Finally The Legals System In This Country Gets Something Right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Actually think the judges are getting a bit of cop on.

Them two scummers that tried to rob the cash in transit van in the Tesco in Nass. One of them was claiming that they 'had special needs', the judge said it was 'an insult to people with special needs' and that 'he (brother) knows right from wrong'.

The barrister or solicitor also said 'that this type of thief was at the lower end of the scale of theft'.

What planet is that brief on at the lower end of the scale? Holding up a cash van with about a few 100 thousand in it ? Thankfully the judge had the cop on and said 'this is not like robbing a wallet'.

****ing morons the two brothers and the solicitor, they should **** the brief in the cell with them the gob****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

I think putting him into general population of a prison and letting them all have a go of him would be perfect! Dying would be too good for him!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Isnt assault a crime too?
    I know most people will agree with it but you're just dropping to their level if you go and beat them up.
    True and theres every chance they will return the favour
    Killing or assaulting someone as an act of revenge shouldnt diminish it as a crime

What we have here is an example of lilly hearted liberalism which acts as no deterrent to these offenders.
    Should you not all be off campaigning for the release of Anders Breivik on the grounds of insanity.
    The father wanted justice & he extracted some, I hope he's not the last.

I could not agree more with this course of action:
    Carter P Fly
    I would not ever be in this situation. Said pedo would dissapear one night, never to be seen again, and no one who matters would ever care. Life would go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Yeah, yeah. Of course you would. :rolleyes:

Why don't you head up to Donegal now and find him? I'm pretty sure if you ask around someone will give you his name. Go on.

Yes I would. In a heartbeat. If any piece of scum laid a finger on my children.

My apologies for not breaking that down for you to understand in my original post :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

MagicSean wrote: »
    What if his victim had subsequently been found not guilty of the sex assaults? Would it still be ok?

In any case, the man didn't get off because of who his victim was, he got off because the judge decided his emotional state prevented him having control of his actions

i understand your trying to show the flip side here , but have you actually thought about what your saying here ?

his 2 children made it clear BEFORE any trial that this man had sexually assaulted them , now let me get this clear , you honestly believe that these 2 kids would make up such a story and tell the cops? screwed up teen or adults might for attention or revenge , but pre teens??? small kids ??
    subsequently he was was put forward for trial ,
    so lets recap , his 2 kids - the guards and the dpp all thought that the claims had merit then i sure a **** smells the father did......

the pedo got off SO SO lightly - as i stated before i would have ended the ****ers life as if he was a fly, without a hint of remorse or pity
    i would even go so far as saying, if a referendum was held to allow PUBLIC physical castration it would pass with a landslide - barbaric as it maybe,
    its not as heinous a crime as abusing a child

i could live with it NO problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Sacramento wrote: »
    Seriously? He was convicted of assault, on a paedophile, who had abused more than one of his daughters.

He got community service for doing a community service, what's the matter with you?

I'd beg to differ on the "doing a community service" bit, but that aside, I think it's ironic that a judge is being applauded here for applying mitigation in view of a diminished responsibility type finding, and the personal circumstances of the accused. Applying the usual principles in sentencing, in other words.

Normally, in cases like that, you'd get a swarm of posters bleating on with "personal responsibility", "do the crime, do the time", wooly liberal judiciary, making excuses for "scumbags" type nonsense. I believe that the likes of this:
    Killing or assaulting someone as an act of revenge shouldnt diminish it as a crime

is what's known in the trade as backpedaling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Just to clarify the paedophile did not abuse his own daughters, he abused the daughters of the man that subsequently attacked him.

Im assuming he didnt beat himself up?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

benway wrote: »
    I'd beg to differ on the "doing a community service" bit, but that aside, I think it's ironic that a judge is being applauded here for applying mitigation in view of a diminished responsibility type finding, and the personal circumstances of the accused. Applying the usual principles in sentencing, in other words.

Normally, in cases like that, you'd get a swarm of posters bleating on with "personal responsibility", "do the crime, do the time", wooly liberal judiciary, making excuses for "scumbags" type nonsense. I believe that the likes of this:

You only get those posts in cases where people assume the person who committed the crime is full of ****, that is to say, from a social class the poster perceives as being lower than theirs.

In this case, a father lashing out due to what happened his children, people are having a tough time rolling out the usual dismissals.

It's this part of your post that got me really:

I'm sick of all you bleedin' hearts making excuses for criminals...

I wouldn't imagine a man that beat up a paedophile that sexually abused more than one of his daughters would have people calling for him to receive more punishment tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

You can't fault any man for wanting to hammer scum that would lay a hand on their children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

No no, you're overcomplicating this, most people know the difference between right and wrong.

Paedophile abusing 2 little girls and the father beating the daylights out of him = right

Scumbag stamping on someones head for a larf = wrong

Just because our legal system is so far removed from what most people consider to be just doesn't mean that most regular normal people have lost sight of what's acceptable behaviour.

(well to some of us anyway, I appreciate you're a bit special in this regard)

It's this part of your post that got me really

May have been trolling just a little there, take a look at the drunk woman screams at a judge thread.
    from a social class the poster perceives as being lower than theirs.

