What is your earliest memory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Cant really remember back that far :-(, It has to be wearing short trousers and on my first day at school I was brought to the girls school and put sitting in a all girls class while the nuns figured out what to do with me,It had a profound effect on me :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Have a few early memories one when I was a baby having a photo taken I remember looking at my hand and had my fist up and just looking at it and the others it was my 1st birthday and the other time I was about the age of 2, I was chasing a pet dog around the garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

I'm studying psychology and counsellling.... and I learned how to analyse early memories. Now I know things about ye all that ye don't even know about yourselves :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

earliest memory, or one of them anyway, would have to be the first xmas i remember. think i was about 2 or 3, and coming downstairs with my parents early in the morning and it was still dark.
    sneaking over to the living room door, and my parents pretending to make sure Santa had left presents and that he wasnt still there or id get into trouble for being out of bed and trying to see him :o:)

think that was the year i got my Corky and Cricket talking lifesize dolls, still have them too somewhere, anyone remember them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Temple street hospital, I was 3yrs old getting ready for an operation. Absolute bitch of a matron on the ward and another young lad beside me burnt all over, poor chap used to cry himself to sleep every night :(. I also remember post op all tubes in my bed and leaving, batman (played by Adam West) was on tv ^_^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Mine is my first day of school, roaring and screaming at the school gates because I didn't want to go! And the next school memory is of the principal making me stand in the corner because I had my little red shoes on the wrong feet :o

My teacher did the same but they made him go in and teach us anyway (he did have his shoes on right though as I recall...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Skerries wrote: »
    well go back and tell your younger self that those were AT/AT's not AT/ST's as they weren't around until ROTJ :p

ah crap... well you knew what i meant I was only 3 or so for feck sake :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Mine is my first day of school, roaring and screaming at the school gates because I didn't want to go! And the next school memory is of the principal making me stand in the corner because I had my little red shoes on the wrong feet :o

First day of school my dog follwoing me all the way up to the gates :o. Going ice skating with the cubs and generally getting home after school to watch 80s cartoons and go hang out with mates. I miss those days :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

My earliest memory is 6am this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

When I saw attack ships on fire over the shoulder of Orion.

Most people don't believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Burky126 wrote: »
    When I saw attack ships on fire over the shoulder of Orion.

Most people don't believe me.

Ive seen things you people wouldnt believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Bob Geldoff shouting at us to give him his money at live aid :D after that, The other one is of my old man reading the times and queen radio gaga was playing in the background... :cool: i could sing a long to it ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I remember fuck all before the age of six.

Who are you and what have you done with my memory????? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Christmas when I was almost 4 , got a ride on toy Massey Ferguson with a trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

One of mine is being pushed in a pram on the street while it was bucketing down raining but I had a plastic thing covering me so I was protected :D

Also my grand parents being in our house for for a BBQ.

Then there's also a few blips of Italia 90 I remember being watched in our house.

What I find weird is that I can remember things before I was quite sick apparently when I was around 3. Yet I have no recollection what so ever of being sick. You'd think that would have been something that would have stood out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

Having the garage door locked on my finger
    I will never forget the pain
    I was 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

When I was 4 my Family went on holiday to Pwhelli in Wales. I don't remember much, my main memory from it is one of my Brothers lost a tooth and he got a British pound and the four of us were all standing around staring at it because we had no idea what it was.

Oh and walking down the road with my parents holding my hands and swinging me, somewhere between the age of 3 and 5. I remember because there was still remnants of Irish flags painted on all the paths from Italia 90.

I have really, really vague memories of going to playschool when I was 2 (I wasn't meant to be there, my brothers started a year before me and the teachers just let me hang around) but nothing very clear, just general playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Seeing milk being delivered around South Dublin by horse and cart and laundry vans going about with Swastikas on the side of them. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Hiding under the kitchen table from the Incredible Hulk.

I have some faint memories of living in Clondalkin (near where Liffey Valley is now) from when I was around 2 or 3. My family moved to Ballyfermot in August 1988 (would have been almost four) and I remember the move, as well as the first night we stayed there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

xoxyx wrote: »
    I remember fuck all before the age of six.

Who are you and what have you done with my memory????? :mad:

I'm the same, I only have one memory before my communion and that's relatives visiting from America. They gave me a doll as a present and my 2 brothers cool walkie talkies and a remote controlled car. I balled crying and made a show of my parents 'in front of the visitors'.

Lovely photograph to remind me of it aswell standing in front of the Christmas tree holding my doll with big red puffy eyes :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm the same, I only have one memory before my communion and that's relatives visiting from America. They gave me a doll as a present and my 2 brothers cool walkie talkies and a remote controlled car. I balled crying and made a show of my parents 'in front of the visitors'.

Lovely photograph to remind me of it aswell standing in front of the Christmas tree holding my doll with big red puffy eyes :o
    I have a photo just like that! I've a baby buggy in front of me and I look really pissed off with my arms folded :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Stepping on the cake on my 2nd Birthday.
    Breaking my 2 front teeth when I was 3 and living without them for a couple of years.
    Jumping from the wardrobe when I was five and taking a good sized piece of bone off my leg, still have that missing piece of puzzle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my mam showing me through an atlas and pointing out that Italy looked like a boot. the seeds of my interest in geography were sown right at that moment. i was around 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

The distinct smell of apple juice and danish pastries at the breakfast buffet of our hotel in Florida, I think I was 4 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

My first memory was being tickled to the point of blackout by my big sister while on the kitchen floor, I remember also at the time the song that was playing on the radio was "Sugar" by the Archies, which was released in 1969,which made me about 2.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

A bike/horse plastic yoke I rode around on when I was 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

It used to be when I was 3 years old but when I was under hypnosis, the hypnotist was able to trigger a memory from when I was 1 year old.

I was amazed being a tranced state you were able to recover old memories like that. Before I was quite skeptical of the whole hypnosis thing. But now it's clear in my memory of lying down on my living room carpet alone wondering where my mother was. Surreal stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Twinkleboots

I remember smothering my whole bedroom in sudacream with my cousin... Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I remember back to when I was just 13 months old on holidays with my cousins in the Bahamas.