What age to stop breastfeeding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

Meh, hopefully before school :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

Dudess wrote: »
    I agree boobs are great, but in this programme the girl was talking about how she couldn't wait to have boobs so she could breastfeed herself... :pac:
    ah my 3 yr old says that all the time - she wants big fat boobs like mommy to make yummy milk - and she weaned at 6mths, but she feds her dolls bottles, go figure.

my 13mth old has 'asked for it' since birth with signs and motions, and he sometimes feeds standing up- kinda if he is messing in bed - and we have no intention stopping for awhile.
    whenever suits the family is the right answer, but the AH answer is more like when the boobs hit your bellybutton?

Just imagine if you're a male that was breastfed into your late teens, reading playboy or any other such magazine would just make you feel thirsty!

The sexual connection simply wouldn't be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Just imagine if you're a male that was breastfed into your late teens, reading playboy or any other such magazine would just make you feel thirsty!

The sexual connection simply wouldn't be there.

Again, that depends how hot your mum is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

Just to be a bit controversial as I like to be...

Before you get to the restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

Sort of related, my husband told me a relative of his gave him a couple of taka to relieve her of some breast milk when he was about 7 as her baby wasn't latching and she was engorged!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

What's known as 'extended breastfeeding' nowadays would be considered a normal breastfeeding relationship in most other cultures as well as our own culture in the past. All the well documented and acknowledged benefits of breastfeeding don't just stop at a cut off point, the immunological and psychological benefits of breast milk have been proven to continue well into the toddler years and beyond. In fact even the WHO recommends feeding to at least the age of two.

I've never witnessed a child over the age of one being breastfed but from my experience working with young children I honestly wouldn't see a problem with children being fed until around three, at least. At that age children still connect with their parents in a very physical way, cuddling, carrying, bathing, changing etc We just find it 'weird' now because we're not used to seeing it done and I don't see attitudes changing any time soon. Maybe when we learn to get over our hangups with infant feeding things will change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Watched a programme about late breastfeeding - the kids were aged up to 10 and obsessed with tits.
    amacachi wrote: »
    How long ago was that made? I might've seen a this-is-them-years-later edition the other night online
    Would have been shown I'd say seven or eight years ago. On Channel 4 of course.
    10 years old, plus 7 or 8 years...

seems legit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭AboutTwoFiddy

Breastfeeding is completely natural, I think it's up to the mother and kids to decide when they want to stop, who are we to dictate to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

If your grand parents were to read this in heaven :eek:

Dident know you could read in heaven :eek: Wonder what sort of books they have.......................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

When they start doing this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

If its good enough for Rob Aryen its good enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

My own rule of thumb is that when the child reaches an age where it can form clear memories that it will carry into adulthood you should have stopped. Yes the primary function of breasts is to feed children, but like most body parts they also have secondary and tertiary functions. And those functions are sexual attraction and sexual pleasure, both of which are healthy, enjoyable aspects of adulthood. I could be completely wrong but I suspect being able to recall feeding at your mother's breast may have a negative impact on how you relate to breasts sexually.

In my own case I have a number of extremely strong memories from around the time of my first birthday onwards. (Luckily as my mother's rule of thumb was to stop breastfeeding once our teeth came in and we got too bitey, none of those memories are of suckling at her breast.) So I would like to have my babies weaned from the breast by 9-11 months though ideally I will keep feeding them breast milk that I have expressed until they are about 2 years. Once we were on solids my mother used to do things like mix our Rusks/Liga with breast milk, so we were still getting the health benefits and I'd prefer to do that as opposed to breast feed at a later age but I guess it will depend on my milk supply as milk supply is stronger when the baby sucks than when you pump or hand express.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

Well I breastfed both of my kids until the oldest reached 13 months and the 2nd reached 12 months.
    I wasn't really feeding them much once they started solids and then over 10 months it was only a morning feed and night feed. But once they were old enough to go onto cows milk at 1 year old, I stopped.

