Pranks you fell for when you were young!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Flaker

As a kid I was told by my brother that if my hand was bigger than my face I was going to get cancer. So I put my hand up to my face and my brother gave it an almighty smack resulting in tears and snot running down my face from my bashed nose and him roaring his head off laughing, the get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Flaker wrote: »
    As a kid I was told by my brother that if my hand was bigger than my face I was going to get cancer. So I put my hand up to my face and my brother gave it an almighty smack resulting in tears and snot running down my face from my bashed nose and him roaring his head off laughing, the get.

Thats so funny, thank you for that. LOL.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

My older next door neighbour told me that when you put mentos in coke it turns blue. I tried it in class and ended up looking like I pissed myself. So I robbed his Mitre football from his garden and sold it in a jumble sale for £3 to recoup the cost of my lost coke bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Basically listing all of these pranks here means that they have effectively been killed - i.e. the odds of them working on anyone are now a lot less? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

68Murph68 wrote: »
    Basically listing all of these pranks here means that they have effectively been killed - i.e. the odds of them working on anyone are now a lot less? :(

Well the whole world is hardly on boards now are they

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

68Murph68 wrote: »

Yes on your first day in a job, the only thing you'll think back to is that Boards thread about pranks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I went for a long weight.. in hindsight it was 25 minutes off the job and it was the boss that got me, so eh... needless to say i won that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

a chap I worked with got sent for a bucket of steam....oh how I laughed.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

One of my classmates was sent to get a fallopian tube when on work experience in secondary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Few smart ass mates sent me to the shop for a bag of sweets called French Letters, the old man behind the counter told me I was brazen little pup with a foul mouth. I was like wtf :confused: until I went back outside to everyone laughing at me, b*&*"!ds :mad:

http://forum.wordreference.com/showthread.php?t=584600

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

Tartan Paint:rolleyes:

,bubbles of Spirit Level, and a Reach-Around :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

First day on the job and was asked to go to the maintenance guys and ask for a long stand and a sky hook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Vizzy

grindle wrote: »
    I put a screwdriver to his head. Keep at it so!

Was it a left handed screwdriver ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭MadameGascar

I was at a birthday party that had a bouncing castle, fizzed-up backflips, the craic etc. I was told by some older cousins that the next day the ground where the castle had been would be bouncy. For some reason I believed them, attempted a somersault straight away & broke my collarbone.

Making up stuff to tell children is some of the best fun to be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 lucowell

About 3years ago was at a house warming party for my uncle, my 25 year old friend shows up with a bottle of wine...i decided i would wind him up,went like this...

Me:"thats a lovely bottle of wine,where did you get....oh wait...sure its out of date aidan.....
    Aidan: its WHAT!? 2001!? you would think they would have taken that off the shelf by now...JESUS!

Off he goes back to the offy and returns 20mins later with a face like thunder!! i like to remind him of it on a weekly basis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

My brothers a chef and I was a porter in a restaurant when one of the commi chefs asked could he go for a quick piss.

My brother asked him to de-seed and chop a dozen red chillies first

The screams outta the jacks was hilarious, the whole kitchen was outside the second he went in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 wasislos

pranks?

family
    friends
    community
    gardai
    mi5
    fbi

hopefully someone writes a comical masterpiece on my life. looooooool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Patri

Once worked with a plumber who sent me to get a glass hammer in his van. Had a good laugh at that one after half an hour looking for it! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I was asked to go for a crate of banana juice. They didn't get me though;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Started in a pub, first day one of the regulars asked me for a pint of brandy. Don't know why he thought it was a joke on me, I said I'd call his bluff - grabbed a pint glass & started reaching for the optic.

The look on his face was priceless. Think he was working out the bill if he was made pay for it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

A friend of mine was working as lounge boy, on his first night he was sent out to the ice machine to seperate the crushed ice from the cubed.

Eejit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

We used to take the píss out of the apprentices all the time in work. Sent them for long stands, flux capacitors etc etc.
    One of them was sent to the shop for a can of coke and a packet of long division. He actually went and asked for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

At a house party I was at when I was 17, one lad got really pissed and had to be dropped home. No taxis would come out to where we were so my friend decided to. I had to stay behind because there wasn't enough room for everyone (and 'cause the driver had probably been drinking) and off they went on a short spin. Should've only taken fifteen minutes.

They were gone for maybe an hour when I got a phone call.

"Hello is this <name>?"

"Yes."

"Hi, this is Doctor Pseudonym* from Galway Regional Hospital. You were at a party earlier tonight with (my friend's names)?"

"Yeah, I was. I'm still at (my friend's name)'s house. Is everything okay?"

"No, I'm afraid not. The car they were travelling in had collided with another car in Salthill. It's very serious. There's been only one survivor, (my friend's name) and he gave me your number."

:eek::eek:

"Right."

"Okay. Well we have the address and the police are on their way to take a statement from you and give you a lift home. They'll be there in half an hour. Bye."

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Then my friends rolled up alive and well about half an hour later. I spent that half hour worrying about telling your man's parent what the fuck happened.

* I've forgotten the fake name since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

In primary school I was told to "smell the cheese"

BAM!

A noise bleed that lasted 30 minutes. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,785 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

Had my father grabbing my by the hair and saying "ah feck, you've got updoc in your hair". To which I spent the next 20 mins asking him "what's updoc?... Tell me, what's updoc?!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Citygirl1

My badminton club were organising a meal out, and someone decided it would be an "Egyptian themed" night.

Around a week before, I was chatting to a friend from the club (big guy, six foot two, heavy build, very hairy body...). To wind him up, I told him that the night was to be fancy dress. To my surprise, he took me perfectly at my word, and replied, quite seriously, "right, I'll get out my toga then".

It turned out that he actually had attended a fancy dress several years before, to which he had worn a toga!

I kept it up for a number of days before telling him the truth.... If he actually had turned up in the toga, I'd have gone through the ground :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

My Dad once told me when the ice cream truck plays its music, it meant the ice cream was all gone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭yellowcrayon

For years my dad convinced myself and my sister that you could only get scrambled egg if you kicked the chicken up the ar5e.

He convinced us as well that the hazard lights button in the car was the ejector button and we'd go flying up through the sunroof if we pressed it... my sister only stopped believing this one at the age of 16 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

We once convinced a guy to walk down to the boiler room, there was no electrciity , so we asked him to check out the fuse box, so we told him to go down and light a match, when he got down there.. But, what he didn't know, was that there was an exposed gas leak, and he ended up killing himself by causing a massive explosion, we laughed for days at that one... silly noobies.

"If your hand is the same size as your face, you're going to die from cancer".

I can't count how many bloody noses I received from that.