It's not just the pyjama wearers....GARDAI receive RENT ALLOWANCE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Mr Jinx

micropig wrote: »
    Yes, it's great they can also pay their staff's taxes for them

GARDA bosses have been forced to raid their annual budget to pay €12.4m to the Revenue Commissioners, after a series of allowances to gardai were wrongly left untaxed.

Our streets are so safe, I apologise. They didn't have to introduce legislation to allow people to defend themselves in their own home, because the Gardai are so effective:rolleyes:

They get a lot of other allowances apart from this one, which I have no problem with.

What do you want, a Garda to move into every house ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I always was under the impression that the guards couldn't necessarily serve in their own home area/locality. Maybe because they'd be more likely to let off their neighbours/friends or the like.
    Guards do serve in areas for decades, and do indeed take some stick when they send the neighbour's son down.

However they are very well compensated, and have very nice pension entitlements. Yes guards just starting off earn a relatively small amount but so does everyone starting off. That's life. There's plenty of guards have retired very wealthy, its actually a condition of service that they have to keep their bank balance in good shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I know a few lads in the Gardai and from what I heard the shift allowance for working nights is around 10% compared to private companies who pay upto 30%,Now as for the Gardai sleeping in their cars due to finishing work at 2200 and back in for 0600 that's illegal the min rest for workers(apart from bus&truck drivers) is 11 hours consecutive rest.
    I was only talking about this the other day with a mate and informed them that Gardai mgmt are breaking the H&S act 2005 by not rostering the staff to have suffient rest,So you could have a member of the traffic corp checking that a truck/bus driver has had suffient rest by sleeping in a bed yet the Gardai slept in their car only in Ireland eh:eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

I always was under the impression that the guards couldn't necessarily serve in their own home area/locality. Maybe because they'd be more likely to let off their neighbours/friends or the like.

So the rent allowance ( note rent allowance, not mortgage allowance ) would seem fair enough.

They may not be able to serve in their home town, but when they are stationed, they should be there for a few years and move there. Many people move to get work, such is life. I understand you can't just uproot families, so people with children should be stationed in an area for lenghtly period (not to disrupt the children).

*Rent allowance, according to the Irish times Saturday, May 28, 2011 Maybe things have changed?

The most expensive single category is the rent allowance, which cost the exchequer €58.9 million in 2008. Each officer up to and including the chief superintendent receives the pensionable €4,017.55 a year payment. Night duty and Sunday allowances are also pensionable.

Gardaí receive allowances for being rostered at night or on a Saturday and for being “non-rostered” at these times

Another non-nonsensical allowance, fair enough for being rostered but an allowance for not being rostered :confused:

@Mr Jinx, definitely not, but increased visibility/interaction in communities, especially rural

I know a few lads in the Gardai and from what I heard the shift allowance for working nights is around 10% compared to private companies who pay upto 30%,Now as for the Gardai sleeping in their cars due to finishing work at 2200 and back in for 0600 that's illegal the min rest for workers(apart from bus&truck drivers) is 11 hours consecutive rest.
    I was only talking about this the other day with a mate and informed them that Gardai mgmt are breaking the H&S act 2005 by not rostering the staff to have suffient rest,So you could have a member of the traffic corp checking that a truck/bus driver has had suffient rest by sleeping in a bed yet the Gardai slept in their car only in Ireland eh:eek:.

Why are they sleeping in their cars, should they not be renting a house with this rent allowance they are receiving?

If you read my post you would see that the Gardai are only getting 8hrs rest in between rosters so your finished work at 2200 and back in at 0600, That is 8 hrs rest the min is 11hrs as I stated apart from truck&bus drivers who can have a reduced rest period of 9hrs.

Yes but they receive an allowance to rent a house nearby...If they used the allowance for the purpose it was intended, they would have a residence nearby the station and could sleep in a bed.

Link to pilot AGS Roster for core unitsfor 2012/2013, can you point out where they finish @2200 and return @0600

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Yes but they receive an allowance to rent a house nearby...If they used the allowance for the purpose it was intended, they would have a residence nearby the station and could sleep in a bed.

Link to pilot AGS Roster for core unitsfor 2012/2013, can you point out where they finish @2200 and return @0600

Can you spell out exactly what your problem with the guards is?

Do you think they are paid too much? What do you think is an appropriate salary for a gaurd?

If you read the document properly you would see that this roster does not come into effect until 30th April 2012.

dirtyden wrote: »
    Can you spell out exactly what your problem with the guards is?

Do you think they are paid too much? What do you think is an appropriate salary for a gaurd?

My problem is not exactly with the gardai, it is more to do with how the justice budget is being spent. Stations are being closed down all over the place and it is necessary to examine, where exactly the budget is going.

- Garda Síochána (€1.503 billion in 2011) - Accounts for over 64% of gross current expenditure in the Justice Sector. Apart from the salaries and allowances of serving Gardaí and civilian employees, 8,000 Garda pensioners are also paid from the Vote: in all, 90% of expenditure in the Garda Vote relates to pay and pensions.

In addition, provision is made for ICT and communications equipment which are an essential part of modern policing, as well as day to day costs of running the organisation, conducting investigations, maintenance of premises and payment of compensation under the Garda Acts and in respect of civil cases taken against An Garda Síochána

Mr Jinx wrote: »
    If you read the document properly you would see that this roster does not come into effect until 30th April 2012.

I only noticed that after I posted...Do you have a link to the current one?

I don't know anyone in mgmt wether it be the private sector or public would publish a roster that contravenes the WTD as they would be leaving them selves out for a hanging,But yes the Gardai who I know often have 8hrs rest in between shifts.

I only noticed that after I posted...Do you have a link to the current one?

