Ryanair - whats the point?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

SeanW wrote: »
    1. Do you really save any significant money flying Ryanair? and
    2. Is really worth all the extra hassle?
    Thoughts?

Yes and Yes.

I can fly return to London for 24e all inc.

It's 60e for a train to COrk.

Do the maths

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

What's the point,

Along tome ago in a galaxy far away, it cost me 200 punts to fly to London I was only earning about 150 a week and I was on an above average wage.

So even if I was to travel to london on Ryan Air with my servant and a chest of drawers as a suitcase it will still be cheaper then the times it was Aer Lingus only.

Ryan Air has changed the world, it truly has, example lets have a weekend break in Prague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,058 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Glasgow Prestwick is like Dublin-Arklow

Better off paying the small extra for Aer Lingus to actually land near Glasgow instead of ending up halfway down the Scottish coast
    Lol, just wait till the proposed Midlands Airport is built, no doubt FR will call it "Dublin-Horseleap Airport" and move out there :rolleyes:

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I've had no difficulties with Ryanair. The experience was exactly the same as every other airline to be honest, same seats, same service, same everything, no extra hassle.

For flying to the big cities, the prices are close between the airlines, but if you want to go to a smaller town or anywhere else Ryan is often a third to a quarter the price. And they land directly at the main airports of these smaller places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

irish-stew wrote: »
    They're generally on time because they advertise the landing time about 5-10 minutes longer/later than the actual flight time takes.

I've heard someone say that before as well and I think it's nonsense. They have the same and sometimes shorter block times than other airlines on the same route. The advertised times include taxi times as well as time in the air. Sometimes airports can be busy thus it takes longer to get in the air. The big thing is the wind. A strong headwind could add a significant amount of time to the journey. All these things have to be taken into account so on your typical day it should take a few minutes less than advertised. the added time is there as a buffer in case any of the above scenarios are present which is quite often as well.
    And anyway so what. They advertise to get you there at "that" time. What are you complaining about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sometimes Ryanair is much cheaper.

On a short flight I have the ability to just shut up and deal with it.

It's the people who don't understand how to fly Ryanair (i.e. no checked bag, don't bother standing to queue just hop up at the end and board last) and complain about it all the time that are the most annoying I find.

I wouldn't use them for a long flight, not worth it. But for short hops to the UK or close-reach European destinations then they're no worse than a sh*t bus journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Steven81

When was the last time Ryanair was on strike vs Air Lingus for example???.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

IngazZagni wrote: »
    I've heard someone say that before as well and I think it's nonsense. They have the same and sometimes shorter block times than other airlines on the same route. The advertised times include taxi times as well as time in the air. Sometimes airports can be busy thus it takes longer to get in the air. The big thing is the wind. A strong headwind could add a significant amount of time to the journey. All these things have to be taken into account so on your typical day it should take a few minutes less than advertised. the added time is there as a buffer in case any of the above scenarios are present which is quite often as well.
    And anyway so what. They advertise to get you there at "that" time. What are you complaining about?

I never complained about the advertised time. Just an observation from the times I have used them, and from when other people used them. In most cases we/they were at the gate before the advertised time, and the possible explanation for this. Easyjet or AerLingus have rarely got me there before the advertised time, but mostly on the advertised time, but ocasionally late. And they too, the same as RyanAir experience taxi-ing, the weather, and missed take off slots as well

My complant about Ryan Air is how passengers are herded on/off the flights, hence my comparsion in my first post on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

amacachi wrote: »
    Talk about hyperbole. If I were to go through all the times I've flied, first two were Aer Lingus with the return leaving the 50 of us on a school trip with a couple of hours delay due to a problem on their end. Next was a chartered flight, no problem at all. Last two trips were Ryanair, the return on the second one was delayed for an hour because they were playing catch-up because of morning fog in Dublin, same as every other airline.

No-one I know under the age of 40 has had any hassle when flying with Ryanair. Hell being a big bastard I like their non-reclining seats, means I don't have most of the person in front of me pressing down on my knees.

The only problem i ever had with Ryanair was coming back from Bristol with some mates one weekend. Stranded for 8 hours...we didn't really give a **** though as there was an airshow we could watch, what appeared to be a hot air balloon race and when we got board of those we just spent our time drawing vaginas on all the Etch-a-Sketchs in the gift shop.

