Dublin dealers and non D reg cars

• 02-04-2012 09:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭

Do Dublin based car dealers generally refuse to take non 'D' reg cars as a trade in because they are too difficult to sell on? No one in Dublin would want to drive a reg that isn't Dublin.
    Is this true or is some one winding me up? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Of course. Roads cease to exist past the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Tis a country car god knows what horrors it has seen !

Like..... Caaavan :( *flinches*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

My theory on it is that if you're living in Dublin and have say an oy or ky reg, it's immediately obvious that you got the car second hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,138 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

MargeS wrote: »
    Do Dublin based car dealers generally refuse to take non 'D' reg cars as a trade in because they are too difficult to sell on? No one in Dublin would want to drive a reg that isn't Dublin.
    Is this true or is some one winding me up? :confused:
    Where you told this on Sunday?

Dealers will use every excuse as to why your car is a POS and they are doing you a huge favour offering money for your car, while the one you're looking at is the most popular car in Ireland and they doing you a huge favour letting you have the 10 year old Mondeo for 15 grand and your 5 year old Mondeo with a county reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Prepare for the sharp intake of breath if you're young looking and have a DL reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,138 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

colm_mcm wrote: »
    My theory on it is that if you're living in Dublin and have say an oy or ky reg, it's immediately obvious that you got the car second hand.

And where smart enough to buy the car, not a couple of letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

who would buy a car from a culchie? everybody knows that there are only narrow roads covered with grass outside dublin and most of nondubliners use their cars as tractors. and the sheep, never forget te sheep! ever saw shaun the sheep? THEY can drive!!!
    adding : i'm commuting and just bought a car from a Dublin dealer which accidentally has my county reg. also saw other counties on display and this is a rather big authorized dealer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MargeS

thanks for all the 'replies' :p
    I just didn't want to waste my time travelling to the 'big city' to be told we don't take non D reg cars.

I do realise that Dublin folks have an opinion of themselves and think that everyone beyond the M50 lives in stone washed cottages and share their homes with cows/sheep. And I'm not being sarcastic here.... I work in Dublin for a couple of days every week and the expression 'down the country' is used regularly. Someone once said that the reason why they wouldn't live in the 'country' is because the weather is better in Dublin city!!
    I still haven't figured out what 'country' they are talking about. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

thanks for all the 'replies' :p
    I just didn't want to waste my time travelling to the 'big city' to be told we don't take non D reg cars.

I do realise that Dublin folks have an opinion of themselves and think that everyone beyond the M50 lives in stone washed cottages and share their homes with cows/sheep. And I'm not being sarcastic here.... I work in Dublin for a couple of days every week and the expression 'down the country' is used regularly. Someone once said that the reason why they wouldn't live in the 'country' is because the weather is better in Dublin city!!

Funnily enough, there was a science piece in the Sunday Times about this. It is up to 8 degrees warmer in Dublin City at night than it is beyond the suburbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

This has come up in many conversations over the years, and while there may be some truth in what colm says, my sense of it is that it's more to do with the perception of non-D reg cars having lived a hard life on brutal roads.
    Of course this is not scientific, but perception can be greater than reality.
    I know one dealer that point blank refuses to deal in Limerick reg cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MargeS

I've heard many times before that buying a D reg brings clutch problems because D reg drivers spend so much time in traffic.

Oh! I think I'll take me chances! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,355 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I work in Dublin for a couple of days every week

Amazing, you work in Dublin, but you don't have a clue about it. Sometimes the chips on peoples shoulders act as blinkers and they simply don't see what's going on around them.

I was selling a car a while ago and I wanted to get the best price on a trade in, so I travelled the country viewing various cars while holidaying and visiting various parts of the country. I was told in four rural dealers that they prefer D reg cars. They couldn't explain why, but their rural customers preferred them and they sold quicker.

It's just a fact, rural people like their cars like their men... from Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

I see d Wallace motors has a KE reg Bentley Continental for sale...don't worry I'm just navel gazing, but my point is,it is well known amongst dealers that high end motors only sell with D,C or G regs.....the rest are tricky to sell. ...???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

I've heard many times before that buying a D reg brings clutch problems because D reg drivers spend so much time in traffic.

Oh! I think I'll take me chances! :)

I think you'll find that the oul two cow trailer is harder on your clutch!!
    Not many marts in Dublin!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,770 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Bearcat wrote: »
    I see d Wallace motors has a KE reg Bentley Continental for sale...don't worry I'm just navel gazing, but my point is,it is well known amongst dealers that high end motors only sell with D,C or G regs.....the rest are tricky to sell. ...???
    KE and WW are considered to be almost suburbs of Dublin, a KE Bentley will sell much more easily in Dublin than, say, an LH one.
    I hear this one regularly from non-Dubs. Lose the chip, we really don't care where you're from. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

Funnily enough, there was a science piece in the Sunday Times about this. It is up to 8 degrees warmer in Dublin City at night than it is beyond the suburbs.
    Another scientific discovery : city lights and houses emit more warmth than cows' farts.

