Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,397 ✭✭✭budhabob

Hurley hasn't been great. He's been good. Kearney is a great fullback and there's light years between them.

Now, in case you think i'm being mean, I'm not. Hurley is symptomatic of what's wrong with Munster. Too many good (ish) players, not enough great ones.

No, You're right. I dunno, I think I may be an eternal optimist. There is a requirement for a clearout, top to bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Munster men: Would you drop ROG yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

omerin wrote: »
    Fresh start for next season, clear out DOC, Hurley, Murphy and Foley. New management and coaching, don't care what it costs I want Connor O' Shea and maybe its time to go to Leinster with a begging bowl for some players :( Hope they start with Keatley from the start as no. 1, ROG offered very little today.

Ah ffs that's way over the top. Think before you post reactionary stuff like that.

I see Munster as being in the middle of a transition, we introduced 10 new players to Heineken Cup rugby this season. The likes of Sherry and O'Mahony have added a lot to the squad, Ryan has emerged as a very good player, plus names like O'Dea are coming through with Pro12 gametime. Important players in Leamy, Ronan and Howlett have been missing since the New Year and will be back next season. For me our only problem positions are outhalf and prop.

Yes, but I don't think McGahan can/will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I don't see that we've any choice but conversely, he can still be the bench option for Ireland as Ireland have what Munster lack, powerful carriers in SOB and Ferris and a creative player at 13 and a counterattacker at 15.

On that actually, i felt sorry for Jones today, he's just a yard off the pace and shouldn't have been out there. I imagine Afoa will be cited for the spear/tip tackle on him.

Ah ffs that's way over the top. Think before you post reactionary stuff like that.

I see Munster as being in the middle of a transition, we introduced 10 new players to Heineken Cup rugby this season. The likes of Sherry and O'Mahony have added a lot to the squad, Ryan has emerged as a very good player, plus names like O'Dea are coming through with Pro12 gametime. Important players in Leamy, Ronan and Howlett have been missing since the New Year and will be back next season. For me our only problem positions are outhalf and prop.

Do you think Hurley and Murphy are good enough. Decent squad players but not enough to be making every big game squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Have said it for a while, there's no point hanging on, yes there is a transition, but you don't build your foundation with dodgy material

Do you think Hurley and Murphy are good enough. Decent squad players but not enough to be making every big game squad.

To use a cliché, they're very good Pro12 players and decent Heineken Cup players. Pretty much as you say.

Then again we won 2 Heineken Cups with the likes of Dowling, no disrespect to the guy, I was a big fan of his!

To use a cliché, they're very good Pro12 players and decent Heineken Cup players. Pretty much as you say.

Then again we won 2 Heineken Cups with the likes of Dowling, no disrespect to the guy, I was a big fan of his!

Dowling was very different. He was a big game player with a brain. Hurley is a big guy who's half afraid to use his size whereas Dowling was actually quite a small guy who got stuck in. Mostly though, Dowling was a smart player, Hurley and Murphy aren't.

Aye, very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

If we had Ian Madigan to step in, sure. Keatley, not so palatable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

skregs wrote: »
    The only difference between Madigan and Keatley is that Madigan gets enough gametime to actually improve his skillsets
    He also has the best coach in Ireland to help him with his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I'm sure Kidney isn't happy that the best coach in Ireland has helped Madigan along to the point where he could easily replace ROG in the squad for the New Zealand tour.

Looking forward (as an outsider) for Munster where do people feel they have to change?: Here's my opinion

I think prop is a major issue outside Du Preez and Botha. Kilcoyne is rated by some, don't know a lot about him, Archer has a lot of work to do, Borlase will be off I'd imagine, Marcus Horan is done at HC level.

Sherry needs to be given a shot at the 2 jersey. I like Varleys workrate but lineouts are too erratic at this level.

2nd row looks ok but POC, DOC and MOD are pushing on, Dave Foley maybe to be given more game time.

Back Row: Lots of big names have left here, always a strong area for Munster but that wasn't a Heineken Cup quality back row today. Wallace has probably reached the end at least as a regular first choice. O'Mahony is a prospect but worrying for Munster to have someone like Tommy O'Donnell at 7 in such an important game. Have to look to bring through Butler a bit more.

Half Back: O'Leary is off which is good news but Stringer, Duncan Williams has had injuries but has never really come through, Murray isn't in the best of form but is still a fine player. ROG is in decline no matter what he says himself but is still probably the best option for Munster, Keatley needs to do more, hasn't grabbed his chances since ROG came back.