My complant about Ryan Air is how passengers are herded on/off the flights, hence my comparsion in my first post on the subject.

I find the best thing to do with Ryanair is wait. Just let everyone else stand for ages and queue up, then when the queue has dwindled simply join it and make your way on. There's still seats and you don't feel like you're in a herd of cattle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If you complain about the airport being miles away, more fool you.
    "What's this? Paris Beauvais? It has Paris in the name, sure it's probably grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

Ryanair are an Irish success story and as such I applaud their business acumen. But I avoid flying with them for three very strong reasons.
    1. I find their sporty take off and landings downright frightening. I have flown all over the world, with numerous carriers, and never had that experience. I hate white knuckle flying.
    2. Flying with small kids on Ryanair is a miserable experience. Is it really so difficult to allocate a seat. Why must we queue up for an hour before the flight takes off just so that our kids can sit beside a parent.
    3. I always feel that the staff view the customers with utter contempt. Contempt permeates the company from the very top layer. And the attitude is, if we are foolish enough to pay them, then we deserve to be treated that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I have never had an issue flying with Ryanair.
    1. I find their sporty take off and landings downright frightening. I have flown all over the world, with numerous carriers, and never had that experience. I hate white knuckle flying.

Oh come on. Sporty? They take of and land exactly like other airlines. There are a set of procedures for takeoff and landing, they don't just make it up on the spot. I understand that you may know nothing about the technicalities of flying airliners but your statement is ridiculous.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I find the best thing to do with Ryanair is wait. Just let everyone else stand for ages and queue up, then when the queue has dwindled simply join it and make your way on. There's still seats and you don't feel like you're in a herd of cattle.

Last time I used them it was coming back from Ibiza. Week of drinking and no sleep, I wanted a window seat with leg room to sleep without interuption. So made sure I was near the top. So only had my self to blame in regard to being hearded.

At least with AerLingus I can get an assinged seat at check in at no extra cost, and wait until the queue has gone down, safe in the knowledge that I have my window/exit seat (assuming it was available at check in).

Unfortunatly the no frills bookings have created a herd mentality as well with some people, regardless of the airline. I flew with AerLingus from Knock on Christams Eve, the flight was initally delayed 20 minutes (eventually about 3 hours), and was about a 1/4 full. But even at that inital delay, with assingened seats, there was still people starting to queue at the gate before the advertised board time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

I never complained about the advertised time. Just an observation from the times I have used them, and from when other people used them. In most cases we/they were at the gate before the advertised time, and the possible explanation for this. Easyjet or AerLingus have rarely got me there before the advertised time, but mostly on the advertised time, but ocasionally late. And they too, the same as RyanAir experience taxi-ing, the weather, and missed take off slots as well

Well the point I was making is that their advertised times are not longer vs other carriers. Sometimes 5 minutes shorter, sometimes 5 minutes longer, it differes depending on the time of day. Check out the online timetables on Dublin airports website.

http://www.dublinairport.com/gns/flight-information/flight-timetables/online-timetables.aspx
    Maglight wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 horses4courses

fully agree with all of that Sean W. I fly myself and the wife and 4 kids out of Germany to Spain almost every year. Can't beat Ryanair pricewise for that route. However back and forth to IRE I would always check Aerlingus first - for exactly all of your reasons. BTW anybody flying RA to Alicante - don't bother with the priority boarding - we mortals will be joining you all again at the bottom of the stairs because the doors out onto the apron are locked !! tee hee !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

When it comes to Ryanair its really simple.

If you dislike them dont fly with them. Whats the big deal?

fully agree with all of that Sean W. I fly myself and the wife and 4 kids out of Germany to Spain almost every year. Can't beat Ryanair pricewise for that route. However back and forth to IRE I would always check Aerlingus first - for exactly all of your reasons. BTW anybody flying RA to Alicante - don't bother with the priority boarding - we mortals will be joining you all again at the bottom of the stairs because the doors out onto the apron are locked !! tee hee !

Similar experience in Ibiza as well. Those with Priorty Boarding only got them on to the Apron Bus first. Alot of people flew by them once the bus doors opened. Even the Pilot nearly had to fight his way up the steps.

