Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭TomLamp

Marcus Horan will get on great with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

I wasn't the one who made the comment stating it was an accident. You should probably ask Amazo about his comment. Personally, I do not think it was an accident. Intent to seriously injure is another thing though.

So it wasn't an accident but also no intent? What's in between may I ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

TomLamp wrote: »
    Marcus Horan will get on great with him.

I doubt it Tom. Marcus has a well documented, pathological fear of dreadlocks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

BOD has said he doesn't have a problem with the two lads and he has moved on from it.

The thing that annoyed him more about it was the authorities not doing anything about it, people would have got over it now if they had served a ban.

i too was very disappointed with Ferris' tweet about John Afoa considering he must know Jones' injury history and how BOD's career (if not more) was nearly ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Quint2010 wrote: »
    So it wasn't an accident but also no intent? What's in between may I ask?

Try reading my post again.

I never said there was no intent. There is a huge difference between intent to hurt and make a player wary of your presence and intent to put a player on the sideline for a significant period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I thought the Umaga story was somebody taking the p!ss. Another rookie coach who has proved nothing. I hope its not going to be him.

Try reading my post again.

I never said there was no intent. There is a huge difference between intent to hurt and make a player wary of your presence and intent to put a player on the sideline for a significant period of time.

They picked the guy up and drove him head first into the ground. How is that not intending to cause significant serious injury?

profitius wrote: »
    I thought the Umaga story was somebody taking the p!ss. Another rookie coach who has proved nothing. I hope its not going to be him.

Pretty much all coaches have 'failures'. Someone like Joe Schmidt would have been regarded as a failure up to when Clermont won the Top 14 playoff (topping the league so many times with a terrific squad but not being able to pull it off) and from what I recall, he was recruited by Leinster before Clermont won the Top 14 playoff. I don't think the Auckland Blues were unhappy that he left either.

As a backs coach, someone like Umaga would be right for Munster - he is probably coaching players at a similar skill level in NZ to what he will get in Munster. Coaching Downey instead of Nonu could prove challenging for someone like Wayne Smith.

jm08 wrote: »
    Pretty much all coaches have 'failures'. Someone like Joe Schmidt would have been regarded as a failure up to when Clermont won the Top 14 playoff (topping the league so many times with a terrific squad but not being able to pull it off) and from what I recall, he was recruited by Leinster before Clermont won the Top 14 playoff. I don't think the Auckland Blues were unhappy that he left either.

As a backs coach, someone like Umaga would be right for Munster - he is probably coaching players at a similar skill level in NZ to what he will get in Munster. Coaching Downey instead of Nonu could prove challenging for someone like Wayne Smith.

Joe Schmidt had a very good record. Leinster done their homework on Schmidt. Umaga is a big name player and is a bigger gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

jm08 wrote: »

The difference is Schmidt has learned from his experiences and uses this to make Leinster one of the best rugby playing club squads I've ever seen.

Personally I don't think Umaga is up to the task awaiting the new head coach at Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Quint2010 wrote: »
    That is would add spice amongst the two sets of fans? Well I can't see it not doing? I remember seeing BOD being interviewed about it a year or so later (he was out of his sling) and he was still very bitter about it. PLUS are Munster really thinking about promoting to head coach a former player with little or no experience of coaching at the top level? I just can't believe they are even considering this guy..

I haven't forgiven him and personally I wouldn't like to see him at Munster for that incident alone.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I tend to agree with the poster above that it certainly looked more Mealamu's fault then Umaga's from my recollection, though I don't for a second think it was an accident.

Not the reason he shouldn't go to Munster though. It isn't that he is just unproven, he actually has a bad track record which is a different beast altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Noone really knew what Schmidt would be like as a head coach at pro level until Vern Cotter had to temporarily step aside for personal reasons and Schmidt took charge of the team. Happened to coincide with Clermont coming to the RDS and Dawson obviously became aware of how good he was and offered him a shot at Leinster. There was a lot of fortune involved there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I thought it was a done deal before that match?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

durkadurka wrote: »
    I thought it was a done deal before that match?

That was my impression as well.

Leinster have done well with the recruitment of coaches of late. Clearly they take it seriously and put a lot of work into it. I think it best not to forget the complete cluster**** that was the succession of Leinster head coaches before Cheika though - it is very easy to get wrong.

Yeah remembering now they did the deal well before that Quarter Final. So he actually had none of that experience and had shown none of that ability and it was actually a complete gamble.

So there you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Have to think with Sherry and POM we have two really good home grown guys coming through. If we can get Kilcoyne ahead of Horan and if Archer keeps improving we might better than we hope next season. Shame Nagle is injury prone.

