What punishments did you recive in primary/secondary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Bits of chalk and blackboard dusters were thrown in my direction

Lots of fines for smoking

Is that not illegal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Was confined to quarters on a school boat trip to france.

Not so fast;)

What on earth were you up to to warrant that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scary

In primary school we got the leather belt across the hands or a bamboo stick across the back of the legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Mickey H wrote: »
    Good job your knickers were the right colour or else you were rightly screwed.

they weren't always - I was a bit of a rebel in my youth.

I also went to a Christian Borthers school, so it didn't stop me being screwed.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

One of our teachers used to make us hold our arms out and he'd put heavy books on them. fking sado.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Leather strap to the hand in secondary school up north.

Imagine that.. someone was making a living from selling custom leather straps to school teachers.

Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Conbhar

One lad caught me copying from his book so he hit me a few times really hard and i then in turn grabbed him around the neck to stop him from hitting me. Teacher came back(she had left the room) and sent the both of us to see our head master who was one of the most evil fukers of men who ever taught any children anywhwere. Anyway i had to walk in as i was up first and tell him my side of the story. I just had the words "sir i was sent up here cause i held Martin around the neck" and the horrible **** of a head master rolled up his 5th class Busy At Maths book and wallopped me across the side of my face. I immediantly burst into tears and he told me to stand in the corner and whilst standing there i actually pissed my own pants, i ****e you not. I was only seven years old at the time aswell. Safe to say that day has stayed with me ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

In primary school we got pulled to the top of the class by the ear, wacked on the back of the hands with a ruler - four of the best with a bamboo cane for the more serious offences.

In secondary school - the brothers - we were assaulted with various weapons : leather straps, dusters, hurleys and on one occasion an umbrella. That was all a long time ago and school was still a bit of craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,365 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Sweeping the yards in primary school and in secondary school you'd be sweeping the foyer

A few years later I was working as barman down the local hotel and the caretaker saw me sweeping and laughed to all his friends that he trained me to sweep and look at me now
    Made me feel like a right loser
    :(

Is he still working?
    Did anyone ever report it?

A "Janitor". The job which is made fun of in every single comedy program made YOU feel like a loser??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I called one of my primary school teachers a crabby old bat and she rang my mum who made me buy her a potted plant out of my pocket money! :( Never lived it down.

whole class got lines once when a couple of the lads were messing around

about half the class including myself sent to the library during an english class since we'd forgotten a book or something
    that's about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I was in primary from 1994 to 1999. I remember in 5th class I got In a fight and had to use a small desk at the side of the room for 2 days. I had to kneel down to use the desk, my knees were rubbing the very hard wooden floor and I wasn't allowed stand up

In secondary school I had to stand up and face the corner for 30 minutes after I didn't write all my lines for my teacher. "History is a study of our past." Jesus, it's been 11 years since i've had him but I still remember that sentence. If you got a question wrong in class you'd have to write that sentence 125 times.

Also, in primary I was looking for a payphone and accidentally picked up the one in the school shop. A brother saw me and literally shouted full force into my face to get off it, I was only 8 at the time. Even the receptionist was shocked.

Also my teacher for 5th/6th class was a pedo, he felt up boys in the past and one in front of me, thankfully he didnt go near me. What are yer stories?

Ya had it easy.:D The Primary punishment (I was there from '64 - '71) was easy. Secondary, on the other hand ('71-'76) was a different kettle of fish. Leather strap - kept in a fridge - loaded with penny coins. Six on each hand.

Having said that I was an awful bollocks for messing:D so probably deserved it. My older brothers, on the other hand, remembered lads of 15/16 having their pants pulled down and getting the leather, or cane, across the arse. Hard times (no pun intended).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Freddie59 wrote: »

Having said that I was an awful bollocks for messing:D so probably deserved it. My older brothers, on the other hand, remembered lads of 15/16 having their pants pulled down and getting the leather, or cane, across the arse. Hard times (no pun intended).

I think I'd rather it across the arse than the hands tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Ya had it easy.:D The Primary punishment (I was there from '64 - '71) was easy. Secondary, on the other hand ('71-'76) was a different kettle of fish. Leather strap - kept in a fridge - loaded with penny coins. Six on each hand.

ahhhh.....

explains a lot....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Cane,leather strap,stick,slaps,twisting of ears, and that was for been good ;-).

This was late 60,s & 70,s in a christian brothers run school,The masters were as bad as the brothers.Never had physical punishment in secondary.Left in 77 and became a bouncer.

just joking about the bouncer part.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Only trouble I got into in primary was being sent to the principle for an epic food fight one lunchtime...

