Psychic Sleuths Drive Gardai Mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

You could say prayers to the bearded garda sergeant in the sky that couldnt solve your case if it makes you feel better.

Hand on heart I know I'd have the cop on not to buy into any of that psychic sh1te or indeed get a sudden renewal of faith in the hope that a bearded sky fairy(even one with the rank of a sarge) would help out.

Actualy any of those fukkers called to my door,the guards would be looking for a 2nd unmarked grave tbh.
    It still stumps me the amount of manpower and Gardaí power that was put into searching for Shergar and how little of that we see when a human being goes missing! I remember the gardaí coming round to search the shed at the back of our house and the near ruined house next door. Nobody did that for any of the missing women in Operation Trace.
    You can bet your savings the guards put a lot of effort into looking for those missing women,just because they didnt check your shed(maybe they arent aware you are a serial killer??)doesnt mean they didnt do everything with in their power to trace them..

There is a fair probability that it may not help but why not?

because it gives false hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Scrawny71 wrote: »
    Isn't "wasting police time" still a crime, anyway? In that case, charlatans or the delusional shouldn't be paid much attention to during an investigation; certainly not if it diverts resources from tried-and-proven methods. That's tried-and-proven. So-called psychics have been tried, tested and found wanting. The very fact that there's not a psychic investigation division of every police force tells us that.

Would they be entertained if "tried and proven methods" had already worked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

because it gives false hope

When no hope already exists. I wouldnt necessarily condone but I can see why people try it

When no hope already exists.
    and thats what makes them scumbags of the lowest order.

The family of the victims would be better off reconcilling themselves to the fact that their loved one is gone and getting on with life if they can rather than getting p1ssed about by some clairvoyant for a few years,having them think think the chancer knows where the body is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

biko wrote: »
    Put in a link so people with subscriptions can read it.

OK

http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/News/article1002003.ece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Wereghost

You know, I think you should pull up some statistics on the percentage of missing persons cases where regular methods succeeded and the percentage of cases where psychics were employed that actually led to positive results. No system produces perfect real-world results all of the time (and it would be a weird, weird world if that were not the case). That doesn't make alternative approaches more likely to succeed.

Of course, if due to some bureaucratic or administrative reason the police were obliged to stay on an essentially dead case for a given time or there was an otherwise unfillable gap in the schedule, then I can see that consulting these people might start to appear at least quasi-sensible. But really, even people who swear by horoscopes and palm-reading would have to accept that it's a last-ditch effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Even if psychic ability did exist how can it be proven?

Very easily. Let's say a psychic claims to be psychically able to locate objects. To test this we would really testing if this psychic is better at locating stuff than a non-psychic - ie better results than by chance.

You could bury 100 easter eggs in various places around dublin, ask a psychic and non-psychic to locate them remotely and compare the results. If a psychic has the abilities that they claim to have they should be able to consistently do better than a non-psychic.

These sorts of tests are simple and have been tried many times before. Guess how they always turn out.

I doubt it. Why go to a psychic when you already have what you're looking for? The problem is that the opinion of a psychic is no better than that of a some guy down in the pub. It may even be worse because self-proclaimed psychics are disproportionately represented in the dumb end of the bell curve.

Unfortunately, people believe in this shíte and self-proclaimed psychics use this to take advantage of families and end up wasting Gárda time.

And just because logic and reason fails to solve a problem, which happens when the necessary information isn't available, it's no excuse for just guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If science is so strong why are the cases still unsolved?

If these people really are physic, why do we need investigations at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

By them being right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

44leto wrote: »
    Just read an interesting article in the times (I can’t quote the article as it is subscription only online). Apparently the Gardai are been forced to divert precious Gardaí resources after been put under pressure from the victim’s family to investigate so called leads, supplied by psychic or spiritualist.

In a lot of cases the whackos come forward voluntarily or the family consults them. The most effected investigation is operation trace, the cold case unit investigating the disappearance of 6 women in the Leinster area from the 90s.

I find this depressing, that in this day and scientific age people could still believe in this crap. Also the so called psychics themselves spreading their faith and not realising the damage they are doing. I think the Gardai should introduce a blanket policy of absolutely and totally ignoring them and any prompts from them.

What are your thoughts.

What are my thoughts?:confused: Well, as someone obviously very sensible once wrote: "I find this depressing, that in this day and scientific age people could still believe in this crap. Also the so called psychics themselves spreading their faith and not realising the damage they are doing. I think the Gardai should introduce a blanket policy of absolutely and totally ignoring them and any prompts from them."

I think that pretty well sums it up.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

what if one of these leads prove helpful?

Then you start investigating the "psychic"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

quite easily, also they'd all be millionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

My psychic ability tells me that another person will shortly reply to this thread. And they will have made many posts on this website before. And there's a good chance they will be male.

This person will also most likely not believe in pyschics.

Lets see how good I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Just read an interesting article in the times (I can’t quote the article as it is subscription only online). Apparently the Gardai are been forced to divert precious Gardaí resources after been put under pressure from the victim’s family to investigate so called leads, supplied by psychic or spiritualist.

