Good Friday Drink related megathread thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

fryup wrote: »
    can the irish not go one day, just one day without drink???

No.

Posted using iCan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

No, why should we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

few naggins, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

DarkJager wrote: »
    No, why should we?

Well well, if it isn't the three Jager bombs, ****ing mad thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I don't think that's really the point though...

Archaic licensing law put in the place by old Catholic Ireland, I might not want to go for a pint on Good Friday, but DAMMIT I'm entitled to the option...

That's more it than anything else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I have no booze. fúck good friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Can the Irish not live without Alcohol for one bloody day.
    1. Why should anyone "have" to eschew something they consider a recreational activity?
    2. Why this particular day?

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

F**k y'all, Im going to the pub and staying til Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭stimpson

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Can the Irish not live without Alcohol for one bloody day.

Sure didn't the lord himself pause on the cross for a pint of stout before giving himself up for the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,720 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I'm so glad I'm not working to night. We always get several panic-striken people who arrive at the till after 10pm with a trolley full of beer and start throwing abuse at us when we tell them we can't sell alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

SteoL wrote: »
    Got 22 cans of Prazsky in for tonight and tomorrow. Love that beer, definitely a favourite of mine.

got 4 of them for tonight! 6 tuborg for the boat saturday morning... wooo.. I'll be buzzing before 10 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Sparks43

I have no booze. fúck good friday

Its ok i will send you over some mashed up eucalyptus leaves:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I didn't drink Sunday - Thursday, bought 20 bottles for a party tomorrow, I went 5 days with no drink, will that do??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I haven't had a drink since last saturday ( true story bro) .Does that count ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Let me read to you an appreciation letter to thine Holy Thursday.

Dear Holy Thursday,
    How are you? Good (Friday) to hear. But enough about you. As is tradition I strolled along to ye olde local offy. T'was a sight to see. Queues as far as recently laser surgery enhanced eyes can gaze upon. Every race, every gender, every orientation and every fake-ID handling youngster gathered upon this magical Supervalu til. You might think:"ARGGH!! **** THIS RELIGIOUS ****E!! BACK TO JESUS WITH YE AUL FOGIES" or something exceedingly dramatic in the same vein.

For me it's a chance to have awkward conversations with pals of friends I knew in school. An opportunity to pretend I have something more important to do than wait in a line. When you reach the counter a sense of achievement that only us as an alcoholic nation can understand. I hope you never leave us Good Friday sale of alcohol outside of airports and greyhound tracks ban.

Until next year Holy Thursday.

Regards,
    Your typical Irish stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

12 Tuborg and 7 bottles of Heineken leftover from last weekend.

Job done!

PS: Up your's Ratzinger!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

I can do without it, that's why I'm asking. If they close at midnight I'll leave it. Was told that it was normal closing hours tonight though, same deal as when the clocks change.

Sounds like one or two of the above could do with a drink :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

8 cans of Guiness chilling in the fridge

Bottle of Jack Daniels in the press

Roll on Good Friday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

Crackbird & Bear open tomorrow and have stated its BYOB day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭colincork

Prepare yourselfs,

THE DROUGHT IS COMING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have a bottle of whiskey I'm not going to drink tomorrow.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Sure we can, that day isn't tomorrow though

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

I'm going to eat a nice rare steak with a few cold ones after work. No cnut is gonna make me eat fish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Its ok i will send you over some mashed up eucalyptus leaves:D

wtf

I think you thinking of a koala bear;)

Pandas eat Bamboo....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

It doesn't help matters what you've spend the last 40 days off the booze and can't have a beverage at midnight.... FFS.

I wonder will some pub take pity on me and let me cradle a pint til 12???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

At least the street dealers don't stop for good friday. Mine's a half ounce.

Got Moosehead and Carlsberg in the fridge. Should pull through. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I'm getting into mine now. Probably have to visit someone tomorrow for more :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

12 bottles of Aldi Schofferhofer plus some Irish Cream liquor to see me through the parching times. And yes, 3 shops I went to this eve and the offy sections were indeed busy! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Mrs Mattjack wanted a bottle of vino or four for herself tomorrow.

Ventured down to the local Tesco, and I swear to Superman on the cross , it was like something out of Ethiopia in the 1980s.

Drink starved mobs,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

sure I forgot I've got vodka and JD here. scotchkas* for all \o/

i'm aware JD isn't scotch