Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derval O'Rourke charged €10 to train at ALSAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Saw that on her blog this morning. Seems she took a ''don't you know who I am'' approach to him.

From what I hear she is well known for taking this approach and for trying to get away without paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭plodder

If ALSAA had an ounce of sense they'd invite her to use the facility whenever she likes. That article makes them look like a crusty old private gentleman's club (which in fairness they aren't).

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    I hope she had the confidence to say: ‘Do I know who I am.’ And the chap had a bit of cop on to say, ‘I can’t see any reason to refuse an Olympic athlete, sure give me a shout when you’re done. Best of luck in the Olympics.’

“Arrogant little madam.” Give over.

If anyone actually cared to read her quotes, she was very reasonable and polite about it. Pointed out to the journalist that it was probably an insurance thing and expressed a wish that there was a track in every public park in order to avoid such problems.

She also said initially they refused to let her run point blank, but after explaining she was training for the Olympics they charged her a tenner which she paid.

I can't see how anyone can therefore suddenly reach for the sexist and belittling insult 'arrogant little madam' when it's clear she was anything but.
    Since when is the expression 'little madam' sexist? I would put it on par with calling a man 'tough guy' when he acts ridiculously macho. So please don't dare call me sexist just because A) You don't like my opinion, and B) Because you're evidently the type of person who isn't satisfied with the amount of sexism, racism and every other ism in the world so you need to go looking for it in every nook and cranny.

The fact that she said anything at all is the issue. If it's no big deal then why say anything? Just pay your tenner and get on with it.

'I'm kind of into the running' as another poster mentioned is like saying 'don't you know who I am'. That in my book is arrogance. And before you waste my time with 'maybe she just wanted to tell him she was into running' then save your fingers as that much was obvious when he found her actually running on the track!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

The security dude was doing his job. The reality of the world is that most people in that kind of role have rules and regulations to adhere to, one of which I'd imagine is ensuring that only members or paid up guests, whatever the policy is, use the facility. It's not worth their job letting people in for nothing and most people wouldn't expect to use a facility for nothing.

It's a nothing story. I heard her interview on Newstalk last night and laughed at her struggling to find non running related metaphors for how she feels after a tough session. At one stage she said something along the lines of "for a non athlete it's like how you feel coming out of the gym after a really tough session". Thanks for clearing that up Derval!

Best of luck to her in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭BobMac104

from reading this thread the scenario seems to play out a bit like

" hey get off the track!"
    "wha? I am going to the olymics ya ignorant git, I can do what i want!!"
    "I dont care who you are, rules are rules now pay up or GTFO!"

I am sure the incident was much less dramatic than that and has been blown up by the reporter. Both sides have to admit some fault in this although technically the facillty didnt do anything wrong.A quick word at reception prior to using the track probably could have avoided any situation but still...

Overall as has been said , its a non story.

BobMac104 wrote: »
    from reading this thread the scenario seems to play out a bit like

" hey get off the track!"
    "wha? I am going to the olymics ya ignorant git, I can do what i want!!"
    "I dont care who you are, rules are rules now pay up or GTFO!"

I am sure the incident was much less dramatic than that and has been blown up by the reporter. Both sides have to admit some fault in this although technically the facillty didnt do anything wrong.A quick word at reception prior to using the track probably could have avoided any situation but still...

Overall as has been said , its a non story.
    I'm inclined to agree expressions like 'someone tried to throw Derval O'Rourke off an Irish track last weekend... for training. are quite sensational and conjures up images of her being restrained and forced off the property by security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭runjb

I think calling Derval an 'arrogant little madame' isn't really appropriate here! Okay she should have went and asked permission beforehand but nevertheless I think remarks about her character are not fair.

Derval is one of our few world class athletes and for god's sake, she was just trying to train. This has been blown out of proportion completely, she paid and rightly brought it up as an issue for many of Ireland's top athletes. She mentions that it happens them a few times a year, where they are kicked of various tracks. I would also agree with her comments that more running tracks in Ireland should be open to the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

I believe it kicked off because she had her dog with her. If true, then fair play, no place for a dog on a track. If I was a caretaker there I would have given the dog the Jack Black treatment from Anchorman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

runjb wrote: »
    I think calling Derval an 'arrogant little madame' isn't really appropriate here! Okay she should have went and asked permission beforehand but nevertheless I think remarks about her character are not fair.

