Brolly on a funny kind of Irishness? - Free State Unionists

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

ceegee wrote: »
    Care to mention any examples of these players? Pretty sure theres a grand total of ZERO players in the Irish squad with an English mam and Irish dad, let alone one conceived during a spit roast.

The majority of our recent recruits from outside the Replublic have been from catholic areas of Derry - hardly an area free from GAAs influence. In fact English born players are becoming a bit of a rarity compared to the Charlton era

It's hard enough for these lads to accept the circumstances of their conceptions without me going into the details on a public forum.

TBH I am quite supposed that you would ask me to do!shame on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

forfuxsake wrote: »
    Care to mention any examples of these players? Pretty sure theres a grand total of ZERO players in the Irish squad with an English mam and Irish dad, let alone one conceived during a spit roast.

The majority of our recent recruits from outside the Replublic have been from catholic areas of Derry - hardly an area free from GAAs influence. In fact English born players are becoming a bit of a rarity compared to the Charlton era

It's hard enough for these lads to accept the circumstances of their conceptions without me going into the details on a public forum.

Fine, regardless of how they were conceived, can you name one current player who qualifies solely through having an Irish dad? Or explain why you feel Podolski (who got citizenship because his grandparents were born in a part of Poland that was then under German rule) is more entitled to play for his team than someone with Irish parents who grew up in the UK

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Speaking as a northerner (and someone from Armagh!), Brolly is a sad, bitter, waste of column inches and anyone taking anything he says with any ounce of credibility or seriousness needs their head felt.

He takes a subject, sensationalises it and then comes down as controversially as he can because he adores the attention.

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

xflyer wrote: »
    The whole country including the North will be behind the Irish team, that's nationalism.

Haha, I wouldn't be so sure! :pac: :pac: :pac:

As an aside, NI are an Irish team as well. The clue is in the name. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

People are often more proud of being from Kerry or Cork than being Irish. I would think that this is where much of the problem lies. The Northerners see themselves as Irish first and foremost because "we had to fight harder for it". The Laois guy is a Laoisman first and Irish a distant second.

I'm from Dublin ,live in Meath but giving precedence to county over country or vice versa has never occured to me.

That's your problem.
    This made sure that sports minded kids were funneled into GAA and that remains the case. Our record in international sports is poor compared to countries of comparable. If the local GAA club expanded it's activities to include other sports like athletics or whatever.

Maybe a few years ago this was the case ,nowadays a lot GAA clubs allow other activities use their facilities.My own club allows soccer clubs train and use their gym, local kettle bell use the facilties,Aussie rules have visited and
    as well as various martial arts and wrestling events.

My own GAA club now have arrangements as far as is possible not to have soccer and rugby training and matchs overlap,I'd imagine any modern GAA would do the same.

As for funnelling better players to GAA clubs , dunno bout that ,but I can give you a personal example ..My own sister played county and club football ,but just to keep her fit, her club were happy to have her as a player..her preference was hockey and athletics,both of which she won titles at national level.
    . But it has had a detrimental effect on the playing of other sports and it feeds off the innate tribalism of Irish people. I don't think that's a positive thing.

There is reckoned to be more soccer clubs per head capita in Ireland than there are in Holland,I'd at a guess suggest that the reason soccer doesn't thrive at a pro level is English soccer clubs cherry picking players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Fine, regardless of how they were conceived, can you name one current player who qualifies solely through having an Irish dad? Or explain why you feel Podolski (who got citizenship because his grandparents were born in a part of Poland that was then under German rule) is more entitled to play for his team than someone with Irish parents who grew up in the UK

Of course Podolski is more entitled to play for his team -Germany-than someone with Irish parents who grew up in the UK.

Why would someone with Irish parents who grew up in the UK be entitled to play for Germany? :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Terrontress

forfuxsake wrote: »

Firstly because he has lived in Germany himself, not just his granny or parents. Secondly because he has come through the junior ranks of the DFB and is representative of that country's footballers. Thirdly because Germany is his first choice, rather than playing for a country as second choice as his home association felt him not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

that secondary school mentioned doon its near me
    my area's famous.......sort of.....not really