Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Interesting he comes out and backs Foley, he could easily have sidestepped the question.

Foley seems to have done very good things at Munster with the forward this season. I'd be mildly concerned about a Martin Johnson-esque rise before he's ready, but the signs are good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Foley seems to have done very good things at Munster with the forward this season. I'd be mildly concerned about a Martin Johnson-esque rise before he's ready, but the signs are good.

I think so, I think that's part of the reason Munster wanted to hold on to McGahan until Foley was either ready or definitely not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,593 ✭✭✭✭phog

Ospreys winning tonight puts a bit of a bottle neck around 2nd place. Our loss last week puts us under pressure and a win last week with Leinster losing this week could have seen us put a little bit of a challenge on for top spot. Double whammy for us :(

A win in the Sportsground is now even more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Right lads, on the tear in Limerick next weekend for the big match.

First time to a game in thomond for me, a true blue leinster fan.
    So wheres good for a few scoops and the craic afterwards?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Is The Lodge still open??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

durkadurka wrote: »

Depends where you want to go.

I recommend the Ardhu bar on the Ennis Road before and after the game. Quite a large pub, always good atmosphere on match days. Its only ten minute walk from Thomond Park.

Later on in the evening depends what you want, night club, late bar etc.. I'd recommend heading to the Denmark St. area where you would have Nancy Blakes and Cobblestone Joes (Late Bars) and a few night clubs in the vicinity if thats what your after! Perhaps go to the Limerick City forum if you want more suggestions!

durkadurka wrote: »

On the way back from the game, going towards town, don't miss the Curragower, it's on the river, you can't really miss it.

If you like "old man"* pubs I recommend JJ Bowles', Mickey Martins, Tom Collins, if you are looking for a wider selection, go towards the "Market Quarter", ie Denmark street etc.

*a style of pub as opposed to an age distinction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

On the way back from the game, going towards town, don't miss the Curragower, it's on the river, you can't really miss it.

If you like "old man"* pubs I recommend JJ Bowles', Mickey Martins, Tom Collins, if you are looking for a wider selection, go towards the "Market Quarter", ie Denmark street etc.

If Leinster lose they would love you in Bowles, The oldest pub in Ireland I think or is it just the oldest in Limerick .

A couple of Northampton lads wandered in there after That Game and they said it was one of the best rugby nights ever.

If God forbid ye win I don't know what the reception would be like :eek:

+1 and add Myles Breens and Flannerys both on Shannon St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

For me Mafi hasnt been the same player since Rua Tipoki left,Tipoki seemed to get the best out of Mafai when they played together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

About to book my tickets for next week.Question-can anyone tell me where the loudpseakers are in the stands in Thomond? Are they at the sides or at the back? My girlfriend has a hearing disorder and cant sit near them. Thanks

marienbad wrote: »
    If Leinster lose they would love you in Bowles, The oldest pub in Ireland I think or is it just the oldest in Limerick .

A couple of Northampton lads wandered in there after That Game and they said it was one of the best rugby nights ever.

If God forbid ye win I don't know what the reception would be like :eek:

You might be thinking of the North Star? I'll repost the article the Scarlets' fans posted after the game if I can find it.

Quint2010 wrote: »
    About to book my tickets for next week.Question-can anyone tell me where the loudpseakers are in the stands in Thomond? Are they at the sides or at the back? My girlfriend has a hearing disorder and cant sit near them. Thanks

Email the MRSC or Munsterrugby. I think they are usually pretty good with dealing with issues like that.

And here's the article.

I am a great believer in that it is never to late to say thankyou. I say this now from the bottom of my heart to all the grand Munster Folk who we met and enjoyed the weekend with. Yes we lost and were disappointed but such fun was had, the highlight of which was an enjoyable evening in the North Star after the game. My use of words is limited, one of our number who was with us that night, was Lofty who is famous on the Scarletfever forum and our local radio station for his stirring words. He has written about that night and I would love to share it with you.

"After the defeat at Thomond, quite a few of us stayed behind at the bar beneath the stadium. The Llandre and his "lost" voice started to pipe up with Welsh Hymns and Scarlet songs and it started. The Munster boys and girls joining in and a Welsh/Irish singing competition started in full flow. Bloody great it was as well, giving all what we had in the tank, it was a mighty effort and looking at the Munster faces they enjoyed the effort, from a pretty knackered group of Scarlet supporters.
    At about 6pm, it was time to go. Someone mentioned we need to get some food in us, so the last remnants of the Scarlet Army bide farewell to our hosts and the ramshackle and quite lubricated singers, staggered down towards Limerick City Centre.

