I got rats (Or something).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Wait, are we talking about ferrets the animals, or ferrets some sort of Tallaght slang I don't know about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

I can hear rustling in my music room

Show off, a room just for music!

There's an economic crisis you know, the rest of us are living in cramped tenements and the only music we can hear is the death rattle of our starving offspring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

Get a cat, I had a cat who used to kill hares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Naomi00 wrote: »
    Get a cat, I had a cat who used to kill hares.

What happens when your overrun with cats, you get a dog?

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    Did you have a look? What's the story then? You might be able to get the council to sort it out (if it's a rat, that is)

Went in, the bastard ran as soon as I opened the door and was gone before I turned the light on. I got the light on and left my hamster house in there within easy reach. There's a fire place that's out of commission they might be getting in and out of the room from, so I stuck a couple of plastic bags in the hole, idea being that if the bags are moved or have a suspiciously rat shaped hole cut through them then that may very well be the escape route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I got gas. (or something)

yeah my housemate shouted for me a couple of hours ago, awful smell coming up through his floorboards. its out on the street and everything, up through the whole apartment block... rang bord gais and all. they came out. turns out it's not gas. so it's something. it's hurting my lungs though, and my housemate is sleeping on the couch because the smell is too bad in his room.

so send me yer rats, they'll not like this smell too much.

Sorry, tried not to laugh at your first line(thought it was a rough curry):D
    Seriously though, you are all still in there???
    Dead body decomposing:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

mishkalucy wrote: »
    Sorry, tried not to laugh at your first line(thought it was a rough curry):D
    Seriously though, you are all still in there???
    Dead body decomposing:pac:

Yep still here.the smell is creeping into my room now. Gas expert man reckons it's something spilt in the shop below us.poor bastards won't have a pleasant work day tomorrow

Not sure I would hang around while the smell was still there tbh.
    anything that can permeate through an apartment block like that cannot be good.

Not sure I would hang around while the smell was still there tbh.
    anything that can permeate through an apartment block like that cannot be good.

Aint got nowhere else to go.

If there's no sign of me posting by 1pm tomorrow,avenge my death! Avenge!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Went in, the bastard ran as soon as I opened the door and was gone before I turned the light on. I got the light on and left my hamster house in there within easy reach. There's a fire place that's out of commission they might be getting in and out of the room from, so I stuck a couple of plastic bags in the hole, idea being that if the bags are moved or have a suspiciously rat shaped hole cut through them then that may very well be the escape route.

Give the council a call tomo and ask them to get someone from pest control to visit your flat. I don't think they'll do anything for mice but because rats are dangerous and carry minging diseases the council will come over (I think so anyway).

Do they bring their own ferrets?

Aint got nowhere else to go.

If there's no sign of me posting by 1pm tomorrow,avenge my death! Avenge!!

You said you have roomates.
    Have you checked for rotting socks and stale kecks??;)

You said you have roomates.
    Have you checked for rotting socks and stale kecks??;)

Just the one. It's definitely not something like that. It's a very chemical like smell.

What kind of shop is underneath?

please dont say hardware

What kind of shop is underneath?

please dont say hardware
    It's a Centra but they're doing work down there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    Did you have a look? What's the story then? You might be able to get the council to sort it out (if it's a rat, that is)

Block up that hole
    Leave a piece of cracker on the floor see if the take it or what the lads used to do in the garage I worked in was put some paint on floor around the food rat steps on it and you'll find where he goes

It's a Centra but they're doing work down there

I would watch for that if I were you. Chemical spills can cause serious probs. Sleep with windows open(extra duvet me thinks);)

Nah too comfy to get up.if I die,sue Centra!

Leave me in your will so:pac:

Too lazy to make will...

Beginning to think you are enjoying these fumes;)

Block up that hole
    Leave a piece of cracker on the floor see if the take it or what the lads used to do in the garage I worked in was put some paint on floor around the food rat steps on it and you'll find where he goes

Genius idea, I'll do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

OP sprinkle flour around the floor area where he's coming out. That will let you know where he's going. He will avoid paint because of the smell. If it's a rat, he will need water, and must be able to get to some somewhere. Mice will eat food with enough water content, but rats eat, and then go in search of water.

If you have a music room with equipment in there, beware, because he might chew up your wiring if you don't deal with him soon.

Get a steel rat trap, and melt some chocolate on the trigger before you prime it, he wont be able to get it off in one piece and will sit there nibbling, and then BANG, usually ;)

Sticky board will work, but they're banned i'm afraid. Go to the hardware tomorrow and buy some poison, but put a tray of water beside it. That way, he will get used to feeding, and drinking there, and lessen the likelihood of him dying under the floor and stinking your house out.

EDIT.

Is your own house ? Or are you renting ?
    If renting, landlord is legally obliged to call in, and pay for, a professional to kill it.

Peanut butter, rats cant resist it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Peanut butter, rats cant resist it

Yep! always a winner. Smear that over the trap trigger and you're laughing OP.
    Like the chocolate, they cant get it off in one piece.

marcsignal wrote: »
    Yep! always a winner. Smear that over the trap trigger and you're laughing OP.
    Like the chocolate, they cant get it off in one piece.

A neighbour of ours was building and disturbed rats. We had one feckin rat in the house chewing through everything. Peanut butter your only man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭firedancer

call the guards they love rats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Borrow a cat and leave it in the room where they are. Believe me it could work, I keep two mousers and the amount of rodents they slaughter around my property is quite impressive.

OK, so I set the top part of my hamster house up with a metal bar and made one of those traps that close when you pull a string, only instead of string I'm using an extension cord. I got bread and coke in there to try and entice the git. Sitting in the hall, now, watching a movie, waiting to hear the can clink. Then, I'll pull the cord and pray I don't have an extremely pissed off rat loose in there. It must be massive, there was a poop on the chair. How did he get up there, man? Must be like half a fucking foot tall or whatever.