In a lot of cases the whackos come forward voluntarily or the family consults them. The most effected investigation is operation trace, the cold case unit investigating the disappearance of 6 women in the Leinster area from the 90s.

I find this depressing, that in this day and scientific age people could still believe in this crap. Also the so called psychics themselves spreading their faith and not realising the damage they are doing. I think the Gardai should introduce a blanket policy of absolutely and totally ignoring them and any prompts from them.

What are your thoughts.

those union reps for the psychics were going to have a general meeting with the gardai about it but had to cancel due to unforseen circumstances ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭Wossack

My psychic ability tells me that another person will shortly reply to this thread. And they will have made many posts on this website before. And there's a good chance they will be male.

This person will also most likely not believe in pyschics.

Lets see how good I do.

!

he's a witch!

I know of a big case up north which was solved by psychic information. It was a murder of a child that happened years ago and a conviction happened last year.

There is also a boardsie who is psychic who located a body for police, which was seen on RTE.

I have no doubt there are the crazy people out there who cause problems but the gardai are also known to use psychics for information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Or you could leave the unsolved case with the gardia cold case unit where it will remain unsolved. Its a cold case for a reason

Cases go cold.
    The alternative is not to try magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,137 ✭✭✭✭28064212

I know of a big case up north which was solved by psychic information. It was a murder of a child that happened years ago and a conviction happened last year.
    Link? Name of anyone involved? Date range? Because a range of google searches for related terms is showing up nothing
    There is also a boardsie who is psychic who located a body for police, which was seen on RTE.
    As above

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

krudler wrote: »
    quite easily, also they'd all be millionaires

That really is the crux of it. If any psychics, clairvoyants or seers did exist, with even a small ability, these people would be trillionaires. They could win every lottery or gamble and corner every stock and commodity exchange in the world. They could hire Bill Gates or Warren Buffet as their drivers.

On a wider sense we are living in a time of dumb, psychic hotlines charging premium rates, X Factor and other reality shows, a resurging of religious fundamentalism in broad parts of our world, the new age filmflam, Global warming deniers, 9/11 and the host of totally moronic conspiracy theorists, who even deny man walked on the moon. Ect Ect Ect Ect the list is endless these days..

Its as if science and progress is being questioned by idiots who think astrology is scientific and has all the answers and informative books are made of kryptonite.

Yet I tap this out on an incredible machine, of which gives me access to nearly all world culture and knowledge, at my fingertips. A machine 50 years nobody would have dreamed of or thought possible, not even the science fiction writers or the psychics.

Ehh rant over.

28064212 wrote: »
    Link? Name of anyone involved? Date range? Because a range of google searches for related terms is showing up nothing

As above

Im not going to give the info on the first one as its not in the public domain. For the second one , its up to that boardsie to tell the story. I do think they posted about it in the past.

A simple "No, I have nothing to back up my bizarre claims" would have sufficed

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

That really is the crux of it. If any psychics, clairvoyants or seers did exist, with even a small ability, these people would be trillionaires. They could win every lottery or gamble and corner every stock and commodity exchange in the world. They could hire Bill Gates or Warren Buffet as their drivers..

Maybe Bill Gates and Warren Buffet are psychics :eek:

If psychics existed, they could prove themselves. And make money in the process.

James Randi offers probably the most famous prize for anyone who can prove their psychic claims: $1million. About 1000 people have taken the challenge in the 15 or so years of being on offer. It's still unclaimed.

Here's a list of other prizes. All unclaimed.

A simple "No, I have nothing to back up my bizarre claims" would have sufficed

Well i do have information to back up what i say, but i dont have to give that information. You could look it up yourself. But i guess that would be too much work for you :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Well i do have information to back up what i say, but i dont have to give that information. You could look it up yourself. But i guess that would be too much work for you :rolleyes:
    Link? Name of anyone involved? Date range? Because a range of google searches for related terms is showing up nothing. As above

If psychics existed, they could prove themselves. And make money in the process.

James Randi offers probably the most famous prize for anyone who can prove their psychic claims: $1million. About 1000 people have taken the challenge in the 15 or so years of being on offer. It's still unclaimed.

Here's a list of other prizes. All unclaimed.

James Randi is worse then psychics, he makes his money by saying something doesnt exist.

Already stated that I tried, with the vague, minimal information you provided, and found nothing.

But it's ok, I have evidence that all psychics are shams and none of them have any supernatural abilities whatsoever. I'm not going to post it here though, look it up yourself

James Randi is worse then psychics, he makes his money by saying something doesnt exist.

Until something is proven to or has evidence that it exists, the default position is that it doesn't exist. But thanks for ignoring the actual point of the post.

Already stated that I tried, with the vague, minimal information you provided, and found nothing.

But it's ok, I have evidence that all psychics are shams and none of them have any supernatural abilities whatsoever. I'm not going to post it here though, look it up yourself

As you said you have "Evidence" that all psychics are shams. Its not proof is it ? You see im a skeptic and i only deal with proof.