Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What made you smile/frown/mad/sad/cry today-thread for all your emotional needs! V4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Dolorous wrote: »
    I know Acoshla said this before but wedding forums are scary, scary places... Some mentalist asserting that she wouldn't attend a friend's wedding if she didn't like the invitations, she must be a great laugh at parties

If I ever get married I am so not going on those forums! I'm the type of person that doesn't worry about what other people think about those kinda things. It'll be our day so who gives a f**k about other people really. If it's what the bride and groom want it doesn't matter about anyone else.
    My driving test is tomorrow!!! :eek:

I have absolutely no clue how it'll go so I'm just going to give it my best shot and see. Funnily enough, this attitude has really calmed my nerves and I'm more giddy now than anything else. :rolleyes: :D

Best of Luck!

Happy birthday to careymary and Lucyfur. :D

• Administrators Posts: 55,278 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

awec wrote: »
    The best type of curry! :)

Yup it's defo my fav :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭rainshowers82

I did my driving test 3 times !!! The first tester was sooo rude and would point in the direction he wanted me to go by waving his hand in front of my face !!!

The 3rd time the tester yapped the whole way thru ... Passed me and asked me for a hug .... Bleugh ...

We're nearly on V5 lads!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

awec wrote: »
    The best type of curry! :)

Red > Massaman > Green :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

bluewolf wrote: »
    I think that feckin choc has got me into bad habits again sigh. Dying for some b&j! Time to cut out the sugary junk til i re adapt
    Headache from it and all
    I read that as "dying for a BJ" :o

Making soup now, can't wait until it is cooked, hope it is nice :)

I read that as "dying for a BJ" :o
    Glad I'm not the only one who read it as that :cool::pac:

Just looked at the number of replies and I'm in second place, 14 posts behind Acoshla.. Lol. :cool:

Not looking forward to cycling home this evening. Did something to my back last week, it's been quite sore all day, and on the way in to work this morning it took me 3 attempts to get off my bike when I got to the office... must have looked pretty silly to anyone watching :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

so my new place has tv channels, I havent had tv in over 2 years (I have A tv, I just watch dvds/blurays/downloaded stuff on it) I havent missed much, tv is absolute sh1te for 95% of it save a few good shows. what happened the Discovery channel? it used to have great documentaries now its all sh1te like storage wars or auction hunters. reality tv needs to die a death.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

On the way home fron dublin

subway for dinner nyom om nyom :-D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Phone interview tomorrow evening. :D

Have never done phone interview before.

Don't know how to approach phone interview. :confused:

Thank Jesus that's over. I don't think I've ever been so nervous in my life :eek:
    Just as well they can't see all the FIDGETING. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

got through my planning much quicker than I thought I would. Delighted! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Thank Jesus that's over. I don't think I've ever been so nervous in my life :eek:

What did they ask you RacoonQueen? Like you I would have no idea how to do a phone interview! I would find it hard not being able to read facial expressions I think.

sillymoo wrote: »
    What did they ask you RacoonQueen? Like you I would have no idea how to do a phone interview! I would find it hard not being able to read facial expressions I think.

All they asked was how I found out about the job, why I'd like to work there, what experience I have that I could apply to the job, something I'd done in previous employment to improve the way things are done and of course any questions (nope, I almost burnt google out googling things about this job). Very informal really.

Yeah, not being able to read facial expressions was my biggest worry and thats what I found hard. With a face to face interview you can gauge whether you're giving the answer they want or not, whether you need to give more information/shut up etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭kate.m

Good luck with the driving test teletextpear!

I won't be doing mine for ages but when my brother did his the first time round, the examiner told him 'to drive like a young male driver usually drives'. Then after 50 minutes when he only had 2 marks against him (of the not serious marks...grade 1?) the examiner took him out for an extra 15 minutes and he picked up one more mark. 1hour and 5 minutes is supposed to be long for a test :confused:

In other news - like 2 weeks ago the photoconductor (thingy) on my printer broke and would have cost like 220e to replace - so instead I decided to try fix it myself and bought this thing off the internet to help reset it for 20e. IT WORKED :D

Granted I spent a good 3 hours deconstructing the thing and probably more time shouting profanities at it...still glad I saved some money. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

The soup is absolutely gorgeous. So flavourful.

