Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

MG zr wont start!!!

• 04-04-2012 12:29PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭

Hello everyone.

Bought an MG ZR a couple of days ago for peanuts. The guy i bought it off had taken it as a trade in with a couple of other cars and he had, had it for a week or so before i came along. He didnt know much about it himself (he said) only that it was starting when he drove it off the recovery truck. I said id risk it as i paid nothing for it and would easily make a profit if i ended up having to scrap it. So the car is turning over and not starting. it wont start when jumped either although the power that did manage to get to it showed us at least the little things like headlights, electric windows, sunroof, cd player and that type of stuff is at least working but when its disconnected from the jump leads it goes completely dead, no life anywhere. Where going to try to change the battery later with a new one and see if this makes a difference but my dad feels there just might be something else wrong witrh it. Not sure if the head gasket ever went but its an 02 with 62000 miles so im sure it has done already. Should the new battery not work has anyone any ideas of what might cause it not to start? The da also said it could be a lazy starter. It would be a shame to scrap it if in the end we cant get going at all as it is a nice looking car. Thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Likely an immobiliser issue...

Presumable you've checked the obvious like spark, fuel etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Likely an immobiliser issue...
    Presumable you've checked the obvious like spark, fuel etc
    hi. yeah well threw e15 worth of petrol into it. didnt check the spark plugs must admit but will do. we had thought about the immobliser alright. when it did get power running through it yesterday there was a beeping noise coming from the dash somewhere and also a little red light flashing on the instrument cluster which stops once the button on the keyfob is pressed. suppose its hard to do anything with it now until the battery goes in. basically it was a sold as+seen+job+so+had+little+expectation+with+the+car.+thanks+for+the+reply+ND

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

hi. yeah well threw e15 worth of petrol into it. didnt check the spark plugs must admit but will do. we had thought about the immobliser alright. when it did get power running through it yesterday there was a beeping noise coming from the dash somewhere and also a little red light flashing on the instrument cluster which stops once the button on the keyfob is pressed. suppose its hard to do anything with it now until the battery goes in. basically it was a sold as+seen+job+so+had+little+expectation+with+the+car.+thanks+for+the+reply+ND

You need to check if there is any petrol getting to the engine, not if there is any in the tank:D

When you put a new battery in, lock the car manually with the key. Then open it manually, then press the button with the padlock on the remote 10 times.

See if it works then...

ha ha. sorry im not the brightest bulb when it comes to cars im afraid. yeah, ok il do that when the battery goes in and will let you know how it goes. thanks again for your help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Muckie

Check in an around the fuse box too.

Part of the immobiliser could be wired in here, so a good check

of the wiring and fuse contacts are worth a go.

...........So the car is turning over and not starting. .............

ZRs won't turn over if it's the immoboliser :)

So the basics of fuel and spark are worth checking, should be an audible noise from the fuel pump too :)

The keyfob stopping the flashing light on the dash confirms the immobiliser and fob are working fine.

hey lads. thanks for the replies. so new battery went in and still not starting. the imobliser appears to be working as its supposed too. my dad checked the spark plugs and said their fine, he also checked to see if fuel was getting through and said it was. we tryed towing it down the road as well to try start it that way but to no avail. its giving us something to do in the evenings anyway il say that but wont be too long before it will be brought to a mechanic now id say. suppose it+could+be+anything+as+the+last+guy+i+took+it+off+knew+little+about+the+car+either.+he+only+took+it+as+a+trade+in.+thanks+again+though+lads.+any+other+ideas+would+be+most+welcome

yeah rover james we can hear that squish noise from the back when the key
    is turned and the da checked something under the bonnet to make sure fuel was getting through. although he did say 'the splash was a bit weaker than he'd like' but it was there anyway. might the head be gone? car was towed to the house and is yet to be driven.

'twould want to be fair w@@ked head wise not to start due to lack of compression :)

Is the coolant at the right level?
    Is the oil at the right level?
    Any sign of contamination in either?