Anan1 wrote: »
    ........... Lose the chip, we really don't care where you're from. :)

I'm from about a mile from Cork City centre, wouldn't be a bad area but wouldn't be overly fantastic either. When I worked and lived in Dublin (which I really liked to be fair) I did meet lots and lots of Dubs from suburban Dublin who used to think I was a country lad and they were city folk, now most of them were about as streetwise as Frank Spencer and realistically were seldom enough ever in Dublin city, even socially. Once a month or so.

RoverJames wrote: »
    I'm from about a mile from Cork City centre, wouldn't be a bad area but wouldn't be overly fantastic either. When I worked and lived in Dublin (which I really liked to be fair) I did meet lots and lots of Dubs from suburban Dublin who used to think I was a country lad and they were city folk, now most of them were about as streetwise as Frank Spencer and realistically were seldom enough ever in Dublin city, even socially. Once a month or so.
    You have to remember that Dublin is a big enough place that most people living here don't think of themselves as Dubliners. The suburban Dubs you met would probably have had the same attitude to anyone who wasn't from their particular area/social class/set, even if that person was from Dublin too. Dublin is more a large collection of towns than a city when you live here, it only looks like a single unit from the outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

In all fairness, some of the roads "down the country" to use that horrible Dublin expression are really, really bad. I'm not from Dublin (heaven forbid) and I don't live there (thank heavens) but roads in county Galway for example are disgraceful.

My problem with the whole D reg thing is that loads of people outside of Dublin drive cars with D regs, and a lot of D reg cars spend most of their lives nowhere near Dublin (company cars for example will often get D regs even if the person who is getting the said car is not based there), yet there is a perception that only D reg cars are in any way looked after, which is patently not true.

Some rural people do abuse the absolute crap out of their cars, trust me I have country relatives and I know plenty of people living in the country:)! But I know people living in cities that do the same thing!

Going by stereotypes, urban cars can present their own problems such as the engine not being warmed up properly because of all the start/stop driving and of course the clutch won't be lasting anything like as long as it should for the same reason. Rural cars may sometimes look rougher and the suspension will have suffered from more abuse because of the roads depending on location but at least they'll have been driven at decent speeds, which is much kinder to the engine than urban driving. Then there are people like me who live in a city but I spend a lot of time not driving in a city!

It's really just best not to generalise.

If it looks right, sounds right and goes right, then that's all that matters. Proper maintenance not what reg a car carries or where the car is based is what counts. Feck reg plate snobbery that's all I'll say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

And they say cork is a country of its own...

It's really just best not to generalise.

If it looks right, sounds right and goes right, then that's all that matters. Proper maintenance not what reg a car carries or where the car is based is what counts. Feck reg plate snobbery that's all I'll say!
    I think we're all agreed that the whole reg plate thing is ridiculous. The problem is that it's nonetheless real, and therefore needs to be taken into account when buying/selling. To look on the bright side, it can result in bargains for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

My problem with the whole D reg thing is that loads of people outside of Dublin drive cars with D regs, and a lot of D reg cars spend most of their lives nowhere near Dublin (company cars for example will often get D regs even if the person who is getting the said car is not based there), yet there is a perception that only D reg cars are in any way looked after, which is patently not true.

I have a D reg company car and live well outside Dublin. However, company cars are usually serviced bang on schedule and generally better maintained than most private cars, albeit with far higher mileage e.g mine has 85,000 km in 14 months, but has been serviced on time in a VW dealership each time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

I have a D reg company car and live well outside Dublin. However, company cars are usually serviced bang on time and generally better maintained than most private cars, albeit with far higher mileage e.g mine has 85,000 km in 14 months, but has been serviced on time in a VW dealership on time each time.
    Company here where I work are all serviced on time alright, but well over half of the company cars are treated like dirt. The cleanest and tidiest cars in the carpark are privately owned ones, with the exception of one or two company ones. Get it on a plate and treat it like dirt is a typical enough attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,380 ✭✭✭pred racer

Anan1 wrote: »
    I think we're all agreed that the whole reg plate thing is ridiculous. The problem is that it's nonetheless real, and therefore needs to be taken into account when buying/selling. To look on the bright side, it can result in bargains for some.

Exactly, which is why as a bog hopper meself, ill always look for a culchie reg car in dublin first;)

Another plus side is that in dublin everyone presumes you dont know where you are going and that you cant drive anyway, makes lane changes much easier:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Prepare for the sharp intake of breath if you're young looking and have a DL reg

*goes to look for picture of car parked in lake*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I be reluctant to buy a diesel Dublin car because I would have the impression that it was used for short journeys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ah the reg plate discussion again.... :)

From that thread:
    • D plate cars fit in anywhere and not necessarily reside in Dublin
    • MH, KE and WW are the next desirable after D platers
    • SO, MO and DL are least desirable due to the roads
    • Individual counties prefer their own county plates (very true)

I'll see if I can get a link to it...

Edit Ah here we go :)