Ryanair - whats the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Headphones on for as long as you can get away with. If you sit in a window seat just keep one in for take-off and it helps drown out the incessant adverts.

They can be a pain at times but if the destination airport is near where you need to be then I'll use them, they're usually cheaper and they're almost always on time. People slag the fact that they schedule longer than they need for each flight, then why don't other airlines do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

I've never been tempted to fly with them myself. Like the OP, I was researching a holiday and found there wasn't much of a difference in the prices (say maybe ten or twenty euro). Plus from what I hear , all the little extras they charge you for make up the difference. Haven't had a bad aer lingus experience to date so I'll prob be sticking with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MisterEpicurus

What's the point of this thread more like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Has nobody thought of actually checking how long it takes to get from the destination airport to the city, before booking a flight?

It takes a lot less time than coming on here and moaning about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Maglight wrote: »
    Ryanair have a reputation for hard landings. Maybe they smack the plane down as a safety procedure to reduce the risk of overshooting the runway. Or maybe it's to carve a few minutes off the turnaround time. There is much debate on the subject. I just know that it makes me feel sick everytime they do it. And for that reason I don't fly with them.

I travel with Ryanair nearly everyday and have done for over 2 years. Your statement regarding their landing is horse5hit.

Their landings are no "harder" than Aer Lingus, British Airways or Lufthansa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

I travel with Ryanair nearly everyday and have done for over 2 years. Your statement regarding their landing is horse5hit.

Their landings are no "harder" than Aer Lingus, British Airways or Lufthansa.

Having flown with Ryanair a lot and other airlines, I am also of the view that Ryanair have the roughest landings, not always but often enough to leave an impression. They just seem to thump the plane down. I think the scariest landing I ever experienced was into Derry airport, the plane didnt seem ready to even land and when it did, it was all over the place. Was just glad to be alive.

However I dont get people complaining about Ryanair, everyone knows the deal by now so if you dont like it, dont fly with them. Its like buying cheap crap from the electronics store and then complaining about it when it breaks down. If another airline is similar in price to Ryanair or if its going to work out as expensive with the ground transfers, I just go with the other airline. A lot of the time though Ryanair are sufficently cheap enough to deal with the crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Maglight wrote: »
    Ryanair are an Irish success story and as such I applaud their business acumen. But I avoid flying with them for three very strong reasons.
    1. I find their sporty take off and landings downright frightening. I have flown all over the world, with numerous carriers, and never had that experience. I hate white knuckle flying.
    2. Flying with small kids on Ryanair is a miserable experience. Is it really so difficult to allocate a seat. Why must we queue up for an hour before the flight takes off just so that our kids can sit beside a parent.
    3. I always feel that the staff view the customers with utter contempt. Contempt permeates the company from the very top layer. And the attitude is, if we are foolish enough to pay them, then we deserve to be treated that way.
    1. If you think Ryanair take more risks than more expensive airlines, it's psychological. They don't. Or else it was coincidental.
    2. I flew with ryanair with kids. Get priority boarding, or pay extra to book your seat.
    3. You "feel" the staff treat with you with contempt? They seem the same as any other airline to me.
    Why fly to a field 110km from Paris and then have to pay many times the cost of the flight for Ryanairs own bus to Paris when you can fly straight to CDG and still come out ahead?
    I don't buy this as criticism either. If the airport is too far away, don't fly there. I flew to paris a few years ago and didn't even look at Ryanairs site because as far as I'm concerned, they don't fly there. If Beauvais suits you, fly there. If it doesn't, don't!
    To me it's like criticising Aer Lingus because Vienna airport is too far away from Salzburg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I don't fly Ryanair.

I think the scariest landing I ever experienced was into Derry airport, the plane didnt seem ready to even land and when it did, it was all over the place. Was just glad to be alive.

Derry has a very short runway and often has high winds and rain. In those conditions a pilot will put the aircraft down on the runway as firmly as possible so as to stop the aircraft as quickly as possible.
    Pilots don't have the luxury of floating down the runway for a nice smooth landing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

IngazZagni wrote: »

:rolleyes: indeed

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0221/ryanair.html

Landings so rough they've been investigated.

According to other forums imuch of it is down to the type of aircraft they fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I don't mind Ryanair at all - they've always gotten me where I wanted to go.

Have to say I was always glad of the farther away airports - I would never have been to beauvais otherwise and I now adore it there (do you know they turn their town square into a beach at summer and an ice rink in winter? I didn't!). I've actually flown to beauvais and used it as a base there to travel around and spent the day in Paris instead. It was fantastic!

The same has gone for other destinations I have travelled to. I've never really had a problem with Aer lingus either. I chop and change as it suits me.

:rolleyes: indeed

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0221/ryanair.html

Landings so rough they've been investigated.

