Saudi Arabia not to send female atheles to Olympics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

forfuxsake wrote: »
    Because for evil to succeed it only takes the good to do nothing.

The IOC rules are clear. If the Saudis are not willing to abide by them, they should not be allowed to participate. I fail to see how Ireland's withdrawal from the Olympics would have any impact whatsoever, except for on their own athletes - I doubt the Saudis would see the error of their ways here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The IOC rules are clear. If the Saudis are not willing to abide by them, they should not be allowed to participate. I fail to see how Ireland's withdrawal from the Olympics would have any impact whatsoever, except for on their own athletes - I doubt the Saudis would see the error of their ways here.

...if anything, the absence of notorious bacon eating alcohol consumers might well encourage them further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

I agree and would expect that other nations would join us and that public reaction would force the Saudi's expulsion. It's just what I think they should do, I fully understand that they may not want to and consider that the risk of losing their chance of Olympic success and the pride that come sin participation isn't worth risking over taking a stand for the rights of Saudi women.

I don't always do what I think(know) I should.

Nodin wrote: »
    ...if anything, the absence of notorious bacon eating alcohol consumers might well encourage them further.

You obviously haven't seen wealthy Saudis in action outside of their national borders. ;)

...O I've heard more than me fair share. And I might add that the odds of the police or Religous police raiding royal family members houses and estates within Saudi are nil. They are possibly the greatest shower of hypocrites on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Surely there's some sort of Facebook online petition that will sort this out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

your sentence doesn't make sense, I think you are missing a verb. try again.

Reads perfectly okay. "I'm guessing you know nothing about either sport or politics" and "I guess you have no respect for the former."

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm not understanding the logic here. Why should Ireland punish its athletes for the sins of the Saudis? :confused:

Because for evil to succeed it only takes the good to do nothing.
    I really dislike that saying - it just blames people who aren't directly responsible. For evil to succeed, it takes an evil-doer or group of evil-doers to carry out their evil, and subjugate people sufficiently that they are too afraid to speak out. Sure, there's an element of truth to the statement but it refers to those who have the means to do something, not just good people. It isn't the only factor. Powerless people are hardly in a position to do something. Tyranny can be insidious - it isn't always apparent at the beginning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Pwpane

I really think Ireland should withdraw its team in protest. My hope would be that this would be sufficient to bring more attention to the ban and lead to a Saudi expulsion. There is good reason precedent and it is an absolute disgrace if this country is allowed to compete despite this blatant and overt breach of the Olympic Charter's commitment to equality.

From less than 60 years ago in Ireland, John Charles McQuaid's Lenten Regulations (from Bock the Robber http://bocktherobber.com/2012/02/lenten-regulations-john-charles-mcquaid/)

We take occasion to express our grave disapproval of the practice which has begun to show itself of permitting young women to compete in cycling and athletics in mixed public sports.

Pope Pius XI, emphasising the rules for separation of the sexes which the law of nature and Christian prudence demand, has declared: ‘These rules must be observed also in athletics and gymnastic exercises, where special precaution must be taken in regard to Christian modesty in the case of girls, inasmuch as it is extremely unbecoming for them to display themselves before the public gaze’. (Encyclical Letter, “Divini Illius Magisti”.)

People in glasshouses etc...

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

They want to keep their women feminine and not produce flat chested track wonders or Gorilla shouldered tennis players .

paddyandy wrote: »
    They want to keep their women feminine and not produce flat chested track wonders or Gorilla shouldered tennis players .

Jaysus John Charles, we thought we'd lost ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

They could still send them over anyway for the cooking and cleaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Pwpane wrote: »
    From less than 60 years ago in Ireland, John Charles McQuaid's Lenten Regulations (from Bock the Robber http://bocktherobber.com/2012/02/lenten-regulations-john-charles-mcquaid/)

We take occasion to express our grave disapproval of the practice which has begun to show itself of permitting young women to compete in cycling and athletics in mixed public sports.

Pope Pius XI, emphasising the rules for separation of the sexes which the law of nature and Christian prudence demand, has declared: ‘These rules must be observed also in athletics and gymnastic exercises, where special precaution must be taken in regard to Christian modesty in the case of girls, inasmuch as it is extremely unbecoming for them to display themselves before the public gaze’. (Encyclical Letter, “Divini Illius Magisti”.)

People in glasshouses etc...

Bullshít.

That was wrong back then and it's wrong now.

Also, just because we had stupid laws in the past does not mean that we can't criticise other countries for their backward practices. In fact, it may mean that we are in a better position to criticise because we, as a nation, learned that these laws were stupid.

The point that you're trying to make is dumb.

The Sports Industry not being contented with the vast fortunes from men has called out the women too in order that more billions can be made .It's really the coquettish behaviour of big business that's behind this .People today are very docile when prodded by slick advertising .
    Why a woman needs to be athletic serves no practical purpose whatsoever and there is the idea that fitness and health are the same thing ; which it is'nt .TV and Journalism are accomplices in all this and who can keep the politicians away from any photo call. If the Animal World could see the Humans at their efforts in 1.Boxing ..the average adult kangaroo could kill a heavyweight
    2. Running ; The average domestic cat or dog can outrun an olympic runner 3. My goldfish can swim better than any entrant .The Animal World if they could understand the Spectacle of the Olympic games would laugh and not stop at the nonsense before them Human Beings have nothing to brag about when it comes to psychical prowess .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

Must resist making racist comment towards Saudi Government and Royal Family.