In secondary the whole class got suspended for 3 days because someone stole the keys to the computer lab and didn't own up. What a ridiculous ''punishment'', I was fcking delighted to have a few days off. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Started primary in 91ish but never really got in any trouble. Secondary from about 2000 on and the worst I ever got was suspended for dossing. Other than that punishments were notes in the journal for not doing homework and messing, some teachers gave additional stuff like writing out the dictionary in the back of the french book or stupid essays.

All in all I'm glad I went to school when I did, talking my father or even my sisters fella who would be a good bit older than me they got an awful doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I remember getting caught with a knife carving school property in primary school. The teacher gave me the knife back after break and made me promise not to do it again.

I'd imagine the punishment might be a little harsher these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

[QUOTE=RiseToTheTop;78070391]I was in primary from 1994 to 1999. I remember in 5th class I got In a fight and had to use a small desk at the side of the room for 2 days. I had to kneel down to use the desk, my knees were rubbing the very hard wooden floor and I wasn't allowed stand up

In secondary school I had to stand up and face the corner for 30 minutes after I didn't write all my lines for my teacher. "History is a study of our past." Jesus, it's been 11 years since i've had him but I still remember that sentence. If you got a question wrong in class you'd have to write that sentence 125 times.

Also, in primary I was looking for a payphone and accidentally picked up the one in the school shop. A brother saw me and literally shouted full force into my face to get off it, I was only 8 at the time. Even the receptionist was shocked.

Also my teacher for 5th/6th class was a pedo, he felt up boys in the past and one in front of me, thankfully he didnt go near me. What are yer stories?[/QUOTE]
    IM0 wrote: »
    so thats why you turned into a prick!

Originally Posted by corkman
    I was in primary from 1994 to 1999. I remember in 5th class I got In a fight and had to use a small desk at the side of the room for 2 days. I had to kneel down to use the desk, my knees were rubbing the very hard wooden floor and I wasn't allowed stand up

Also my teacher for 5th/6th class was a pedo, he felt up boys in the past and one in front of me, thankfully he didnt go near me. What are yer stories?

and thats worth the ban!

How the same post with two different usernames ?

RichieC wrote: »
    I think I'd rather it across the arse than the hands tbh..

Ask me about it Richie. Always got it on the hands. By fcuk you wouldn't be right for hours afterwards.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    ahhhh.....

explains a lot....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Write out a page of the phone book. I thought it as a rather creative punishment.

Always hurt though to see him tear it up in front of me and throw it in the bin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I never got in trouble in school, in primary I was a nerd and in Secondary the teachers didnt bother giving out to me cos my Principal loved me and I got away with everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I was in primary from 1994 to 1999.
    Primary is eight years. Are you a genius who skipped classes?

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Primary is eight years. Are you a genius who skipped classes?
    some of us did skip classes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Bits of chalk and blackboard dusters were thrown in my direction

Lots of fines for smoking

We got immeadiately suspended if we were caught smoking anywhere on or near the school grounds during classes or lunch.

3rd time suspended = expulsion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Garda used to come to my house and threathen me with some reform school bullshít down the country because I was on the mitch most of the time.

When I actually was in school I was put on report and had to get a teacher to fill out a form in my report book after every class that I was in.

School made me get a drug test from my GP every few months,then had to discuss its results with the ancient christian brother guidance counsellor who always smelled like vegetables for some reason.

Detention before and after school most days.Lunchtime detentions too,which I didn't mind cos I'd get soup,toast and tea for free from the staff room.

Wouldn't be allowed in certain teachers classes so I'd be made to sit in the study hall for that class,or if one of the brothers caught me wandering the corridors I'd be sent up to the chapel for 'reflection time.'

Wouldn't be allowed to PE/computer class or any other semi fun subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The requirement to attend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Lines, detention and suspension.

I sorta liked detention because it was new in the school and sounded American.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

My teacher in secondary, gave a set of lines for not doing a homework, then doubled it if you missed another homework in a row. So I ended up doing 16 sides of lines of 'I must complete my homework' He was actually a really sound bloke, wouldn't have passed my Science GSCE without him.

In one assembly, the headmaster comes to the front, I was in year 11, and we got comfy chairs at the very back of the hall. And he starts talking, some competion about writing about tidyness or something, and he says 'And the winner will get £25 to spend in Whsmiths on school supplies!' And I laughed really loud, and it was pretty small school, so he knew it was me, so I was pulled aside at the end by the deputy principal and taken to the headmasters office, and given a bollocking, and I had to write an apology letter :rolleyes: