in different sports and infact excel in a lot of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Ehh thoroughbreds aren't only used for racing, they are also used in different sports and infact excel in a lot of them!

Particularly basketball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FueledByAisling

Like many people stated (and I agree to) the problem isn't the fact of there being any jumps. If the race is x miles long jumps NEED to be restricted to y cm heigh. Muscles need a certain amount of time to recover from a jump but if a horse is running 4 miles at full speed and supposed to jump a large number of fences at the height of roughly 1.30m is ridiculous! A horse is exhausted cantering around a course of 1.30m let alone having to gallop 4 miles ontop of that :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

Maire2009 wrote: »
    They would be I'd reckon, but anyone would hardly be suggesting someone as rich as JP McManus would let a Champion horse die to claim some insurance money?!

What use would it have been to him with a badly broken leg, probably wouldn't have recovered

Sad, but true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Particularly basketball.
    Harlem Globetrotters

The point is that it's one race in the racing calendar and over 20 horses have died in this one race in 12 years. That's a lot. If that many horses were dying in one single cross-country event every year, there would be a reassessment. Most people who understand anything about the equine world agree that racing itself shouldn't be banned, but the Grand National needs to be looked at. First and foremost, reducing the number of runners would greatly reduce the risk. This is something we don't see in cross-country for example - we don't have 40 horses galloping at 5 ft high fences all together.

Believe me, I've seen horses come and go and I've seen my fair share of horrible accidents, but the organised carnage that is the Grand National is just a death trap. That's not what an enjoyable sport should be about, and furthermore, it gives the equine world a bad name.

I'm not arguing that it shouldn't be made safer, I'm all for it being made safer but I'm not a course designer or an expert on racing so I can't really comment on it how that could be achieved aside from the obvious point of reducing the number runners. Admittedly my post is a bit long winded but I was trying to illustrate horses die a lot as a result of being ridden and it's fairly redundant imo to ban a one race when horses die in other areas of the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Ok, so 13 deaths in the last 20 nationals is no big deal then?

Compare that to deaths of horses on farms, on ranches...on halting sites...

If horses could talk they would all be telling you how they wanted to be race horses when they grew up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

What use would it have been to him with a badly broken leg, probably wouldn't have recovered

Sad, but true

Oh yeah I agree with that. Just it seemed to be suggested above that McManus, McCoy and Co. ran the horse to his death even though they knew something was wrong. Have no doubt the horse would have been pulled if they knew what was going to happen as the "physic vet" above seems to have known.

It was a bad, unfortunate fall. The horse didn't refuse to jump the fence as some other horses did, he just didn't clear it. Very sad.

The numbers definitely seem to be a problem - one horse fell and took out 2/3 other horses with him at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Every year without fail, some horses refuse to take starting positions (thats me calling a horse "contrary") . Theres a bit of messing and eventually they start, usually those of us with money on the spirited nags know they're not going to perform too well (I'm not psychic, just been around). Sometimes they don't make it to the start at all.
    Sometimes something happens in the stables and we have a non-runner.
    This Cheltenham Gold Cup horse did the mother of all tantrums yet still ran.
    Those are all facts.
    "Contrary" is just a phrase I used. "Insurance" was mentioned too. I haven't read the insurance contract on the horse - so who could tell ?

Byebye horsies, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

The footballer chose to play the sport knowing risks, the animals aren't given a choice.
    i dont think a horse would run if he didnt want to,but i think cutting down the number of runners would help,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Do race horses of this pedigree get buried or are they used as pet food.

(Serious question)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

This thread comes around every year. Its a shame that the horses are dying. Everything has been changed in the course to try and stop this such as changing the height of jumps but realistically its just made the times quicken up and put them in more danger. People in horse racing obviously care about the horses and its unlucky that a non-threatening disease for humans like a broken leg is fatal for horses as they get pneumonia. Like Noel Feilhy broke his leg today..

Things like this happen a lot in horse racing unfortunately. Gottany O's died while running on the flat during the races. Its not always because of the hurdles and jumps..

RichieC wrote: »
    Really sad about Syncronised all the same. From gold cup glory to dog food in a matter of weeks. :(

It's more than likely that he'll be cremated or buried, horses destined for consumption are usually sent to the abattoir alive.

Every year without fail, some horses refuse to take starting positions (thats me calling a horse "contrary") . Theres a bit of messing and eventually they start, usually those of us with money on the spirited nags know they're not going to perform too well (I'm not psychic, just been around). Sometimes they don't make it to the start at all.
    Sometimes something happens in the stables and we have a non-runner.
    This Cheltenham Gold Cup horse did the mother of all tantrums yet still ran.
    Those are all facts.
    "Contrary" is just a phrase I used. "Insurance" was mentioned too. I haven't read the insurance contract on the horse - so who could tell ?

Byebye horsies, RIP.