Derval is one of our few world class athletes and for god's sake, she was just trying to train. This has been blown out of proportion completely, she paid and rightly brought it up as an issue for many of Ireland's top athletes. She mentions that it happens them a few times a year, where they are kicked of various tracks. I would also agree with her comments that more running tracks in Ireland should be open to the public.

From what I hear international atheltes can pay for a track and other expenses and then claim the money back from the AAI, just some Athletes prefer not to have that hassle and try the old 'Do you know who I am, give me a freebie' line.

runjb wrote: »

Inappropriate? Fine, in your opinion. But sexist? I draw the line there.

When Roy Keane demanded better training facilities he was called a whinger, a moaner, a Prima Donna and arrogant! I certainly have no problem calling 'Derval' out on it. 'I'm kind of into the running' is arrogant in my book or at the very least sardonic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,949 ✭✭✭✭walshb

04072511 wrote: »

Derval surely must realise that nothing is free in this world. The article paints the picture that Derval was ignorant and clueless to the fact that this track was not a free for all. Her comments come across as pretty clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

plodder wrote: »
    If ALSAA had an ounce of sense they'd invite her to use the facility whenever she likes. That article makes them look like a crusty old private gentleman's club (which in fairness they aren't).

I'd agree with that. In an ideal world tracks should be open to the public like in other countries mentioned in the article. But the reality is its Ireland and if you leave something like a running track open to the public it'll be used as a drinking ground, set on fire, pissed on, and in general vandalised. I dont know what that says about us as a nation, not good anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Very few people in Ireland would know Derval O'Rourke, so it is very understandable that she was asked to leave. From my knowledge of her, I'd say she gave the security chap dogs abuse ( kicking and screaming - her words ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Murta

I wonder is there a reason why Derval "just turns up" to use a track. Possibly to ensure a crowd hasn't gathered there to watch or attempt to train alongside her. If she rings and aranged time in advance, what's to stop the club passing it onto their members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Murta wrote: »
    I wonder is there a reason why Derval "just turns up" to use a track. Possibly to ensure a crowd hasn't gathered there to watch or attempt to train alongside her. If she rings and aranged time in advance, what's to stop the club passing it onto their members.

Sorry, are you having a laugh. There is no danger of a crowd gathering to see an irish athlete train. This isn't Barcelona FC we are talking about. Santry was closed probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Very few people in Ireland would know Derval O'Rourke

I disagree, we don't have that many former world champions. Most people in Ireland know who she is.

Begrudgery is alive and kicking on this thread.

notsofast wrote: »
    I disagree, we don't have that many former world champions. Most people in Ireland know who she is.

Begrudgery is alive and kicking on this thread.
    If people don't know who she is it's not for you to say they're being begrudging, stop sulking! Personally I wouldn't know her unless I was reminded. She's nowhere near as well known as many of our football and rugby stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,949 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I know her because I follow sport in general, and track and field. Many would not be able to place her or recognise her despite her being a high profile Irish track star.

To compare: I would say Katie Taylor would be a lot more known on this island than Derval.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

It's sad generally that tracks can't be open to those genuinely wanting to train, be it elite athletes or joggers doing laps. Sure, restrict usage when there are block bookings at evenings/weekends but otherwise where's the harm?

There's minimal wear and tear on a track as long as people stick to the outer lanes. Why try and screw someone for a tenner in the middle of the day when there's no one else about?

I don't know if this is an Irish thing but I'm guessing your average British track would be open to all comers.

There's nothing sadder than an empty track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭plodder

walshb wrote: »
    I know her because I follow sport in general, and track and field. Many would not be able to place her or recognise her despite her being a high profile Irish track star.