As we all started to get closer to the centre, someone mentioned that we should go into a pub, hidden in a terrace of buildings, named the North Star. You should never judge a book by its cover and the external appearance was not appealing. Even to somewhat glazed eyes.

But in we trundled and what a welcome. On our right was a group of Munster fans all sitting down, enjoying their victory and in we walked. Within minutes of being made welcome the singing started up again and round two of the singing competition had restarted in front of an open hearth, blazing fire.

LLANDRE in full voice, followed sharply by Nine Three, Sosban Fach was bouncing off the compact pub and the Landlord and Landlady were smiling with the knowledge, something memorable was going to happen that night, in the North Star a week before Christmas.
    I sat in a quiet corner on a stool, watching the events unfold in a panoramic view through double vision. Baby Guiness were appearing on the bar and the drinks were being consumed at yet another incredible rate, but the singing was superb.
    Welsh songs were met by Irish songs and poems spoken with affection and the need to express the virtues of Celtic cousins.

In all my time visting places, that night in the North Star was a night when rugby cultures came as one, to enjoy each other's cultures, accents and stories and to highlight how great the Celtic nation really are.
    There were some fantastic heart felt speeches and some sublime words spoken from both sides, but i believe the Welsh just may have edged the first win on Irish soil that night.
    For everyone that was there, i believe when they look back at that night, the smiles will flow effortlessly with the knowledge that they had been part of something really special. For me and for others, those three or four hours were the highlight, of what was an absolutely superb weekend.

A night of spontaneity, unplanned, unrehearsed, it was glorious, it was really fantastic. And over the lined up bottles of Whiskey and other spirits, there lies the biggest spirit of all, the Scarlet flag, proudly hung, when the North Star became again, a shining light of hope."

To me it was what rugby is all about, a night to savour and remember. Thank you again Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Best bet might be the east/west terrace, that way ye can move to the most suitable location...

So far this season we've used 46 players in the Pro12 and or H/Cup and excluding penalty tries (4), 19 players have scored 45 tries for us. We've converted 41 of the 49 tries.

I think they're on the support trusses of the roof, so they could be immediately overhead you. Not sure, maybe try contacting the stadium on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

You might be thinking of the North Star? I'll repost the article the Scarlets' fans posted after the game if I can find it.

Now that you mention it , you could be right. Though I thought I read about it on the N'hampton fans forum.

just saw your second post , that was what the night I was thinking of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Anyone have any opinions of what team they'd like to take the field against Leinster at the weekend. We'll likely see the returns of our internationals and going on precedent, it'll be the same team to start against Ulster in the quarters injuries accommodating.

I'd like to see something like:
    1. WdP - He wasn't great, but is still our best option.
    2. Varley - I'd like to see Sherry get the nod, but he probably needs a better run of games under his belt first. Pity.
    3. Botha - Depending on Leinster's TH woes, it could be a great chance to give Archer a runout against strong opposition alongside a first choice team, but its unlikely to happen.
    4. DOC - POC is unlikely to be available, and he'll need the game as he may be called upon to start against Ulster with Ryan reverting to 6.
    5. Ryan - He is in great form and has really stepped up to fill POC's boots for Ireland. More of the same controlled aggression please.
    6. POM - DOC2.0 is very unlucky to miss out, but TOD has really been impressing me at openside.
    7. TOD - If Ryan plays in the 2nd row, we'll prob see DOC2.0 play at 6, but I'd like to see TOD get his shot. Wallace is, unfortunately, slightly off the pace needed and looks rushed back.
    8. Coughlan - Consistently brilliant for us. Would love to see him come out on top against Heaslip again.
    9. TOL - I don't think that Murray will be involved and TOL did show some good signs today. He made a few blunders and his defense was poor, but unless Murray is 100% ready to go, TOL will be our best option.
    10. ROG - He'll be back in his element where he is given the opportunity to control and impact a game. Expect a big game.
    11. Zebo - He looked good today when given the shot, and will thrive on the chance to prove himself against the best. A good end to the season and he should be off to NZ in the summer.
    12. Mafi - Great to see the commitment still there. Would love him to finish him tenure on a high.
    13. Earls - Hopefully he'll continue on his improving form in green and grow into the role. Battle with BOD should be interesting.
    14. Hurley - Murphy is unlucky to miss out, but Hurley's linebreaking and offload is an invaluable asset. I'd prefer to see him at 12/15 where we could use him more though.
    15. Jones - He is getting back to form. His strength (recklessness) in the tackle is what would earn him the Irish 15 jersey if he was ever to displace Kearney.

It's honestly very hard to predict what we will see from 4-8, but despite some close calls in the outside backs, the rest of the team is mostly picking itself.