Finans Rainbow ran throw the barrier yesterday and won.. Its impossible to know if they don't want to run or too eager to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Is there really the need for 30 fences? Reduce it by 10 and the chances of a horse being fatally wounded are cut by 1/3.

The race will go faster and chances of a horse being fatally wounded would increase? Perhaps they could increase the jumps so horses have to go slower?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

They can be used for other purposes, but they are bred to race. I have over 500 thoroughbred racing / pedigree books so I don't need the "Ehh". You are not teaching me much / anything.
    Do race horses of this pedigree get buried or are they used as pet food.
    (Serious question)
    My guess is there might be a hundred thoroughbred graves in Ireland. That is not many when you realise there are tens of thousands of thoroughbreds living in the country, and have been for a few hundred years (much lower thoroughbred population in the past.)
    Only exceptional champions would be buried and the grave marked with a headstone. I have a book "Etched In Stone: Thoroughbred Memorials" http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1691070.Etched_in_Stone
    This book lists 475 memorials in Kentucky, home of American racing. The USA has a much bigger thoroughbred population.

The greatest European thoroughbred Sea-Bird was sent to a knackers yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

should horse racing be banned? no, but the grand national should be changed.

its a wonderful event, but its also the most dangerous in the world in terms of racing. i really really cringed today seeing some of the falls, they were awful. surely they need to review the length of the course, the heights of the fences and number of horses in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I believe it should be banned, along with greyhound racing.

Cruelty to animals for sport and gambling pretty much disgusts me.

Sadly is never going to happen though.
    This actually really upset me.

Such a huge cost
    BX 19 wrote: »
    I've been behind the big screen that they pull over when a horse's life is been ended at the races. Not a pretty sight. The horse knows its coming even when sedated. I've also seen a young vet missing the first time and having to do the job twice.

I would have no qualms about banning it.

FFS stop. People die everyday crossing the street. Should we ban that? Are you both vegetarians? We breed plenty of animals just to kill them FFS. Want to ban that? Have some f***ing cop on. It's sad that the horse died. But banning racing? F*** off and welcome to the real world, a place where sometimes bad things happen. Racehorses are treated incredibly well by most trainers. Better than many humans FFS! If you're concerned about horses' welfare you can start with the darlings in our fabulous travelling community. The horse knows it's coming? Get a grip now in fairness :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

I'm sorry but in no way are either horse-racing or greyhound racing cruelty!

NoelJ wrote: »
    The race will go faster and chances of a horse being fatally wounded would increase? Perhaps they could increase the jumps so horses have to go slower?

Fair point. In any case the race could be made safer than it is, which is what I'd like to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Horse racing or even this one race isnt going to come close to been banned. This compares oddly with the HBO series Luck that was cancelled after I think the third horsey death.

One senses that was probably because HBO probably didnt want their reputation dragged thru the muck by the protesters. Undoubtably racing takes many more horses than that every year but doesnt attract the same hysteria as Luck did. Cutting the number of the fences as dramatically as a third is unlikely-it then isnt really the same race, the biggest test etc, maybe they will continue to lower the jumps as they have tried. But the fact is **** will always hit the fan at times.

Life is of course about more than death otherwise meat eating, car driving, sport playing events would all go to Room 101. Which would suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Animals should have the same job opportunities as the rest of us. What I wouldnt give to be running around Aintree with a pony on my back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Palytoxin wrote: »
    I'm sorry but in no way are either horse-racing or greyhound racing cruelty!

Ya brute! I bet you think its alright for wolves to hunt in packs??? Totally inhumane the way they do that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

HBO's Luck got cancelled because nobody was watching. The three dead horses were a good excuse. Next time let the horses say Nick Nolte's lines - maybe we'll know whats happening...hmmm...wrong thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

This comment has me pissed off to no end.

A lot of people enjoy horse racing, and I'm glad it won't ever be banned. your comment is the equivalent of vegetarians moaning about cruelty to animals for the purposes of food when other "less cruel" food is available. if you actually believe that race horses and greyhounds aren't treated better than 97% of animals you're just clueless.

I could probably write a more articulate and detailed post but i'm actually too irritated, can't believe there's people out there this stupid.

Well that's not really where I was coming from. I'd sooner see the short-arsed jockeys than horses be whipped and made to jump over ridiculously high fences.

It just seems like a crude sport.. and it's considered to be one of the main sporting occasions of the year. That race did not seem very sporting to me. The winner was whipped far more than the rules are supposed to allow for.

People get all preachy and upset over bullfighting whenever it comes up here, so why is it not the same for this sport?

Because this is a laughable and ridiculously stupid comparison.

token101 wrote: »
    Because this is a laughable and ridiculously stupid comparison.

Says the guy that brought you the following gems
    token101 wrote: »
    FFS stop. People die everyday crossing the street. Should we ban that? Are you both vegetarians? We breed plenty of animals just to kill them FFS. Want to ban that?

Says the guy that brought you the following gems

Well, as the informed one, would like to explain us how the two sports are comparable?