1st Car Integra 1.6 sohc

• 12-04-2012 10:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

Im buying my first project car and thinking more on the line of this model.hopefully i can upgrade engine at some point to b18 or even keep it standard.i have the car almost bought.just waiting on few things before payment.. any advice from car enthusiasts would be appreciated guys.. how much it be worth etc???

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3143904

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

butchboy wrote: »
    Im buying my first project car and thinking more on the line of this model.hopefully i can upgrade engine at some point to b18 or even keep it standard.i have the car almost bought.just waiting on few things before payment.. any advice from car enthusiasts would be appreciated guys.. how much it be worth etc???

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3143904

Get a few insurance quotes before even parting cash. It could be fairly hefty :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,849 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I had a good chuckle reading that advert. No price specified says to me it is in dreamer territory. Front bumper has alot of marks on it too which suggests to me that it was driven like it was stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

beest thing to do is buy as stock as possible, and do a grass roots rebuild, not only for good measure but for peace of mind aswell.

as for the car advertised, its a scene car... expect a silly price.

also before you go off building a 200+ hp n/a integra... ( as all the lads want to ) would it not be better to get a super clean ( mechanically speaking ) 1.6 sohc running and driving, learning to live with and enjoyiing then when you're experianced, know what you need to change you can ( and im sure you're taste in mods will mature by then also... just so you don't go breaking tthe bank on the first car )

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

You might find that quite tricky to insure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭cpoh1

bazz26 wrote: »
    Front bumper has alot of marks on it too which suggests to me that it was driven like it was stolen.

Not sure how you deduced that to be honest but anyway. Some cars and manufacturers are more prone to stone chips on the front, Honda are a serial offender.

Its a massive job converting them old dual carb integras to fuel injected B18's. It'll cost you close to 3 times the value of the car, all fuel lines need to be stripped etc.

If this is your first car i would give it a skip, that engine is a pig on juice (worse than a typeR), it'll be hard to insure and that one in particular looks dreadful. Have a look at an ep3 1.6 civic, newer, more reliable, easier to insure (and on the eye!).

bazz26 wrote: »
    I had a good chuckle reading that advert. No price specified says to me it is in dreamer territory. Front bumper has alot of marks on it too which suggests to me that it was driven like it was stolen.

Its a bit of a shed alright. The bonnet is also out of line. Look at the rear of it near the windscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 butchboy

im 22 and getting quotes of around 1500 to 3000 on a one year full licence so insurance is hefty allright. I had a look at the car. Few scrapes and chips here and there but that comes with age i suppose. The bonnet line is actually set to that angle BX 19 .My guess is that this guy will let this car go for peanuts as he is trying to sell if for ages. The car looks sound to me mechanically and i know the guy fairly well so i would trust him..hopefully. Thanks for the advice on the ep3 civic cpoh1 .i have a good few mates who are converting alot of civics at the moment..im just inclined into buying this car as its going cheap and its me first project..

Really? I looks like something very heavy has sat on the front? I've never seen one like that, though, tbh, I've never paid too much interest around them.

How cheap is cheap?

Lastly, buying a car of someone you know personally is often a minefield as if something goes wrong. It can lead to a lot of strife and its something I would personally avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 butchboy

BX 19 wrote: »
    Really? I looks like something very heavy has sat on the front? I've never seen one like that, though, tbh, I've never paid too much interest around them.

How cheap is cheap?

Lastly, buying a car of someone you know personally is often a minefield as if something goes wrong. It can lead to a lot of strife and its something I would personally avoid.

it actually looks nice the bonnet line in full view. he is looking 1400 but it is nowhere near that.the coilovers are actually more valuable than the car itself..

He has told me the car is vtec but is not down on the log book which to me is bull****. Can you actually get a non vtec 1.6 sohc engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Sohc would suggest that even if it had vtec it still wouldn't be fast.

And Im 99% sure they didn't come in a 1.6 sohc vtec anyway
    engine is about 118hp on jap fuel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

BX 19 wrote: »

How cheap is cheap?

Lot of eejits put the bonnet like that to try and "cool" the engine. Even though it creates the opposite effect since it forces the air to back down the engine bay. Like a pickup without the rear door thing. Then people just started doing it because they think it looks nice. Which it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Easily reversed though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

it actually looks nice the bonnet line in full view. he is looking 1400 but it is nowhere near that.the coilovers are actually more valuable than the car itself..

He has told me the car is vtec but is not down on the log book which to me is bull****. Can you actually get a non vtec 1.6 sohc engine

What brand of coilover?
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    Easily reversed though.

Yup but looks like the OP likes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

If it were me and it was a project like you say, this might be a better option. not a bad starting point. small outlay if everything else is ok bar bumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TURRICAN

That yoke stinks of clapped out.
    Most integras civIcs are.
    Buy something bog standard and if there is a few ball joints etc gone replace them and you will be ok.
    Work from there then.
    May be hard find one tho as any I see have some geezer flying past in 2nd gear bout 70 mph and a nice stream of blue smoke etc etc.