Jesus it's so much handier and cheaper then bottle feeding, once you get over the tricky few weeks starting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

I don't see why people get their knickers in a twist over other people's breastfeeding habits. I fed mine up until they were about two and half to three. As for the memories, none of them remember a thing and all of them cringe 'healthily' when reminded that they used to feed that way. None of them ended up with a nasty thing for mummy's boobies! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I'm not the only one who's utterly grossed out bye this thread am I ?

I don't see why people get their knickers in a twist over other people's breastfeeding habits. I fed mine up until they were about two and half to three. As for the memories, none of them remember a thing and all of them cringe 'healthily' when reminded that they used to feed that way.

That's fine your children don't but as I can remember an awful lot from my early toddlerhood, full emotional memories completely in context, there is a pretty good chance that my children will have similar abilities. And maybe it doesn't matter, maybe if I'd been fed that long I'd remember it without it having an effect on my sexual relationship with breasts but then again maybe it would.
    None of them ended up with a nasty thing for mummy's boobies! :D

Now absolutely nobody suggested that so there is no need to be facetious about it. The problem isn't one of developing sexual feelings for your mother's breasts. It's one of the memory of breastfeeding interfering with your ability to enjoy a normal sexual feeling for breasts later in life. Most women enjoy having their breasts and nipples kissed and sucked on as part of sexual play, most men seem to enjoy doing it. But if a guy is happily sucking on his girlfriend's breasts and he gets a flashback to feeling upset and hungry and then sucking on his mother's for food and comfort I can see that ruining the mood.

iguana wrote: »
    But if a guy is happily sucking on his girlfriend's breasts and he gets a flashback to feeling upset and hungry and then sucking on his mother's for food and comfort I can see that ruining the mood.

I think you're stretching the realms of possibility with that! Seriously.

Why? I remember so much from the year I was one, never mind up to the age of 2 and a half. I remember many of the meals I ate, friends I only knew at that age, what their houses looked like, the types of beds and cots they had. Do you really think I wouldn't remember something that would have occurred several times every day?

I'm not the only one either, look through the first memory thread. Lots of people have strong memories of their infanthood.

iguana wrote: »
    Why? I remember so much from the year I was one, never mind up to the age of 2 and a half. I remember many of the meals I ate, friends I only knew at that age, what their houses looked like, the types of beds and cots they had. Do you really think I wouldn't remember something that would have occurred several times every day?

I'm not the only one either, look through the first memory thread. Lots of people have strong memories of their infanthood.

But then surely if it is possible for someone to have their normal sexual feelings about breasts interrupted by flashbacks about breastfeeding, then the same would be true of flashbacks about nappy changing during foreplay and sex? Nappy changing happens to every baby so there would be a lot more sexual dysfunction resulting from it then there might be resulting from being breastfed.

A lot of the first memories in the other thread could be down to being aided by photographs which they could have seen and forgotten seeing, if you get what I mean. Holidays and family gatherings were mentioned which would have been photographed or videoed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

Watched a programme about late breastfeeding - the kids were aged up to 10 and obsessed with tits.

Must have been this one.

The young girl keeps comparing breastmilk to mango juice and her artwork from school seem to be full of nipples :p

But then surely if it is possible for someone to have their normal sexual feelings about breasts interrupted by flashbacks about breastfeeding, then the same would be true of flashbacks about nappy changing during foreplay and sex? Nappy changing happens to every baby so there would be a lot more sexual dysfunction resulting from it then there might be resulting from being breastfed.

I was out of nappies completely by 54 weeks so have no memory of ever having my nappy changed. There is a funny story about how I pissed in my dad's mouth once when he was changing me but I only remember it a story. I also don't have any sexual feelings about excrement or urine and my husband and I never play at bottom wiping and talcing, so it's not the same. Breast sucking however is a very common sexual act.
    A lot of the first memories in the other thread could be down to being aided by photographs which they could have seen and forgotten seeing, if you get what I mean. Holidays and family gatherings were mentioned which would have been photographed or videoed.

