Are there Pyjama People in your neighbourhood?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Are you talking about lorro winners?

No I'm not.
    Having pajama clad knackers in your area is a pretty quick way to determine whether you're living in a shíthole or not.

What you are saying is if knackers moved into a particular area it would make it a ****hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭TreesAreCrowd

hondasam wrote: »
    What you are saying is if knackers moved into a particular area it would make it a ****hole.

No, but if you look at it this way, if a nice family moved into a shíte area, would it become a nice area? No. I suppose it's a question of density really. Denisty + the area itself (the houses, the amenities, the crime rate, etc). You would know the latter from living there. If it's a really nice area and a knacker family move in, then it's still a nice area, just with a knacker family in it. If it's a mediocre area that's kind of on the brink and a few knackers turn up in pajamas, then it probably gets downgraded towards shítehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Considering I live in Neverland, pyjamas are considered to be the normal attire.

Here, it's considered knacker-ish to dress in a suit & tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The borders between so called "nice" and "knackerish" parts of the town/city that folks live are not always easily defined. I am in the IFSC in Dublin 1. I live within a stone throw of penthouse apts going for a millions yo-yos, but the pyjama brigade (from nearby Sherriff St) are frequent visitors to the local Spar & Mace, beside the Mayor Sq Luas stop. The security guards there just luuuuurve them ! :rolleyes: :rolleyes::rolleyes:

A lot of people living in the area would be here for their jobs in the financial fields, or at nearby tech companies such as Google, Facebook, O2 etc etc. Quite often they are here from other countries for just a short period of time. There is some crack to be had looking at their faces when they are in the local Mace & Spar buying bog roll & ciggies, as they try to figure out WTF is going on with the natives showing up to do the exact same thing, IN THEIR FCUKING PYJAMAS !!!! :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

You can't stop me. I'm the most powerful pyjama wearing man in the world!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I'm not from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

They have been wearing them in limerick city for a good few years,even had them showing up at training centres in them. Was in Newcastle West last Saturday and saw a few of them. Was in Tesco a few months ago on a Sat evening around 4.30, there was a mum with 2 kids, she had hair done,nails painted and make up on,looked well until you see the pyjamas under the jacket. How difficulty or how long does it take to put on pair of jeans, really annoyed me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

Sad thing is these feckers are breeding faster than normal people. How long before someone stands up in the dail with a pair of pyjamas on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

I live in a council estate and no body wears pj's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I live up the road from where part of that film/documentary/whatever was based. The pyjama brigade are alive and well and multiplying, from what I see every day. Very depressing.
    Presumably they are waiting for a person to dress them to be added to their 'entitlements', paid for from all of that money the government manufactures out of thin air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

My daughter lives in ratoath, Every weekday evening her friend who works in the BOI comes home showers,has dinner and then gets into her pyjamas and visits her friends around the area,I was a bit taken back last week when she arrived at my daughters door in her pyjamas,I think its disgusting and don't like it at all and said so,she just laughed and said its more comfortable and handy........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I saw the last 20 mins myself, those 2 "girls" are doomed. Both of them with very low IQ's swanning about in Pj's. It's the sign that you are a lazy slob welfare scrounger..Really hope normal people from the uk and the likes could not see that programme. Why is the arts council burning money making sh!te like this? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

It's astonishing how many "pass remarkable" people there are in Ireland, true connoisseurs of the banal and experts on what is right and wrong. Who cares what other people wear?:rolleyes::rolleyes: A lot of people who go on about their neighbours wearing pyjamas, which is actually a bit of a fashion trend outside Ballyblinkers, where too many Irish people live, would really freak if they saw a woman sunbathing topless in the park. Indeed, a lot of them would be better off looking at the size of their own arses or the state of their own teeth before tut-tutting about other people's lifestyle choices.:):)

http://www.potsc.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/sheep.jpg

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    It's astonishing how many "pass remarkable" people there are in Ireland, true connoisseurs of the banal and experts on what is right and wrong. Who cares what other people wear?
    I don't think it is so much about what they wear (although I doubt people would be too impressed if Paris Hilton and other rich folk were the ones doing it) - it's more about what it represents - a lack of self-respect, and a lack of respect for others. It basically says 'I live a life of total leisure (at your expense)'. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

OneArt wrote: »
    Why do people care what other people are wearing?

Because it gives them a chance to look-down on others, and lot's of people like to do that: it's an undesirable trait of human nature, most of the time.

fatbhoy wrote: »
    Because it gives them a chance to look-down on others, and lot's of people like to do that: it's an undesirable trait of human nature, most of the time.
    That must be it. Same as with illiterates, kiddy-fiddlers, FFail party members and racists: there's nothing wrong with them per se, it just gives people a chance to feel better than someone else...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

The girls that sleep in their underwear never wear their pyjamas out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭leviathon

Dubit10 wrote: »
    Sad thing is these feckers are breeding faster than normal people. How long before someone stands up in the dail with a pair of pyjamas on?