Backline: Zebo has had a good season in general, will be a bit dissapointed falling off the tackle for the try today but overall promising, Hurley is average, Downey and Laulala coming in as first choice centres I'd imagine, will Earls be switched to the wings? Hopefully Jones gets a full season
    under his belt, good player. Will Howlett have another season in him?

Overall I think Munster will give a decent rattle to any team again next year and have the quality and depth to compete very strongly in the Rabo but in terms of the Heinken rebuilding is certainly needed. I think Munster fans realise this, in reality Munster were 2nd best on the opening night and Europe could have ended there for them and only sheer guts dragged to victory there. Castres away and both Llanelli games could have gone either way too.

If the draw falls nicely they may work their way back to the knock out stages but fortress Thomond has been shown to be no longer impenetrable so itll be tough.

While Munster is a huge job for whoever is the next coach it'll be a tough challenge trying to rebuild while attempting to keep Munster at the forefront of European rugby.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Munster had Ulster rattled at one stage but couldn't finish them and in the end Ulster came back and finished well. Munster could have gone on to win this game but didn't. They had most of the ball and most of the territory but couldn't use it. Downey, Lualala, and Howlett coming back may help this nest season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 cb_

I think what today shows in brutal technicolor is that for the new coach position we must recruit outside the existing coaching staff. Axel has done well this year, but we are a side sorely needing some new coaching ideas. I'd love to see Wayne Smith come in as head coach to really put our backs play together properly. I don't think we need mass changes in personel, but we do need a sea change in our approach to the game. It is no longer possible to win HCs by just having the best pack in the competition. I think keeping Axel as forwards coach is ideal to help maintain what is currently good about Munster rugby: and it'll still be good for his development as a coach to stay in this position for a couple of years. However, it has now reached the point that it is vital that we reach out for new ideas in this recruitment process. Smith for me represents the ideal coach in that I think he'd come to us and I think he possesses exactly the expertise we need...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Looking forward to a new coach with fresh ideas because we have decent talent coming through

Still think we need an NIQ 10 next year. The Keatley experiment has failed miserably

A young ten like Cruden would be perfect to get our new backline moving next year. I'd also like to see JJ as an out and out 10 in time too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Looking forward to a new coach with fresh ideas because we have decent talent coming through

Still think we need an NIQ 10 next year. The Keatley experiment has failed miserably

A young ten like Cruden would be perfect to get our new backline moving next year. I'd also like to see JJ as an out and out 10 in time too
    TBH i think JJ is more of a 12 than a 10 and will be involved in the pro 12 regularly enough next season
    Wouldnt give up on Keatley yet.

New Coach with new ideas would be great and ideally the new coach has no past allegiances to Munster or any club in Munster. We need a totally new face as head coach who ideally is a good very good backs coach

Going through our known squad for next year it's something like

LH - Horan, Wian, Kilcoyne, J Ryan. Wian is a very good prop so will be first choice. Horan is on his way out. Ryan and Kilcoyne are extremely unproven and should have had more time this season. No point saying they are any good or not without seeing them in the league. Seemingly Darragh Hurley may have to retire due to injuries, shame because he had it all.

Hooker - Varley, Sherry, Henry. Fogs is rumoured to be off to France, Flannery is retired. For me, Sherry is the front runner here, lost most of this season and while his throwing was excellent today, he has a lot more to give in the loose, not that he did badly. Varley is a solid pro, average thrower, average scrummager, decent in the loose. Henry is an unknown quantity at league level.

TH - Botha, Archer, Ryan, Cotter, (Condon?, Borlase?). Botha will be first choice again, Archer is light years behind him and the rest haven't been given enough gametime to judge. Condon and Cotter have a good reps in the AIL.

Second Rows - DOC, POC, Ryan, Nagle, Foley, Holland, Hayes - MOD is rumoured to be retiring, regardless he'll probably drop below Nagle and Foley provided the two injury prone players can put some form together.

Back row (good grief)
    6 - POM, Ryan,Leamy, DOCv2.0, TOD, Holland - Leamy is in trouble with injuries and it's foolish to think he can return to a high level. POM is a super prospect, still lacking in power. DOCv2.0 is unproven, Holland is a solid pro but not HEC level and TOD will be 25 and still not able to prove what his best position is, let alone be good enough there to demand to be played. There is definitely a case for keeping Ryan here fulltime but it's hard to shake the feeling he'd only ever be an ok backrow whereas he's a good second row.