Having some with brown bread now, mmmm.

think thats bad try do a one way webcam interview, that was horrible. I dont mind doing phone interviews I talk on the phone 8hrs a day anyway so its something I'm well used to, yet I hate chatting to people on the phone outside work lol I text everyone the only people I ring are my parents

Brought the dog for a walk there with my brother and she jumped from a very high drop into water. She is in total shock. We brought her to the vets there and she has internal damage and bleeding :( She is very old anyway and her kidneys have been failing for a while so I'd say this is it.

They are keeping her in overnight hoping the internal bleeding clots if not she'll need surgery and they basically said there is no point on giving her surgery because she won't make it through it. :(

One of my best friends is a nurse at the clinic (she was there when we dropped her in) so I am going to call her when she finishes work and ask her what the story is. Wahh.

krudler wrote: »
    think thats bad try do a one way webcam interview, that was horrible. I dont mind doing phone interviews I talk on the phone 8hrs a day anyway so its something I'm well used to, yet I hate chatting to people on the phone outside work lol I text everyone the only people I ring are my parents

Yeah I hate chatting on the phone. Even friends and boyfriends I'd rather text them than talk to them. Especially people who don't ring for any specific reason other than a chat and you just get empty silences...

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Brought the dog for a walk there with my brother and she jumped from a very high drop into water. She is in total shock. We brought her to the vets there and she has internal damage and bleeding :( She is very old anyway and her kidneys have been failing for a while so I'd say this is it.

They are keeping her in overnight hoping the internal bleeding clots if not she'll need surgery and they basically said there is no point on giving her surgery because she won't make it through it. :(

One of my best friends is a nurse at the clinic (she was there when we dropped her in) so I am going to call her when she finishes work and ask her what the story is. Wahh.

Awww no. I'm so sorry. My stomach jumps every time my dogs do something like that. Hope it turns out ok, can't imagine how I'd feel if I was facing what you are. My mutts are my babas. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Lia_lia wrote: »

Ahhh the poor pet....

*hugs*

I've got tears in my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

cdaly_ wrote: »
    Good grief no! It's a vital manoeuvre. You do it every time you reverse into a parking space or your driveway. It's so much safer reversing in and driving out than the other way around.

you do reverse into the driveway/parking space don't you?...

I've just realised I've never lived anywhere that I had to reverse into my driveway, is that weird?
    Dolorous wrote: »
    I know Acoshla said this before but wedding forums are scary, scary places... Some mentalist asserting that she wouldn't attend a friend's wedding if she didn't like the invitations, she must be a great laugh at parties

I read that same thread :) To be fair that invite was not nice, playing on such a stupid sexist old joke.

I like to read them sometimes just to feel so very normal, same reason I watch programmes about morbidly obese American people, I feel so skinny and healthy after it :p

my grandparents park sort of at the side of their driveway on the right
    so i drive in, pull sharp left, and reverse between their two cars
    handy for heading out again
    great seeing the impressed look on my grandfather's face when they haven't left room for me and i squash in between :pac:

can't be arsed reversing into driving spaces in car parks though, usually there's someone behind you waiting, and i've no problems reversing out

Yeah I hate chatting on the phone. Even friends and boyfriends I'd rather text them than talk to them. Especially people who don't ring for any specific reason other than a chat and you just get empty silences...

ugh, uggggh, the "ah just saying hi" chats, with lots of silence because you've nothing specific to talk about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

There's VERY few people I can talk to comfortably on the phone!

Sweet jesus, had a guy who was running up bills of nearly a grand a month ringing sex lines, bloody hell, porn is free!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Sweet jesus, had a guy who was running up bills of nearly a grand a month ringing sex lines, bloody hell, porn is free!
    Shush you! How else am I meant to pay the bills!

I love when my mother is in a mood. Not.