Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to go primal (without really trying) - join me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭LoTwan

keane2097 wrote: »
    Any suggestions?

I would go with steak, sweet potato chips & veggies.

That's a fantastic weight loss. What did you restrict your calories to?

I didn't buy the whole30 guide until I was about 2 weeks in. No need to buy it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

LoTwan wrote: »
    I would go with steak, sweet potato chips & veggies.

That's a fantastic weight loss. What did you restrict your calories to?

I didn't buy the whole30 guide until I was about 2 weeks in. No need to buy it to be honest.

I probably averaged around 1200 a day for the six weeks. It's a pretty low amount but I was eating pretty well. A standard day would have been something like:

Breakfast: two poached eggs, two grilled rashers

Lunch: 65g tuna, spinach, rocket, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, bell pepper, carrot

Dinner: two chicken thighs (skin removed), brussels sprouts, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, kale

Snacks: Apple, more salad

You're still talking about massive quantities of food weight wise so I never felt hungry much, and the low calorie intake let me keep out of the gym more than I might have (not a cardio lover!).

Steak could be a good shout for the dinner, can never go wrong with steak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Dinner: two chicken thighs (skin removed), brussels sprouts, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, kale

Why, oh why would you remove the skin from chicken? It's the best part, tasty and full of saturated fat

I'm guessing by the 1200 calories that you are a woman. Am I right?

What did you have for dinner?

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Why, oh why would you remove the skin from chicken? It's the best part, tasty and full of saturated fat

I would have thought if you read my post it was fairly obvious. It's extremely calorific pound for pound and I was on a time restricted weight cut.
    I'm guessing by the 1200 calories that you are a woman. Am I right?

What did you have for dinner?

No I'm a man, 5'6" and went from 79kg to 69.4 in the six week period.

Went with steak, it was awesome :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Keane, did you eat all the brussels sprouts, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, kale etc. with any sauce, butter, herbs, spices etc?

I couldn't eat them with just chicken!

Blatter wrote: »
    Keane, did you eat all the brussels sprouts, carrots, cauliflower, broccoli, kale etc. with any sauce, butter, herbs, spices etc?

I couldn't eat them with just chicken!

I like vegetables so yeah ate them pretty much au naturale, but unless you're stuck for time on a cut there's no reason not to season liberally or use a sauce if that's your thing.

I make a sort of seasoning rub for the chicken that's worth a try, using Frank's Red Hot sauce (which is basically just peppers and vinegar) as the base, then mixing together roughly equal parts of black pepper, garlic, cayenne, chilli and paprika. Dial back the cayenne a bit if spicy isn't your thing, but yeah cover the chicken in that mix and roast at about 180 until they're cooked through and it comes out pretty well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I like vegetables so yeah ate them pretty much au naturale, but unless you're stuck for time on a cut there's no reason not to season liberally or use a sauce if that's your thing.

I make a sort of seasoning rub for the chicken that's worth a try, using Frank's Red Hot sauce (which is basically just peppers and vinegar) as the base, then mixing together roughly equal parts of black pepper, garlic, cayenne, chilli and paprika. Dial back the cayenne a bit if spicy isn't your thing, but yeah cover the chicken in that mix and roast at about 180 until they're cooked through and it comes out pretty well.

Cheers that sounds good, must try it and report back. Always find veg too bland to eat on it's own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Wow @keane2097 thats a lot to lose!

Thanks again lowtan. Yesterday was ok.
    Breakfast - couple of pieces of bacon with avocado,
    snack - punnet of blackberries and 20g brazil nuts,
    lunch - breast of chicken salad, was still hungry after that so had some fresh mackerel,
    dinner 3 scrambled eggs with butter and 20g brazil nuts.
    Think that was it. Oh I also had 2 americano coffees with a bit of milk.

Going to do a big shop this afternoon. .
    For lunch I'm having http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2011/08/18/comfort-noodles/ and going to have steak, broccoli and asparagus for dinner.

Don't feel great today actually. A bit like hangover. Not sure what that's about. I don't think I've been strict enough for the past couple of days for my system to be missing anything. Sugar and wheat maybe? I am having sugar though in the form of berries.