Seems these weren't landings but rather unstable approaches which led to go-arounds.
    Still that was over 5 years ago and occurred on only 2-3 occasions. Im not excusing it but when an airline has over 1400 flights a day there are bound to be the odd number of go-arounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

We fly home to Ireland from the Netherlands for 40 euros return each, inc charges as we use a Mastercard Debit card.

Plus Eindhoven airport is only 15 minutes by bus from our gaff.

So in our case there is a point, I guess if you live in Chareloi is feckín awesome too.

Yep, just waiting for the Weeze-Dublin connection and that's 3 airports for Ryanair and 1 for Aerlingus, happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Ryanair exploit the penny wise and the pound foolish to a spectacular degree, good on them. These people are husks of humanity.

I never understood this hatred toward Ryanair.

How can anyone (at least with a brain) book a flight for say Barcelona [Reus] or whatever, and then AFTER they book it, complain about the location???
    If these people did some RESEARCH, they would discover the location and hence not book if they're not happy.

If you were not happy with Dunnes Stores because the cheaper food is not as high a quality as say Tesco's, would you complain on boards? Or would you simply NOT SHOP THERE!
    Would you arrive late at Dunnes Stores and blame the staff because you didn't arrive on time? NO!

People seem to think they have some sort of privilege to complain just because it's an airline...well NO! All the facts about the destinations, prices and taxes are always noted and if you don't like it, then try a different airline. A lot will be perfectly happy to fly with said airline and you have no right to complain why they like it. In the same fashion, you wouldn't complain why somebody liked Dunnes Stores over Tesco's. If you did argue, then I'd think you had a boredom issue and may require psychological assistance.

So get over it and stop wasting people's time on boards with such a silly irrelevant and nonsensical thread such as this.

Thank you for your assistance and we look forward to your future custom at Ryanair.

Ryanair - the ontime, low-fare airline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

Sykk wrote: »
    amacachi wrote: »
    Talk about hyperbole.

Apologies, I was never the most succinct nor articulate- perhaps I should have just quoted someone who was:

"Quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten." - Sir Henry Royce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Well if the flight is what you remember, it can't have been a very good holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

People seem to think they have some sort of privilege to complain just because it's an airline

A lot will be perfectly happy to fly with said airline and you have no right to complain why they like it. In the same fashion, you wouldn't complain why somebody liked Dunnes Stores over Tesco's. If you did argue, then I'd think you had a boredom issue and may require psychological assistance.
    Don't have the "priviledge to complain just because it's an airline."

I "have no right to" wonder why people go for it? And because I have a negative view of Ryanair, I "may require psychological assistance?"

Who the F@#% appointed you emporer of the universe, while noone was looking?
    So get over it and stop wasting people's time on boards with such a silly irrelevant and nonsensical thread such as this.
    There's nothing for ME to get over, I'm just asking a question, albeit a loaded one. This is discussion forum, people talk about stuff, some it random stuff, and "time wasted" is a common feature.

You should take some of your own advice and stop wasting your time with a thread you consider "silly irrelevant and nonsensical." I didn't force you to read this and I didn't force you to waste your time writing that bilge.

Oh and BTW if you're really taking this as seriously as your post suggests, dictating what rights people have and who needs psychiatric assistance, then frankly I have to wonder if the lady doth protest too loudly.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

We fly home to Ireland from the Netherlands for 40 euros return each, inc charges as we use a Mastercard Debit card.

Plus Eindhoven airport is only 15 minutes by bus from our gaff.

So in our case there is a point, I guess if you live in Chareloi is feckín awesome too.

^^Weed and Hookers

SeanW wrote: »
    Don't have the "priviledge to complain just because it's an airline."

I "have no right to" wonder why people go for it? And because I have a negative view of Ryanair, I "may require psychological assistance?"

Who the F@#% appointed you emporer of the universe, while noone was looking?

There's nothing for ME to get over, I'm just asking a question, albeit a loaded one. This is discussion forum, people talk about stuff, some it random stuff, and "time wasted" is a common feature.

You should take some of your own advice and stop wasting your time with a thread you consider "silly irrelevant and nonsensical." I didn't force you to read this and I didn't force you to waste your time writing that bilge.

Oh and BTW if you're really taking this as seriously as your post suggests, dictating what rights people have and who needs psychiatric assistance, then frankly I have to wonder if the lady doth protest too loudly.

I'm no emperor, but what I posted was pretty common sense. ALL your initial remarks were complaining about the service. If you don't like the service, then DON'T BLOODY USE IT! But don't be complaining here just because you want everything in your own greedy basket. You can't have everything your own way.

You're 'just asking a question', well I'm 'just answering it'.

You advise me to 'stop wasting my time' - only when you stop wasting everyone elses time talking about a non-issue.

Just get over it, if you don't like Dunnes Stores, don't shop at Dunnes Stores.
    If you don't like Tesco's, don't shop at Tesco's.
    If you don't like TopMan, don't shop at TopMan.
    and finally...
    If you don't like Ryanair destinations, don't book Ryanair flights.