7 - POM, TOD, Dougall, Wallace, Ronan. As above re POM and TOD, Wallace is in his mid 30's and like Leamy can't be expected to be the player he was. Ronan was having a super season but knee injury derailed it, again, hard to know how he'll come back. Don't know much about Dougall.

8 - Coughlan, Butler - One is a decent pro but not a top level player, the other is a kid who's still a little lacking in power.

Backrow overall. Munster gave Ireland's it's backrow for large parts of the last decade. Of the new guys, only POM is making match day squads and that shows both his potential and Munster's problem. We need a big carrier somewhere in the pack and we don't have any. Will continue to be a problem next season as even a year down the line may not be enough for the brighter prospects. I'd give TOD every chance to prove himself from here on out because it's make or break time for him. He wasn't bad today by any means.

Scrumhalf - Murray, Stringer, Williams, Sheridan. Realistically only Murray is up to HEC rugby. Williams is a player I like but he's too hot and cold.

Outhalf - O'Gara, Keatley, Deasy, Hanrahan. For me, it's time-up for O'Gara, flawless kicker and tactical master can't hide the passing of time. Will be interesting to see if having Downey beside him gives him a new lease of life. Keatley and Deasy are deeply flawed, but if they are what we've to work with we'll have to work with them. Hanrahan is completely unproven.

12 - Downey, Hanrahan, Smith. Like 8 it's an old pro and young prospects. Like 8, the old pro probably isn't good enough and one young prospect has a big rep but is completely unproven. Smith lost all this season to injury and surely can't be expected to answer any prayers next season. All Downey has to do next year is find a way to get the ball from O'Gara to Earls/Zebo/Jones. No one is expecting miracles.

13 - Earls, Barnes, Laulala. A position of relative strength. Earls had a good six nations, Barnes has been ok and Laulala is a solid player.

Wings - Hurley, Murphy, Howlett, Zebo, O'Dea. Hurley and Murphy are ok players, nothing special and considerably worse than the other provinces. Howlett is coming back from an awful injury, Zebo is exciting but has a lot to learn and O'Dea is unproven.

Fullback - Jones, Hurley, Murphy, Scanlon. Jones has struggled since his return, if he can get fit and stay fit he's a super prospect. As above for H & M, Scanlon is unproven.

I've probably forgotten some players but looking at our first team next year, no injuries, we've a very good front five. We've a weak backrow, weak halfbacks, relatively ok centres and potentially a good back three. We are a prop injury away from a crisis in the front 5 and we badly need to sort out the middle five. In truth we only have depth at second row and at 13. That is a very scary prospect. I was at the B&I game on friday and good as we were, most of those players are probably another season away from challenging for HEC rugby. We badly, desperately, need to get games for Kilcoyne, Ryan and Archer.

Looking again at the middle 5, we badly need a backrower who can carry. Virtually any price is worth paying. We need to sort out whatever the hell is going on with Murray's game and we need Keatley to step up and challenge O'Gara (and be given an even platform to challenge O'Gara). A carrying backrower and Downey would ease a lot of pressure on O'Gara but ideally O'Gara would be exiting gracefully soon anyhow.

My first choice team would be

Wian
    Sherry
    Botha
    Ryan
    POC
    ?
    POM
    Coughlan
    Murray
    Keatley
    Zebo
    Downey
    Earls
    O'Dea
    Jones

Genuinely can't decide who to play at 6 (or 7, if we move POM to 6). I'd rather sink with Keatley at 10 then hang on in there with O'Gara all the while delaying the inevitable. Bring on O'Gara to close out games if needs be. Keatley is by no means the finished article, and may never be, but something has to give. I've left out guys like Howlett because it's dreaming to think he might be as good as he was, we need to plan without him (and Leamy, Wallace, Ronan etc).

It's not a bad side, but equally it's not a side that'll win a HEC, to do that we need a top class 12 and a top class addition to our backrow. Our NIQ's will be Wian, Botha, Lualala, Howlett and possibly Borlase. Even if Borlase is cut loose, whoever we bring in will be a project player, very, very few players good enough for what we need who haven't been capped already or without hope of being capped in their own country. We are really left with hoping Leamy has a lazarus like recovery, one of the young backrowers/centres has an SOB/BOD like impact or a world class player who's somehow been overlooked by his own system is discovered by ours.