Giving out about Ryanair is the new complaining about the weather. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Ah you see, it's precisely because I dislike them that I don't fly with them :)

The whole boarding process is like a circus on most airlines but on a Ryanair flight ... it's also like a circus, but worse? :pac:

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Giving out about Ryanair is the new complaining about the weather. :pac:

It's too warm recently I'm finding...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Maglight

Confab wrote: »
    I have never had an issue flying with Ryanair.

Oh come on. Sporty? They take of and land exactly like other airlines. There are a set of procedures for takeoff and landing, they don't just make it up on the spot. I understand that you may know nothing about the technicalities of flying airliners but your statement is ridiculous.

Ryanair have a reputation for hard landings. Maybe they smack the plane down as a safety procedure to reduce the risk of overshooting the runway. Or maybe it's to carve a few minutes off the turnaround time. There is much debate on the subject. I just know that it makes me feel sick everytime they do it. And for that reason I don't fly with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Ryanair is grand. The worst thing about it for me is the seats. If you're over 6 foot you'd want to be a contortionist. Couldn't do it long haul, but <4 hours is grand. But you know exactly what you're getting. If you don't like it, as he'd say, 'You can f*ck off, and you're not getting a refund'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

keith16 wrote: »
    Ah you see, it's precisely because I dislike them that I don't fly with them :)

The whole boarding process is like a circus on most airlines but on a Ryanair flight ... it's also like a circus, but worse? :pac:

Some people moan about and continually fly with them though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i fly with ryanair about 60+ times a year - whats the point?

cheaper flights (i got 6 flights to the uk for 90euro), im going to portugal next weekend for 120euro.
    reliable - always on time.
    less cancellations.
    not unionised, so at least their workers are not stuck up c*nts.

just overall, a better airline that i trust. i dont even bother checking aer lingus prices anymore, they are an airline thats rotten to the core with greed and more greed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Paparazzo wrote: »
    If you complain about the airport being miles away, more fool you.
    "What's this? Paris Beauvais? It has Paris in the name, sure it's probably grand"
    Why fly to a field 110km from Paris and then have to pay many times the cost of the flight for Ryanairs own bus to Paris when you can fly straight to CDG and still come out ahead?

Some people moan about and continually fly with them though

This is true...took a flight with them once to Birmingham and two lads behind us spent the entire flight giving out about them :pac: idiots!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

stovelid wrote: »
    Ryanair is beloved of cheap, short stay travellers, often students and other younger travellers. They are also a group that are well represented online to argue the case for this model
    People who don't mind travelling light and the "destination" airport being a contravention of the trade description act.

They will also be the people that will be losing it when they travel later in life for longer trips like family holidays and have to pay through the nose for their luggage and whatnot: basically a business model they drove the need and publicity for when it suited them.

For what its worth, I would rather pay extra to fly with another carrier unless it was a ridiculous difference. Just because of their various stunts and treatment of staff down the years.

Never had a bad experience with them though, must be said.

Air Lingus and Ryanair have similar rules and fees for baggage. Carry on is limited to 10KG on both (never had my bag weighed with either mind) and both charge €50 a bag for bags that need to be checked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I've flown Ryanair about 100 times and haven't had a single problem except a flight time being changed once.
    Also, I remember looking for tickets to London around 1997 and Air Lingus were looking for close to £300. We got the bus for £42. Thank fúck for ryanair.
    Now if you pay over €70 to go to London you feel it's expensive.

I remember the fare being I think 250 Punts when the average wage was about 140.

So if you compare that price now, in percentage of the average wage that would make a flight to London 700 to 800 euro.

I remember when I first got to the states I could not believe how cheap the prices were for internal flights. Of course they had a proper competitive market way before Europe.

Ryan Air were the pioneers of that in Europe, the old carriers are still playing catch up. Ryan Air was a very good thing to happen to Ireland and beyond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Depends where you're flying to tbh, if its anywhere near where Ryanair actually land then yay, if not then fly with someone else as the difference will be made up in the extra transport costs. I guarantee everyone who doesnt like flying with them would have a sh1t attack if they went out of business and flights to the UK went back to being hundreds of euro again. they changed how we get around Europe, that much can't be denied.

their colour scheme inside the planes is still appalling though, sickly yellow on blue, never fly with them hungover the inside of the plane will give you a migraine.