Is this legal?

• 03-04-2012 04:24AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭

The lorry has two registration plates though one is clearly false. legal?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Absolutely not, but since it's impossible to have 11-D-SAM on any IRISH registered vehicle, the Gardaí might see the joke and let it go... depending on where they're from themselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Shield wrote: »
    Absolutely not, but since it's impossible to have 11-D-SAM on any IRISH registered vehicle, the Gardaí might see the joke and let it go... depending on where they're from themselves!

There's a joke? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Its a GAA thing.

Which is why culchie guards wouldn't let that go if they saw it :D

Only noticeable when the truck hasn't a trailer, which is prob why they've gotten away with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

is there a 12D sam i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

corktina wrote: »
    is there a 12D sam i wonder?

Not a hope! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

It is definitely illegal, but from what I heard interfering with your number plate is very seldom prosecuted in Ireland, while in most other EU countries, it's a very severe offence and is prosecuted with high fines.

On the other hand, I would love to see a possibility to get such reg numbers for a small fee.

Like I would get 04-MO-CINIO for my car ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

CiniO wrote: »
    It is definitely illegal, but from what I heard interfering with your number plate is very seldom prosecuted in Ireland, while in most other EU countries, it's a very severe offence and is prosecuted with high fines.

On the other hand, I would love to see a possibility to get such reg numbers for a small fee.

Like I would get 04-MO-CINIO for my car ;)

You should be aiming for 04-C-INIO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭tossy

Seasoft wrote: »
    The lorry has two registration plates though one is clearly false. legal?

Probably not but who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

tossy wrote: »
    Probably not but who cares?

If he drove like this through Germany, he could be heavily fined, for interfering with numberplate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭tossy

CiniO wrote: »
    If he drove like this through Germany, he could be heavily fined, for interfering with numberplate.

The Germans would nail him alright.Even they were upset at Dublin winning Sam.