Exactly.

For some, no punishment is too severe for the lower classes, but when it comes to tax evaders, property developers and vengeful fathers, they suddenly turn into wooly liberals.

People should admit to themselves that they're using criminal justice as a legitimate outlet for their snobbery, and that their views are often informed more by this than by the reality of the system - I think there's a danger that public pressure is going to turn "justice" into war on the lower classes.
    wexie wrote:
    Just because our legal system is so far removed from what most people consider to be just doesn't mean that most regular normal people have lost sight of what's acceptable behaviour.

Oh right, you attend loads of criminal trials, then? You have extensive first-hand dealings with most aspects of the system, including HSE's child-care and the Childrens' Court, do you?

Or do you get your information from the papers? Please, do enlighten me.

wexie wrote: »
    No no, you're overcomplicating this, most people know the difference between right and wrong.

Paedophile abusing 2 little girls and the father beating the daylights out of him = right

Yeah, but then you have the cases where innocent people get run out of their homes or beaten due to cases of mistaken identity.

It's a tough one, because i'm the kind of guy who loves a bit of well placed street justice but I also have to understand it's this desire and the expression of it than can foster the above situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

danniemcq wrote: »

lol your example shows the system didn't work

ps i'm not trying to defend the pedo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Where can i sign up to go help that man with his community service?.

You're giving them what they deserve.

Anybody who thinks you need to 'Just speak to them' seriously hasn't a clue. Stuck in their middle class world, assuming everybody can benefit from talking.

Not true.

So who gets to judge who we can beat up?

I can't wait! I think i'm gonna bring my 9 iron :cool:

Jake1 wrote: »
    bit off topic, but anyways.. Just read that a man got three years for stabbing a schoolboy and lacerating his liver.
    Shouldnt stabbing someone be counted as Attempted Murder?

WTF?

grand little country.

I heard the yound lad was a scumbag though

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    What we have here is an example of lilly hearted liberalism which acts as no deterrent to these offenders.
    Should you not all be off campaigning for the release of Anders Breivik on the grounds of insanity.
    The father wanted justice & he extracted some, I hope he's not the last.

I could not agree more with this course of action:

Agreed, i'd do the exact same thing, but it's still against the law, and getting community service for beating someone with a golf club isn't justice tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 oh_nos

I wouldn't imagine a man that beat up a paedophile that sexually abused more than one of his daughters would have people calling for him to receive more punishment tbh.
    It's this I can't wrap my head around, unless of course the person wanting it either thinks that the legal system will punish these excuses of human beings appropriately or agrees with and/or is sympathetic to the crimes these despicable people commit. (the legal system can't do the former)

Whatever your class position in society, if children are your target you deserve a lot more than what the courts could ever throw at you and that includes the actions of the father in this case. If you think otherwise imo your as sick as the people that commit these crimes!

Yeah, but then you have the cases where innocent people get run out of their homes or beaten due to cases of mistaken identity.

It's a tough one, because i'm the kind of guy who loves a bit of well placed street justice but I also have to understand it's this desire and the expression of it than can foster the above situation.

but as i understand this could not have been a case of mistaken identity,
    as i posted above, the cops and the dpp did not think it was a case of mistaken id - they would not have gone near the case otherwise.

i also take from what i read that the pedo was either a family member ( extended maybe ? ) or a family friend - either way the father knew
    and was justified in his actions becasue he was found guilty.

the right man got a golf club across the head , he is lucky the father did not decide to necklace him or had a shotgun to hand

maybe it just me but i dont see any reason for NOT doing what he done
    to take it one step further - if it was me i would have made sure it was done " anonymously " , to save my family from further trauma

i would love to know exactly what " paramilitary " group he was a member of , i seem to remember his brothers in arms taking great delight in taking care of pedos in the not to distant past - maybe said members can finish the job inside - just a thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

oh_nos wrote: »
    It's this I can't wrap my head around, unless of course the person wanting it either thinks that the legal system will punish these excuses of human beings appropriately or agrees with and/or is sympathetic to the crimes these despicable people commit. (the legal system can't do the former)

Whatever your class position in society, if children are your target you deserve a lot more than what the courts could ever throw at you and that includes the actions of the father in this case. If you think otherwise imo your as sick as the people that commit these crimes!

You are of course entitled to your opinion. As am I. I don't see revenge as a legitimate reason for inflicting grevious bodily harm on someone wether they deserve it or not. This man wasn't equitted because his cause was just. He was equitted because he was not in control of his actions at the time.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    as i posted above, the cops and the dpp did not think it was a case of mistaken id - they would not have gone near the case otherwise.

i also take from what i read that the pedo was either a family member ( extended maybe ? ) or a family friend - either way the father knew
    and was justified in his actions becasue he was found guilty.

the right man got a golf club across the head , he is lucky the father did not decide to necklace him or had a shotgun to hand

maybe it just me but i dont see any reason for NOT doing what he done
    to take it one step further - if it was me i would have made sure it was done " anonymously " , to save my family from further trauma

i would love to know exactly what " paramilitary " group he was a member of , i seem to remember his brothers in arms taking great delight in taking care of pedos in the not to distant past - maybe said members can finish the job inside - just a thought

To save your family? Do you think his daughters are better off in some way now? You don't think the stress of two concurrent trials and the fear of losing their father was hard on them? This mans actions did not help his daughters in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Dangerous precedent to set.