Must resist....

Oh God.....I am so so tempted.

PERSONALLY I EFFING HATE THE SAUDI's. With a burning incandescent passion. As tourists....VILE. As customers....VILE. I feel sorry for the good ones though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

The Sports Industry not being contented with the vast fortunes from men has called out the women too in order that more billions can be made .It's really the coquettish behaviour of big business that's behind this .People today are very docile when prodded by slick advertising .
    Why a woman needs to be athletic serves no practical purpose whatsoever and there is the idea that fitness and health are the same thing ; which it is'nt .TV and Journalism are accomplices in all this and who can keep the politicians away from any photo call. If the Animal World could see the Humans at their efforts in 1.Boxing ..the average adult kangaroo could kill a heavyweight
    2. Running ; The average domestic cat or dog can outrun an olympic runner 3. My goldfish can swim better than any entrant .The Animal World if they could understand the Spectacle of the Olympic games would laugh and not stop at the nonsense before them Human Beings have nothing to brag about when it comes to psychical prowess .
    That's an interesting viewpoint.

Bullshít.

That was wrong back then and it's wrong now.

Also, just because we had stupid laws in the past does not mean that we can't criticise other countries for their backward practices. In fact, it may mean that we are in a better position to criticise because we, as a nation, learned that these laws were stupid.

The point that you're trying to make is dumb.

You should look at what Tennis has done to the once beautiful gabriel Sabbatini .She has shoulders like Mike TYSON ON HER and there are many examples of mannish women .
    Why were the Laws Stupid ?Those Laws Protected women from wild and reckless demands from industry .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd like to see your goldfish doing the back-stroke, crawl etc and then stand on the podium to collect a feckin medal.:P

dermo88 wrote: »
    Must resist making racist comment towards Saudi Government and Royal Family.

Must resist....

Oh God.....I am so so tempted.

PERSONALLY I EFFING HATE THE SAUDI's. With a burning incandescent passion. As tourists....VILE. As customers....VILE. I feel sorry for the good ones though,

Different thread or the mods attention needed here .

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I'd like to see your goldfish doing the back-stroke, crawl etc and then stand on the podium to collect a feckin medal.:P

Does'nt need too and neither do people need that stupid show- off display .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

dermo88 wrote: »
    . With a burning incandescent passion.

interesting, you should try and sell that, maybe we won't need their oil anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Does'nt need too and neither do people need that stupid show- off display .

we should just sit around all day and make no effort at any kind of exercise or sport then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

we should just sit around all day and make no effort at any kind of exercise or sport then?

We'll just emulate slugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

You should look at what Tennis has done to the once beautiful gabriel Sabbatini .She has shoulders like Mike TYSON ON HER and there are many examples of mannish women .
    Why were the Laws Stupid ?Those Laws Protected women from wild and reckless demands from industry .

I think fit/well defined women are sexy... much prefer it over pudgy/skinnyfat any day.

They did'nt need it over the centuries because they struggled to live but people do need exercise
    and one possibly good argument for the big events is Social .They bring people from across the globe together and that's good .It's the pressures on young women that i'm against when they have so many other things to cope with that previous generations had'nt .Life is very complex when it should be simpler .

They did'nt need it over the centuries because they struggled to live but people do need exercise
    and one possibly good argument for the big events is Social .They bring people from across the globe together and that's good .It's the pressures on young women that i'm against when they have so many other things to cope with that previous generations had'nt .Life is very complex when it should be simpler .

LOLOLOLOLOL.

So modern women should be spared the rigors of athletic competition because it is too much pressure on them? How do you think training for a swim meet compares with to having to haul water, chop wood, scrub floors, forage for food, and the other myriad physical tasks that our female ancestors had to deal with on a daily basis? Because most of them didn't spend the previous centuries fanning themselves on chaise lounges whilst eating bon bons.

And what does this have to do with the Saudis anyway?

If she wants to be like that, that's her own choice. Her choices in life should not be dictated to her by some guys who think they know what's best for women.

Those laws were stupid because they were about banning adults from taking part in sport. They were probably inspired by the need to keep women in the cooking, cleaning and babymaking industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

we laugh and point fingers at the backwards saudis and then turn around and tell women in this country (and throughout the western world) what they can and can't do with their OWN bodies

rossie1977 wrote: »
    we laugh and point fingers at the backwards saudis and then turn around and tell women in this country (and throughout the western world) what they can and can't do with their OWN bodies

Are you saying that we shouldn't criticise the Saudis? I disagree. You're the second person i've seen in this thread with the opinion that only those with a perfect record can criticise the Saudi treatment of women. No country is perfect but that doesn't mean that a citizen from an imperfect country shouldn't point and laugh at a government whose views are pointable and laughable.

Also, I've never told a woman what she can or can't do with her body.

I think fit/well defined women are sexy... much prefer it over pudgy/skinnyfat any day.

'A fit well defined woman '? I like them really feminine with everything that a man
    does'nt have . Sport takes the feminine away as well as giving them
    aches and pains later on that most athletes have .Medals and cups don't get rid of
    those . No real man wants a woman in his bed who is built like a Gorilla though
    there could be some exceptions out there or ....here .