What do you define as "Football"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

44leto wrote: »
    I whole heartingly agree, but not now:( they are dying a slow financial death.

So true leto. As Shankly said "Some people believe soccer is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

CiaranC wrote: »
    And its Liv-er-pool
    Liverpool SC
    By far the greatest soccer team
    The world has ever seen

:(

K-9 wrote: »
    Exactly.

Football is only football if its a LoI team.

I thought it was called soccer?

And you might not believe it, but the people of Liverpool had several real live football teams long before your local GAH club got Sky Sports installed. The werent even in the League Of Ireland either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

So true leto. As Shankly said "Some people believe soccer is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that."

He'd such a dry wit, missed by so many who take that quote literally, loved the Liverpool reserves quote and Everton. Football fan logic. So many people in half a decade who don't have a clue of context.
    I thought it was called soccer?

Yeah, the subject of the thread, which you seem to be taking rather seriously, you realise its largely a pisstake thread in AH?

And you might not believe it, but the people of Liverpool had several real live football teams long before your local GAH club got Sky Sports installed. The werent even in the League Of Ireland either!

LOL.

The bitterness is strong in this one.

The inferiority complex of LoI diehards. Thought you'd be reminiscing about days of 20/30,000 at LoI matches.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

The inferiority complex of LoI diehards.
    Its a superiority complex old chap ;)

PremiershipGAHman is my favorite type of confused barstool fan at the moment - die hard Liverpool/Manchester right up until the second he has to dive in and defend the association from "West-brits" on the internet. Wont even admit what the sport or team he "supports" is called. These lads are even more craic than the "nationalist" Celtic fans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Liverpool is the soccer team I follow.

Liverpool Football Club = http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTCpHewBXQn7pI51bc8BRLuz5Qo48PSrp7NMV7YKTPsTm9iFvG7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nodin wrote: »
    stovelid wrote: »
    Football is soccer, not bogball.
    zebra3 wrote:
    Bogball can never compete with this..

One of the more ignorant expressions thats used around here.

In the spirit of detente, I propose Silage Ball or Mullah Ball as possible alternatives.

Surely there is an Irish term for Gaelic Football? I mean seeing as the GAA is steeped in Irish culture, and the Irish language, why use the very English term 'Football' for an exclusively Irish game?

Might Gaelic Football also have an Irish term that hasn't been mentioned here yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Peil?

Its a superiority complex old chap ;)

PremiershipGAHman is my favorite type of confused barstool fan at the moment - die hard Liverpool/Manchester right up until the second he has to dive in and defend the association from "West-brits" on the internet. Wont even admit what the sport or team he "supports" is called. These lads are even more craic than the "nationalist" Celtic fans!

Why so serious? :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Balding 30 year old to middle-aged men standing in a line with pints in their hands saying football things in a football voice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Football is soccer, not bogball.
    zebra3 wrote:
    Bogball can never compete with this..

One of the more ignorant expressions thats used around here.

In the spirit of detente, I propose Silage Ball or Mullah Ball as possible alternatives.

It's funny how those who take such grave offence at the term soccer are the very same who come out this bull.

speaks volumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

soccer or Wendyball is sport for Athletic Drama Queens ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

can we all not just get along?

It's kind of sad that people feel the need to refer to Gaelic Football as Bogball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

comeraghs wrote: »
    can we all not just get along?

It's kind of sad that people feel the need to refer to Gaelic Football as Bogball.

since the Dubs won the Football Final last year.. .does this mean the Dubs are boggers ? ;)

Actually one thing that annoys me is when people call the BigotDome, "Headquarters".

Is that a pseudo-Ra affectation or what?
    lucylu wrote: »
    since the Dubs won the Football Final last year.. .does this mean the Dubs are boggers ? ;)

They should probably be expelled from Dublin. That said, the overwhelming majority only go to about 2 big games a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Actually one thing that annoys me is when people call the BigotDome, "Headquarters".

They should probably be expelled from Dublin. That said, the overwhelming majority only go to about 2 big games a year.

Truly your wisdom on the subject knows no bounds. It has to be said that for somebody who objects to the term "west brit", you're quite capable of firing out equivalent gibberish yourself on occassion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,273 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

lucylu wrote: »

The ones that go to watch bogball are generally kids of culchies.

They'll usually follow Tipp or some other boggers in the other sport the Gah have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭budgemook

I always call GAA football football and I call soccer soccer.

Basically, countries call their main football football.

USA - Football = American Football
    Australia - Football = Aussie Rules
    England and most of the world I suppose Football = Soccer
    Ireland - Football = Football

I have found that the Dubs rather call soccer football though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I say football=football , Gaelic Football= Gaelic Football. I just don't like people saying soccer, but I don't massively object either. It's just very American and I cringe when I hear Americans talk about 'soccer'!

But sometimes it depends on who I'm actually talking to! If I'm talking with friends football = Messi, Ronaldo, etc. But when I talk to other people, especially colleagues that I know that are big GAA heads, I'd ask how Cork did in the football.

What does bother me is being specifically pulled up on it by someone who knows what I'm talking about but just wants to be a prick. That's mostly GAA fans with a chip on the shoulder in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

For me

Gaelic Football= Gah

Soccer= football

Soccer just sounds so wrong.

25,000 at the Dublin Armagh league game, not bad. How many were at LoI Dublin club games?

The Gahliban are out on patrol I see. :) What has league of Ireland got to do with bigot ball?

For me

Gaelic Football= Gah

Soccer= football

Soccer just sounds so wrong.

Agreed, although I suppose if you were raised down the country then maybe Gah was the only football in town?.

The Gahliban are out on patrol I see. :) What has league of Ireland got to do with bigot ball?

Not really. I was drawn here by the smell of shite-talk.

Given your previous pronouncements in the thread, you referring to 'bigot-...' anything indicates an amazing lack of self conciousness.

Like a lot of bitter people, my direct, painful experience with culturally hegemonic bigots has led to a regrettable state of what can be termed as Specific Reverse Sporting Bigotry, if you will.

Well, its a bright side in that you at least admit such. However step two might be to realise the whole 'they aren't all the same' thing.

If only we all could.

At least my dislike is harmlessky rhetorical. I don't try and kill other sporting clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Like many others on this thread, for me;

Football = 'Soccer'
    Gaelic Football = GAA or Gah

Can't stand the word soccer being used for football, that word is for Americans.

Love it! :D

Such incandescent rage, LoI fundamentalists are great at it, like all fundamentalists really, loud, vociferous and obnoxious just undermines their argument.

LoI is soccer, GAA is football, what does it have to do with it? Its the OP of the thread.

Ah, its just too easy, soccer fan logic! I really shouldn't! :D
    LordSutch wrote: »
    Agreed, although I suppose if you were raised down the country then maybe Gah was the only football in town?.

Indeed. Somebody else brought up the point that in many areas that are hurling strongholds, football, Gaelic or otherwise barely exists, Kilkenny a great example, soccer club went bust and the football team is dire!