Every day the film Idiocracy becomes more and more like a documentary from the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Yeah it was fairly rampant where I'm from in Dublin, and where I worked too (North Inner City). It's awfully lazy of the wretches. I've seen it a few times here in London too, not quite as much though. God love us though, it might get bigger now that they're showing up on the catwalks at London and Paris fashion weeks, this might legitimise it!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/gallery/2012/mar/01/fashion-lineup-pyjama-style-pictures#/?picture=386402053&index=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

The only thing I find disgusting are some of the comments on here. One of the girls was 15, never knew her dad, lost her mum to drug addiction and illness. I'm not presuming to know every poster's circumstances, but I'm guessing most of ye weren't orphaned at a young age or had to deal with a junkie parent. 'Dole scum', 'knackers', 'lazy slob', 'scroungers' etc. Aren't you all just marvelous with your parents with jobs and stable upbringings? We're all products of our environment. Spilling bile about 15 year old children who aren't as privileged as yourself shows a remarkable lack of empathy. They might find it difficult to escape (or even imagine escape) from the welfare trap, but these are kids, they were born into these circumstances, they didn't ask for it and can't be blamed for it.

They might find it difficult to escape (or even imagine escape) from the welfare trap, but these are kids, they were born into these circumstances, they didn't ask for it and can't be blamed for it.
    That's fair enough then. Let's all throw our hands up in the air and accept that nothing can be done, and nothing should be expected of anybody who lives in their pyjamas.

It's better for us and better for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

ProudDUB wrote: »
    The borders between so called "nice" and "knackerish" parts of the town/city that folks live are not always easily defined. I am in the IFSC in Dublin 1. I live within a stone throw of penthouse apts going for a millions yo-yos, but the pyjama brigade (from nearby Sherriff St) are frequent visitors to the local Spar & Mace, beside the Mayor Sq Luas stop. The security guards there just luuuuurve them ! :rolleyes: :rolleyes::rolleyes:

A lot of people living in the area would be here for their jobs in the financial fields, or at nearby tech companies such as Google, Facebook, O2 etc etc. Quite often they are here from other countries for just a short period of time. There is some crack to be had looking at their faces when they are in the local Mace & Spar buying bog roll & ciggies, as they try to figure out WTF is going on with the natives showing up to do the exact same thing, IN THEIR FCUKING PYJAMAS !!!! :confused::confused::confused:

An Italian male collegue of mine said he couldn't believe it when he first came across them, and genuinely thought that they were mentally ill people. I suppose it's a part of Irish culture now. I wonder if it happens in other countries: I suspect it happens in the north, Scotland, England, Wales, and maybe USA.

Live and let live.

fatbhoy wrote: »
    Live and let live.
    I've no problem with letting them live as long as they aren't doing so at the taxpayer's expense. Then it would just be an issue of fashion sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

so what! teens wearing pyjames - they're not harming anyone are they? Let them wear what they want. remember the pancake mix and the black lipstick of the 80's to make teenagers look gothic. They way some of ye are posting on here you would think they were carrying oozi's or something. So what if they wear them two days in a row. Please don't try and state that none of ye wear clothes two days in a row. Kids wearing pyjames is harmless - however some of the narrow minded posts on here are actually quite scary. get a grip. :rolleyes:

to be honest I would rather see a few kids wrapped up in pyjamas than the state of people heading out on a weekend with mini skirts shorter than their thongs - if they bother to put a thong on - oh wait! that's fashion tho!!

They way some of ye are posting on here you would think they were carrying oozo's or something.
    Uh...what the hell is an oozo? :confused:

Uh...what the hell is an ouzo? :confused:

Does the poster mean uzi,s :confused::)

TBH I am from and live in Ballyfermot and it was embarrassing to watch that program last night,It hasn't helped the image or stereotyping of the area as most teenagers here do not dress like that.

Now I must get out of bed and get up and collect my dole and go to the pub & back a few winners from cheltenham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

The 2 girls featured in the programme last night were not 'bad kids'.
    To see them being called dole scum, wretches, suggestions they have a low IQ etc says such a lot about the state of the country - or rather some peoples mindset. Divide and rule seems to be working well.
    They were not engaged in anti-social behaviour, drug taking, or shoplifting, and I don't think they were drinking or sexually active (but i might be wrong on that.)
    Ok one was a bit 'cheeky' to her granny but all teens are cheeky. About the most illegal or anti-social thing they were doing was smoking, I can't condone that, but for fecks sake, it's better than going out everyday for drugs as one girls mother did. Imagne the effect that must have had on her daughter, and I think she turned out ok in the circumstances.
    I would not go out in pjs myself, but its not something I would judge someone on as long as they were hygenic.

zef wrote: »
    The 2 girls featured in the programme last night were not 'bad kids'.
    I'd draw a distinction between kids doing it (not a particularly good sign for the future, but not totally culpable) and adults doing it. But it's not the act of going out in public dressed in bed-clothes that is the problem, it's the mentality behind it. It's a symptom of something bad - a lack of respect for self and others, low expectations, and a big 'f*ck you' to everybody else who is paying for them to loaf around and not work or go to school (not applicable to those who do either, obviously).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

I'd draw a distinction between kids doing it (not a particularly good sign for the future, but not totally culpable) and adults doing it. But it's not the act of going out in public dressed in bed-clothes that is the problem, it's the mentality behind it. It's a symptom of something bad - a lack of respect for self and others, low expectations, and a big 'f*ck you' to everybody else who is paying for them to loaf around and not work or go to school (not applicable to those who do either, obviously).

is it the patterns that bother you, or is it the material, the length or the width. If they were plain instead of patterned would you feel better? Do you know many many ladies wear bed time camisoles going out at night? would you have the same thing to say about them. ?

but then again I supposed if the same people went out wearing designer clothes you would have something else to say about them getting too much money for such designer outfits.

wearing pyjamas is harmless - the fact that it causes you so much stereotyping says more about you than about the kids wearing it.