Just an update on this - http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2011/08/18/comfort-noodles/ - its delicious!! Really really good. If you haven't tried it you should make it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

I feel like I haven't posted here in ages! I have been sick with (I think) a chest infection since the weekend, it totally sucks, haven't exercised in 6 days! I feel I am on the mend now, still have painful cough but the glands aren't so swollen and I'm not as knackered. Plan to take an exercise hiatus till Monday, much as it hurts, and then go back to it feeling 100%

Just come in from the back garden where I was soaking up my vitamin D, eating a salad tricolori, and listening to Rob Wolf podcast :)

thehamo - hope you , and your gut!, are recovered from Paddys!

Sasquatch - how's it going, have you started?

Lotwan - I bet you look good today too!

Transform - I posted that slogan on pinterest & it was a big re-pinning hit :D

littlefriend - WELCOME! and congrats on the new baba. I think you are going to see massive improvements in the symptoms you describe through changing to paleo.

woggie - well done on the lift - Raar!

keane - well done on the weightloss, though no bloody wonder on 1200! Now you can simply enjoy all the good food without worrying about counting, hope you enjoyed your steak!

And back to littlfriend (see how methodical I'm being!) - I *love* that recipe too, I have changed it a bit to make it more of a courgette carbonara - I add parmesan to the eggs (so not strict paleo) and fried bacon lardons in it, I don't bother with the fried ground almonds anymore...nice, but strange....
    Your menu today looks great, I would swap the brazil nuts for macadamia nuts though as brazils are the highest in omega 6 of all the nuts.
    The hangover feeling is your body adjusting to the cut in carbs /sugar, even though you are eating some fruit it has been drastically reduced from what a "standard" diet would contain. Also you could try double cream in your coffee - it's bloody delicious and another way of getting your fat for the day.

Ok and so to me :) ...I feel like I have wavered a bit recently - had half a slice of carrot cake at the weekend (and didn't feel ill :confused:) and the 70%/85% Lindt is making a daily appearance....and I wonder about the amount of dairy/cheese...maybe I need to do a whole30 - I'm going to have a look back and see if I have it in me or not. I just feel like I need a shot in the arm. I got an email about Robb Wolfs new e-book - Paleo meal planner on a budget - tempted...but there is so much info already out there, sometimes I feel too much, that it's overwhelming....Or maybe I'm just fine and feel weird cos I'm sick!

ETA - the kids were having ice pops this afternoon & I would ahve loved one to soothe my poor cough ravaged throat. So I made ice-cream by blitzing frozen blueberries & coconut milk in the food processor - SO good!

Keane... Fair play to you for maintaining 1200 calories. Was it a bet or for a purpose? (fighting weight?)

DCD... The invitation to do a whole30 with me stands.

I ditched the coffee today. It was keeping me awake & disturbing my sleep. I'll let y'all know in a week how it's going

Dreaded Double

I'm so glad I'm still here on page 35!

My sleep has been shot to hell for the last 2 weeks so I decided on Tuesday night that it was time to kick diet coke and coffee to the sidelines. Day 1 was a bit rattly and ended with a headache. Day 2 started with a headache and was full of exhaustion. I didn't give in to a coffee/diet coke when the (already broken) kitchen chair disintegrated under me last night so I figured I was on a winner today. Day 3 hasn't been too bad. I'm tired as a combination of bad sleep and no coffee but I'm better. If my sleep doesn't improve by the middle of next week I will look at what else is causing the sleep issues and possibly reintroduce the coffee at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭rocky

I will look at what else is causing the sleep issues and possibly reintroduce the coffee at some point
    ... I might have a few ideas...

ok one idea...

How you doing today lotwan?

So guess what, I'm having a nutritional spring clean and starting whole 30 tomorrow!
    Excited and a bit nervous. I already have a pretty good base so I'm not starting from s.a.d thank goodness. The big changes for me will no dairy (milk/ double cream in coffee/tea, cheese, Greek yogurt are regular features of my current diet), no alcohol ( usual consumption would be up to 1 bottle of wine per week) and no sugar at all (bye bye 85%lindt) and I will try to be more mindful of my fruit consumption too.

The big changes for me will no dairy (milk/ double cream in coffee/tea, cheese, Greek yogurt are regular features of my current diet), no alcohol ( usual consumption would be up to 1 bottle of wine per week) and no sugar at all (bye bye 85%lindt) and I will try to be more mindful of my fruit consumption too.

eek! I'm doing pretty ok except I think berries are featuring too much in what I am eating. Have about a punnet of blackberries and some raspberries most days at the moment. They are delicious. Still having milk in my tea/coffee and using some butter to scramble eggs in. Haven't dared to introduce cream in case I love it too much. I had 40g of 85% dark chocolate the other night oh and some mango. lol I feel like I'm at confession !!

