Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern statement/resignation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

Hard to believe this fella lead the country for 11 years.

Actually it all kind of makes sense now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

jased10s wrote: »
    sickner is the pricks getting a fat wad every year of his life for free and we pay for it.

What a country....

And a state funeral when he dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Straight up cunt. He deserves to be murdered and killed to death with immediate effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

After the findings, who would be responsible for bringing Bertie and co to face a trial?? Could the police or CAB investigate?

Shocking how corrupt politicians get an easy life in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

You're all full of ****.

If this report came out in 2006 it would have been laughed out of it by the general populace. People were jumping over ditches to shake his hand.

The facts were equally clear then as they are now. People couldn't give a rats ass if Ahern was corrupt so long as their shoe box apartment was going up in price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Im sick and tired of this sh1t. Im living in D1 and am now going to head down to Drumcondra outside Berties house to protest against this never-ending corruption of this country - Please join me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

GetWithIt wrote: »
    You're all full of ****.

If this report came out in 2006 it would have been laughed out of it by the general populace. People were jumping over ditches to shake his hand.

The facts were equally clear then as they are now. People couldn't give a rats ass if Ahern was corrupt so long as their shoe box apartment was going up in price.

Thankfully you were there to save us from our useless, vile selves. I am eternally grateful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

Whatever about Bertie and the corruption of his scumbag party, most of which was common knowledge anyways, what I want to know is how they failed to produce any solid evidence whatsoever on him or a number of the other main culprits after 14 years and millions of taxpayers money...absolutely ridiculous IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

Watching Prime Time now.
    Bertie getting 70 thousand for a speech about honesty.
    Oh Jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

GetWithIt wrote: »
    You're all full of ****.

messiah.....ive been waiting so long for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Joko

Where do you live, I want to protest outside your house. H Block style.

Warper wrote: »
    Im sick and tired of this sh1t. Im living in D1 and am now going to head down to Drumcondra outside Berties house to protest against this never-ending corruption of this country - Please join me

The Man With The Golden Gun is on, I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

So long as Ahern pandered to every vested interest, they were still going to elect him. That is those who enjoyed generous tax breaks property or in income tax, those "benchmarking" deals with semi-state and public sector unions, pensioners promised 300 quid pensions etc.

Yes as another scummer Haughey said, Ahern was "the most cunning of them all".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'd prefer to protest inside his pub. With a pint. Quietly.

Occupy Fagan's!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ilovesleep wrote: »
    And a state funeral when he dies.

...And his portrait still gets to hang in the Dail for eternity!

Absolutely sickening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

I wouldn't give the shyster the attention - he needs to be shunned and completely ignored tbh.

Kensington wrote: »
    I wouldn't give the shyster the attention - he needs to be shunned and completely ignored tbh.

The noblest of all the protest forms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Amazing how this tread aint closed as i had a bertie tread and the mod said no more bertie treads and was CLOSED:confused:
    any way hes a pure BASTARD........YES BERTIE....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Warper wrote: »
    well it's your thread, no need to damn it so strongly. I do tend to agree with you though, I'm sick of these sh1t threads as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭MANSFIELD

Watching Prime Time now.
    Bertie getting 70 thousand for a speech about honesty.
    Oh Jaysus.

Lmao :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo

Fair play.

The report didn't call him a liar. The media is doing that.

The report basically said id didn't trust his evidence. Not his fault they dint trust it.

That was his get out clause.

They said I am lying, I am saying I am not. No proof either way.

that was coming a mile off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,222 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Talk on RTE this evening of expelling him from Fianna Fail...he should be expelled into space to wander the cosmos and waffle on about his innocence for the rest of his days.
    Grade-A prick.

This says everything about Fianna Fail. They had to wait 15 years and have it written down for them before they believe it ? What were they doing ? Praying that it would go away ?
    These shower of fcuks are all tarred with the same brush.
    If they meant a word about being anti corruption they would have thrown Bertie out years ago. They are all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Jack_Russell

poor aul Bertie,

didn't he have a portrait of Padraig Pearse in his office?

and him a lover of the GAA as well, a modest pint drinker, a man of the paeple, an ordinary man, and a more devout Catholic you'll not witness.

didn't ye all vote fer him when we were booming?

and if we were still booming wouldn't ye still be voting 'n cheering fer him?

sure he transformed this place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I'll bring the portable kettle and a very long extension lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

The sh1tty, laughable, cryable thing is, it took 250million, 14 years, and it comes out with this wishy-washy crap. All it did was line a lot of lawyers pockets to tell us vaguely what we all already clearly knew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Ah here, PT comp of Dermot Ahern, DJ Willie O'Dea J, Dick Roche ... and who's this only Micheál Martin coming out attacking the Tribunal...

And Rabitte tearing them a new one "Bertie is delusional ... a psychologist or psychoanalyst would have a good time with that". When he's right ...

Paddy Duffy isn't making it much better with his Under Tens hurling references.

Fianna Fáil is sunk. It has to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'll bring the portable kettle and a very long extension lead.

Fancy bringing a few cans instead? We'll make a night of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Fücking tribunal cost €300m and not a jail cell will be filled.

how can it be justified to cost 300 million , to produce such a luke warm report , with findings that every dog on the street were talking about for years - the legal big wigs (not all - but a select few) have milked the nation for every penny - was anyone surprised the judges wouldnt reduce their outrageos pensions, no wonder they are so out of touch with the ordinary man in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I love how we all bitch about how "No one will ever protest, we just sit and let this happen! You are all pathetic!!" Some guy offers you all a chance RIGHT NOW if you're in the area, and this is the result.

Good old AH, always non-consistent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Jack_Russell

benway wrote: »
    Ah here, Dermot Ahern, DJ Willie O'Dea J, Dick Roche ... and who's this only Micheál Martin coming out attacking the Tribunal...

And Rabitte tearing them a new one "Bertie is delusional ... a psychologist or psychoanalyst would have a good time with that". When he's right ...

Fianna Fáil is sunk. It has to be.

NEVER, EVER underestimate the stupidity of the Irish electorate.
    FF will be back!