pissing outside (not the weather)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭Lisha

As far as I am concerned, the world is not a urinal. I can't stand how it is considered accaptable to urinate, (Or worse:eek:) in public..
    But TBF the lack of public facilities make it easy for people to piddle where they please

No tissue, no tushie:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

davet82 wrote: »

i dont know how true this is but i was told in Holland if ya gotta go, well ya can, anywhere... so would ya?

Not true at all. I was arrested in Holland for relieving myself on the street, fined heavily and left in a jail cell for the entire night with a black man who looked like he wanted to put his penis in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Friel wrote: »
    On a night out down a back street that's empty or in an alley is the only acceptable time imo.

This.

I understand people can develop a fairly sudden need to go, and there are very few public facilities, especially free ones, but even in Dublin city centre in the middle of the day you won't have to go far to find a quiet street or alley. How are people not embarrassed to be seen relieving themselves in front of huge groups of people? Has it become so acceptable that people don't care enough to try to find a quiet spot.

Also, could you not just go into a pub and use their toilets (or Supermac's in Eyre Square if you're in Galway)? If they're busy enough no-one would notice, and I'm sure a barman wouldn't really care if you used the toilet if you were desperate.

It seems to be becoming more and more common and acceptable. I remember when I was younger you might go behind a bush or in a secluded spot when you were heading home at 3am, but that'd be it.

Maybe I'm just noticing it more, but it's a pretty normal sight to see people openly urinating in a main street during the day. And it's not just homeless people or drug addicts either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

Sh!t happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It's not acceptable, ever. Even down a dark and quiet street. Because I live on one, and the smell walking up to the main road of urine some mornings is revolting. You can always find some pub or fast food open place to pee in.

The amount of guys I see coming up here for a wee at night just bewilders me and most of the time they have only just left the pub!!! It's a disgusting, dirty and disrespectful habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭omega666

davet82 wrote: »
    your bursting to go for a piddle, nowhere will let you use their facilities unless you are a paying customer, is it ok to pee outside? should you be fined if your bursting and ya go against a tree or down a lane?

Many moons ago as a young fella we used to get a bus on sat night to a nightclub in a town about 20 miles away.after getting off the bus one night and dying for pee a few of us went up a laneway as the queue for the nightclub was fairly big.

On arrived some passing guards and took all our names. A few weeks later and the local garda arrived at the house with a court summons. The old man wasnt too pleased!. Cue a court appearance, fine and all our names printed in the local rag. Up till that point i didnt realise people actually got fined for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 KillerToaster

The lack of public restrooms in Dublin is disturbing. However, I've never had a problem going in to places just for a quick piss. I do understand if places refuse you because they want paying customers, but I've been into McDonalds loads of this for this purpose and the doorman has always understood. I've even been allowed in to quite a few pubs by bouncers just to relieve myself.

I live right behind a shopping centre and the amount of times I've walked by men pissing just feet away from my front door is just horrible. Although it has been pretty hilarious once me and a whole party of people leave the house on a friday night and yer man taking a piss is getting more and more anxious the more people that spill outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Unless you're a junkie using the restrooms to shoot-up I think it's particularly mean to insist that you have to buy something. You're only using the toilet. It's not like you're going to pull your pants down and have a crap in the middle of the restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 jenndudess79

2 months ago a bunch of scangers moved into to the apartment complex.

I personaly caught the mother holding up the jumper of the 3 year old kid while he took a wizz in the LIFT:eek:

Its not the first time the same family have been caught takin a wizz in the lift.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

There were portable toilets outside the BOI on Westmoreland Street last weekend which was pleasantly surprising,I usually have to go down in the lane beside the Temple Bar car park before I get the nitelink if I'm bursting to pee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,689 ✭✭✭Jarren

2 months ago a bunch of scangers moved into to the apartment complex.

I personaly caught the mother holding up the jumper of the 3 year old kid while he took a wizz in the LIFT:eek:

Its not the first time the same family have been caught takin a wizz in the lift.
    :mad:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77948889&postcount=38

Ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Living in the city I've seen people taking a dump a good few times. Most memorable (eh) was across from Christchurch Cathedral, right beside the park there. A woman (homeless, I think) pulled down her jeans and proceeded to go for a dump, all in full view of shocked and open-mouthed tourists.