TOD was good tonight. I wish he could get a continuous run in the team. I'd consider him better than Ronan tbh.

Have to think with Sherry and POM we have two really good home grown guys coming through. If we can get Kilcoyne ahead of Horan and if Archer keeps improving we might better than we hope next season. Shame Nagle is injury prone.

A few quality coaches alone could transform Munster. Even one coach could make all the difference. Its gotten to the stage when even Donal Lenihan is admitting on TV that they need a new backs coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

All about getting Dutchy out, in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

profitius wrote: »
    A few quality coaches alone could transform Munster. Even one coach could make all the difference. Its gotten to the stage when even Donal Lenihan is admitting on TV that they need a new backs coach.

Over and back, over and back. That's all it seemed to be tonight. It's a shame when you see the likes of Stuart Hogg and the pace he has and you know that munster have at least 3 in the back 5 without including LOD who have pace to burn but can never make any space.

They seem a bit headless at times. Zebo never seems to look for someone in a better position than himself as testified by the nearly butchered try at the end and Jones always seems to run into contact rather than looking for space. A good backs coach who could get them running lines like the Leinster backs could really make the most of what they have to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭NikNak8

It frustrates me how often they take it into contact (especially the backs). Whoever we get needs to change the mindset and improve the attacking by having players coming on to offloads at speed not catching the ball in a stationery position and looking around to see what to do like in the Ulster game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    Over and back, over and back. That's all it seemed to be tonight. It's a shame when you see the likes of Stuart Hogg and the pace he has and you know that munster have at least 3 in the back 5 without including LOD who have pace to burn but can never make any space.

They seem a bit headless at times. Zebo never seems to look for someone in a better position than himself as testified by the nearly butchered try at the end and Jones always seems to run into contact rather than looking for space. A good backs coach who could get them running lines like the Leinster backs could really make the most of what they have to offer.

I was annoyed with Zebo for not passing to Dineen, but watching the replays i think Dineen would have been pushed out into touch so Zebo was right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

I was annoyed with Zebo for not passing to Dineen, but watching the replays i think Dineen would have been pushed out into touch so Zebo was right.

It wasn't to Dineen I was thinking of. When I watched it on the big screen it seemed Murray was free on the inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

An Axel-Umaga ticket would be very interesting. Two unproven coaches but great players taking the reigns of one of the biggest clubs in the world. You'd have to worry about their learning curve, but it could prove very successful. With both Howlett and Umaga potentially involved in the Munster setup, it would be great to have the both the best centre and winger of the professional era involved with the one club. :D

Umaga's presence would surely add some spice to Munster-Leinster encounters in the media's and fan's eyes. There are areas of the country that aren't over the spearing incident and it could result in much of the Dublin-based media to turn against Munster in search of column inches.

The only 3 names in the pot are Axel, Umaga & Penny, not 1 of these 3 is capable of doing the job, Axel maybe in a few years, but not now. It's a pity Smith or McGeechan haven't been sounded out for an oversee role with Axel & Umaga as forwards & backs coach

Lelantos wrote: »
    The only 3 names in the pot are Axel, Umaga & Penny, not 1 of these 3 is capable of doing the job, Axel maybe in a few years, but not now. It's a pity Smith or McGeechan haven't been sounded out for an oversee role with Axel & Umaga as forwards & backs coach

What's wrong with Penney?

Franno reckons they should go with Foley. Good article well worth a read for all ye Munster men..

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/neil-francis-last-thing-munster-need-now-is-a-quick-fix-3081290.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Lelantos wrote: »
    Thing is we don't know who is honestly in the frame, its just journalists talking about what they've heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

We really do miss Warwick.

SomeFool wrote: »
    The difference is Schmidt has learned from his experiences and uses this to make Leinster one of the best rugby playing club squads I've ever seen.

Personally I don't think Umaga is up to the task awaiting the new head coach at Munster.

Umaga more than likely learned something as well from his failures, most of all not to get involved with a club whose president does the recruitment, decides the tactics and picks the team.

He certainly would have instant respect from the players and from what I've read of his coaching of Counties, he seems to be well regarded. There was also some talk of Sonny Bill signing for them as his ITM team because of Umaga helping him to convert to union which would suggest that maybe he might be a good backs coach.

Well worth a look at anyway. He has been coaching 3/4 years now and his playing career has to count for experience (same as Axel). Joe Schmidt, Kidney and various other 'older' coaches around didn't have huge playing careers and came in through teaching, so had to put in a few more years.