Anyone have any opinions of what team they'd like to take the field against Leinster at the weekend. We'll likely see the returns of our internationals and going on precedent, it'll be the same team to start against Ulster in the quarters injuries accommodating.

I'd like to see something like:
    1. WdP - He wasn't great, but is still our best option.
    2. Varley - I'd like to see Sherry get the nod, but he probably needs a better run of games under his belt first. Pity.
    3. Botha - Depending on Leinster's TH woes, it could be a great chance to give Archer a runout against strong opposition alongside a first choice team, but its unlikely to happen.
    4. DOC - POC is unlikely to be available, and he'll need the game as he may be called upon to start against Ulster with Ryan reverting to 6.
    5. Ryan - He is in great form and has really stepped up to fill POC's boots for Ireland. More of the same controlled aggression please.
    6. POM - DOC2.0 is very unlucky to miss out, but TOD has really been impressing me at openside.
    7. TOD - If Ryan plays in the 2nd row, we'll prob see DOC2.0 play at 6, but I'd like to see TOD get his shot. Wallace is, unfortunately, slightly off the pace needed and looks rushed back.
    8. Coughlan - Consistently brilliant for us. Would love to see him come out on top against Heaslip again.
    9. TOL - I don't think that Murray will be involved and TOL did show some good signs today. He made a few blunders and his defense was poor, but unless Murray is 100% ready to go, TOL will be our best option.
    10. ROG - He'll be back in his element where he is given the opportunity to control and impact a game. Expect a big game.
    11. Zebo - He looked good today when given the shot, and will thrive on the chance to prove himself against the best. A good end to the season and he should be off to NZ in the summer.
    12. Mafi - Great to see the commitment still there. Would love him to finish him tenure on a high.
    13. Earls - Hopefully he'll continue on his improving form in green and grow into the role. Battle with BOD should be interesting.
    14. Hurley - Murphy is unlucky to miss out, but Hurley's linebreaking and offload is an invaluable asset. I'd prefer to see him at 12/15 where we could use him more though.
    15. Jones - He is getting back to form. His strength (recklessness) in the tackle is what would earn him the Irish 15 jersey if he was ever to displace Kearney.

It's honestly very hard to predict what we will see from 4-8, but despite some close calls in the outside backs, the rest of the team is mostly picking itself.

Given the injuries, the backrow is the big call, I don't think Wallace is fully ready yet, so do we go with Ryan as a lock, DOCv2.0 at 6, POM at 7, Coughlan at 8, or Ryan at 6, POM at 7, Coughlan at 8 or your backrow above. I think TOD has really improved this year, if it's a call between him and DOCv2.0, I'd go with TOD. Not sure Ryan won't start at 6 though, as it's likely to be a Ryan, POM, Coughlan backrow for Ulster. In that case, MOD, Nagle, or Holland for the second row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

As a Leinster fan, I would absolutely love if you did that. With White and Ross supposedly available but neither likely to be 100%, that would be a free pass. With Botha it would be a weakness but with Archer we would be looking to get on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Tox56 wrote: »
    As a Leinster fan, I would absolutely love if you did that. With White and Ross supposedly available but neither likely to be 100%, that would be a free pass. With Botha it would be a weakness but with Archer we would be looking to get on top.

Someone should e-mail this to Archer. No better motivation.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Otacon wrote: »
    Someone should e-mail this to Archer. No better motivation.

He can have all the motivatoin he wants, he's still not a very good tighthead prop yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Podge_irl wrote: »
    He can have all the motivatoin he wants, he's still not a very good tighthead prop yet.
    He's a strange one. Every now and again in a match he'll scrummage well or do something really well. Then he'll fall to bits like a Buckleyesque marshmallow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,397 ✭✭✭budhabob

jacothelad wrote: »
    He's a strange one. Every now and again in a match he'll scrummage well or do something really well. Then he'll fall to bits like a Buckleyesque marshmallow
    He's far more consistent than buckle to an fair. It is strange,, I've seen him give some really good scrum performances,but after the wolfhounds game I don't have much confidence in him. Still he needs game time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

That's a sign that technique is amiss if ever there was one

Think of it as, would White and Ross prefer to scrummage against Botha or Archer?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Tox56 wrote: »
    Think of it as, would White and Ross prefer to scrummage against Botha or Archer?

Considering Ross is a TH and Botha and Archer are both TH's I think they wouldnt care...

castie wrote: »
    Considering Ross is a TH and Botha and Archer are both TH's I think they wouldnt care...

Doh.

Who would Healy prefer..

In "gametime" terms he's still very inexperienced. He might come good but I have my doubts.