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I get annoyed when people give out about Ryanair. It seems that these people are regular flyers with Ryanair and have regular problems with them....Why do you keep flying with them??? It baffles me. If Ryanair fecks up your flight just don't fly with them again!

Personally i have travelled with them many times and never had a single problem. I then got a flight with Aer Lingus and the only differences were the old grey leather seats and the inflated prices!

I for one welcome our new O Leary overlord.

I'm no emperor, but what I posted was pretty common sense. ALL your initial remarks were complaining about the service. If you don't like the service, then DON'T BLOODY USE IT! But don't be complaining here just because you want everything in your own greedy basket. You can't have everything your own way.
    I'm not trying to. I'm just casually questioning something I find a little interesting/peculiar.
    You advise me to 'stop wasting my time' - only when you stop wasting everyone elses time talking about a non-issue.
    I accept that it's a non issue but then again so is a lot of what is discussed here. Why is this thread special? More to the point, why is it special to you?
    If you don't like TopMan ...
    Did it ever occur to you that someone who doesn't like a particular shop/cafe might be curious as to what others see in it? Might be tempted to start a conversation about it on a forum where people just happen to talk about random stuff?

What is your interest in this? You've called me pretty much everything in the book, timewaster, nutcase, selfish. You've taken this random thread and turned it into something deeply personal with insults. I want to know why.

Join NAFO today:

I'm not trying to. I'm just casually questioning something I find a little interesting/peculiar.

I accept that it's a non issue but then again so is a lot of what is discussed here. Why is this thread special? More to the point, why is it special to you?

Did it ever occur to you that someone who doesn't like a particular shop/cafe might be curious as to what others see in it? Might be tempted to start a conversation about it on a forum where people just happen to talk about random stuff?

What is your interest in this? You've called me pretty much everything in the book, timewaster, nutcase, selfish. You've taken this random thread and turned it into something deeply personal with insults. I want to know why.

I doubt this thread will descend into a scenario where I invoke Godwin's Law.

You accept it's a non-issue. Great.

As for your second point, if you're so interested why people like Ryanair, then your thread wouldn't be so loaded with phrases assuming or suggesting it shouldn't be used, moreover it wouldn't be located in AfterHours.

What's my interest? Well, considering you believe this to be a good place for discussion, expect some dissent rather than openly denigrating it.

As for what I called this thread, I stand by those comments. These comments may increase pending on how many more ludicrous comments follow by supporters of such a negligible and downright useless thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

My input into this may be limited because I don't fly much but I truly am struggling to see the point of flying with Ryanair. Supposidly, it's very cheap, but a few days ago I played around with the FR and EI fare calculators and I found that if I were hypothetically planning a holiday in Amsterdam, there would be fupp all difference in the price, in fact if I were flexible on date I could save money using Aer Lingus.

A very loaded example you picked there, a city that Ryanair don't actually fly to.

your thread wouldn't be so loaded with phrases assuming or suggesting it shouldn't be used
    I've made no secret of my personal opinion ... what's it to you?
    expect some dissent rather than openly denigrating it.
    I expected dissent, I asked for it and invited the FR fanboys to explain what they liked.

I did not expect to be accused of the awful crime of wasting your precious ****ing time, of needing psychological help or being selfish.
    downright useless thread.
    Again, I'm going to give you back some of your own advice, if you don't like this thread, don't patronise it. i.e. go away. I'm not interested in the personal accusations you've decided to drag this down to.

Join NAFO today:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭shuvly

I paid 50 euros for a return flight to Barcelona...took only the 10 kg cabin baggage. Great value! Yes, the hand baggage rules are a bit mental, i.e. everything you carry with you has to be put in the bag...but my bag was never weighed..I checked the size in the metal thingy and it fit..job done. BUT...sorry, havn't read other postsand it's probably been discussed already, but the ryanair la on the DLB show said you can carry on a book...feck that, that aint true!

And I had a mental time in Barca...if ye havn't been, go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

But where did the plane actually go to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Air Lingus and Ryanair have similar rules and fees for baggage. Carry on is limited to 10KG on both (never had my bag weighed with either mind) and both charge €50 a bag for bags that need to be checked in.

Oh, I know. I meant more that - I assume - pioneered the light flying model here and other airlines picked up on it too.

My only point was that the light flying model suits a certain market perfectly (me too, sometimes) but not the whole market.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

See where I defined the Sixty-Mile Rule. "Frankfurt" Hahn is just one of many.

On the other hand, "Dublin" airport is actually quite close to the city of the same name, which is handy when you want to fly there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

There's a brilliant story from when a customer cornered Michael O'Leary once in Dublin Airport. His flight to the UK was delayed and he was complaining that he won't get to see his family for as long, MOL let him rant, nodding along then asked
    "How often do you visit them?"
    "About once a month or so"
    "And how often did you visit them before Ryanair was set up"

Customer conceded and ended up shaking his hand. If you don't like Ryanair, don't fly them.