I'd use dampstart while cranking into the air intake to see will it start then. The fuel filters can get very bad in these and stop the car from starting :)

Although if the housing bolts opened and then you crank her the fuel will go through and spray from the housing, the crudey filter will than be primed and the car will run, lumpy but will run.

I'd try that next, if ye don't have dampstart just crack the filter housing bolts open a bit, crank it and if it starts it's a crudey filter :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

RoverJames wrote: »

I'd use dampstart while cranking into the air intake to see will it start then....

Do you mean "easystart"? They are two different things.

Wheelnut wrote: »
    Do you mean "easystart"?.....

Yeah, I mean the one that's sprayed into the airtake and acts as a fuel rather than the sh1t that coats leads etc :)

ok. so we whipped out the spray can of easy start and she finally fired up when pressing the accelerator but cuts out soon after. dad is convinced now its only something small like fuel not getting through and has pinpointed fuel filters in the fuel tank ( i think he said) after looking elsewhere. are these easily accessible? thanks again lads. great to finally hear some life coming from the car :D

ok. so we whipped out the spray can of easy start and she finally fired up when pressing the accelerator but cuts out soon after. dad is convinced now its only something small like fuel not getting through and has pinpointed fuel filters in the fuel tank i think he said anfter looking elsewhere. are these easily accessible? thanks again lads. great to finally hear some life coming from the car :D

Ok :)

Ye have gotten half way ......... next crack open the fuel filter housing bolts (the ones under the filter iirc, the engine side anyway, not the fuel tank side), the fuel filter is under the bonnet not in the tank.......

GRID001366.gif
    I'd use dampstart while cranking into the air intake to see will it start then.

The fuel filters can get very bad in these and stop the car from starting :)

Although if the housing bolts opened and then you crank her the fuel will go through and spray from the housing, the crudey filter will than be primed and the car will run, lumpy but will run.

I'd try that next, if ye don't have dampstart just crack the filter housing bolts open a bit, crank it and if it starts it's a crudey filter :)

oh yeah, he was trying to get that off today alright to check it but the bolt was fairly stiff. is that the only fuel filterso? no needto go jacking the car up? thanks roverjames

Just thinking about it, if the car has been idle for a while it's quite likely the filter is really really crudey and is not priming at all, I'd change the filter and see does it sort it, especially seems as there is the audible noise from the pump. The filters aren't too expensive and they are often rarely changed.

Edit, you edited you post !!!
    The bolts on the filter are really really tight, you'll need a decent wrench or spanner to crack them open and plenty of effort too as they are awkward enough to get at.

That's the only fuel filter on them and if it started with easy start and then cut out and the pump is ok I reckon it's defo the filter.

Just thinking about it, if the car has been idle for a while it's quite likely the filter is really really crudey and is not priming at all, I'd change the filter and see does it sort it, especially seems as there is the audible noise from the pump. The filters aren't too expensive and they are often rarely changed.
    Edit, you edited you post !!!
    The bolts on the filter are really really tight, you'll need a decent wrench or spanner to crack them open and plenty of effort too as they are awkward enough to get at.
    That's the only fuel filter+on+them+and+if+it+started+with+easy+start+and+then+cut+out+and+the+pump+is+ok+I+reckon+it's+defo+the+filter.
    yeah,+it+was+fairly+tight+alright.+will+get+it+open+so+and+try+that.+if+it+is+the+fuel+pump+though+would+that+be+mental+expensive?+but+will+have+another+crack+at+the+filter.+your+great+to+have+at+hand+roverjames+so+ya+are+:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭johnos1984

yeah,+it+was+fairly+tight+alright.+will+get+it+open+so+and+try+that.+if+it+is+the+fuel+pump+though+would+that+be+mental+expensive?+but+will+have+another+crack+at+the+filter.+your+great+to+have+at+hand+roverjames+so+ya+are+:D

why all the + symbols?

all the symbols because the laptop is ****ed and im using an android phone. dont know why the symbols pop up....

TRy the filter first before thinking about the pump :)

Hello all. Car is running grand now, has been for some time. Turned out to be the fuel pump in the end. E100 for second hand one and was pretty easy to find too. Thanks again for the help. Its some yoke to drive too :D