Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retrogaming tech talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 underpantshead

Been a stalker/voyeur of the forum for so long now that i feel like i am asking celebrities questions here. biggrin.gif i really admire the dedication ye have for the retro scene! i am only in the beginning stages of reclaiming my 8 and 16 bit childhood and i hope i make sense!? redface.gif

1. if you region mod a european megadrive, will it play pal games at 60hz or do you need to get the ntsc cart and then flick the console to u.s.?

2. region lockout games - how do you know if there is a region lockout on a game?? and if for example you had a pal megadrive game and wanted to play it u.s style and it came up saying "this cart is only allowed to be played on european consoles" what happens then? just play it european style? or is there a by-pass?

3. does the same work for snes too? or nes and master system for that matter?

hope i am not asking questions that have been asked too recently? i checked through a good few threads and didnt find much.

thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Been a stalker/voyeur of the forum for so long now that i feel like i am asking celebrities questions here. biggrin.gif i really admire the dedication ye have for the retro scene! i am only in the beginning stages of reclaiming my 8 and 16 bit childhood and i hope i make sense!? redface.gif

1. if you region mod a european megadrive, will it play pal games at 60hz or do you need to get the ntsc cart and then flick the console to u.s.?

The majority of PAL games can be played at 60Hz. There are some carts that are PAL optimized, which won't run at 60Hz though. Virtua Racing & Sonic 3 spring to mind. There should be a list somewhere on the web
    2. region lockout games - how do you know if there is a region lockout on a game?? and if for example you had a pal megadrive game and wanted to play it u.s style and it came up saying "this cart is only allowed to be played on european consoles" what happens then? just play it european style? or is there a by-pass?

To bypass locked out games, the accepted method is to let the game boot at 50Hz, then once it gets to the title screen, switch over to 60Hz. This will work 99% of the time, & providing the game isn't optimized for 50Hz, will work just fine. This method won't work for later release SNES games, as they check the Hz during play, not only at boot.
    3. does the same work for snes too? or nes and master system for that matter?

The mod is the same on all systems yeah, as I said though, later SNES games like Super Mario RPG will check the settings more than once. There's links to all the mods in my sig which might explain them better :)

could not of asked for a simpler explanation....i only seen the odd youtube video of the mod being done and it's been eating away at me for ages!

thanks so much! :)

EnterNow wrote: »
    There's links to all the mods in my sig which might explain them better :)

sorry just one more thing....is the sig link missing? think i am going blind in my auld age! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

sorry just one more thing....is the sig link missing? think i am going blind in my auld age! :)

"Mods & Repairs To Date" will bring you to the content page :)

Edit - it's possible you don't have avatars & sigs turned on if you can't see the link. Check your CP

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

EnterNow wrote: »
    "Mods & Repairs To Date" will bring you to the content page :)

Edit - it's possible you don't have avatars & sigs turned on if you can't see the link. Check your CP

Link isn't working for me either dude. Getting re-directed to some Vettel fan site?? :confused:

Troll-Face-psd62868.png

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

You also might have to go to your User CP, click edit options under "settings and options", scroll down to "thread display options" and tick show signatures and save that.

I think i had to do that before, im not sure if they are hidden by default i cant remember. but if you cant see it then try that.

keithgeo wrote: »
    You also might have to go to your User CP, click edit options under "settings and options", scroll down to "thread display options" and tick show signatures and save that.

I think i had to do that before, im not sure if they are hidden by default i cant remember. but if you cant see it then try that.

got it now....thanks for that! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Doge

keithgeo wrote: »

I think they must because I had to do it also.

Not sure when that came to be though, and if it's the same for new users right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Anyone got a guide on calibrating the laser on the Amiga CD32 ? CD-R playback is proving to be troublesome..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Got it sorted now. I've got a pair of Behringer studio monitors on the way to me now and a few choice cables. No need for a mixer presently, I'm just altering the main mic input gain on the sound card and it's grand for what I need.

I managed to record a session playing Darius Burst iOS on my iPad 3 earlier too. Now problems at all with the gain down. Might look at a 5 input in future but don't need one right now.

Looking forward to grabbing some nice audio now. :)

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Got it sorted now. I've got a pair of Behringer studio monitors on the way to me now and a few choice cables.

Is that the Truth? ;)

waveform wrote: »
    Is that the Truth? ;)

Yep! Though I would love to get a 22 input mixer for absolutely no reason at all other than it looks seriously cool. Maybe get 5 of them and stack them. :D

Actually, I'll be in the market for an Apc 40 and/or a Launchpad later this year. Once I've other stuff on the 2012 task list done. :)

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Yep! Though I would love to get a 22 input mixer for absolutely no reason at all other than it looks seriously cool. Maybe get 5 of them and stack them. :D

Actually, I'll be in the market for an Apc 40 and/or a Launchpad later this year. Once I've other stuff on the 2012 task list done. :)

What model monitors did you buy actually? I just realized that the "Truth" aren't the only model Behringer do, so might have wasted a joke (that was bad to start with!)

The Allen & Heath Zed series mixers are very seductive, you'll want one now just by looking at it! :p

I have a 16 channel digital Behringer mixer myself that I bought on Adverts a while back, its the DDX3216 with automated faders.

I feckin haven't been using properly yet though, the bloody thing is huge. :(

It's like you and me are trading places!

I've went from buying music gear to retro gaming gear in the last year, and you're doing the opposite! (although to be fair you're probably still buying just as much retro gaming gear! :))

I received my new Soldering Iron tip cleaner in the post today, to replace my ghetto version thats on the left:

geLGu.jpg

With these there's no thermal shock or steam which is very nice.

Wet sponges are good, but this one ........is BEST™! :D

The box that came with it, has some cute and amusing Chinglish too! :)

emy2l.jpg

6K72k.jpg

810200831016PM_BunnyPancake.jpg

My Behringer monitors arrived today. I'm currently enjoying this being played at an incredibly high volume through them.

Y'know, just to stretch their legs loike. :)