Have to say I'm feeling much better even after this short amount of time. I certainly have more energy and my skin has improved. I seem to be managing my time better and am less stressed out. I know I have to make more improvements.

eek! I'm doing pretty ok except I think berries are featuring too much in what I am eating. Have about a punnet of blackberries and some raspberries most days at the moment. They are delicious. Still having milk in my tea/coffee and using some butter to scramble eggs in. Haven't dared to introduce cream in case I love it too much. I had 40g of 85% dark chocolate the other night oh and some mango. lol I feel like I'm at confession !!

Have to say I'm feeling much better even after this short amount of time. I certainly have more energy and my skin has improved. I seem to be managing my time better and am less stressed out. I know I have to make more improvements.

You are doing great, and I think that is a fine amount of fruit, I have been havinga lot more than that! Glad to hear you are feeling better, don't be afraid of fat, after all that is why you skin has improved I bet!
    I shall be switching from butter to ghee for my cooking when I manage to get/make some.
    I think when you feel in control of your diet it radiates to all parts of your life, I am hoping this whole30 will be a spingclean of other areas of my life/home too. That bloody corner press for one thing!

How you doing today lotwan?

So guess what, I'm having a nutritional spring clean and starting whole 30 tomorrow!
    Excited and a bit nervous. I already have a pretty good base so I'm not starting from s.a.d thank goodness. The big changes for me will no dairy (milk/ double cream in coffee/tea, cheese, Greek yogurt are regular features of my current diet), no alcohol ( usual consumption would be up to 1 bottle of wine per week) and no sugar at all (bye bye 85%lindt) and I will try to be more mindful of my fruit consumption too.

Since I reditched diet coke I'm now living whole30 so I'll do it along with you. Don't forget - no weighing yourself & no liquid food. :-)

Yeah I'm going to weigh, measure & photograph in the morning & then put the scales away up in the press.
    Yes my protein shakes are out of the picture for 30 days :( I'll live :)
    I'm making some food ahead tonight - this breakfast loaf, the roast veg, and a bns, sweet potato & coconut soup.
    http://www.thefoodee.com/bld/1387/?add-rec=1387

Another big change for me will be eating 3 main meals , not 3 meals + 3 snacks :eek:
    And I'm going to give that drinking water thing a go too :D

Another big change for me will be eating 3 main meals , not 3 meals + 3 snacks :eek:

Have you still been eating 6 times a day? I'm on a consistent 3 now. It is a rare day that I have a snack. It took me 3 weeks of my Whole30 to ditch the majority of my snacks but it spis really only in the last 2 weeks that I dropped the last snack.

It turns out that I have been accidentally doing IF for weeks now. I eat dinner before 6.30 & eat breakfast after 8.30 which is at least 14 hours between eating. It is the low end of the scale but would qualify for the IF lable if I wanted it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

Is it just me, or has anyone noticed a change in blueberries of late?

I bought a tub from lidl aa few weeks back, and when I ate them, they seemed quite chalky, not their usual juicey tasty bullets of lovileness. Though hmmm feck it thats lidl for ya. So, threw them out cause I couldnt take the texture. Went to tesco and got 2 for 5 euro. Low and behold same story! Again couldnt eat them, just werent right. So, off to dunnes a couple of days later. Bought a tub and guess what!

dont know whats goin on. I used to eat them by the bartley load but im starting to get a bit of a turn off them:confused:

Have you still been eating 6 times a day? I'm on a consistent 3 now. It is a rare day that I have a snack. It took me 3 weeks of my Whole30 to ditch the majority of my snacks but it spis really only in the last 2 weeks that I dropped the last snack.

It turns out that I have been accidentally doing IF for weeks now. I eat dinner before 6.30 & eat breakfast after 8.30 which is at least 14 hours between eating. It is the low end of the scale but would qualify for the IF lable if I wanted it!

