Pranks you fell for when you were young!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Steven81

Put your hand on the electric fence to make sure it is working. It always was!!

Got sent down to a workshop looking for a glass hammer. I did question it but they explained to me that a glass hammer impacted less force than a regular hammer and was used to fit tiles...

Got sent to look for a sky-hook as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Worked with the Irish Lighthouse service. A few good ones unique to them like sending an apprentice up to the duty free on the Granuaile tender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

A guy I used to work with was sent to the pub down the road for a long stand. After about 15 minutes there he went to another two pubs looking for the elusive 'long stand'. The barman in the 3rd pub took pity on him and explained the nature of the jape. Unfortunately the guy didn't see the funny side and attacked the bloke who'd sent him on the wild goose chase with a stanley knife...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Angeles

grindle wrote: »
    He's the cheeky prick because you don't understand the moral of 'the boy who cried wolf'?

Innocent pranks cause no real harm and infact help build awareness and make you actively think about what is being asked of you.. they were not harmful lie's mr boy who cried wolf.

He was a cheeky prick because he smack talked about being smarter then everyone else, even to those in a superior position. Ultimately this lead to his own demise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭grindle

Angeles wrote: »
    Innocent pranks cause no real harm...

The post above yours suggests otherwise. Some people have short fuses, or might've been bullied before.
    When my guy electrocuted me I put a screwdriver to his head. Whaddayaknow, bullies puss out when it's not "havin' the laugh" anymore.
    Pranks only build awareness of who the pricks are... Which I suppose is helpful, in a way.
    Keep at it so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

When my guy electrocuted me I put a screwdriver to his head.
    What were you planning on doing with the screwdriver?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

This thread took a sudden turn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭grindle

Squ wrote: »
    What were you planning on doing with the screwdriver?:confused:

Jesus, nothing, I'm a total wimp. Just threatening him. Wouldn't've done it at all, but he only needed to think I might've driven it in, so it worked out fine.
    He just stayed away from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jesus, nothing, I'm a total wimp. Just threatening him. Wouldn't've done it at all, but he only needed to think I might've driven it in, so it worked out fine.
    He just stayed away from me.

You seem very edgy and defensive. Is there something your not telling us son, maybe a trip down town will refresh your memory.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Squ wrote: »
    Sent down to superquinn while working in dunnes for a trolley jack.
    Was also sent to the butchers for a leg of salmon.

While serving my time, i was sent to the carpenters workshop for a skirting ladder. In fairness to the carpenters, they made me upo a little 6" ladder out of 1/2" batton.

My supervisor wasn't happy to have the joke turned on him in front of the lads..
    Lesson learned my side.. take your initiation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭danois

I was sent to the shop by my uncle years ago for a few bits one of which was elbow grease!! He got married 2 years ago and as his present I gave him a bottle of Elbow Grease its a spray cleaner they sell in the €2 shop. It made for a nice joke and a cheap present ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I told me ex that if an Albino stands under a light for a minute and you hit the switch, they'll glow in the dark. She believed me, and I never told her otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

my boss sent one of the lads that used to work with me to the hardware store (the boss's brother worked at) to buy a packet of skyhooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

New bubble for the spirit level, still ashamed.

Most people in pubs and the likes will have heard of gas for the optics, shine for the kegs and the rest of them. Lad I worked with a few years ago was sent for red lemons to make red lemonade, after involvement of about 6 unaware but quick witted people he returned with half a lemon inside half a red bell pepper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭danois

I think harmless pranks are fun and can help break the ice with new staff members. In my job tho we have been warned that any kind of pranks will result in a formal written warning as it is a form of bullying!!!!!

danois wrote: »
    I think harmless pranks are fun and can help break the ice with new staff members. In my job tho we have been warned that any kind of pranks will result in a formal written warning as it is a form of bullying!!!!!
    Seriously?

My mate had a charity cake sale in work last year and a new hire was saying how great it was. He was then informed that it was coming up to 'fancy dress Friday' for charity, which of course wasn't true. Que the new hire turning up to work on Friday dressed as batman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Cheeky lad: ''Theres updog in your hair! ''
    Me: ''What's up dog?''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Cheeky lad: ''Theres updog in your hair! ''
    Me: ''What's up dog?''

I presume you mean updoc or else I am suddenly going to feel very old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Draupnir wrote: »

I thought it was meant to be updoc too, but hardly anyone agreed with me. Or maybe, I'm just falling for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Hide the sausage :(

I thought it was meant to be updoc too, but hardly anyone agreed with me. Or maybe, I'm just falling for it.

Are all of these people of an age where they think Bugs Bunny came into existence specifically for Space Jam?

To stay on topic, a mate was sent to a shop to buy Lil-lets (in place of clorets obviously) for the managers sore throat on his first day working in a city centre clothes retailer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Yawns

I sent a lounge boy out to mob the puddles in the beer garden one night when it was raining. An off duty manager who was in the sheltered area with some friends came in asking us wtf was he doing. I told him expecting him to moan but he just said to carry on and leave him at it until he copped on.

A lounge girl took pity on him after another few minutes and brought him inside.

The other pranks included the usual long stand, flux capacitor for the washing machine etc. The place was big enough to have a few separate bars but all staff had to work them so all bar staff were on the ball for pranks at all times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

1. Watching the Rose of Tralee.

Mam <straight faced>
    "I remember when I won that" *sigh*
    Tore the place apart looking for the Tiara.

2. Mam and Aunt went to a cash and carry and brought home lots of stuff, chocolate bars, sweets etc. A massive haul.

"Where did ye get all them? :D"
    Aunt <straight faced again> "We robbed them from the shop"
    A fire engine siren just happened to be audible. Perfect timing.
    Aunt "That must be the Guards, they caught us!"

Cue, frantically hiding the dodgy merchandise under the coats under the stairs.

Draupnir wrote: »

I thought it was "upsexy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cassel16

When my brothers or sisters wanted me to go to the shop for them, they'd convince me to do it by timing me... not so much a prank, more stupidity on my part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

In the last pub I worked in their was a few good ones, sending the loungeboy to the pub down the road for: banana juice, fresh ice (make sure he dosn't give you the frozen stuff) all the usuals. Sending him out to wash the empty kegs etc.

I wasn't there but they sent one lad down to get ice from the other pub with a big paper bag. By the time he got back the bag was falling apart and he was trying to keep it together :D

I was sent to the clothes shop across the road from the cd shop I was workin in to "ask can you borrow the activator for the security tags, she'll know what you talking about". I was 16 and was mortified when the shop full of woman looked at me like I had 10 heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

New teeth for a saw.
    Bucket of steam.
    Stripey thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 DB Cooper 23

Rubber nails
    Left handed screw driver
    2 foot key