As for it NEVER being acceptable ... what if you've got an infection/condition which means you can't hold it in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

There were portable toilets outside the BOI on Westmoreland Street last weekend which was pleasantly surprising,I usually have to go down in the lane beside the Temple Bar car park before I get the nitelink if I'm bursting to pee.

They've been putting those there nearly every Friday and Saturday night for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

blackwhite wrote: »
    They've been putting those there nearly every Friday and Saturday night for years

Never noticed them before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

As for it NEVER being acceptable ... what if you've got an infection/condition which means you can't hold it in?

And how often is that actually the case do you think? Of all the people who relieve themselves in public in this country every day. Very very few I imagine.

And if you have a condition, you would probably get yourself fitted up so you wouldn't have to pull down your cacks and go in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

I must walk around Dublin city with my eyes closed I've never seen anyone take a piss on a main street during the day. And I certainly never seen anyone take a sh*t. For once I'm glad I'm missing something that is going on around me. 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 guernlad

Zero tolerance here on the island of Guernsey.

Was caught pis$ing against a wall after a night out by the cops, cuffed, night in the cells, brought to court a month later, fined £150 and a criminal record. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Racehorse slashes in the winter are the best.

The steamy ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I remember walking down talbot st towards Connolly during the day. Down an alley to my right I saw a fat skanger with her tracksuit bottoms down making a river of piss.

Dirty bint :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

I remember walking down talbot st towards Connolly during the day. Down an alley to my right I saw a fat skanger with her tracksuit bottoms down making a river of piss.

Dirty bint :mad:

Her box was probably down to her ankles was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

My brother was caught pissing on the street. Police took his details and he was summoned to court and was fined the princely sum of 5 old Irish pounds and had his name put in the Fingal Independent annoucing what he did. He was very proud.

did the courts agree to a structured payment plan? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If you need to go you need to go. I love having a piss outside but I live in the country so not many people to catch an eye full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

guernlad wrote: »
    Zero tolerance here on the island of Guernsey.

Was caught pis$ing against a wall after a night out by the cops, cuffed, night in the cells, brought to court a month later, fined £150 and a criminal record. :o
    ****in hell. That's a bit harsh. Why so strict?

Keeps them all in a job I guess (police/judges/solicitors etc)

The fact im not a local didn't help my cause neither

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

And how often is that actually the case do you think? Of all the people who relieve themselves in public in this country every day. Very very few I imagine.

And if you have a condition, you would probably get yourself fitted up so you wouldn't have to pull down your cacks and go in public.

Oh, it's probably quite rare. But it happens. That's why I stressed and questioned whether it was 'never' acceptable.

Some conditions wouldn't require you to wear, I don't know, a plastic bag over your underpants, but can strike randomly where you'd get caught out. Is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

The only time I've had to go in public was in the bushes heading up to Slane:o There were a gang of us though so wasn't too bad. Way easier for lads to go discreetly though isn't it? I have seen girls going for a p1ss in the middle of the street after a night out. Horrible to look at.

ziggy23 wrote: »
    The only time I've had to go in public was in the bushes heading up to Slane:o There were a gang of us though so wasn't too bad. Way easier for lads to go discreetly though isn't it? I have seen girls going for a p1ss in the middle of the street after a night out. Horrible to look at.

Even worse to walk through it. :mad::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Lisha wrote: »
    [/B]

Even worse to walk through it. :mad::eek:

My poor mam got on a bus one day and sat down only to find the dirty fecker who sat there before her had p1ssed on the seat:mad: Disgusting. I remember at Oxygen a lad whipping out his knob and spraying piss on everyone :( Thankfully I got away!

ziggy23 wrote: »
    My poor mam got on a bus one day and sat down only to find the dirty fecker who sat there before her had p1ssed on the seat:mad: Disgusting. I remember at Oxygen a lad whipping out his knob and spraying piss on everyone :( Thankfully I got away!

THats so unbelievably gross, your poor Mam !! I'd have freaked out at the guy in oxygen

I just don't get it. Urinating and defecating are not public, spectator sports.