No, I'm talking about full on emotional memories in context. Like how much I always wanted to get at my nana's sewing box because she had so many coloured threads that looked fascinating. Week after week I would try to get into her 'good room' where her sewing box was kept behind the couch. They used to keep a rocking horse in there for me so I would pretend I wanted that and really try and get at the sewing box. I remember how much I really, really wanted the threads, how frustrated I felt not being given them, how I'd come up with plan after plan to get at them.

I remember the day that I finally got into the room, pulled aside the rocking horse and crawled behind the couch to get them. I remember the triumph as I pulled it out after me. And then the horror as the door opened up and someone came in. I remember trying to come up with an excuse as to why I was behind the couch and then the absolute terror as I realised that the person in the door was a garda and the fear I would have to go to jail, followed by the shock and betrayal that the garda* was actually my uncle. I remember wondering is he was ever my uncle at all and had been setting me up all my life.

You don't get all of that emotion from photographs, you certainly don't get things like your plan to pretend you only wanted the rocking horse. Nobody ever knew I felt betrayed by my uncle in his uniform to tell me that. I was 15 months old but I remember it every bit as well as my wedding day or my first kiss or what I ate for lunch today. Lots of kids are capable of that kind of memory and having experience of strong early memory I know not to dismiss it.

*He'd actually just gotten a job as a prison officer and had been getting ready to leave for work when he saw me sneak into the room but the uniform looked the same as a guards to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

I wasn't even breast fed but I have tonnes of memories from my childhood of seeing my mother's breasts sunbathing, bathing etc and I never developed issues about my breasts in fact I would say I felt quite the opposite. If someone has non traumatic memories of getting food and comfort from their mother's boobs, or for example witnessing a younger sibling being fed then really, what's the problem? Children and adults should know that's what breasts are primarily there for and part of the reason people have such fetishes about them in this part of the world is the hype and taboo surrounding them in the first place. If breastfeeding was normalised than people wouldn't develop these hangups in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Truley wrote: »
    I wasn't even breast fed but I have tonnes of memories from my childhood of seeing my mother's breasts sunbathing, bathing etc and I never developed issues about my breasts in fact I would say I felt quite the opposite. If someone has non traumatic memories of getting food and comfort from their mother's boobs, or for example witnessing a younger sibling being fed then really, what's the problem? Children and adults should know that's what breasts are primarily there for and part of the reason people have such fetishes about them in this part of the world is the hype and taboo surrounding them in the first place. If breastfeeding was normalised than people wouldn't develop these hangups in the first place.
    But the question is, what age should it stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Cherrycola

As soon as child can eat solid food, is there any need for them to still have milk meant for babies?!

Even calves move on to grass, all mammals eventually wean off mothers milk and onto what will be their adult food source, be that grass for cows or meat for lions!

Breastfeeding past the stage when its not needed is bizarre, and just another attempt by the breastfeeding hardliners to draw attention to them and their cause!
    Go feed your baby and stop making such a song and dance about it, if its so natural and such a personal choice then why do you need to shout about it?! :rolleyes:
    Yawn!

Truley wrote: »

There is a big difference between seeing breasts and remembering suckling on them. I have loads of memories of seeing my mother feed my brothers or of hand expressing milk, I don't think that's at all the same as remembering my own mouth around her nipples.

And no we don't find breasts sexual because of hype and taboo, the hype and taboo began because they are also sex organs. I, along with many women, can orgasm easily from breast play, I certainly get wet within seconds of having my breasts played with (right). They are primarily for feeding our young but they do have a sexual function too and it is no less important than the fact that we can not only talk using our tongue but also taste and kiss with it.

In recent years a lot of time and effort has been spent rightly reminding people of the primary function of breasts. But to do so by ignoring the secondary functions is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

When teething starts! And when memories start to form.

Cherrycola wrote: »
    As soon as child can eat solid food, is there any need for them to still have milk meant for babies?!

Yes there is. Breast milk has more functions than just as food. It is very important for the development of a healthy immune system and even has links to the intelligence of the child. It's not just something we eat until we can digest solids. Once a baby can eat solids they should ideally be doing so alongside still consuming breastmilk until they are about 2, or maybe even up to 4.