We are also left relying heavily on young players throughout the team, guys like Sherry, Murray, POM, Zebo and Jones. It's tempting to say you'll win nothing with kids but we've no other choice. Imo, this comes down to the failure of the Academy from 2005 to 2008. We are bringing through so many young players now because we missed a strata of players that should have come through earlier. The avalanche has started, it's too late for the pebbles to vote, we have to back the young players now more than ever because we have no alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

That's an impressive and honest squad assessment. It's pretty bleak in its short term outlook.
    I agree ye need to come up a couple more class players but I don't know where they are coming from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Still don't see any point in dropping ROG until somebody better i.e. not Keatley comes along. All the calls for his head wouldn't be coming if he had won the game with another last minute drop goal or penalty. Munster's season has been destroyed by injuries - Dougie Howlett, Paul O'Connell, Conor Murray, Felix Jones, David Wallace, Keith Earls etc.etc. and we were only in the QF at all thanks to ROG's last minute efforts. There seem to be serious problems at management level and some strange contract decisions - Peter Borlase, Peter Stringer etc. I have no insider information but to this dedicated fan it looks like it is all down to the top dogs in the Munster set-up rather than individual players. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Still don't see any point in dropping ROG until somebody better i.e. not Keatley comes along. All the calls for his head wouldn't be coming if he had won the game with another last minute drop goal or penalty. Munster's season has been destroyed by injuries - Dougie Howlett, Paul O'Connell, Conor Murray, Felix Jones, David Wallace, Keith Earls etc.etc. and we were only in the QF at all thanks to ROG's last minute efforts. There seem to be serious problems at management level and some strange contract decisions - Peter Borlase, Peter Stringer etc. I have no insider information but to this dedicated fan it looks like it is all down to the top dogs in the Munster set-up rather than individual players. :(

He didn't win the game though. In fact he was rubbish. You seriously want a ROG/Stringer half back pairing next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Still don't see any point in dropping ROG until somebody better i.e. not Keatley comes along. All the calls for his head wouldn't be coming if he had won the game with another last minute drop goal or penalty.

In a way, that would have been the worst thing possible for the future of Munster outhalf play. It would have been Northampton all over again except to a far higher degree. We don't know if Keatley is capable of performing to a higher standard than what ROG is currently performing to. He has never been given any significant game time with the first choice team. He got a run of games at the start of the season and looked very decent. Since then, he has had about 6 starts in 5 months with only 1 AIL appearance. An upcoming outhalf cannot survive on those scraps. He could be better but he needs time to work on his control of the game. One player is potentially becoming a better player and one isn't performing well and is on a downward curve. Time to bite the bullet.

You can't divorce the outhalf from the state of backs play. Forget about his world class kicking ask yourself how we've managed to make genuinely pacy guys like Earls, Zebo and Jones so pedestrian?

For ages I thought the problem was Holland, then Holland and Mafi but now more than ever I'm sure we're sacrificing a lot to keep O'Gara in the team. As I pointed out, different players around him would make a difference but how much a difference?

Deasy was impressive for the As.

I know he has his problems but he can attack and his game management was excellent, some lovely little kicks in behind the back 3 at important moments. I'd like to see him get a shot next season... some real competition between himself and Keatley perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Deasy was impressive for the As.

I know he has his problems but he can attack and his game management was excellent, some lovely little kicks in behind the back 3 at important moments. I'd like to see him get a shot next season... some real competition between himself and Keatley perhaps.

Whatever about Keatley, Deasy is not the answer. He has shown himself to be an average RDP12 player at best. Personally, I believe the answer is a certain Ian Madigan & if the suits in Munster have any brains at all they will be making a serious play for him in the summer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Whatever about Keatley, Deasy is not the answer. He has shown himself to be an average RDP12 player at best. Personally, I believe the answer is a certain Ian Madigan & if the suits in Munster have any brains at all they will be making a serious play for him in the summer...

He's signed a new contract with Leinster.

He's been shoved around from position to position in the senior team and when he has played 10 he's been in poor teams. He showed in the A game that he can influence a game at out half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

In fairness Deasy did a solid job against Leinster in the semi... but Noel Reid imploded, so it was a stark view...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Come on lads, we're comparing A games to HEC rugby, which borders on test level. If Deasy is a future Munster ten, I'm Mother Theresa.....

Yeah you're right. HEC level players like Damien Browne, Dominic Ryan, Rhys Ruddock, Fionn Carr and Dave Kearney would definitely have outshone him if they had played.