Yeah I'd always have a snack after gym, after getting home from school and then usually in the evening with a cuppa. I will investigate the post work out option as I think I need to keep that.
    Got a lie in so just having my breakfast now, the tasty loaf lives up to its name and I'm having my first cup of black coffee EVER. It's not so bad :)

Thehamo shame about the blueberries, I was annoyed about the dwarf butter but squash available yesterday so I guess seasonality is to blame. Try the frozen ones from boylans, they are lovely and only 2e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Yeah I'd always have a snack after gym, after getting home from school and then usually in the evening with a cuppa. I will investigate the post work out option as I think I need to keep that.
    Got a lie in so just having my breakfast now, the tasty loaf lives up to its name and I'm having my first cup of black coffee EVER. It's not so bad :)

Thehamo shame about the blueberries, I was annoyed about the dwarf butter but squash available yesterday so I guess seasonality is to blame. Try the frozen ones from boylans, they are lovely and only 2e!
    there is no going back after proper espresso or americano coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Anyone any suggestions on how to make an avocado taste nice?
    I tend to try things a few times before deciding if I like them or not, so I'm going to try it a few different ways first.

Sliced and drizzled with olive oil & balsamic

Fried in pan alongside bacon

As guacamole

Sliced and drizzled with olive oil & balsamic

Fried in pan alongside bacon

As guacamole

I'll try it fried, I've always been suspicious of guacamole I don't think I'm up for trying that one yet.

Orla K wrote: »
    Anyone any suggestions on how to make an avocado taste nice?
    I tend to try things a few times before deciding if I like them or not, so I'm going to try it a few different ways first.

Serve it on chilli
    Wrap it in bacon

DCD... How did Whole30 day 1 go?

I had a cup of tea in public today (some may call it a date) and when I declined milk for my tea there was an audible intake of breath like "OMG how do you drink tea without milk" and in my head I said "I'm not going to tell you what else I don't eat" LOL

Serve it on chilli
    Wrap it in bacon

Had chilli today (and yesterday, probably tomorrow and the next day) thought about it but the chilli is so nice without, I put cacao nibs in it. Think I'd like to try cook it

DCD... How did Whole30 day 1 go?

Not bad at all thanks, need to make my meals bigger as I was hungry at times but I rode through it.
    Big improvements was only 1 cup of coffee and 1.5l of water, usually it'd be the other way around!

B -tasty egg loaf, black coffee
    L - roasted veg, 2 slices ham
    D - baby leaf salad, more roasted veg, fried onions, sirloin steak
    S @8pm - half apple & 10 almonds, 2 mugs of Pukka Night Time tea

We went to peoples park market in dunlaoghaire where previously I would have enjoyed pad thai & coffee from the stallholders, and plenty of tasters from the bakers.
    I was keeping an eye out for some whole 30 compliant sausages...I don't understand how there are sausage recipes in the success guide - I have never come across an 100% meat sausage - I thought some kind of filler - rusk or oats was necessary in the production :confused:

Another question - has anyone made their own ghee - I'm thinking it would be pretty easy if you used one of those gravy separator jugs?

It felt so weird not to weigh myself this morning, it's part of my morning routine! But the scales is put well away to prevent any inadvertent lapses. I am conscious that I don't want to lose much weight on the whole30. I already lost a bit more last week when I was sick so I'm starting out at 125lb(5'3) so I don't really want to lose more than 2-3 lbs. Maybe I won't lose anything....and then I'll probably be pissed off :rolleyes: I'd love to drop my body fat, even though I don't trust my scales reading, I would be thrilled to see it go down a few points. Wish I had the €65 to get a bod pod scan done! Maybe I'll hit adverts.ie and try sell all my "fat" clothes!

Well done on the tea date Lotwan. Don't accept a dinner invitation whatever you do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Doolee

[/QUOTE]
    I was keeping an eye out for some whole 30 compliant sausages...I don't understand how there are sausage recipes in the success guide - I have never come across an 100% meat sausage - I thought some kind of filler - rusk or oats was necessary in the production :confused:

Another question - has anyone made their own ghee - I'm thinking it would be pretty easy if you used one of those gravy separator jugs?

![/Quote]
    I had Tolouse sausage yesterday in Noshingtons cafe opposite Griffith college and twas gluten free and delicious. Came with potato salad and leaves so I just had the salad leaves and was grand. Bit pricey tho unfortunately.

With the ghee, just stick a chunk of butter in the microwave for a few secs till it splits, skim off the protein left on top and the rest is ghee! Easy! :)

I bought Robb wolfs book yesterday. Bloody love the chemistry behind it all.