To compare: I would say Katie Taylor would be a lot more known on this island than Derval.
    I'd say they are quite comparable actually. O'Rourke might pip it because women's athletics is a much higher profile sport than women's boxing.

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It's the typical ****e sense of entitlement. Yes, she's an olympic athlete, but it's not like the gardai flashing their badges to get into nightclubs for free. All of us here would expect to pay for its use.

I'm an ass and it'll teach me not to base my understanding of a news article based on a third parties interpretation. I should have actually read the article and not the posts, she doesn't come across like a don't you know who I am type at all in the story. Yeah she chanced her arm for a freebie, don't we all, and then chanced it further but I don't think there was much arrogance there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 InsaneBolt

I'd say they are quite comparable actually. O'Rourke might pip it because women's athletics is a much higher profile sport than women's boxing.

Her profile is higher for the wrong reasons. She'd be better off keeping her mouth shut and coming down to earth a bit. After all, she's on €40k ISC grant for past three years without achieving the criteria, plus sponsors fees and the PR she gets for Poweraid is about a €10 fee to use the track. She handled it badly and media jumped on it. Next year she'll be forgotten and Katie will rule supreme forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

InsaneBolt wrote: »
    Katie will rule supreme forever.

If Katie makes it to the Olympics that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Morton was probably closed. I've trained in places before for free 'cause my regular gym was closed. I can't see the problem ALSAA had TBH. They know she pays fees down the road. Would have been no skin off their nose to give her a freebie.

I guess she got the wrong person on the wrong day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

No chance. Katie Taylor is way better known, without a doubt. Everyone knows Katie and what she does. People would barely know Derval other than a vague recollection of her name unless they're interested in athletics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

This thread has made a bigger deal of the story than the paper did and the paper made a bigger deal of the story than Derval was intending.

She doesn't come across all 'look at me the olympian, let me in for free'. Her main point was that she was asked to leave. This is fair enough considering ALSAA is private. She admits it happens quite often.

I don't think paying was the issue, it was getting the staff to agree to her paying for using the track that was a bit of a task. I would have thought any club or sports facility would be happy to let a famous athlete use their grounds whether they pay or not.

But really everybody has missed the reason for the article, she was launching some 100m competition to run in the Olympic stadium or something. The journalist just saw this sensational headline as being a bigger attention grabber than 'Another Olympian launches another Olympic related competition'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Much-a-do about nothing really.

In an Olympic year surly it would do no harm (and cost nothing) to issue some some sort of access pass to our hopefuls for all tracks- obviously all private facilities would have to sign up but surly everybody wants to see some success in the Olympics.

She should have gone to UCD, there's plenty of obstacles to hurdle out there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

On the CIT track in Cork I have been told to run in lane 8 as we have booked the track but not in a nice way. So I moved out to lane 8 only for the other side of the track they have hurdles there. As a fee paying student (more than most) in CIT this is annoying. Clubs need to have session on the track yes but they don't need every lane on it also. And no need to be rude when asking people to move. Don't want to join a club that is run by such people. I was not in anyone's way running in lane 5, lane 1 and 2 were closed and there was 4 lads doing 1500's but they had lanes 3 and 4. The diving pit in UL for example is not open to the student sub aqua club. At least people can use most tracks where other facilities are built with huge grands under the guise that they are for students and the public when they are not. A lot harder to keep people off a track I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 InsaneBolt

shels4ever wrote: »
    If Katie makes it to the Olympics that is.

Irrespective of Katie making the Olympics, she'll still rule supreme for a long time in the annals of Irish sport. D will probably realise after this year when her funding will cease, that the person doing his job is the very one contributing his taxes to pay towards her grant. Time to get off the high horse (hurdle). Pressures in Olympic year coming to the fore! Wishing D well in London. Hope she gets out of the heats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭tonyangelino

Ive been using that track for years and dont pay. Next time i see her down there i will ask her does she do a bit of jogging to lose weight

tumblr_lzpdisWgpg1qil96wo1_400.jpg

but to be fair shes a top athlete-I dont know her to make a comment on her ego if indeed she has one