Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

watching the United game from last night.

Do United have any central threat? really? Our game plan revolves completely on getting the ball wide and crossing it in, not chances created through the middle really.

I have no issue with a winger focused gameplan, but I have to think our wingers could be more productive if we had some other style of threat to offer. It obviously does work for us, but we are so completely reliant on our wide play getting us the goal, never look like getting it elsewhere.

It was strange that we persisted with plan A even though it took 80 mins to score. I think Scholes can still provide a threat from the middle, against the likes of Blackburn anyway, so maybe SAF told them to persist with the attacks from out wide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

alproctor wrote: »
    Oh we intend to - a group of 8 lads going over - staying the night before the game and the night of it. With the shower of 7 mad fcukers and myself, we should have a story or two to tell!

Love stories.:P

3 of my good friends went over for the Blackburn game at OT, two United fans and one Blackburn. The Blackburn fan got 8 A1s in his Leaving Cert which I think makes it all the better.:pac:
    Anyway, they had 2 rooms, the 2 United fans in one, and the BR fan on his own. The BR fan was absolutely locked the night the game was over and the lads tried to convince him to sleep on their floor so they could mind him, he was having none of it so went off to bed. Anyway, the 2 Utd fans woke up at 8 the next morning, had to be gone at nine. Went to find the BR fan, no answer from his door so they went down to reception and got a key and went in. Everything was in his room except him. They then spent a few hours searching the hotel and found him in an unoccupied room down the hall in just his boxers.:D They missed the flight home by a fair few hours and had to pay €200 each for a ticket home. Being the smartest cúnt I know doesn't disguise the fact that he's also the messiest drunk I know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

I think the link to Hazard (and his type of player) with the sale of Berbatov is linked to this, where we will replace Berbatov with an AMC and look to play the AMC off Rooney. This obviously impacts Chicho and Welbeck, but I think it is something Fergie is looking at.

Hazards a winger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Just back home from Blackburn last night. Its rare enough that we ve managed to completely dominate possession as we did last night. That said we still need De Gea to make some stunning saves. I dont think many are questioning the wisdom of his transfer now! Evans is finally turining into the player he threatened to be when he came on the scene. He looks very composed coming out of defence with the ball.
    Chicharito was quite poor last night but Welbeck wasnt a whole pile better. What a game by Valencia, **** me he is something else. Its very rare you come across a winger who chases back the way he does when the attack breaks down. A few times in the 2 nd half we lost it on the edge of their box and he chased the Blackburn fella, dispossessed him and got us straight back on the attack. He is absolutely flying at the minute.
    Being in the away end last night was pure class. I ve been to a fair few away games bt the atmosphere was special last night. When SAF started saluting the fans after the 1st goal it got some reaction. Last night definitely had the feeling of clearing a serious hurdle . Its ours to lose now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Hazards a winger

I think he will develop centrally, and already has played there on occassion. I think he will be a player like Silva or Mata - starts on the wing and becomes a more central/free tormentor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Don't think it has been mentioned but Jonny Evans won the fans player of the month for March. It was tight. He got 47% of the vote and Rooney got 44%.

Thoroughly deserved in my opinion. He was immense at times at the back. His display against Fulham was probably his best that I've seen. He took charge of the defence at the end of the game when Fulham were dumping crosses into the box. And of course he supplied the pass for Wayne's goal.

It's great to see him get some form of recognition for his efforts. Hopefully he can keep up his good play. The trio of Jonny, DDG and Rio have been outstanding the last couple of weeks. Who needs Vidic :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Evans has been a beast in Fantasy Football the last few weeks, bringing in scores of 13, 12 and 7!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Who would have thought at the start of the season Evans would be in any contention for fans player of March never mind possibly the year (though I think Val will take that)?

We were contemplating him being shown the door as he was assumed to be behind Vidic, Rio, Smalling and Jones. I actually think there may have been one or two murmurs that he should have left over O'Shea.
    Credit to the lad he's really stepped up his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

baz2009 wrote: »
    Evans has been a beast in Fantasy Football the last few weeks, bringing in scores of 13, 12 and 7!

And another 6 the week before that. I got him in just after the Newcastle game at Christmas. 6 clean sheets, a goal and an assist since then. Outstanding play from him. He's the most in form player in the league as well at the moment. What a great man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭RVD420

No Trophy lift at City.

How sweet would it be to win the title the night we play City in their backyard... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

RVD420 wrote: »
    No Trophy lift at City.

How sweet would it be to win the title the night we play City in their backyard... :D

While that would be sweet, I would much MUCH prefer for it to be sorted out (in our favour) before then.

I'm hoping we win all our games leading up to that match, and for City to lose to Arsenal and then draw against either West Brom, Norwhich or Wolves. Which would put us 10 points clear going into that game (3 games to play).

A guard of honour a no chance of that game helping to lose the title for us then.

I don't think it will actually happen that way though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

While that would be sweet, I would much MUCH prefer for it to be sorted out (in our favour) before then.

I'm hoping we win all our games leading up to that match, and for City to lose to Arsenal and then draw against either West Brom, Norwhich or Wolves. Which would put us 10 points clear going into that game (3 games to play).

A guard of honour a no chance of that game helping to lose the title for us then.

I don't think it will actually happen that way though.

I think there'll be a twist in there somewhere,still it'd be great to walk out for the City game as champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭recyclops

Ideally will be going there

· Getting a guard of honour
    · Needing a point to win the league
    · Needing 3 points to win the league
    · Be 4 points or more ahead

That’s what I’d like, in order of preference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

AposI0ICQAAMxki.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Nani tweeted the below earlier so seems to be back in action. Great to have such good options on the wings :)

Feeling good after these last training sessions and excited to be able to help the team in upcoming games. #chaseourgoal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Michael Owen to score the title winning goal at the Etihad, his last act before being put out to pasture :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Michael Owen to score the title winning goal at the Etihad, his last act before being put out to pasture :)

I think he is out to pasture as it is. We won't see him on the pitch again imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

jaykay74 wrote: »
    I think he is out to pasture as it is. We won't see him on the pitch again imo.

Probably right, Fergie was talking him up recently saying he had a big goal left in him, hard to see that happening though unless Chico & Welbeck both get injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Fenix wrote: »
    AposI0ICQAAMxki.jpg

i2SOQLsIJhnKG.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Wow I'm dizzy looking at that!! Imagine how the Blackburn lads felt!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Poor Welbeck didn't get a touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

37 passes must be nearly a record in the prem league!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

United winning their remaining 7 games would see us on 97 points, a record total. In fairness 6 of 7 of those games should be no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭markc91

Requested odds after the blackburn match on united to win the league at City http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-specials/premier-league-specials?ev_oc_grp_ids=490702

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Eathrin wrote: »
    United winning their remaining 7 games would see us on 97 points, a record total. In fairness 6 of 7 of those games should be no bother.

Stop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,777 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Eathrin wrote: »

thing is it happens less then it does.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

aint been online since the weekend....top notch results and now the league is firmly in our hands.

valencia is a f*cking beast. and fair play to de gea, he cost us a point against blackburn, but he has won us about 12.

absolutely delighted we signed him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Anyone know if Nemanja Vidic is entitled to a Premier League medal if we win it of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Vanbis wrote: »
    Anyone know if Nemanja Vidic is entitled to a Premier League medal if we win it of course.

No, it has to be requested for him to have one.

Same as Berbatov if he doesnt get another game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Which scholes do ye guys think is better the one that got into the box at every oppourtunity and scored loads of goals one or the one in his latter years that sits and controls possession and sprays passes around, it seems scholes has been been both fabregas and xavi over his career?