It's basically saying it's open season on scumbags.

I know most people will agree with it but you're just dropping to their level if you go and beat them up.

True. But if they can have mitigating circumstances for their sh*tty feral existence, then decent people can have mitigation for finding out something like their children being raped.

oh_nos wrote: »

If it's me you're talking about, I should point out that I think the sentence in this case was probably about right - always hard to say when you haven't heard all the evidence.

This is why the sentencing system allows for mitigation, and recognises that not all convictions for the same offence are equal.

Of course, if it was some faceless "scumbag" we were talking about, people would no doubt be banging on about "excuses" and calling for mandatory minimum sentences, which would mean that the judge would have no discretion in cases like these.

Having said that, the legal system must be the primary punishment for all offenders, would never, ever condone someone taking the law into their own hands, even if I have some degree of sympathy with them.

Where did i say it was?

MagicSean wrote: »
    To save your family? Do you think his daughters are better off in some way now? You don't think the stress of two concurrent trials and the fear of losing their father was hard on them? This mans actions did not help his daughters in any way.

i think you are missing the big picture here - the father knew that the pedo would get a light sentence ( will be out in 7 i would assume ) so he decided to make sure the ****er got what was coming - and that is the point

the legal system WOULD NEVER give this man what he so rightly deserved
    so the father duly obliged

are his daughters better off , probably not . but maybe someone's daughter might be in the future

and you are also forgetting how it helps him ..... this pr1ck took from him the feeling that he done his best for his children - he will have to live with this for the rest of his life - on top of what his children and the rest of his family are going to have to deal with for evermore

in its basest form, getting revenge for what this pr1ck done to his kids is justification enough - i bet he felt he was helping not just his girls but society when he bent the golf club off this ****ers head

if he was lashing out becasue someone keyed his car, then he should have done time

the reason he did not is becasue he was trying to kill a pedo
    what part of that are you not getting

this was a special case - fair ****s to him and the judge

lets hope his family can overcome this horror
    lets hope the pedo dies screaming for his life

** also you pull me up on my quote " to save the family " , you miss my point , if he had a balaclava on he might have gotten away with it - this in turn would have saved his family the trouble of another court case - the fact that he did not cover up only make me like this guy more and more - he was making a big statement - one that this pr1ck wont forget in a hurry **

Where did i say it was?

you mentioned that in some cases mistaken identity causes people to be beaten up

i mentioned this was not a case of mistaken identity - so justified

fair point is it not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

If it's me you're talking about, I should point out that I think the sentence in this case was probably about right - always hard to say when you haven't heard all the evidence.

This is why the sentencing system allows for mitigation, and recognises that not all convictions for the same offence are equal.

Of course, if it was some faceless "scumbag" we were talking about, people would no doubt be banging on about "excuses" and calling for mandatory minimum sentences, which would mean that the judge would have no discretion in cases like these.

Having said that, the legal system must be the primary punishment for all offenders, would never, ever condone someone taking the law into their own hands, even if I have some degree of sympathy with them.

Well maybe mandatory sentences aren't a good idea. But there's mitigating circumstances, like this case, and then there's scumbags making excuses for their behaviour, like countless other cases.

i think you are missing the big picture here - the father knew that the pedo would get a light sentence ( will be out in 7 i would assume ) so he decided to make sure the ****er got what was coming - and that is the point

the legal system WOULD NEVER give this man what he so rightly deserved
    so the father duly obliged

are his daughters better off , probably not . but maybe someone's daughter might be in the future

and you are also forgetting how it helps him ..... this pr1ck took from him the feeling that he done his best for his children - he will have to live with this for the rest of his life - on top of what his children and the rest of his family are going to have to deal with for evermore

in its basest form, getting revenge for what this pr1ck done to his kids is justification enough - i bet he felt he was helping not just his girls but society when he bent the golf club off this ****ers head

if he was lashing out becasue someone keyed his car, then he should have done time

the reason he did not is becasue he was trying to kill a pedo
    what part of that are you not getting

this was a special case - fair ****s to him and the judge

lets hope his family can overcome this horror
    lets hope the pedo dies screaming for his life

** also you pull me up on my quote " to save the family " , you miss my point , if he had a balaclava on he might have gotten away with it - this in turn would have saved his family the trouble of another court case - the fact that he did not cover up only make me like this guy more and more - he was making a big statement - one that this pr1ck wont forget in a hurry **

You are the one not getting it. The reason he got off was because his emotional state prevented him having proper control over himself. He did not get off because of anything else. The court did not justify his actions in anyway. They took account of his mental state only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

What i take from this is that, in a similar situation, you need to get the revenge act over with quickly. Take too long and you will be deemed to be more in control of your emotions and therfore do serious time.
    Thats a lot of white hot violence in under 5 minutes!

I'm wondering, whats the deal with community service? Does a few guards go with you while you do it? I can't imagine they would be too hard on him.