Dont have a link, but there are quick change overs from 10pm to 6am.....trust me, many's a sleepless night.

fair enough, I won't argue with that, but if that link is a provisional roster, will things change in April for them, legal requirement is 11 hours??

They can't complain about sleeping in cars, when they are receiving an allowance to rent a house nearby.......they can't have it both ways;)

fair enough, I won't argue with that, but if that link is a provisional roster, will things change in April for them, legal requirement is 11 hours??

They can't complain about sleeping in cars, when they are receiving an allowance to rent a house nearby.......they can't have it both ways;)

As you can see from that link there are no changeovers and there is 11 hours or more between shifts as per european working laws.

As for the rent allowance it was introduced many moons ago when lads were sent to the border and all corners of the country. In recent years it has just become part of lads wages. It should have been imalgamated into normal wages years ago but as usual things were just left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

My problem is not exactly with the gardai, it is more to do with how the justice budget is being spent. Stations are being closed down all over the place and it is necessary to examine, where exactly the budget is going.

- Garda Síochána (€1.503 billion in 2011) - Accounts for over 64% of gross current expenditure in the Justice Sector. Apart from the salaries and allowances of serving Gardaí and civilian employees, 8,000 Garda pensioners are also paid from the Vote: in all, 90% of expenditure in the Garda Vote relates to pay and pensions.

In addition, provision is made for ICT and communications equipment which are an essential part of modern policing, as well as day to day costs of running the organisation, conducting investigations, maintenance of premises and payment of compensation under the Garda Acts and in respect of civil cases taken against An Garda Síochána

No you started a thread on Garda pay/allowances not on the justice budget. Your thread title compared the guards with pyjama girls, a stretch to now switch tack and suggest it is the justice budget you were riled up about.

How should the justice budget be spent differently then?

I feel that on the whole we have a fantastic police service, it has faults but I dont feel they are in any way overpaid for what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I was told that the Garda cannot pick the station that they work in and that they could be transferred to other stations at short notice. That was why they were given rent allowance. You could be in Killarney one night and sent to Dingle the next. On the border where I live we had many Gardai over the time of the troubles. They came from everywhere at short notice following some atrocity. A friend of mine kept some of them in her B&B from time to time. One thing I know for sure is that they earned their few bob and rent allowance then. I wouldn't swap with them. The wages are poor too I reckon for the crap they take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

No you started a thread on Garda pay/allowances not on the justice budget. Your thread title compared the guards with pyjama girls, a stretch to now switch tack and suggest it is the justice budget you were riled up about.

I feel that on the whole we have a fantastic police service, it has faults but I dont feel they are in any way overpaid for what they do.

I agree with the pay I dont agree their a fantastic service I know several people directly and indirectly who were very much let down by them. I wouldnt reduce the wages though as there is many excellent new recruits and it wouldnt be fair to punish them.

As you can see from that link there are no changeovers and there is 11 hours or more between shifts as per european working laws.

As for the rent allowance it was introduced many moons ago when lads were sent to the border and all corners of the country. In recent years it has just become part of lads wages. It should have been imalgamated into normal wages years ago but as usual things were just left.

It's still an extra allowance and just because it's been there historically doesn't mean it's part of their wages

How about when you heard about all the stations closing the cuts in man power, firearms, training etc? They are both coming out of the same budget. I'd rather see the money spent on keeping these small stations open.

I was told that the Garda cannot pick the station that they work in and that they could be transferred to other stations at short notice. That was why they were given rent allowance. You could be in Killarney one night and sent to Dingle the next. On the border where I live we had many Gardai over the time of the troubles. They came from everywhere at short notice following some atrocity. A friend of mine kept some of them in her B&B from time to time. One thing I know for sure is that they earned their few bob and rent allowance then. I wouldn't swap with them. The wages are poor too I reckon for the crap they take.

Border troubles are over

should be stationed in places for longer/within reasonable travelling distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It's still an extra allowance and just because it's been there historically doesn't mean it's part of their wages

How about when you heard about all the stations closing the cuts in man power, firearms, training etc? They are both coming out of the same budget. I'd rather see the money spent on keeping these small stations open.

Border troubles are over

How quickly we forget and turn Turk. My father used to say " you never miss the water 'till the well runs dry ".

Border troubles are over

That was my point, it should have been scrapped and imalgamated into wages and taxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I doubt that the Labour Relations commision would agree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

What is the €2.93 per week boot allowance for is it for wearing them.

How quickly we forget and turn Turk. My father used to say " you never miss the water 'till the well runs dry ".

:confused::confused:Please explain

That was my point, it should have been scrapped and imalgamated into wages and taxed.

Maybe, but it wasn't and they have been getting it for years, tax-free?

Labour relations commission, what's their stance on this, any links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Crime scene examiners are paid €2,946.90 per year. This payment is intended to compensate for the loss of unsocial hours allowances because crime scenes have to be examined in daylight.
    Absolutely rediculous.

What about the allowance for not being rostered?, What's that about, anyone?

Daylight = unsociable hours???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I've a few mates who are prison officers and assaults are par for the course with those lads too.

I don't begrudge those jobs their few quid.

Either does the OP by the looks of it, for he only mentioned the Gardai in his title.

We should be begrudging those who are attacking the Gardai and getting rent allowance, as well as legal aid and the other costs involved with their arrest and detainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I assume the government are happy to work with all these allowances as they don't have to factor them into a guard's pension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    With reference to Gardai, let them have it. They earn nowhere near enough for being spat and pissed on by the dregs of society. I wouldn't call their salary handsome for the work that is done. I have zero problem whatsoever with Gardai receiving extra allowances/.

95% of the guards ive ever met are ignorant lazy bastards

5% are decent folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Welfare officer gets € 7,403.35 extra plus boots plus all other allowances not right.